DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 05/13/2026, in which claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 16, 20-22 were amended, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 9, 13-17, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-6, 9, 13-17, 20-21, claim 2, claim 3, claim 4, claim 5, claim 6, claim 9, claim 13, claim 14, claim 15, claim 16, claim 17, claim 20 and claim 21 each recites “the group”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of this Action, the above limitation “the group” of claims 2-6, 9, 13-17, 20-21 will be interpreted and examined as --a group--.
Claims depending from the rejected claims noted above are rejected at least on the same basis as the claim(s) from which the dependent claims depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-16, 19-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausmann et al. (US Pub. 20190157076) in view of Hirose et al. (US Pub. 20130252439).
Regarding claim 1, Hausmann et al. discloses in Fig. 3, a method for selective deposition of silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film onto a substrate, comprising:
a) providing at least one substrate comprising at least one first surface and at least one second surface in a reactor, wherein the at least one first surface is a dielectric surface and the at least one second surface is a silicon surface, a metal surface, a metal compound surface, or hydride surfaces thereof [step 301];
c) forming a silicon-containing layer more abundantly on the at least one than on the at least one second surface [step 307];
d) purging any unreacted precursor from the reactor using inert gas [argon gas][steps 309, paragraph [0055], [0061]];
g) forming a silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film [step 311, paragraph [0062]];
h) purging any unreacted oxygen-containing source from the reactor using inert gas [step 313, paragraph [0055], [0063]]; and
i) treating the substrate using a reducing agent [step 315, paragraph [0064]].
Hausmann et al. fails to disclose
b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less;
c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer;
e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film;
f) purging the reactor using inert gas;
g) introducing an oxygen-containing source into the reactor to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film.
Hirose et al. discloses in Fig. 4-Fig. 5, Fig. 9, paragraph [0003], [0009], [0032]-[0036], [0050]-[0053], [0060]-[0061], [0067], [0077], [0095]-[0096], [0112], [0117], [0123]-[0124]
b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC [250 to 700 oC] and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less [20 to 1,330 Pa];
c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound [hexachlorodisilane (HCDS), chlorosilane-based gas], to form the silicon-containing layer [step 1];
e) introducing a nitrogen source [amine-based gas, TEA] to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film [step 2];
f) purging the reactor using inert gas [step 2];
g) introducing an oxygen-containing source into the reactor to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film [step 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Hirose et al. into the method of Hausmann et al. to include b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less; c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer; e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film; f) purging the reactor using inert gas; g) introducing an oxygen-containing source into the reactor to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hausmann et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable method for forming a SiOCN film or a SiOC film which is capable of reducing a total supply rate of reactive gases without lowering the concentrations of, for example, oxygen, nitrogen, and carbon contained in the film [paragraph [0005]-[0006], [0053] of Hirose et al.]
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Hausmann et al. discloses in Fig. 3 wherein the at least one second surface comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of Si, Co, Cu, Al,Ta, Mo, W, TiN, TiSi, MoN, WN, and hydrides thereof [copper surface].
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Hausmann et al. discloses in Fig. 3 paragraph [0048] (ORIGINAL) The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first surface is selected from a group consisting of Cu oxide, Ta oxide, Al oxide, silicon oxide, carbon doped silicon oxide, carbon doped Mo oxide, carbon doped Ti oxide, Al nitride, silicon nitride, carbon doped silicon oxynitride, and silicon oxynitride [silicon oxide].
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Hirose et al. discloses in paragraph [0053], [0184]
wherein the silicon and oxygen- containing dielectric film is selected from a group consisting of silicon oxide, carbon doped silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, and carbon doped silicon oxynitride [a carbon doped silicon oxynitride [SiOCN] or carbon doped silicon oxide [SiOC]].
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Hirose et al. discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 5, Fig. 9
wherein the halogenated silicon-containing compound is selected from a group consisting of i) halogenated silanes, ii) halogenated siloxanes, iii) halogenated silazanes, and iv) halogenated carbosilanes [chlorosilane-based source gas, fluorosilane-based source gas].
Regarding claims 8, 19, Hirose et al. discloses in Fig. 4
wherein when repeating some or all of steps c through h, the oxygen-containing source is always introduced after the nitrogen source is introduced to react with the silicon-containing layer;
wherein when repeating some or all of steps c through h, the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film is exposed to the oxygen-containing source only after the nitrogen source is introduced to react with the silicon-containing layer.
Regarding claims 9-10, 20-21, Hausmann et al. discloses in paragraph [0062] and Hirose et al. discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0132]
wherein the oxygen-containing source is selected from the group consisting of air, molecular oxygen, nitrous oxide, water vapor, and hydrogen peroxide;
wherein the oxygen-containing source is selected from ozone, oxygen plasma, nitrous oxide plasma, carbon dioxide plasma, and combinations thereof;
wherein the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film is exposed to the oxygen-containing source while in the reactor, and wherein the oxygen-containing source is selected from the group consisting of air, molecular oxygen, nitrous oxide, water vapor, and hydrogen peroxide;
wherein the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film is exposed to the oxygen-containing source while in the reactor, and wherein the oxygen-containing source is selected from the group consisting of ozone, oxygen plasma, nitrous oxide plasma, carbon dioxide plasma, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Hausmann et al. discloses in paragraph [0064]
step i, which comprises introducing hydrogen or hydrogen plasma as the reducing agent into the reactor to remove some residual films and clean the at least one second surface.
Regarding claim 12, Hausmann et al. discloses in Fig. 3, a method for selective deposition of silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film onto a substrate, comprising:
a) providing at least one substrate comprising at least one first surface and at least one second surface in a reactor, wherein the at least one first surface is a dielectric surface and the at least one second surface is a silicon surface, a metal surface, a metal compound surface, or hydride surfaces thereof [step 301];
c) forming a silicon-containing layer more abundantly on the at least one than on the at least one second surface [step 307];
d) purging any unreacted precursor from the reactor using inert gas [argon gas][steps 309, paragraph [0055], [0061]];
g) forming a silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film [step 311, paragraph [0062]];
h) purging any unreacted oxygen-containing source from the reactor using inert gas, only when the oxygen-contaning source is introduced into the reactor [step 313, paragraph [0055], [0063]]; and
i) treating the substrate using a reducing agent [step 315, paragraph [0064]];
repeating some or all of steps c through h until the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film reaches a desired thickness.
Hausmann et al. fails to disclose
b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less;
c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer;
e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film;
f) purging the reactor using inert gas;
g) exposing the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film to an oxygen-containing source to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film.
Hirose et al. discloses in Fig. 4-Fig. 5, Fig. 9, paragraph [0003], [0009], [0032]-[0036], [0050]-[0053], [0060]-[0061], [0067], [0077], [0095]-[0096], [0112], [0117], [0123]-[0124]
b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC [250 to 700 oC] and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less [20 to 1,330 Pa];
c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound [hexachlorodisilane (HCDS), chlorosilane-based gas], to form the silicon-containing layer [step 1];
e) introducing a nitrogen source [amine-based gas, TEA] to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film [step 2];
f) purging the reactor using inert gas [step 2];
g) exposing the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film to an oxygen-containing source into the reactor to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film [step 3].
Hirose et al. further discloses in Fig. 4
h) purging any unreacted oxygen-containing source from the reactor using inert gas; and repeating some or all of steps c through h until the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film reaches a desired thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Hirose et al. into the method of Hausmann et al. to include b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less; c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer; e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film; f) purging the reactor using inert gas; g) exposing the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film to an oxygen-containing source to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hausmann et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable method for forming a SiOCN film or a SiOC film which is capable of reducing a total supply rate of reactive gases without lowering the concentrations of, for example, oxygen, nitrogen, and carbon contained in the film [paragraph [0005]-[0006], [0053] of Hirose et al.]
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausmann et al. (US Pub. 20190157076) in view of Chandra et al. (US Pub. 20180033614).
Regarding claim 1, Hausmann et al. discloses in Fig. 3, a method for selective deposition of silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film onto a substrate, comprising:
a) providing at least one substrate comprising at least one first surface and at least one second surface in a reactor, wherein the at least one first surface is a dielectric surface and the at least one second surface is a silicon surface, a metal surface, a metal compound surface, or hydride surfaces thereof [step 301];
c) forming a silicon-containing layer more abundantly on the at least one than on the at least one second surface [step 307];
d) purging any unreacted precursor from the reactor using inert gas [argon gas][steps 309, paragraph [0055], [0061]];
g) forming a silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film [step 311, paragraph [0062]];
h) purging any unreacted oxygen-containing source from the reactor using inert gas [step 313, paragraph [0055], [0063]]; and
i) treating the substrate using a reducing agent [step 315, paragraph [0064]].
Hausmann et al. fails to disclose
b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less;
c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer;
e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film;
f) purging the reactor using inert gas;
g) introducing an oxygen-containing source into the reactor to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film.
Chandra et al. discloses in paragraphs [0049]-[0059], [0119]-[0120]
b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less [paragraph [0051]];
c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer [paragraph [0052]];
e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film [paragraph [0054]];
f) purging the reactor using inert gas [paragraph [0055]];
g) introducing an oxygen-containing source into the reactor to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film [paragraph [0057]].
Chandra et al. further discloses in paragraph [0056]
repeating some or all of steps c through h until the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film reaches a desired thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chandra et al. into the method of Hausmann et al. to include b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less; c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer; e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film; f) purging the reactor using inert gas; g) introducing an oxygen-containing source into the reactor to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hausmann et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable method for forming a conformal silicon-containing film forming having one or more of the following properties: i) an etch rate of at least 0.5 times less than thermal silicon oxide (e.g., 0.45 Å/s in 1:99 dilute HF) as measured in dilute hydrofluoric acid and a carbon content of about 10 atomic weight percent (at. %) or greater as measured by X-ray photospectrometry (XPS); ii) dielectric constant and wet etch rate in dilute HF (dHF) less sensitive to damage during oxygen ashing process or exposure to oxygen plasma, Oxygen ash resistance can be quantified by damage thickness after O2 ash is <50 Å measured by dHF dip as well as film dielectric constant after O2 ash lower than 4.0; iii) dielectric constant less than 4.0; and (iv) chlorine impurity in the resulting films less than 2.0 at %, preferably less than 1.0 at%, most preferably less than 0.5 at% [paragraph [0003], [0017], [0045]-[0046] of Chandra et al.]
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Hausmann et al. discloses in Fig. 3 wherein the at least one second surface comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of Si, Co, Cu, Al,Ta, Mo, W, TiN, TiSi, MoN, WN, and hydrides thereof [copper surface].
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Hausmann et al. discloses in Fig. 3 paragraph [0048] (ORIGINAL) The method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first surface is selected from a group consisting of Cu oxide, Ta oxide, Al oxide, silicon oxide, carbon doped silicon oxide, carbon doped Mo oxide, carbon doped Ti oxide, Al nitride, silicon nitride, carbon doped silicon oxynitride, and silicon oxynitride [silicon oxide].
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Chandra et al. discloses in paragraph [0045]-[0046]
wherein the silicon and oxygen- containing dielectric film is selected from a group consisting of silicon oxide, carbon doped silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, and carbon doped silicon oxynitride [a carbon-doped silicon oxide, a carbon-doped silicon oxynitride film].
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Chandra et al. discloses in paragraph [0048], [0052]
wherein the halogenated silicon-containing compound is selected from a group consisting of i) halogenated silanes, ii) halogenated siloxanes, iii) halogenated silazanes, and iv) halogenated carbosilanes [materials disclosed in paragraph [0048], [0052] comprise halogenated silanes].
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Chandra et al. discloses in paragraph [0095]
wherein nitrogen source is selected from the group consisting of ammonia, ethylenediamine, methylenediamine, and piperazine.
Regarding claims 7-8, 18-19, Chandra et al. discloses in paragraph [0049]-[0059], [0119]-[0120]
wherein the oxygen-containing source is introduced after silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film is deposited to a predetermined thickness by repeating steps c to f;
wherein when repeating some or all of steps c through h, the oxygen-containing source is always introduced after the nitrogen source is introduced to react with the silicon-containing layer;
wherein the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film is exposed to the oxygen-containing source after the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film is deposited to a predetermined thickness by repeating steps c to f;
wherein when repeating some or all of steps c through h, the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film is exposed to the oxygen-containing source only after the nitrogen source is introduced to react with the silicon-containing layer.
Regarding claims 9-10, 20-21, Hausmann et al. discloses in paragraph [0062] and Chandra et al. discloses in paragraph [0091]
wherein the oxygen-containing source is selected from the group consisting of air, molecular oxygen, nitrous oxide, water vapor, and hydrogen peroxide;
wherein the oxygen-containing source is selected from ozone, oxygen plasma, nitrous oxide plasma, carbon dioxide plasma, and combinations thereof;
wherein the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film is exposed to the oxygen-containing source while in the reactor, and wherein the oxygen-containing source is selected from the group consisting of air, molecular oxygen, nitrous oxide, water vapor, and hydrogen peroxide;
wherein the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film is exposed to the oxygen-containing source while in the reactor, and wherein the oxygen-containing source is selected from the group consisting of ozone, oxygen plasma, nitrous oxide plasma, carbon dioxide plasma, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Hausmann et al. discloses in paragraph [0064] and Chandra et al. discloses in paragraph [0058]
step i, which comprises introducing hydrogen or hydrogen plasma as the reducing agent into the reactor to remove some residual films and clean the at least one second surface.
Regarding claim 12, Hausmann et al. discloses in Fig. 3, a method for selective deposition of silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film onto a substrate, comprising:
a) providing at least one substrate comprising at least one first surface and at least one second surface in a reactor, wherein the at least one first surface is a dielectric surface and the at least one second surface is a silicon surface, a metal surface, a metal compound surface, or hydride surfaces thereof [step 301];
c) forming a silicon-containing layer more abundantly on the at least one than on the at least one second surface [step 307];
d) purging any unreacted precursor from the reactor using inert gas [argon gas][steps 309, paragraph [0055], [0061]];
g) forming a silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film [step 311, paragraph [0062]];
h) purging any unreacted oxygen-containing source from the reactor using inert gas, only when the oxygen-contaning source is introduced into the reactor [step 313, paragraph [0055], [0063]]; and
i) treating the substrate using a reducing agent [step 315, paragraph [0064]];
repeating some or all of steps c through h until the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film reaches a desired thickness.
Hausmann et al. fails to disclose
b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less;
c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer;
e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film;
f) purging the reactor using inert gas;
g) exposing the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film to an oxygen-containing source to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film.
Chandra et al. discloses in paragraphs [0049]-[0059], paragraph [0119]-[0120]
b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less [paragraph [0051]];
c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer [paragraph [0052]];
e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film [paragraph [0054]];
f) purging the reactor using inert gas [paragraph [0055]];
g) exposing the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film to an oxygen-containing source into the reactor to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film [paragraph [0057]].
Chandra et al. further discloses in paragraph [0056]
repeating some or all of steps c through h until the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film reaches a desired thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chandra et al. into the method of Hausmann et al. to include b) heating the reactor to at least one temperature ranging from about 25oC to about 600oC and maintaining the reactor at a pressure of about 100 torr or less; c) introducing into the reactor at least one precursor comprising a halogenated silicon-containing compound to form the silicon-containing layer; e) introducing a nitrogen source to react with the silicon-containing layer to form silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film; f) purging the reactor using inert gas; g) exposing the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film to an oxygen-containing source to react with the silicon nitride or carbon doped silicon nitride film to form the silicon and oxygen containing dielectric film. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hausmann et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable method for forming a conformal silicon-containing film forming having one or more of the following properties: i) an etch rate of at least 0.5 times less than thermal silicon oxide (e.g., 0.45 Å/s in 1:99 dilute HF) as measured in dilute hydrofluoric acid and a carbon content of about 10 atomic weight percent (at. %) or greater as measured by X-ray photospectrometry (XPS); ii) dielectric constant and wet etch rate in dilute HF (dHF) less sensitive to damage during oxygen ashing process or exposure to oxygen plasma, Oxygen ash resistance can be quantified by damage thickness after O2 ash is <50 Å measured by dHF dip as well as film dielectric constant after O2 ash lower than 4.0; iii) dielectric constant less than 4.0; and (iv) chlorine impurity in the resulting films less than 2.0 at %, preferably less than 1.0 at%, most preferably less than 0.5 at% [paragraph [0003], [0017], [0049] of Chandra et al.].
Regarding claim 22, Chandra et al. discloses in paragraphs [0057], [0119]-[0120]
wherein the silicon nitride film or carbon doped silicon nitride film is exposed to the oxygen containing source while outside the reactor [ex-situ annealing, air annealing], and wherein the oxygen-containing source is air.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893