DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group (claims 1, 2, and 4) in the reply filed on 02/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art CN107287578 (cited in IDS) does not disclose all limitations of the amended claim 1 and thus amended claims 1-12 possess both novelty and inventiveness over CN107287578 (Applicant’s Remarks, page 5). This is not found persuasive because CN’578 discloses a MoS2 continuous film on substrate (Abstract; [0027]- [0043]), characterized in that, the domain size of the MoS2 continuous film is larger than 10 mm ([0032]); wherein the MoS2 continuous film has multilayer (Figs. 1 and 2).
CN’578 does not disclose that the layer number ≥3. CN’578 however discloses forming a double layer molybdenum disulfide film (Abstract). CN’578 further discloses forming a large-scale uniform double-layer Mos2 film with controllable number of layers on a growth substrate ([0005]- [0007]). Moreover, CN’578 discloses that forming multilayer MoS2 structures are reported in the prior art ([0004]). Thus, forming several bilayer structures are mere duplication of part of the method already disclosed by CN’578. And according to MPEP 2144/04, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the layer number of layers ≥3 for the purpose of for the purpose of realizing large scale production of related optoelectronic devices (CN’578, [0042]).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the domain size" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and therefore this limitaiton renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the layer number" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and therefore this limitaiton renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the average field-effect mobility" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and therefore this limitaiton renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 2 and 4 are indefinite due to their dependance on indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN’578 (CN107287578, Machine Translation is provided), cited in IDS.
Regarding claim 1, CN’578 discloses a MoS2 continuous film on substrate (Abstract; [0027]- [0043]), characterized in that, the domain size of the MoS2 continuous film is larger than 10 mm ([0032]); wherein the MoS2 continuous film has multilayer (Figs. 1 and 2).
CN’578 does not disclose that the layer number ≥3. CN’578 however discloses forming a double layer molybdenum disulfide film (Abstract). CN’578 further discloses forming a large-scale uniform double-layer MoS2 film with controllable number of layers on a growth substrate ([0005]- [0007]). Moreover, CN’578 discloses that forming multilayer MoS2 structures are reported in the prior art ([0004]). Thus, forming several bilayer structures are mere duplication of part of the method already disclosed by CN’578. And according to MPEP 2144/04, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the layer number of layers ≥3 for the purpose of for the purpose of realizing large scale production of related optoelectronic devices (CN’578, [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, CN’578 discloses the substrate is one or more selected from of the group consisting of sapphire, Si/SiO2 substrate, mica ([0013], Example 1).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN’578 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Perera (Perera et al., “Improved Carrier Mobility in Few-Layer MoS2 Field-Effect Transistors with Ionic-Liquid Gating,” ACS Nano, vol. 7, no 5, pp.4449-4458, 2013).
Regarding claim 4, CN’578 does not discloses, the MoS2 film has three layers. and the average field-effect mobility is 120~140 cm2/Vs.
CN’578 however discloses forming the MOS2 structure with controlled number of layers and high field-effect mobility ([0041]). And Perera discloses that the MoS2 film has three layers. and the average field-effect mobility is 120~140 cm2/Vs (page 4450, column 2, paragraph 2; page 4451, column 2; page 4453, column 1, page 4454, Fig.5b.)
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify CN’578 with Perera to have the number of layers and field-effect mobility to be in the claimed range for the purpose of fabrication MoS2 based field effect transistor with high mobilities (Perera, page 4456, “Conclusion”).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891