DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a steering input device
a steering operation input member
a steering device
a steering member
a control device
a vehicle speed acquisition unit
a reaction force actuator control unit
a steering actuator control unit
a deviation recognition unit
a reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit
in claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation, "the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit changes, in accordance with the vehicle speed of the vehicle, a threshold for determining whether the deviation increases." It is unclear what threshold is being referenced as claim 1, from which claim 6 depends, simply indicates if the deviation is increasing. Therefore, adding a threshold to this indication would negate the determination step in claim 1. In other words, claim 1 is looking for a change in the amount of deviation while claim 6 appears to be looking at a magnitude of deviation which are not compatible. For the purposes of examination, it is assumed that the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit determines when the amount of deviation increases above zero.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto et al. (US 2020/0307680 A1) hereinafter Kakimoto and Namikawa et al. (US 2020/0298908) hereinafter Namikawa.
Claim 1:
Kakimoto discloses a steer-by-wire type steering apparatus that is attached to a vehicle, the steer-by-wire type steering apparatus comprising: a steering input device [4] including a steering operation input member [3], and a reaction force actuator [12] configured to apply given steering reaction force to the steering operation input member [¶23]; a steering device [6] including a steering member [24], and a steering actuator [31] configured to cause steered road wheels [5] to be steered through the steering member [¶25]; and a control device including a vehicle speed acquisition unit [41] configured to acquire vehicle speed information of the vehicle [¶28], a reaction force actuator control unit [52] configured to control an output amount of the reaction force actuator [¶29], a steering actuator control unit [57] configured to control the steering actuator in response to an operation on the steering operation input member [¶30], a deviation recognition unit configured to recognize a deviation [Δθx] between an operation amount of the steering operation input member [θp] and a steering amount of the steering member [96, θh; ¶59].
Kakimoto doesn’t explicitly disclose a reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit configured to decrease the output amount of the reaction force actuator when the deviation recognized by the deviation recognition unit increases and vehicle speed of the vehicle increases, the output amount being controlled by the reaction force actuator control unit.
However, Namikawa discloses a reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit configured to decrease the output amount of the reaction force actuator when the deviation recognized by the deviation recognition unit increases and vehicle speed of the vehicle increases, the output amount being controlled by the reaction force actuator control unit. [¶¶67-72]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the steer-by-wire system of Kakimoto with the obstacle feedback to the driver reduction operation of Namikawa to prevent unnecessary feedback to the driver when they are in a situation where they would be unable to respond such as hitting a curb at a high vehicle speed [¶72].
Claim 6:
Kakimoto and Namikawa, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Kakimoto doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit changes, in accordance with the vehicle speed of the vehicle, a threshold for determining whether the deviation increases.
However, Namikawa does disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit changes, in accordance with the vehicle speed of the vehicle, a threshold for determining whether the deviation increases. [¶¶67-72]
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto and Namikawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asai et al. (JP2006298223A) hereinafter Asai.
Claim 2:
Kakimoto and Namikawa, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Kakimoto doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit further decreases the output amount of the reaction force actuator when the deviation recognized by the deviation recognition unit increases and speed of steering by the steering device increases, the output amount being controlled by the reaction force actuator control unit.
However, Asai does disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit further decreases the output amount of the reaction force actuator when the deviation recognized by the deviation recognition unit increases and speed of steering by the steering device increases, the output amount being controlled by the reaction force actuator control unit. [¶¶21, 22-38, 43-45]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the steer-by-wire system of Kakimoto and Namikawa with the reaction force application determination apparatus of Asai to reduce unnecessary steering regulation in a situation where there is no external force applied on the wheels like when striking a curb and to reduce friction in the steering wheel/system when steering speed is high [¶¶39-42].
Claim 3:
Kakimoto and Namikawa, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Kakimoto doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit further decreases the output amount of the reaction force actuator when the deviation recognized by the deviation recognition unit increases and operation speed of the steering operation input member increases, the output amount being controlled by the reaction force actuator control unit.
However, Asai does disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit further decreases the output amount of the reaction force actuator when the deviation recognized by the deviation recognition unit increases and operation speed of the steering operation input member increases, the output amount being controlled by the reaction force actuator control unit. [¶¶19, 22-38]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the steer-by-wire system of Kakimoto and Namikawa with the reaction force application determination apparatus of Asai to reduce unnecessary steering regulation in a situation where there is no external force applied on the wheels like when striking a curb and to reduce friction in the steering wheel/system when steering speed is high [¶¶39-42].
Claim 4:
Kakimoto, Namikawa, and Asai as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 2.
Kakimoto doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit detects the speed of steering by the steering device on a basis of displacement speed of the steering member.
However, Namikawa does disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit detects the speed of steering by the steering device on a basis of displacement speed of the steering member. [¶¶67-70; differentiation of displacement is speed]
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto, Namikawa, and Asai as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Miyajima et al. (US 2007/0205037 A1) hereinafter Miyajima.
Kakimoto, Namikawa, and Asai as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 2.
Kakimoto doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit detects the speed of steering by the steering device on a basis of a difference between wheel speeds of the left and right steered road wheels.
However Miyajima does disclose wherein the reaction force actuator output amount decrease unit detects the speed of steering by the steering device on a basis of a difference between wheel speeds of the left and right steered road wheels. [¶¶13, 62]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the steer-by-wire system of Kakimoto, Namikawa, and Asai with the speed determination of Miyajima to provide a known means of determining the speed of a steering device based on known methods and available information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747