DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 11, 20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (US 2022/0045155 A1; hereinafter, “Ma”, of record).
Regarding claims 1-8, 10, 11, 20 and 23:
re claim 1, Ma discloses (in Figs. 1 and 10) a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate 710 [0065] comprising a display region (Fig. 1, region comprising elements 220) and a peripheral region (Fig. 1, edge/bezel region around elements 220);
a first planarization layer 750 (Fig. 10 and [0064]) located on one side of the base substrate 710;
a plurality of sub-pixels 771/772/773 (Fig. 10) located at the display region, wherein a plurality of anodes 771 [0069] of the plurality of sub-pixels is located on one side of the first planarization layer 750 away from the base substrate 710;
a pixel defining layer 760 (Fig. 10 and [0064]) located on one side of the first planarization layer 750 and the plurality of anodes 771 away from the base substrate 710, and having a plurality of pixel openings (e.g., opening in 760 located above 771 in Fig. 10) in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of anodes 771, wherein each of the plurality of pixel openings exposes at least a part of an anode 771 corresponding to each of the plurality of pixel openings; and
a planarization structure (see “planarization structure” in Exhibit A below and 300/3001 in Figs. 10 and [0069, 0071]) comprising a plurality of planarization portions 300/3001 located at the display region, the plurality of planarization portions being located between the base substrate 710 and the first planarization layer 750 and covered by the first planarization layer 750, and the plurality of planarization portions being in one-to-one correspondence with a first group of pixel openings (Fig. 10), wherein the first group of pixel openings comprise at least a part of the plurality of pixel openings, an orthographic projection of a bottom of each of the first group of pixel openings on the base substrate is a first orthographic projection (see “1” in Exhibit A), orthographic projections of an anode and a planarization portion which correspond to each of the first group of pixel openings on the base substrate are a second orthographic projection (see “2” in Exhibit A) and a third orthographic projection (see “3” in Exhibit A) respectively, and an entire overlapping portion (see “entire overlapping portion of…” in Exhibit A) of the first orthographic projection and the second orthographic projection is located within the third orthographic projection;
re claim 2, the display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second planarization layer 730 (Fig. 10 and [0064]) located between the first planarization layer 750 and the base substrate 710, wherein the plurality of planarization portions 300/3001 is located between the first planarization layer 750 and the second planarization layer 730;
wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises:
a pixel driving circuit comprising a driving transistor, the driving transistor
comprising a gate 723 (Fig. 10 and [0064]), a first electrode (“1st electrode” in Exhibit A) and a second electrode (“2nd electrode” in Exhibit A), wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are covered by the second planarization layer 730, and a metal portion (“metal” in Exhibit A) located between the first planarization layer 750 and the second planarization layer 730, wherein the metal portion is connected to the anode 771 via a first via hole penetrating through the first planarization layer 750 and connected to the first electrode via a second via hole penetrating through the second planarization layer 730;
re claim 3, the display panel according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of planarization portions 300/3001 is located in a same layer as the metal portion (“metal” in Exhibit A);
re claim 4, the display panel according to claim 3, further comprising a plurality
of data lines (e.g., Vdata in Fig. 6, which is connected to drive transistor T0) configured to provide a data signal to the plurality of sub-pixels, each of the plurality of data lines comprising:
a first data portion (Vdata in Fig. 6) located at the display region and located in a same layer as the first electrode (i.e., located at least “in” layer 750, which is above source/drain metal layer 727 in Fig. 10); and
a second data portion located at the peripheral region (i.e., data line portions inherently extend into the peripheral region, e.g., see US 2019/0348491 to Chung et al., Fig. 3 and [0094], wherein DL extends into a peripheral region), connected to the first data portion and located in a same layer as the metal portion (i.e., located at least “in” layer 750, which is above “metal” in Exhibit A);
re claim 5, the display panel according to claim 3, further comprising:
a plurality of second power lines V1 (Fig. 6 and [0056]) configured to provide a second power signal to the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein a voltage of the second power signal V1 (Fig. 6) is greater than a voltage of a first power signal V2 (Fig. 6) provided to a cathode of the plurality of sub-pixels (e.g., in Fig. 6, the light-emitting device 50 represent a sub-pixel), and the plurality of second power lines is located in a same layer as the first electrode (i.e., in Fig. 6, “V1” connects to source/drain of transistor T5, which is connected to the anode of LED 50; accordingly, V1 is located in a same layer as the first electrode or source/drain electrode);
re claim 6, the display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of signal lines (e.g., scan lines S3 in Fig. 6 and [0056]) configured to provide a signal to the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein at least one planarization portion of the plurality of planarization portions is arranged in a same layer as one of the plurality of signal lines and connected to the one of the plurality of signal lines (i.e., scan lines S3 connect to the gate of T5, wherein the gate of T5 would be gate 723 in Fig. 10; accordingly, at least one planarization portion 300 and on signal line S3 are arranged at least “in” layer 750, which is above both the portion 300 and gate 723 in Fig. 10);
re claim 7, the display panel according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of signal lines (scan line S3 or in Fig. 10, one of the source/drain electrode 727) extends along a first direction (into the page as view in Fig. 10), and a minimum length of the at least one
planarization portion 300 in a second direction (horizontal direction as view in Fig. 10) is greater than a maximum length of the one of the plurality of signal lines in the second direction, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (i.e., in Fig. 10, the length of 300 in the horizontal direction is larger than the length of 727 in the horizontal direction);
re claim 8, the display panel according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of signal lines comprises:
a data line configured to provide a data signal to the plurality of sub-pixels; or
a second power line V1 (Fig. 6) configured to provide a second power signal to the plurality of sub-pixels (element 50 in Fig. 6), wherein a voltage of the second power signal V1 is greater than a voltage of a first power signal V2 (Fig. 6) provided to a cathode of the plurality of sub-pixels;
re claim 10, the display panel according to claim 1, wherein an area of the overlapping portion (see “entire overlapping portion…” in Exhibit A) of the first orthogonal projection and the second orthogonal projection is smaller than an area of the third orthogonal projection (see “3”in Exhibit A);
re claim 11, the display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first power line 7733 (Fig. 14 and [0082]) located at the peripheral region (e.g., outside of “101” in Fig. 14) and configured to provide a first power signal to a cathode 7731 [0082] of the plurality of sub-pixels; and
a conductive structure comprising at least one conductive portion 7732 (Fig. 14 and [0082]) located at the display region (e.g., “101” in Fig. 14), wherein the at least one conductive portion 7732 is configured such that a part of current flowing from the plurality of anodes 771 (Fig. 14 and [0069]) to the first power line 7733 via the cathode 7731 flows back to the first power line 7733 via the at least one conductive portion 7732;
re claim 20, the display panel according to claim 11, wherein the at least one conductive portion comprises a plurality of conductive portions connected to each other, and each of the plurality of conductive portions is reused as one of the plurality of planarization portions (i.e., in Fig. 16, a plurality of pixels requires a plurality of conductive portions 7735/7736 [0083] connected to each other with the cathode signal line [0083]); and
re claim 23, a display device 1000 (Fig. 22 and [0092], comprising the display panel according claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-8, 10, 11, 20 and 23 are anticipated by Ma.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0161776 A1; hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 21:
Ma anticipates claim 11 and further discloses wherein a material of the at least one conductive portion 7732 (and 300 in Fig. 14) is [transparent] material [0043], each of the at least one conductive portion 7732 (Fig. 14) is located between a pixel driving circuit of a corresponding sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels and the base substrate (i.e., the pixel driving circuit includes cathode wiring line 7731/7733; accordingly, portion 7732 is between line 7731/7733 and substrate 710 in Fig. 14), and an
orthographic projection of each of the at least one conductive portion 7732 (Fig. 14) on the base substrate 710 at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the pixel driving circuit (e.g., orthographic projection of “7731/7733” in Fig. 14) of the corresponding sub-pixel on the base substrate.
Ma does not disclose the conductive portion 7732 is light-shielding material. However, Wang teaches, in a similar device (Fig. 2F and [0029]), a conductive portion 320 of a common electrode can be transmissive or reflective (i.e., light shielding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ma by specifically incorporating light-shielding material for conductive portion 7732, because Wang teaches such a conductive portion can be either transparent (as in Ma) or light-shielding, wherein incorporating a specific type of material would depend on a particular design requirement, e.g., incorporating a light-shielding (or reflective) material would direct light in the upward direction of Ma’s display device.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Ma et al. (US 207/0194593 A1; hereinafter, “Ma-II”).
Regarding claim 22:
Ma discloses a display panel, comprising:
a base substrate 710 (Fig. 16) comprising a display region 101 (Figs. 15-16) and a peripheral region (outside 101 in Figs. 15-16), ;
a plurality of sub-pixels (e.g., pixels comprising 7731 in Figs. 15-16) located at the display region 101;
a first power line 7733 (Figs. 15-16) located at the peripheral region and configured to provide a first power signal to a cathode 7731 of the plurality of sub-pixels, ; and
a conductive structure comprising at least one conductive portion 7735 (Fig. 16) located at the display region 101, wherein the at least one conductive portion is connected to the first power portion 7733 via a first connection line and connected to the first power portion via a second connection line (i.e., in Fig. 16, the one conductive portion 7735 is connected to the power line 7733 using two connection lines in two separate vias).
Ma does not provide details regarding the peripheral region and how the power first power line is arranged in the peripheral region; accordingly, Ma does not disclose the lined-through limitations.
Ma-II teaches it was well known in the art to provide a power line 360/380 (Fig. 6 and Exhibit B below) located in the peripheral region around a display region 310. Ma-II discloses the peripheral region comprising a first peripheral region (see “1st region” in Exhibit B) and a second peripheral region (see “2nd region” in Exhibit B) arranged oppositely, and a third peripheral region (see “3rd region” in Exhibit B) and a fourth peripheral region (see “4th region” in Exhibit B) arranged oppositely, wherein the third peripheral region and the fourth peripheral region are both adjacent to the first peripheral region and the second peripheral region;
the first power line comprising: a first power portion (see “1st PWR” in Exhibit B) located at the first peripheral region; a second power portion (see “2nd PWR” in Exhibit B) located at the second peripheral region; a third power portion (see “3rd PWR” in Exhibit B) located at the third peripheral region and connected between the first power portion and the second power portion; and a fourth power portion located at the fourth peripheral region and comprising a first portion (see “1st portion” in Exhibit B) and a second portion (see “2nd portion” in Exhibit B), wherein the first portion is connected between the first power portion and a first pad (see “1st pad” in Exhibit B), and the second portion is connected between the third power portion and a second pad (see “2nd pad” in Exhibit B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Ma’s first power line in the peripheral area surrounding the display region because Ma-II teaches such a configuration was well known in the art and the configuration would provide a common line 360 (see Ma-II, Fig. 6 and [0045]) for a common electrode (i.e., for the cathode).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 14-16 and 18 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 12, 14-16 and 18 are allowed primarily because independent claim 12 has been rewritten to incorporate the allowable subject matter of prior claim 13 in combination with a limitation requiring “wherein the at least one conductive portion is configured such that a part of current flowing from a plurality of anodes…to the first power line via the cathode flows back to the first power line via the at least one conductive pattern”.
Remarks
The objection to the title is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant’s remarks have been carefully reviewed and considered; however, they are not persuasive because Ma anticipates the amended structural limitations in claim 1 as shown and explained in detail hereinbefore.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892