DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 9/6/23 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 9/6/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ikemoto et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0134833).
Referring to figures 1-15, Ikemoto et al. teaches a method of dividing a B-type gallium oxide substrate, the method comprising:
a step of forming a plurality of first dividing grooves along an extending direction of a (100) plane of a B-type gallium oxide substrate having the (001) plane as a main surface (see figures 6, 13a, 14a, paragraphs# 97-98, 149, 157);
a step of processing the B-type gallium oxide substrate into strips by cutting the B-type gallium oxide substrate in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the first dividing grooves (see figures 13b, 14b, paragraphs# 150, 158); and
a step of cleaving the strip-shaped B-type gallium oxide substrates along the first dividing grooves for singulation (see figures 13c, 14c, paragraphs# 151, 159).
Regarding to claim 2, the first dividing grooves are formed by etching (see paragraph# 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikemoto et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0134833) applied in claim(s) 1-2 above in view of PRIEWASSER et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0312717).
Referring to figures 1-15, Ikemoto et al. teaches a method of dividing a B-type gallium oxide substrate, the method comprising:
a step of forming a plurality of first dividing grooves along an extending direction of a (100) plane of a B-type gallium oxide substrate having the (001) plane as a main surface (see figures 6, 13a, 14a, paragraphs# 97-98, 149, 157);
a step of processing the B-type gallium oxide substrate into strips by cutting the B-type gallium oxide substrate in a direction perpendicular to an extending direction of the first dividing grooves (see figures 13b, 14b, paragraphs# 150, 158); and
a step of cleaving the strip-shaped B-type gallium oxide substrates along the first dividing grooves for singulation (see figures 13c, 14c, paragraphs# 151, 159).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the first dividing grooves are formed on a back surface located on a side opposite to an element forming surface (in claims 3).
PRIEWASSER et al. teaches a semiconductor device wherein the first dividing grooves are formed on a back surface located on a side opposite to an element forming surface (see figure 5-6, meeting claims 3). It is also known in the art that absent a showing of unexpected result, a change in sequence involves routine optimization of process of prior art and would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made. A change in sequence/reversal of process steps is obvious under 35 USC 103 (exparte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959)). See also in re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690,69 USPQ 330 (CCPA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the first dividing grooves are formed on a back surface located on a side opposite to an element forming surface in Ikemoto et al. as taught by PRIEWASSER et al. because it is known in semiconductor to provide a high degree accuracy in process forming division line.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the reference teaches or suggest a step of forming a plurality of second dividing grooves in the element forming surface along the extending direction of the (100) plane, wherein a straight line connecting the first and second dividing grooves have an angle of about 76° with respect to the element forming surface (in claim 4).
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893