DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed on 3/25/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 51 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2020/0022043 (Pelletier et al.).
As to claims 51 and 69, Pelletier teaches a user equipment comprising: at least one processor; and a memory containing program code executable by the at least one processor (see figure 1B), and whereby execution of the program code by the at least one processor causes the user equipment to:
maintain a wireless connection to a wireless communication network (206, fig 2);
receive a conditional handover (CHO) command, the CHO command indicating to the user equipment that the user equipment shall trigger execution of a CHO from a source cell to a target cell of the wireless communication network upon fulfilment of one or more first conditions related signal quality of the source cell and/or signal quality of the target cell (208, fig 2 and paragraphs 87-93, 100 and 101, for both the target and source cells the UE is instructed to monitor for handover conditions, including conditions associated with cell quality);
monitor one or more first conditions (214, fig 2); and
responsive to determining that the one or more first conditions are fulfilled, delaying triggering execution of the CHO until a second condition is fulfilled, the second condition based on the wireless connection; determining when an uplink data buffer of the user equipment is empty (216, 232 and 234, fig 2, and paragraphs 87-93, 100 and 101, for both the target and source cells the UE is instructed to monitor for handover conditions, including the emptying of the UL buffer. Phase in conditions can read on first conditions, and phase out conditions [which include the UL buffer condition], or just the UL buffer condition, can read on the second condition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 55-56 and 71 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier in view of US 2024/0107399 (Naseer-Ul-Islam et al.).
As to claim 71, Pelletier teaches a method of operation by a user equipment, the method comprising:
determining that trigger conditions for triggering execution of a conditional handover (CHO) are satisfied, the trigger conditions being radio-signal conditions (208, fig 2 and paragraphs 87-93, 100 and 101, for both the target and source cells the UE is instructed to monitor for handover conditions, including conditions associated with cell quality); and
responsive to determining that an uplink data buffer of the user equipment is not empty, delaying triggering execution of the CHO until emptying of the uplink data buffer (216, 232 and 234, fig 2, and paragraphs 87-93, 100 and 101, for both the target and source cells the UE is instructed to monitor for handover conditions, including the emptying of the UL buffer. Phase in conditions can read on conditions for CHO, and phase out conditions [which include the UL buffer condition], or just the UL buffer condition, can read on the subsequent condition).
What is explicitly lacking from Pelletier is until an earlier one of: emptying of the uplink data buffer or an expiration of a timer that defines a maximum allowable time for delaying triggering execution of the CHO.
In analogous art, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches handover conditions having a maximum allowed delay after the conditions are met (see Naseer-Ul-Islam, paragraphs 80 and 83). In combination with Pelletier this would render an earlier one of the emptying of the buffer (as taught by Pelletier) or expiration of the maximum allowable time associated with the other handover conditions triggering the execution of the CHO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Pelletier so as to ensure that the handover condition is appropriately implemented.
As to claim 55, what is lacking from Pelletier is wherein the user equipment determines that one or more first conditions are fulfilled by determining that a signal-quality condition has been satisfied continuously for a time-to-trigger duration, and wherein the user equipment delays triggering the CHO execution after expiration of the time-to-trigger duration until the second condition is fulfilled.
In analogous art, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches a handover condition having a time-to-trigger (TTT) (see Naseer-Ul-Islam, paragraphs 80 and 83). In combination with Pelletier this would result in the second condition (buffer emptying) being fulfilled after the expiration of the time-to-trigger for the first condition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Pelletier so as to ensure that the handover condition is appropriately implemented.
As to claim 56, what is further lacking from Pelletier is wherein the second condition is fulfilled upon an earlier one of two events, the two events being emptying of the uplink data buffer and expiration of a maximum triggering delay.
In analogous art, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches handover conditions having a maximum allowed delay after the conditions are met (see Naseer-Ul-Islam, paragraphs 80 and 83). In combination with Pelletier this would render an earlier one of the emptying of the buffer (as taught by Pelletier) or expiration of the maximum allowable time associated with the other handover conditions triggering the execution of the CHO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Pelletier so as to ensure that the handover condition is appropriately implemented.
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier in view of US 2018/0367844 (Fu et al.).
As to claim 54, what is further lacking from Pelletier is wherein determining when the uplink data buffer is empty comprises detecting or inferring that the uplink data buffer is empty based on a machine learning model.
In analogous art, Fu teaches using machine learning to when a data buffer is empty (see Fu, paragraph 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Pelletier so as to enhance the efficiency and reliability of the data buffer monitoring.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641