Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Fig. 2 symbol 12T is reused for TX and TUNER
Fig. 11, symbol 1110 is reused. First instance (2nd step) should read 1105
Fig. 12, symbol 16 points to random access preamble, should be symbol 14.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Spec. pg. 11, line 32: “F-TX1…T-TXN” should read “F-TX1…F-TXN”
Spec. pg. 42, line 9: “UE 19000” should read “UE 1900”
Spec. pg. 42, lines 20-21: “power source 1933” should read “power source 1913”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastergardoost et al. (US 2023/0189232), D1 hereinafter, in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0131212), Sun hereinafter.
Re. Claim 52, D1 teaches a method performed by a wireless communication device for random access to a wireless communication network (D1, 0018: FIG. 13A, FIG. 13B, and FIG. 13C respectively illustrate a four-step contention-based random access procedure, a two-step contention-free random access procedure, and another two-step random access procedure.), the method comprising:
transmitting, to the wireless communication network, a random access preamble (D1, Fig. 13A-B; 0169: The procedure illustrated in FIG. 13A comprises transmission of four messages: a Msg 1 1311, a Msg 2 1312, a Msg 3 1313, and a Msg 4 1314. The Msg 1 1311 may include and/or be referred to as a preamble (or a random access preamble). 0180: The procedure illustrated in FIG. 13B comprises transmission of two messages: a Msg 1 1321 and a Msg 2 1322. The Msg 1 1321 and the Msg 2 1322 may be analogous in some respects to the Msg 1 1311 and a Msg 2 1312 illustrated in FIG. 13A, respectively.)
in a random access channel occasion (D1, 0174: The Msg 1 1311 may be transmitted to the base station via one or more PRACH occasions.)
that comprises one or more symbols (D1, 0176: For example, the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission). [A last symbol of the preamble implies the preamble/random access channel occasion comprises one or more symbols.]); and
monitoring for a response to the random access preamble within a response window (D1, 0176: The Msg 2 1312 received by the UE may include an RAR. 0176: After transmitting a preamble, the UE may start a time window (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow) to monitor a PDCCH for the Msg 2 1312.),
wherein the response window starts in an earliest control resource set that begins at least a minimum number of symbols after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion (D1, 0118: For a downlink BWP in a set of configured downlink BWPs on a primary cell (PCell), a base station may configure a UE with one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) for at least one search space. A search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information. 0176: The UE may determine when to start the time window based on a PRACH occasion that the UE uses to transmit the preamble. For example, the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission). [The PDCCH occasion is defined by the configured CORESET]).
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the minimum number of symbols is greater than one.
However, in the related art, Sun teaches wherein the minimum number of symbols is greater than one (Sun, 0110: For example, for half duplex FD-FDD MTC (machine type communication) in an LTE system, users need one slot (1 millisecond) to retune.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 53. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach after transmitting the random access preamble at a transmit frequency, re-tuning a receiver of the wireless communication device to monitor for the response at a receive frequency.
However, in the related art, Sun teaches after transmitting the random access preamble at a transmit frequency, re-tuning a receiver of the wireless communication device to monitor for the response at a receive frequency (Sun, 0110: For a half duplex HD-FDD UE, if uplink and downlink share the same crystal oscillator, the UE will need a long time to retune due to different frequencies that the uplink and downlink are at. And 0194: The time interval between the end of the PRACH transmission and the beginning of the RAR window reception may be different for UEs with different uplink and downlink switching processing capabilities, by predefinition or configuration by the base station. And 0195: For a UE with specific UE capabilities, it needs to go through a longer interval than interval 1 after transmitting the last symbol of the PRACH, for example, the predefined or base station-configured interval 2. [Since a HD-FDD UE transmits on one frequency and receives on a second frequency, it is necessary for a HD-FDD UE to retune between transmitting the preamble and monitoring for the response.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 54. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
D1 further teaches wherein the random access preamble is transmitted using a transmitter of the wireless communication device (D1, 0174: The Msg 1 1311 may be transmitted to the base station via one or more PRACH occasions.).
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein re-tuning the receiver comprises re-tuning an oscillator shared between the transmitter and the receiver.
However, in the related art, Sun teaches wherein re-tuning the receiver comprises re-tuning an oscillator shared between the transmitter and the receiver (Sun, 0110: For a half duplex HD-FDD UE, if uplink and downlink share the same crystal oscillator, the UE will need a long time to retune due to different frequencies that the uplink and downlink are at.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 55. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein one or more control resource sets each begin at least one symbol after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion but begin fewer than said minimum number of symbols after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion.
However, in the related art, Sun teaches wherein one or more control resource sets each begin at least one symbol after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion but begin fewer than said minimum number of symbols after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion (Sun, 0195: As shown in FIG. 6A, since CORESET1 does not satisfy interval 2, then, the UE starts the RAR window timer at the start position of the first CORESET (i.e., CORESET 2) after interval 2 after transmitting the last symbol of the PRACH, and the timing of the RAR window 2 is started until the timer expires (for example, the end of RAR window 2). [interval 2 corresponds the minimum number of symbols after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 56. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
D1 further teaches wherein said earliest control resource set, and each of the one or more control resource sets, is a control resource set that the wireless communication device is configured to receive a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for a Type1- PDCCH common search space (CSS) set (D1, 0176: For example, the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission). The one or more symbols may be determined based on a numerology. The PDCCH may be in a common search space (e.g., a Type1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message. D1, 0194: the base station transmits a DCI via a PDCCH on one or more control resource sets (CORESETs)).
Re. Claim 57. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 55.
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach waiting to monitor for the response until the start of the response window, wherein said waiting comprises refraining from monitoring for the response during said one or more control resource sets.
However, in the related art, Sun teaches waiting to monitor for the response until the start of the response window (Sun, 0195: For a UE with specific UE capabilities, it needs to go through a longer interval than interval 1 after transmitting the last symbol of the PRACH, for example, the predefined or base station-configured interval 2.),
wherein said waiting comprises refraining from monitoring for the response during said one or more control resource sets (Sun, 0195: As shown in FIG. 6A, since CORESET1 does not satisfy interval 2, then, the UE starts the RAR window timer at the start position of the first CORESET (i.e., CORESET 2) after interval 2 after transmitting the last symbol of the PRACH, and the timing of the RAR window 2 is started until the timer expires (for example, the end of RAR window 2).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 58. D1 in view of Sun teaches the method of claim 52,
D1 further teaches wherein the wireless communication device is a half-duplex frequency division duplex (FDD) device (D1, 0222: Potential UE complexity reduction features may include: reduced number of UE RX/TX antennas; reduced UE bandwidth (e.g., Rel-15 SSB bandwidth may be reused and L1 changes minimized); Half-Duplex-FDD; relaxed UE processing time; and relaxed UE processing capability.) or
Re. Claim 59. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
D1 further teaches selecting the random access channel occasion, in which to transmit the random access preamble (D1, 0170: The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. The one or more RACH parameters may comprise at least one of following: general parameters for one or more random access procedures (e.g., RACH-configGeneral); cell-specific parameters (e.g., RACH-ConfigCommon); and/or dedicated parameters (e.g., RACH-configDedicated). The base station may broadcast or multicast the one or more RRC messages to one or more UEs. The one or more RRC messages may be UE-specific (e.g., dedicated RRC messages transmitted to a UE in an RRC_CONNECTED state and/or in an RRC_INACTIVE state). The UE may determine, based on the one or more RACH parameters, a time-frequency resource and/or an uplink transmit power for transmission of the Msg 1 1311 and/or the Msg 3 1313..), from a set of random access channel occasions that are frequency multiplexed across a frequency bandwidth wider than a transmit bandwidth of the wireless communication device (D1, 0277: For frequency hopping within a BWP, the base station may configure a wideband BWP comprising multiple narrow subbands (e.g., a 100 MHz BWP comprising five, 20 MHz subbands). The RedCap UE may support the bandwidth of the subbands but not the entire BWP. And 0290: The one or more RRC messages may be broadcast or multicast messages sent to all or multiple UEs of the cell. For example, the base station may send the one or more RRC messages to the reduced-bandwidth (RedCap) UEs of the cell. For example, the base station may send the configuration parameters indicating the plurality of subbands to the reduced-bandwidth (RedCap) UEs of the cell.).
Re. Claim 60. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
D1 further teaches before the start of the response window, transmitting an indication of a transmit bandwidth of the wireless communication device and/or a receive bandwidth of the wireless communication device (D1, 0294: For example, the wireless device may indicate (explicitly or implicitly) its bandwidth capability to the base station. For example, a reduced bandwidth UE may use a first set of PRACH resources dedicated to/configured for reduced bandwidth UEs of the same type. For example, the base station may configure the subbands (e.g., the SCS of subbands and/or the size/width of subbands and/or the number of subbands) for a wireless device in response to its indicated bandwidth capability.).
Re. Claim 61. D1 in view of Sun teaches the method of claim 52, further comprising
selecting, based on a transmit bandwidth of the wireless communication device, at least one of any one or more of:
a time and/or frequency resource for the random access channel occasion in which the random access preamble is to be transmitted (D1, 0294: For example, a reduced bandwidth UE may use a first set of PRACH resources dedicated to/configured for reduced bandwidth UEs of the same type.).
Re. Claim 62. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach receiving, from the wireless communication network, a random access configuration indicating the minimum number of symbols.
However, in the related art, Sun teaches receiving, from the wireless communication network, a random access configuration indicating the minimum number of symbols (Sun, 0190: The RAR reception resources may be, but are not limited to, at least one of the start position of the RAR window, the length of the RAR window, the RNTI for descrambling the RAR, the PDCCH search space, and the control resource set CORESET. The fourth mapping relationship predefined or pre-configured by the base station may be agreed in advance between the UE and the base station, for example, through system information configuration or defined in the protocol in advance.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 63. D1 in view of Sun teaches the method of claim 62,
wherein the random access configuration is received from a first cell or on a first carrier, first band, or first frequency (D1, 0181: The contention-free random access procedure illustrated in FIG. 13B may be initiated for a beam failure recovery, other SI request, SCell addition, and/or handover. For example, a base station may indicate or assign to the UE the preamble to be used for the Msg 1 1321.),
wherein the random access configuration is applicable for random access to a second cell or on a second carrier, second band, or second frequency (D1, 0168: A network may initiate a random access procedure for a handover and/or for establishing time alignment for an SCell addition.).
Re. Claim 64. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the minimum number of symbols is 2,
However, int the related art, Sun teaches
wherein the minimum number of symbols is 2, In one example, the different conditions may be different subcarrier spacings. For example, UE retuning processing capability A requires an interval 1-A of one symbol and an interval 2-A of four symbols at 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (condition 1) and 60 kHz subcarrier spacing (condition 2). The base station may schedule for the UE according to the subcarrier spacing configured in the current BWP and the capability corresponding to the subcarrier spacing, for example, the base station may directly configure or indicate an appropriate spacing for the UE. Specifically, for example, the base station schedules the PUSCH for the UE with capability A on the BWP with subcarrier spacing of 15KHz, and indicates an interval frequency hopping interval of two symbols for the UE, where two symbols are larger than the interval 1-A required by the UE, which is one symbol. [Fig. 6A and Sun, 0195 show that the retuning process applies to the PRACH to RAR window timing as well as the PUSCH scheduling.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 65. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach determining the minimum number of symbols based on
a subcarrier spacing for the response, and/or
However, in the related art, Sun teaches determining the minimum number of symbols based on
a subcarrier spacing for the response (Sun, 0133: The base station may schedule for the UE according to the subcarrier spacing configured in the current BWP and the capability corresponding to the subcarrier spacing, for example, the base station may directly configure or indicate an appropriate spacing for the UE.), and/or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 68. D1 in view of Sun teaches claim 52.
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach determining the minimum number of symbols as a function of:
whether the wireless communication device is operating as a full-duplex device or a half- duplex device; and/or
whether the wireless communication device is operating as a half-duplex Type A device or a half-duplex Type B device; and/or
However, in the related art, Sun teaches determining the minimum number of symbols as a function of:
whether the wireless communication device is operating as a full-duplex device or a half- duplex device (Sun, 0110: For a half duplex HD-FDD UE, if uplink and downlink share the same crystal oscillator, the UE will need a long time to retune due to different frequencies that the uplink and downlink are at. For example, for half duplex FD-FDD MTC (machine type communication) in an LTE system, users need one slot (1 millisecond) to retune. For a UE with an unshared crystal oscillator, it takes the time of 1-2 symbols to retune.); and/or
whether the wireless communication device is operating as a half-duplex Type A device or a half-duplex Type B device (Sun, 0112: Among them, Type A HD-FDD has two oscillators, so the switching between uplink and downlink can be completed in a very short time (such as the first interval). However, Type B HD-FDD has only one oscillator. Due to the different uplink and downlink frequencies of an FDD system, a long time interval (such as the second interval) is needed for switching between uplink and downlink.); and/or
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 69, D1 teaches a method performed by a radio network node of a wireless communication network (D1, 0018: FIG. 13A, FIG. 13B, and FIG. 13C respectively illustrate a four-step contention-based random access procedure, a two-step contention-free random access procedure, and another two-step random access procedure.), the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless communication device, a random access preamble (D1, Fig. 13A-B; 0169: The procedure illustrated in FIG. 13A comprises transmission of four messages: a Msg 1 1311, a Msg 2 1312, a Msg 3 1313, and a Msg 4 1314. The Msg 1 1311 may include and/or be referred to as a preamble (or a random access preamble). 0180: The procedure illustrated in FIG. 13B comprises transmission of two messages: a Msg 1 1321 and a Msg 2 1322. The Msg 1 1321 and the Msg 2 1322 may be analogous in some respects to the Msg 1 1311 and a Msg 2 1312 illustrated in FIG. 13A, respectively.)
in a random access channel occasion (D1, 0174: The Msg 1 1311 may be transmitted to the base station via one or more PRACH occasions.)
that comprises one or more symbols (D1, 0176: For example, the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission). [A last symbol of the preamble implies the preamble/random access channel occasion comprises one or more symbols.]); and
transmitting a response to the random access preamble within a response window (D1, 0176: The Msg 2 1312 received by the UE may include an RAR. 0176: After transmitting a preamble, the UE may start a time window (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow) to monitor a PDCCH for the Msg 2 1312.),
wherein the response window starts in an earliest control resource set that begins at least a minimum number of symbols after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion (D1, 0118: For a downlink BWP in a set of configured downlink BWPs on a primary cell (PCell), a base station may configure a UE with one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) for at least one search space. A search space is a set of locations in the time and frequency domains where the UE may find control information. 0176: The UE may determine when to start the time window based on a PRACH occasion that the UE uses to transmit the preamble. For example, the UE may start the time window one or more symbols after a last symbol of the preamble (e.g., at a first PDCCH occasion from an end of a preamble transmission). [The PDCCH occasion is defined by the configured CORESET]).
Yet, D1 does not explicitly teach wherein the minimum number of symbols is greater than one.
However, in the related art, Sun teaches wherein the minimum number of symbols is greater than one (Sun, 0110: For example, for half duplex FD-FDD MTC (machine type communication) in an LTE system, users need one slot (1 millisecond) to retune.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of D1 with the method for defining an uplink and downlink time table of Sun. The resulting device would provide for supporting the operation of half duplex frequency division duplex UEs in NR (Sun, 0009-0010).
Re. Claim 70. Claim 70 is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 52. Claim 70 does not further define over the limitations of claim 52. Therefore, claim 70 is rejected for similar reasons as set forth in claim 52.
Re. Claim 71. Claim 71 is an apparatus claim corresponding to the method of claim 69. Claim 71 does not further define over the limitations of claim 69. Therefore, it is rejected for similar reasons as set for in claim 69.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 66-67 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re. Claim 66. The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest
determining the minimum number of symbols as a function of
R
S
, where R is a radio frequency re-tuning time of the wireless communication device, S is a subcarrier spacing for the response, and
is a ceiling function.
For clarity, the prior art does not teach a minimum number of symbols based on the ceiling of the ratio of the radio frequency re-tuning time and the subcarrier spacing for the response.
Re. Claim 67. The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest
wherein a reference control resource set is an earliest control resource set that begins at least one symbol after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion,
wherein the reference control resource set starts x symbols after the last symbol of the random access channel occasion, and
wherein the method further comprising determining the minimum number of symbols as a function of
R
S
-
x
, where R is a radio frequency re-tuning time of the wireless communication device, S is a subcarrier spacing for the response, and
is a ceiling function.
For clarity, the prior art does not teach a minimum number of symbols based on the ceiling of the ratio of the radio frequency re-tuning time and the subcarrier spacing for the response.
Conclusion
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417