DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on applications filed in Europe on April 23, 2021, July 2, 2021, December 16, 2021, and March 16, 2022.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on September 11, 2023.
Claims 1 – 15 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on September 11, 2023, January 18, 2025, May 22, 2025, January 5, 2026, February 6, 2026, February 17, 2026, March 9, 2026, March 12, 2026, April 20, 2026, May 28, 2026, and July 14, 2026 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the organic molecule according to claim 1 4.” This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which of the claims, 1, 4 or 14, claim 5 is meant to depend from.
For examination purposes, claim 5 is interpreted as depending on any of the three claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (WO2022139513A1, using the provided English language translation).
As per claims 1 – 7, Kim teaches:
An organic molecule, comprising a structure represented by Formula I
(Kim teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0007]). A particular compound within the scope of Formula 1 taught by Kim is
in [0830] on page 532. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein two Ra groups are a C6 aryl, two Ra groups are a C4 alkyl and the remaining Ra groups are hydrogen; the R5 groups are alkenyl groups that have joined to form a ring. This compound is represented by Formula IIb in claim 2
and Formula III in claim 3
, wherein Rb are C4 alkyl groups. The compound is represented by Formula IV
in claim 4, where W is Ph and T, V, X and Y are hydrogen and Formula V in claim 5
, wherein RIII is Ph and RI, RII, and RIV are hydrogen. The compound is represented by Formula VIb in claim 6
, wherein exactly 4 RC substituents are present and are two tBu groups and two Ph groups as required by claim 7.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 8 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (WO2022139513A1, using the provided English language translation) as applied to claims 1 – 7 above.
As per claims 8 – 10, Kim does not specifically teach the compound in a light-emitting layer. Kim teaches:
A composition comprising an organic molecule according to claim 1, and host material, which differs from the organic molecule ([0982 – 0984]: “In one embodiment of the present specification, the organic layer comprises a light-emitting layer, and the light-emitting layer comprises a compound represented by the chemical formula 1 as a blue fluorescent dopant of the light-emitting layer….In one embodiment of the present specification, the light-emitting layer further comprises a host compound.” The combination of the compound of formula 1 and the host is interpreted as the claimed composition.”)
Comprising 0.1 – 30% by weight of the organic molecule ([1049]: “In one embodiment of the present specification, when the light-emitting layer comprises a host and a dopant, the content of the dopant may be selected in the range of 0.01 to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the light-emitting layer, but is not limited thereto.”)
Wherein the host material comprises a structure represented by Formula 4
(Kim teaches that the host compound is represented by Chemical Formula H
([0988]). A specific example of a compound represented by Formula H taught by Kim is
([1017]), which reads on the claimed Formula wherein both Ar are a C6 aryl, one A1 is a C6 aryl and the other A1 are hydrogen.)
Kim teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Kim as Kim demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claims 11 – 14, Kim does not specifically teach the compound in a light-emitting device. Kim teaches:
An optoelectronic device, comprising the organic molecule wherein the optoelectronic device is an organic light-emitting diode ([1192]: “In one embodiment of the present specification, the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 may be included in an organic solar cell or an organic transistor in addition to an organic light-emitting diode.”)
The optoelectronic device comprising a host material comprising a structure represented by Formula 4
(Kim teaches that the host compound is represented by Chemical Formula H
([0988]). A specific example of a compound represented by Formula H taught by Kim is
([1017]), which reads on the claimed Formula wherein both Ar are a C6 aryl, one A1 is a C6 aryl and the other A1 are hydrogen.)
The optoelectronic device comprising a substrate, an anode, a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode are disposed on the substrate, and a light-emitting layer, which is arranged between the anode and the cathode and which comprises the organic molecule ([1096]: “FIG. 1 illustrates the structure of an organic light-emitting device in which a substrate (1), a first electrode (2), a light-emitting layer (3), and a second electrode (4) are sequentially stacked. In such a structure, the compound may be included in the light-emitting layer (3).”)
Kim teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Kim as Kim demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 15, Kim teaches:
A method for generating light having a wavelength from 440nm to 540 nm comprising providing an optoelectronic device and applying an electrical current to the optoelectronic device (Kim teaches that organic luminescence refers to the conversion of electrical energy into light using organic materials ([0003]). Kim teaches that the compound of Chemical Formula 1 emits light in the blue wavelength ([0984]). Therefore, applying electrical currents to the OLED of Kim would generate light in the claimed wavelength.)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789