DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 1-21 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-10 and 15-21 are rejected for failing to obviate the indefiniteness of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0315677 A1 by Silverman in view of Zhu et al. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2020, 142, 10, 4892–4903. (cited in the IDS filed 07/02/2025).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
The prior art teaches cyclopentene compounds for use as inhibitors of gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA) aminotransferase (AT) and/or ornithine aminotransferase (OAT) (abstract). The following compound is analogous to a compound of the instant claims where R1 is fluorine and a double bond exists between the α and ε carbons (paragraph [0090]):
.
Regarding instant claims 6-7 and 14, the prior art teaches that the compound may be an ammonium salt having a counter ion that is the conjugate base of a protic acid (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding instant claims 8 and 15, the prior art discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the prior art compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (paragraph [0092]).
Regarding instant claims 16-17, the prior art discloses methods of treating a subject having a disease associated with OAT activity wherein the subject is administered an amount of the compound sufficient to modulate/reduce OAT activity (paragraph [0097]). Silverman lists hepatocellular carcinoma as a cancer for treatment in accordance with instant claims 18-19 and 21 (paragraph [0097]).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art teaches 3-carbon substituted 4-aminocyclopent-l-ene-1-carboxylic acid compounds capable of modulating OAT activity but does not disclose compounds with two halogen substituents as required by the instant claims.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Zhu et al. report (title) “A Remarkable Difference That One Fluorine Atom Confers on the Mechanisms of Inactivation of Human Ornithine Aminotransferase by Two Cyclohexene Analogues of γ-Aminobutyric Acid”. In the prior art Zhu et al. prepared the following GABA analogs wherein compound 8 has a single fluorine substituent like the compound of Silverman and compound 9 is difluoro-substituted as required by the instant claims (abstract):
.
Zhu et al. conclude, “[w]hile monofluoro substituted analogue 8 inactivates hOAT via an enamine pathway (Scheme 2, pathway a), difluoro analogue 9 inactivates hOAT via a novel addition-aromatization mechanism (Scheme 2, pathway c), contributing to its significantly enhanced potency” (page 4901).
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to prepare OAT inhibitors with improved potency would be motivated by the teachings of Zhu et al. to modify the compound of Silverman to be difluoro-substituted as recited in instant claims 1-3, 5 and 13. The resulting compound is represented below:
.
Regarding instant claim 20, Zhu et al. report that specific knockdown of hOAT was found to suppress the growth on nonsmall cell lung cancer in vitro and in vivo (page 4893). Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to treat hOAT related cancers would be motivated to administer the prior art compound to improve therapeutic outcomes.
Closest Prior Art
Regarding instant claims 9-12, the closest prior art appears to be the combined teachings of WO 2016/073983 A2 by Silverman et al. and Shen et al.
ACS Medicinal Chemistry Letters 2020 11 (10), 1949-1955. (cited in the IDS filed 07/02/2025).
Silverman et al. discuss compounds for use in OAT inhibition or inactivation (paragraph [0013]) and disclose the following genus:
Compound 22 is analogous to a compound of the instant claims but differs by the absence of a double bond between the α and β or α and ε carbon (Figure 3):
.
Shen et al. discuss (title) “Mechanism-Based Design of 3-Amino-4-Halocyclopentenecarboxylic Acids as Inactivators of GABA Aminotransferase” and report that modifying FCP to include a double bond between the α and β carbon resulted in “a 2-fold greater binding affinity with reduced transition state energy for the rate-determining deprotonation step, which is responsible for a 12-fold enhancement in the rate constant, making 6a 25-fold more efficient as an inactivator of GABA-AT than FCP” (page 1953). However, when the compounds were tested for selectivity over ornithine aminotransferase 6a had 10-fold weaker binding affinity relative to its effect with GABA-AT (page 1953). Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to prepare compounds with improved properties for OAT inhibition would not have been motivated by the teachings of Shen et al. to modify the compound of Silverman et al. to include a double bond between the α and β carbon because this modification may result in a decrease in binding affinity for ornithine aminotransferase.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 13-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10822301 in view of Zhu et al. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2020, 142, 10, 4892–4903.
Claim 14 of the patent discloses the following compound which serves as the basis of a rejection under 35 USC 103 (Col. 23):
.
The teachings and rationale of Silverman and Zhu et al. relative to instant claims 1-3, 5-8 and 13-21 are incorporated here by reference. The instant claims are deemed to be variants of the subject matter of the patent for the same reasons as under 35 USC 103.
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 15-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11993569 in view of Zhu et al. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2020, 142, 10, 4892–4903.
Claims 1 and 6 of the patent disclose a zwitterion form of the following compound (Col. 45-46):
.
The compound is analogous to a compound of the instant claims where R1 is fluorine and a double bond exists between the α and β carbons.
Zhu et al. report (title) “A Remarkable Difference That One Fluorine Atom Confers on the Mechanisms of Inactivation of Human Ornithine Aminotransferase by Two Cyclohexene Analogues of γ-Aminobutyric Acid”. In the prior art Zhu et al. prepared the following GABA analogs wherein compound 8 has a single fluorine substituent like the compound of patent and compound 9 is difluoro-substituted as required by the instant claims (abstract):
.
Zhu et al. conclude, “[w]hile monofluoro substituted analogue 8 inactivates hOAT via an enamine pathway (Scheme 2, pathway a), difluoro analogue 9 inactivates hOAT via a novel addition-aromatization mechanism (Scheme 2, pathway c), contributing to its significantly enhanced potency” (page 4901).
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill seeking to prepare OAT inhibitors with improved potency would be motivated by the teachings of Zhu et al. to modify the patent compound to be difluoro-substituted as recited in instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 9 and 11. The resulting compound is represented below:
.
Regarding instant claims 6-7, 10 and 12, claim 7 of the patent teaches that the compound may be in salt form having a counter ion that is the conjugate base of a protic acid (Col. 46).
Regarding instant claims 8 and 15, claim 8 of the patent discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the patent compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (Col. 46).
Regarding instant claims 16-17, claims 25-28 of the patent disclose methods of treating a subject having a disease associated with OAT activity wherein the subject is administered an amount of the compound sufficient to modulate/reduce OAT activity (Col. 48). Claim 28 recites hepatocellular carcinoma and non-small cell lung cancer cancers for treatment in accordance with instant claims 18-21 (Col. 48).
Conclusion
/A.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626