Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN202110247124 on 03/05/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment of Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's amendment, filed on 2/26/2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhou PG PUB 20110111133 (hereinafter Zhou), in view of Han PG PUB 20200350120 (hereinafter Han).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhou teaches a laser-programmable magnetoresistive device, comprising: a substrate (wafer indicated in abstract and [0040] of Zhou, “…patterned sensor stack films formed on a wafer…”), a magnetoresistive sensor (“GMR”, “TMR sensor” indicated in [0005] of Zhou, figure 1, 11/12 in figure 5a of Zhou) and a thermal control layer (10 in figure 5a of Zhou, [0048] of Zhou, “…non-magnetic metallic plasmon generating layer (10), which can be Au, Ag or Cu…”, [0048] of Zhou, “…metallic plasmon generating layer can either be in direct contact with the AFM layer or it may be separated from the AFM layer by other layers that do not significantly affect the heat transfer between layers (10) and (11)…”) which are sequentially arranged in a stacked manner (figure 5a of Zhou), and the magnetoresistive sensor (“GMR”, “TMR sensor” indicated in [0005] of Zhou, figure 1, 11/12 in figure 5a of Zhou) is composed of a magnetoresistive sensing unit which is a multilayer thin-film stacked structure having an anti-ferromagnetic layer (an anti-ferromagnetic (AFM) layer (1) in figure 1 of Zhou, [0004] of Zhou); and the magnetoresistive device is configured to, in a phase of programming by laser writing, change film layer parameters of the thermal control layer and/or the magnetoresistive sensor to adjust a change rate of a temperature of the magnetoresistive sensor along with a laser power (Zhou teaches that plasmon-generating layers absorb optical radiation and convert it into heat which controls the temperature of MR stack layers, abstract, “… generated plasmons thereupon produce thermal energy which is transferred to portions of the fabrication with which the plasmon generation layer has thermal contact…”, [0042], “…utilization of a patterned layer of plasmon generating material acting as a plasmon antenna (PA) to direct energy of an optically generated plasmon onto a selected localized region…”), to increase or decrease a temperature of writing into the magnetoresistive sensor at the same laser power ([0019] of Zhou, “… plasmon generating layer that acts as a plasmon antenna (PA) in the same sub-micron size sensor film. The generating layer demonstrates excellent light power absorption in previous applications and studies and can achieve the heating above the Curie temperature of magnetic materials that is required for an AFM pin anneal…”), and the film layer parameters comprise at least one of a film layer material and a film layer thickness (Zhou teaches heating efficiency depends on the material and geometric properties of the plasmon generating layer, including layer material and thickness, [0045] of Zhou, “…FIG. 2 shows the clear dependence of plasmon absorption of light power on the pattern size and material…”, [0047], [0048] of Zhou teaches the plasmon layer can be formed by Au, Ag or Cu, different material selections, figure 13 teaches Plasmon heating can be made selective by coordinating the frequency and polarization of the excitation radiation with the size and shape of the antenna material coupled to the MR devices).
But Zhou does not teach wherein a non-magnetic insulating layer for electrical isolation is provided between the magnetoresistive sensor and the thermal control layer.
However, Han teaches in abstract and figure 5 to deposit an insulating layer (24 in figure 5 of Han) on top of MT structure (12/14/16 in figure 5 of Han), followed by deposition of a metallic layers. The metallic layer is patterned in to heat resistor (26 in figure 5 of Han). The insulating layer and heat resistor layer are provided for annealing the MR structure ([0026] of Han, “…FIG. 5 schematically illustrates a method and a mechanism capable of annealing MR structures to obtain pinned layers of different magnetic orientations. Referring to FIG. 5, MR structure 22 comprises non-magnetic layer 14 that is laminated between ferromagnetic layers 12 and 16. Insulating layer 24 is deposited on top of the MR structure (22), for example, on top of ferromagnetic layer 12. Heating resistor 26 is formed on insulating layer 24. For establishing the magnetic orientation of pinned layer 16, biasing magnetic field H.sub.b is applied. In the presence of bias magnetic field H.sub.b, the temperature ferromagnetic layer 16 is raised equal to or above its blocking temperature T.sub.b. This is achieved by feeding current I through heat resistor 26…”)
Zhou and Han are analogous art because both relate to magnetoresistive sensor fabrication and thermal processing techniques for MR sensor structures. At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou and Han before him, to modify light-assisted program scheme of Zhou to include the insulating layer between heating element and MR logic and implementation of Han, such that a non-magnetic insulating layer (e.g., 24 in figure 5 of Han) for electrical isolation is provided between the magnetoresistive sensor (MR structure (22) in figure 5 of Han) and the thermal control layer (26 in figure 5 of Han), in order to electrically isolate the MR stack from the heating structure while maintaining thermal coupling during heating operations, since insulating layers are conventionally used in MR sensor stacks to prevent electrical interference while allowing thermal processes to occur.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhou and Han teaches the magnetoresistive device according to claim 1, wherein the magnetoresistive sensor is a giant magnetoresistive (GMR) sensor (“GMR”, “TMR sensor” indicated in [0005] of Zhou, “GMR” in [0022] of Han), a tunnel magnetoresistive (TMR) sensor (“GMR”, “TMR sensor” indicated in [0005] of Zhou, “TMR” in [0022] of Han) or an anisotropic magnetoresistive (AMR) sensor (GMR, TMR and AMR sensors are standard magnetoresistive sensor techniques used in magnetic sensing devices).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhou and Han teaches the magnetoresistive device according to claim 1, wherein constituent materials of the thermal control layer comprise non- magnetic laser low absorption coefficient materials or laser high absorption coefficient materials, the laser low absorption coefficient materials comprise at least one of tantalum, titanium, copper, molybdenum, gold ([0048] of Zhou teaches the plasmon layer can be formed by Au, Ag or Cu), silver ([0048] of Zhou teaches the plasmon layer can be formed by Au, Ag or Cu), silver, aluminum, platinum and tin, and the laser high absorption coefficient materials comprise at least one of zirconium oxide, titanium oxide, carbon film, phosphate and aluminum titanium nitride.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhou and Han teaches the magnetoresistive device according to claim 1, wherein the laser has a wavelength in a range of 100nm to 3000nm (figure 2 of Zhou teaches light wavelength ranging from 400nm to 1000nm).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhou and Han teaches a method of programming laser-programmable magnetoresistive devices (“GMR”, “TMR sensor” indicated in [0005] of Zhou, figure 1, 11/12 in figure 5a of Zhou) according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises: changing, in a phase of programming by laser writing, film layer parameters of the thermal control layer and/or the magnetoresistive sensor which comprise at least one of a film layer material and a film layer thickness (Zhou teaches heating efficiency depends on the material and geometric properties of the plasmon generating layer, including layer material and thickness, [0045] of Zhou, “…FIG. 2 shows the clear dependence of plasmon absorption of light power on the pattern size and material…”, [0047], [0048] of Zhou teaches the plasmon layer can be formed by Au, Ag or Cu, different material selections, figure 13 teaches Plasmon heating can be made selective by coordinating the frequency and polarization of the excitation radiation with the size and shape of the antenna material coupled to the MR devices); and adjusting a change rate of a temperature of the magnetoresistive sensor along with a laser power, and increasing or decreasing a temperature of writing into the magnetoresistive sensor at the same laser power (Zhou teaches that plasmon-generating layers absorb optical radiation and convert it into heat which controls the temperature of MR stack layers, abstract, “… generated plasmons thereupon produce thermal energy which is transferred to portions of the fabrication with which the plasmon generation layer has thermal contact…”, [0042], “…utilization of a patterned layer of plasmon generating material acting as a plasmon antenna (PA) to direct energy of an optically generated plasmon onto a selected localized region…”)
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhou PG PUB 20110111133 (hereinafter Zhou), in view of Han PG PUB 20200350120 (hereinafter Han), further in view of Zhang PG PUB 20110279921 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhou and Han teaches the magnetoresistive device according to claim 1, wherein a material of at least one film layer of the thermal control layer, the first insulating layer, the seed layer, the top electrode layer and the cap layer is selected to increase or decrease the temperature of writing into the magnetoresistive sensor at the same laser power; and/or a thickness of at least one film layer of the thermal control layer, the first insulating layer, the seed layer, the top electrode layer and the cap layer is selected to increase or decrease a temperature of writing into the magnetoresistive sensor at the same laser power ([0023] of Zhou teaches Plasmon heating that can be made selective by coordinating the frequency and polarization of the excitation radiation with the size and shape of the antenna material coupled to the MR devices”, figure 2 of Zhou, [0048] of Zhou, “…When the size, thickness, shape, orientation and material of layer (10) is properly matched to the wavelength, polarization and optical mode (if from an optical waveguide) of the incident light, a plasmon can be excited in layer (10) and generate the heating of layer (11) that is in close proximity…”).
But the combination of Zhou and Han does not teach wherein in a direction from the substrate to the thermal control layer, the multilayer thin-film stacked structure comprises a seed layer, the anti-ferromagnetic layer, a free layer, a top electrode layer and a cap layer which are sequentially arranged in a stacked manner, and a first insulating layer is provided between the substrate and the seed layer.
However, Zhang teaches in abstract and figure 7 a conventional multiplayer TMR element having stack of multilayer thin-film stacked structure comprises a seed layer (21 in figure 7 of Zhang, or “seed layer” in [0004] of Zhang), the anti-ferromagnetic layer ([0004] of Zhang, “…MTJ element is typically formed between a bottom electrode such as a first conductive line and a top electrode…MTJ stack of layers may have a bottom spin valve configuration in which a seed layer, an anti-ferromagnetic (AFM) pinning layer, a ferromagnetic "pinned" layer, a thin tunnel barrier layer, a ferromagnetic "free" layer, and a capping layer are sequentially formed on a bottom electrode. The AFM layer holds the magnetic moment of the pinned layer in a fixed direction…”), a free layer (“free layer” in [0004] of Zhang), a top electrode layer (“top electrode” in [0004] of Zhang) and a cap layer which are sequentially arranged in a stacked manner, and a first insulating layer ([0048] of Zhou, “…metallic plasmon generating layer can either be in direct contact with the AFM layer or it may be separated from the AFM layer by other layers that do not significantly affect the heat transfer between layers (10) and (11)…”, Han teaches providing an insulating layer between MR structures and heating structures (insulating layer 24 in figure 5 of Han) is provided between the substrate and the seed layer.
Zhou, Han and Zhang are analogous art because all three are related to magnetoresistive sensor fabrication and thermal processing techniques for MR sensor structures. At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou, Han and Zhang before him, to modify light-assisted program scheme of Zhou to include the insulating layer between heating element and MR logic and implementation of Han, to further implement the conventional MTJ multilayer stack structure taught by Zhang, such that wherein in a direction from the substrate (20 in figure 7 of Zhang) to the thermal control layer (plasmon generating layer 10 in figure 5a of Zhou), the multilayer thin-film stacked structure comprises a seed layer (21 in figure 7 of Zhang, or “seed layer” in [0004] of Zhang, “…MTJ element is typically formed between a bottom electrode such as a first conductive line and a top electrode…MTJ stack of layers may have a bottom spin valve configuration in which a seed layer, an anti-ferromagnetic (AFM) pinning layer, a ferromagnetic "pinned" layer, a thin tunnel barrier layer, a ferromagnetic "free" layer, and a capping layer are sequentially formed on a bottom electrode. The AFM layer holds the magnetic moment of the pinned layer in a fixed direction…”), the anti-ferromagnetic layer (“AFM” in [0004] of Zhang), a free layer (“free layer” in [0004] of Zhang), a top electrode layer (“top electrode” in [0004] of Zhang) and a cap layer (24 in figure 5 of Han) which are sequentially arranged in a stacked manner, and a first insulating layer is provided between the substrate and the seed layer ([0048] of Zhou, “…metallic plasmon generating layer can either be in direct contact with the AFM layer or it may be separated from the AFM layer by other layers that do not significantly affect the heat transfer between layers (10) and (11)…”, Han teaches providing an insulating layer between MR structures and heating structures (insulating layer 24 in figure 5 of Han), in order to improve device performance.
Claims 4-6, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhou PG PUB 20110111133 (hereinafter Zhou), in view of Han PG PUB 20200350120 (hereinafter Han), further in view of Deak PG PUB 20190227129 (hereinafter Deak).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhou and Han teaches the magnetoresistive device according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the magnetoresistive sensor is a push-pull magnetoresistive sensor, the push-pull magnetoresistive sensor is composed of a push magnetoresistive sensing unit array and a pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array, and both the push magnetoresistive sensing unit array and the pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array are composed of magnetoresistive sensing units.
However, Deak teaches in abstract and [0005] a wafer layout of MR sensing unit (TMR or GMR) where the AF layers of “push” and “pull” sensing units are magnetically oriented via laser thermal annealing and external magnetic field ([0005] of Seak, “…In the laser scanning method, the multilayer film structures of the magnetoresistive sensing units, the magnetoresistive sensing units such as TMR or GMR spin-valve magnetoresistive sensing units are heated to a temperature above the blocking temperature of the antiferromagnetic layer by scanning a laser, and applying an external magnetic field in the direction of X or −X, Y or −Y as well as the direction at a (−90,+90) extended angle is applied along a particular direction in the cooling process, and thus push-pull single-axis or double-axis magnetoresistive sensors can also be produced, so that the magnetization direction of the antiferromagnetic layer can be changed by laser thermal annealing without changing the multilayer film structure of the sensor…”)
Zhou, Han and Deak are analogous art because all three are related to magnetoresistive sensor fabrication and thermal processing techniques for MR sensor structures. At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou, Han and Deak before him, to apply light-assisted program scheme of Zhou to include sensor layout scheme of Deak, such that the one can produce push-pull signle -axis or double axis MR sensors by laser-writing the pinning directions, specifically, Deak teaches the magnetoresistive sensor is a push-pull magnetoresistive sensor, the push-pull magnetoresistive sensor is composed of a push magnetoresistive sensing unit array and a pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array, and both the push magnetoresistive sensing unit array and the pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array are composed of magnetoresistive sensing units ([0009] of Deak, “…the magnetoresistive sensor is a single-axis X push-pull magnetoresistive sensor or a double-axis X-Y push-pull magnetoresistive sensor…”). …”), in order to have a improved Push-pull magnetoresistive sensors.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhou, Han and Deak teaches the magnetoresistive device according to claim 4, wherein the push-pull magnetoresistive sensor is of a full-bridge structure, a half-bridge structure or a quasi-bridge structure ([0009] of Deak, “…the magnetoresistive sensor is a single-axis X push-pull magnetoresistive sensor or a double-axis X-Y push-pull magnetoresistive sensor, the single-axis X push-pull magnetoresistive sensor and the double-axis X-Y push-pull magnetoresistive sensor are of a full-bridge, half-bridge or quasi-bridge structure…”)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhou, Han and Deak teaches the magnetoresistive device according to claim 4, wherein the push-pull magnetoresistive sensor is a single-axis push-pull magnetoresistive sensor, a two-axis push-pull magnetoresistive sensor or a three-axis push-pull magnetoresistive sensor ([0009] of Deak, “…the magnetoresistive sensor is a single-axis X push-pull magnetoresistive sensor or a double-axis X-Y push-pull magnetoresistive sensor, the single-axis X push-pull magnetoresistive sensor and the double-axis X-Y push-pull magnetoresistive sensor are of a full-bridge, half-bridge or quasi-bridge structure…”)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhou and Han teaches the method to claim 10, but does not teach wherein the magnetoresistive sensor is a push-pull magnetoresistive sensor, the push-pull magnetoresistive sensor comprises a push magnetoresistive sensing unit array and a pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array, an anti-ferromagnetic layer of the push magnetoresistive sensing unit array has a magnetic moment direction+di, and an anti-ferromagnetic layer of the pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array has a magnetic moment direction −di, i is a positive integer and 1<i<3; and the laser writing method for programming further comprises: writing a magnetic moment into an anti-ferromagnetic layer of the push-pull magnetoresistive sensor which comprises writing the magnetic moment direction+di of the anti-ferromagnetic layer into the push magnetoresistive sensing unit array, and writing the magnetic moment direction −di of the anti-ferromagnetic layer into the pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array.
However, Deak teaches in abstract and [0005] a wafer layout of MR sensing unit (TMR or GMR) where the AF layers of “push” and “pull” sensing units are magnetically oriented via laser thermal annealing and external magnetic field ([0005] of Seak, “…In the laser scanning method, the multilayer film structures of the magnetoresistive sensing units, the magnetoresistive sensing units such as TMR or GMR spin-valve magnetoresistive sensing units are heated to a temperature above the blocking temperature of the antiferromagnetic layer by scanning a laser, and applying an external magnetic field in the direction of X or −X, Y or −Y as well as the direction at a (−90,+90) extended angle is applied along a particular direction in the cooling process, and thus push-pull single-axis or double-axis magnetoresistive sensors can also be produced, so that the magnetization direction of the antiferromagnetic layer can be changed by laser thermal annealing without changing the multilayer film structure of the sensor…”)
Zhou, Han and Deak are analogous art because all three are related to magnetoresistive sensor fabrication and thermal processing techniques for MR sensor structures. At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou, Han and Deak before him, to apply light-assisted program scheme of Zhou to include push-pull sensor layout scheme of Deak, such that the one can produce push-pull single -axis or double axis MR sensors by laser-writing the pinning directions, specifically, Deak teaches the magnetoresistive sensor is a push-pull magnetoresistive sensor, the push-pull magnetoresistive sensor comprises a push magnetoresistive sensing unit array and a pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array ([0009] of Deak, “…the magnetoresistive sensor is a single-axis X push-pull magnetoresistive sensor or a double-axis X-Y push-pull magnetoresistive sensor…”), an anti-ferromagnetic layer of the push magnetoresistive sensing unit array has a magnetic moment direction+di, and an anti-ferromagnetic layer of the pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array has a magnetic moment direction −di, i is a positive integer and 1<i<3 (Deak teaches in claim 5 /[0010]/[0011]/[0012] that there could be totally 2n types magnetization orientation angles); and the laser writing method for programming further comprises: writing a magnetic moment into an anti-ferromagnetic layer of the push-pull magnetoresistive sensor which comprises writing the magnetic moment direction+di of the anti-ferromagnetic layer into the push magnetoresistive sensing unit array, and writing the magnetic moment direction −di of the anti-ferromagnetic layer into the pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array ([0030]/[0031]/[0032]/[0033] of Deak, “… a laser spot scanning one or more magnetoresistive orientation groups or orientation subunits according to a scanning sequence; [0031] S2: heating the antiferromagnetic layers of the magnetoresistive sensing units to above the blocking temperature through the laser spot in the scanning process; [0032] S3: cooling the antiferromagnetic layers, and applying an external magnetic field along the direction of the magnetization orientation angle of the antiferromagnetic layers in the process of cooling to room temperature; [0033] S4: removing the external magnetic field to realize the writing operation to the magnetoresistive sensing units with the magnetization orientation angle…”), in order to have a working Push-pull magnetoresistive sensors.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhou, Han and Deak teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein writing the magnetic moment direction+di of the anti-ferromagnetic layer into the push magnetoresistive sensing unit array comprises: setting a magnetic field annealing power to Poven (strength/power of an external magnetic field applied during annealing indicated in [0005] of Deak) and an annealing temperature of a wafer to Tw (annealing temperature applied to the wafer, heating the AF layer above block temperature), and performing direction+di magnetic field thermal annealing on a wafer, so that the anti-ferromagnetic layer of each of the magnetoresistive sensing unit arrays has the magnetic moment direction+di; or setting the laser power to P(+di) (strength/power of laser applied during annealing indicated in [0005] of Deak) and writing temperature of the magnetoresistive sensing unit array to Tdi (temperature reached during laser scanning heating), and generating a direction+di magnetic field to write the direction+di magnetic moment into the anti-ferromagnetic layer of the push magnetoresistive sensing unit array ([0005] of Deak, [0030]/[0031]/[0032]/[0033], Deak teaches that magnetoresistive sensing units are heated to a temperature above the blocking temperature of the AFM layer by scanning a laser, and an external magnetic field is applied during cooling so that the magnetization direction of the AFM layer is set in a selected direction. Applying the external magnetic field during the annealing process corresponds to setting a magnetic field annealing condition and performing +di magnetic thermal annealing on the wafer such that the AFM layer of the magnetoresistive sensing unit arrays obtains the magnetic moment of +di. Alternatively, Deak teaches setting laser scanning parameters to heat the AFM layer above its blocking temperature while applying an external magnetic field, thereby writing the magnetic moment direction into the AFM layer of the magnetoresisitve sensing unit arrays.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhou, Han and Deak teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein writing the magnetic moment direction -di of the anti-ferromagnetic layer into the pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array comprises: setting the magnetic field annealing power to Poven (strength/power of an external magnetic field applied during annealing indicated in [0005] of Deak) and the temperature to Tw (annealing temperature applied to the wafer, heating the AF layer above block temperature), and performing direction -di magnetic field thermal annealing on the wafer, so that the anti- ferromagnetic layer of each of the magnetoresistive sensing unit arrays has the magnetic moment direction -di; or setting the laser power to P(-di) (strength/power of laser applied during annealing indicated in [0005] of Deak) and the temperature to Tdi (temperature reached during laser scanning heating), and generating a direction -di magnetic field to write the direction -di magnetic moment into the anti-ferromagnetic layer of the pull magnetoresistive sensing unit array ([0005] of Deak, [0030]/[0031]/[0032]/[0033], Deak teaches that magnetoresistive sensing units are heated to a temperature above the blocking temperature of the AFM layer by scanning a laser, and an external magnetic field is applied during cooling so that the magnetization direction of the AFM layer is set in a selected direction. Applying the external magnetic field during the annealing process corresponds to setting a magnetic field annealing condition and performing -di magnetic thermal annealing on the wafer such that the AFM layer of the magnetoresistive sensing unit arrays obtains the magnetic moment of -di. Alternatively, Deak teaches setting laser scanning parameters to heat the AFM layer above its blocking temperature while applying an external magnetic field, thereby writing the magnetic moment direction into the AFM layer of the magnetoresistive sensing unit arrays).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhou, Han and Deak teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein Tdl<Td2<Td3 (Deak teaches that magnetoresistive sensing units are written by laser thermal annealing, in which the AFM layer is heated above its blocking temperature and then cooled while an external field is applied to set the magnetization directions. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that laser thermal annealing processes involve controlled temperature ramping, including intermediate heating levels prior to reaching higher processing temperature, in order to properly control magnetization orientation and prevent damage tot eh multilayer stack. Accordingly, the laser heating process inherently involves multiple temperature levels, including the writing temperature Tdi used to set the magnetic orientation and higher process temperatures used during continued heating or subsequent processing steps. Thus the relationship Tdi<Td2<Td3 represents a routine and obvious ordering of process temperatures within laser annealing process used to control mangetoresistive sensor fabrication).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhou, Han and Deak teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein Tb<Tdl<Td2<Td3<Td, where the Tb is a writing temperature of the magnetoresistive sensing unit arrays, and the Td is a damage temperature of the magnetoresistive sensing unit arrays (Deak teaches that AFM layer must be heated above the blocking temperature in order to reorient the magnetization direction of the AF layer during laser thermal annealing. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that laser thermal annealing processes involve controlled temperature ramping, including intermediate heating levels prior to reaching higher processing temperature, in order to properly control magnetization orientation and prevent damage tot eh multilayer stack. Accordingly, the laser heating process inherently involves multiple temperature levels, including the writing temperature Tdi used to set the magnetic orientation and higher process temperatures used during continued heating or subsequent processing steps. Thus the relationship Tdi<Td2<Td3<Td represents a routine and obvious ordering of process temperatures within laser annealing process used to control mangetoresistive sensor fabrication).
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhou PG PUB 20110111133 (hereinafter Zhou), in view of Han PG PUB 20200350120 (hereinafter Han), further in view of FURUICHI JP 2020008285 (hereinafter FURUICHI).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhou and Han teaches magnetoresistive device according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein constituent materials of the thermal control layer comprise carbon black, a non-magnetic laser absorbing resin or a non-magnetic laser absorbing coating.
However, FURUICHI teaches in figure 5 a specific thermal function unit 15 that is provided over the protective layer 14. The heat absorbing film 152 has a heat absorbing function, an electromagnetic wave absorbing function, or a heat storage function (para(40) of FURUICHI, “…the heat absorbing film 152 is a film made of a thermosetting synthetic resin such as a polyimide-based resin…”)
Zhou, Han and FURUICHI are analogous art all three are related to magnetoresistive sensor fabrication and thermal processing techniques for MR sensor structures. At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhou, Han and FURUICHI before him, to modify light-assisted program scheme of Zhou to include the insulating layer between heating element and MR logic and implementation of Han, to further implement resin as heat absorbing film such that constituent materials of the thermal control layer comprise carbon black, a non-magnetic laser absorbing resin (para(40) of FURUICHI, “…the heat absorbing film 152 is a film made of a thermosetting synthetic resin such as a polyimide-based resin…”) or a non-magnetic laser absorbing coating.
Response To Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/26/2026 have been fully considered.
Response to 112(a) enablement/112(b) indefiniteness argument (claims 1-20).
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. The rejections of claims under 112(a) and 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Response to 103 rejections over Zhou in view of Han.
Applicant argues that “The Examiner maps the claimed thermal control layer to Zhou's plasmon generating layer (10). This mapping is incorrect on both structural and functional grounds”.
Applicant further argues that “The claimed thermal control layer is a transmission medium: laser passes through it to reach the magnetoresistive sensor, and selecting its material or thickness modulates the laser power actually delivered to the sensor at constant incident power. See [0078]. The thermal control layer may have low laser absorption (claim 7) and may be an air layer. See [0102]”.
Applicant further argues that “Zhou's plasmon generating layer (10) is a heat source, not a transmission medium”.
Applicant additionally states: “Han does not remedy these deficiencies”.
Applicant further states: “The proposed combination is also structurally self-defeating. Zhou [0048] expressly requires that any layer between the plasmon antenna and the AFM layer must "not significantly affect the heat transfer." Han's insulating layer is an electrical barrier material selected for its non- conductivity, not for thermal transparency. Inserting it between Zhou's plasmon antenna and the AFM layer would impede the very heat transfer that Zhou's mechanism requires. This is an affirmative teaching away from the combination”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claims do not require the thermal control layer to function solely as a transmission medium, nor do the claims exclude layers that partially absorb incident radiation and convert it to heat. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a layer that interact with incident laser radiation and whose material and thickness affect the amount of thermal energy delivered to the magnetoressitive sensor reasonably meets the claims “thermal control layer”.
Zhou explicitly teaches in [0045] that plasmon-generating layers interact with incident optical radiation depending on their material and geometric parameters, including thickness and material selection. Thus, Zhou teaches that layer material and thickness influence the optical energy delivered to underlying structures, which corresponds to the claimed control of temperature through layer parameters.
Regarding “Han does not remedy these deficiencies”. However, Han is replied upon not for optical heating, but for teaching the insulating layer structure between substrate and magnetoresistive stack. The rejection replied on Zhou for optical heating and on Han for stack structure.
Regarding “The proposed combination is also structurally self-defeating”, the rejection does not require inserting Han’s insulating layer between Zhou’s antenna and AFM layer in a manner that prevent heat transfer. Rather, Han teaches the well-known use of insulating layers in MR stacks for electrical isolation. Incorporating such a known insulating layer into Zhou’s structure would have been an obvious design choice to improve electrical isolation and device integration.
Response to 103 rejections over Zhou in view of Han and Zhang (claim 3).
The argument is persuasive. However, a new ground of rejection is raised.
Response to 103 rejections over Zhou in view of Han and Zhang (claim 4-6, 11-15).
Applicant argues: “Deak does not remedy the fundamental deficiencies of the base combination identified above for claim 1”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Deak teaches the magnetic moment writing process recited in dependent claims. Accordingly, Deak remedies the limitations directed to magnetic moment direction programming.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOCHUN L CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824