Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “M element groups […]; M is an integer greater than 0” and “each of the element groups comprises N light emitting elements […]; N is an integer greater than 0”, and the claim also recites “a first light-emitting element in an element group numbered k is electrically connected to a first light-emitting element in an element group numbered k+1 through the first connection line; wherein 1<k<M and k is an integer”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For example, claim 12 supports an instance where M = 1, which would define the integer k as 1<k<1. Additionally, N could also equal 1, which would result in only a single element group comprising only a single light-emitting element (i.e., M = 1 and N = 1) and eliminate the use of k entirely.
Similarly, claim 13 recites the limitation “a last light-emitting element in the element group numbered k-1”, which, in light of the broader recitation(s) discussed above, also does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired.
Claim 12 additionally recites the limitation "one column of light-emitting cells" which “corresponds to one common voltage line” in the last paragraph. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, claim 12 only previously stated “a plurality of light-emitting cells” and neither this claim nor the claims upon which it depends establish a definitive shape for the plurality of cells (i.e., whether or not the cells are arranged into columns). Additionally, the claims also fail to properly define the relationship between the one column and the one common voltage line, with the term “corresponds” being too broad to properly identify said relationship on its own.
Claims 12 and 13 have not been rejected over the prior art discussed below because, in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections supra, there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of the claims; hence, it would not be proper to reject the claims on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi (PGPub No. 20200089356).
Regarding claim 1, Qi teaches a light-emitting substrate, comprising: a base substrate; a first conductive layer on the base substrate; wherein the first conductive layer comprises a plurality of common voltage lines and a plurality of first connection lines arranged at intervals (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c) point to embodiments of a touch display substrate comprising a base substrate 60 and a touch layer 20 (first conductive layer) including a plurality of second touch electrodes 202 (common voltage lines) and a plurality of first touch electrodes 201 (first connection lines).); and the plurality of common voltage lines extend along a first direction and are arranged along a second direction (Fig. 4 points to a schematic view of the second touch electrodes 202 (common voltage lines) which are arranged horizontally along a first direction (second direction) and extend vertically along a second direction (first direction).); a first insulating layer on a side, away from the base substrate, of the first conductive layer (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c), along with [0063], point to a black matrix 301 (first insulating layer) which is an insulating material.); and a second conductive layer on a side, away from the base substrate, of the first insulating layer; wherein the second conductive layer comprises a plurality of first bridge portions arranged at intervals from each other (Id. points to bridges 203.); wherein at least one of the plurality of common voltage lines comprises a plurality of signal line segments arranged at intervals; in a same common voltage line, two adjacent signal line segments are electrically connected through the first bridge portion, and at least one first connection line is at a line segment gap between the two adjacent signal line segments (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c), along with [0108], point to the bridges 203 connecting and in communication with adjacent second touch electrodes 202 (common voltage lines) around the first touch electrode 201 (first connection line) that is positioned between (line segment gap). It is considered obvious that said communication between the bridge(s) and second touch electrodes would be established by the formation of signal lines/signal line segments.); and at the line segment gap between the two adjacent signal line segments in the common voltage line, an orthographic projection of the first bridge portion on the base substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the first connection line on the base substrate (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c) point to the bridge(s) 203 and the first touch electrode(s) 201 (first connection line(s).).
Regarding claim 2, Qi teaches wherein an electric field is between the first bridge portion and the first connection line of which orthographic projections on the base substrate overlap; and a direction of the electric field points from the first conductive layer to the second conductive layer (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c) point to the bridge(s) 203 and the first touch electrode(s) 2011/201 (first connection line(s)). [0066] and [0070] further point to the first touch electrode 201 comprising a transparent conductive material and the bridge 203 comprising copper. In light of Qi teaching a structure that is substantially the same to the one disclosed in the claimed invention in terms of both positioning and material composition, it is considered obvious that the generation of an electric field as disclosed above would also occur in the structure taught by Qi.).
Regarding claim 3, Qi teaches wherein the second conductive layer further comprises a first connection part and a second connection part arranged at intervals from each other; and a first terminal of the first connection line is electrically connected to the first connection part through a first via hole, and a second terminal of the first connection line is electrically connected to the second connection part through a second via hole; wherein the first via hole and the second via hole penetrate the first insulating layer (Figs. 11 and 12 point to the plurality of directly connected first touch electrode(s) 201 (first connection line) and bridge holes 303 which penetrate the black matrix 301 (insulating layer). It is considered obvious that connections (first connection part; second connection part) would be formed with the plurality of electrodes 201 (first connection line) in order to, for example, establish communication with other components. It is also considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would form such connections by forming additional holes (first via hole, second via hole) similar to the bridge holes 303, but positioned such that they penetrate the black matrix 301 (insulating layer) according to the positions of the underlying electrode(s) 201 (first connection line).).
Regarding claim 4, Qi teaches wherein the orthographic projection of the first connection line on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the first via hole on the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first connection part on the base substrate covers the orthographic projection of the first via hole on the base substrate; and the orthographic projection of the first connection line on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the second via hole on the base substrate, and an orthographic projection of the second connection part on the base substrate covers the orthographic projection of the second via hole on the base substrate (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would vertically stack each of the components (i.e., have their orthographic projections overlap with one another) in order to reduce the critical dimensions of the device while retaining the direct connection between the first connection line, first/second via hole, and corresponding first/second connection part.).
Regarding claim 5, Qi teaches wherein a width in the first direction of an area where the first connection part covers the first via hole is greater than a width of the first connection line in the first direction; and a width in the first direction of an area where the second connection part covers the second via hole is greater than the width of the first connection line in the first direction (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would ensure that the widths of both connection parts were each greater than the widths of the corresponding via hole in order to completely surround said via hole and create a stable electrical connection between the connection parts, via holes, and the underlying first connection line.).
Regarding claim 6, Qi teaches wherein a width of the first bridge portion in the first direction ranges from 100 microns to 250 microns; and the width of the first connection line in the first direction ranges from 0.6 microns to 2.5 microns (Fig. 2 (c) points to the horizontal widths of the bridge 203 (first bridge portion) and the first touch electrode 2011/201 (first connection line. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the exact widths of the first bridge portion and the first connection line to be a result effective variable affecting the communication time between the second touch electrodes 2021/202 (common voltage lines) and/or the critical dimensions of the overall structure. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Qi to have the corresponding widths within the claimed ranges, and since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) and 2143. Furthermore, it has also been held that the applicant must show that a particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936, (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some dimensional limitation or other variable within the claims, patentability cannot be found. The instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.).
Regarding claim 7, Qi teaches wherein a length of the first connection line in the second direction is greater than a length of the first bridge portion in the second direction (In light of claim 3, upon which claim 7 depends, it is considered obvious that the length of the first connection line would be greater than the length of the overhanging first bridge portion in order to allow for the formation of the first and second via holes which connect the first connection line to the first and second connection parts also positioned above said line.).
Regarding claim 8, Qi teaches wherein a first gap is between a side of the first bridge portion extending to the first connection part and the first connection part; a second gap is between a side of the first bridge portion extending to the second connection part and the second connection part (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill would physically separate (first gap; second gap) the first bridge portion from the first and second connection parts in order to avoid electrical interference.); and at least one of a width of the first gap or a width of the second gap ranges from 20 microns to 50 microns (One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the width of each gap to be a result effective variable affecting the electrical interference created between the first bridge portion and first & second connection parts. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Qi to have the widths of the first and second gaps within the claimed range, and since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) and 2143. Furthermore, it has also been held that the applicant must show that a particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936, (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some dimensional limitation or other variable within the claims, patentability cannot be found. The instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.).
Regarding claim 9, Qi teaches wherein a width of a gap between the first connection line and the signal line segment in the first direction ranges from 20 microns to 50 microns (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c) point to the first touch electrode 301 (first connection line) and the second touch electrode 202 (signal line segment) which are physically separated from one another (a gap). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the width of the gap to be a result effective variable affecting the level of electrical isolation. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Qi to have the gap width within the claimed range in order to properly isolate and/or insulate the first connection line and the signal line segment from one another, and since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) and 2143. Furthermore, it has also been held that the applicant must show that a particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936, (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some dimensional limitation or other variable within the claims, patentability cannot be found. The instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.).
Regarding claim 10, Qi teaches wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane where the base substrate is located, a thickness of the first bridge portion is greater than or equal to a thickness of a first connection part and a second connection part in the second conductive layer (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the first bridge portion, first connection part, and the second connection part such that they each have a thickness equal to each other in order to create a uniform second conductive layer that would simplify the fabrication process and/or optimize the critical dimensions of the overall structure.).
Regarding claim 11, Qi teaches wherein the second conductive layer further comprises a plurality of pads; one terminal of a first connection part is electrically connected to one of the plurality of pads, and another terminal of the first connection part is electrically connected to a first terminal of the first connection line; and one terminal of a second connection part is electrically connected to another pad of the plurality of pads, and another terminal of the second connection part is electrically connected to a second terminal of the first connection line (Figs. 11 and 12 point to the plurality of directly connected first touch electrode(s) 201 (first connection line) and bridge holes 303 which penetrate the black matrix 301 (insulating layer). It is considered obvious that connections (first connection part; second connection part), as well as a plurality of pads, would be formed in order to, for example, form an interconnect path and allow communication between the plurality of electrodes 201 (first connection line) and other components while maintaining a level of design flexibility that could not come from direct bonding.
Regarding claim 17, Qi teaches a display apparatus (Fig. 7 points to a structure of an OLED (Organic Light-Emitting Diode) touch display apparatus or a QLED (Quantum dot Light-Emitting Display) touch display apparatus.), comprising the light-emitting substrate according to claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1 above.).
Regarding claim 18, Qi teaches wherein the first conductive layer is further provided with a driving voltage line ([0065] points to alternative embodiments for the first and second touch electrodes 201/202 (first conductive layer), such that, for example, one of the first touch electrodes 201 is a driving electrode Tx (driving voltage line).), and a width of the common voltage line in the second direction is greater than a width of the driving voltage line in the second direction (It is considered obvious that the width of the common voltage line would be greater than that of the driving voltage line in order to deal with the higher current requirements and the issues of impedance, noise, and/or heat dissipation that come with it.).
Regarding claim 19, Qi teaches wherein the width of the first gap and the width of the second gap is equal (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would form both gaps such that they have equal widths in order to simplify the fabrication process and/or provide a sense of symmetry in regards to the first bridge portion and the first and second connection parts.).
Regarding claim 20, Qi teaches wherein a thickness of the first bridge portion QB1 is equal to a thickness of the first connection part and is equal to a thickness of the second connection part BL2 (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the second conductive layer (i.e., the first bridge portion, first connection part, and second connection part) to have an equal, uniform thickness in order to simplify the fabrication process and/or provide a sense of symmetry in regards to the first bridge portion and the first and second connection parts.).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi in further view of Cho (PGPub No. 20210043134).
Regarding claim 14, Qi in combination with Cho teaches wherein the light-emitting substrate further comprises a fan-out area (Fig. 2 and [0125] of Cho point to a block diagram for a display device 1 comprising data lines D which may form a fan-out structure (fan-out area), e.g., the data lines D spread apart from each other in a direction from the data driver DDV toward the pixels PXL.); the first conductive layer further comprises a plurality of first fan-out lines and a plurality of second connection lines in the fan-out area; wherein one of the plurality of common voltage lines is electrically connected to one of the plurality of first fan-out lines (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c) of Qi point to embodiments of a touch display substrate comprising a plurality of second touch electrodes 202 (common voltage lines; first fan-out lines) and a plurality of first touch electrodes 201 (second connection lines). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art could form the fan-out area of Cho by simply replicating and/or extending the existing structures of Qi into said area.); the first fan-out line comprises a first sub-fan-out line and a second sub-fan-out line; the first sub-fan-out line extends along the first direction; and the second sub-fan-out line extends along the second direction (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the first fan-out line according to the critical dimensions of the overall device, such that it includes portions shaped around the first direction (first sub-fan-out line) and portions shaped around the second direction (second sub-fan-out line).); the second conductive layer further comprises a plurality of second bridge portions in the fan-out area (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c) of Qi point to bridges 203.); the first sub-fan-out line comprises a plurality of first fan-out line segments arranged at intervals; in a same first sub-fan-out line, two adjacent first fan-out line segments are electrically connected through the second bridge portion, and at least one second connection line is at a gap between the two adjacent first fan-out line segments (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c), along with [0108], of Qi point to the bridges 203 connecting and in communication with adjacent second touch electrodes 202 (first fan-out lines) around the first touch electrode 201 (second connection line) that is positioned between (a gap). It is considered obvious that said communication between the bridge(s) and second touch electrodes would be established by the formation of signal lines/ line segments.); and at the gap between the two adjacent first fan-out line segments in the first sub-fan-out line, an orthographic projection of the second bridge portion on the base substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the second connection line on the base substrate (Figs. 2(a) and 2(c) point to the bridge(s) 203 and the first touch electrode 201 (second connection line.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qi and Cho, such that a fan-out area is further formed in order to better distribute one signal to multiple destinations.
Regarding claim 15, Qi in combination with Cho teaches wherein the first conductive layer further comprises a plurality of third connection lines; the second conductive layer further comprises a plurality of third bridge portions in the fan-out area; the second sub-fan-out line comprises a plurality of second fan-out line segments arranged at intervals; in a same second sub-fan-out line, two adjacent second fan-out line segments are electrically connected through the third bridge portion, at least one third connection line is at a gap between the two adjacent second fan-out line segments; and at the gap between the two adjacent second fan-out line segments in the second sub-fan-out line, an orthographic projection of the third bridge portion on the base substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the third connection line on the base substrate (Fig. 2 and [0125] of Cho point to a block diagram for a display device 1 comprising data lines D which may form a fan-out structure (fan-out area), e.g., the data lines D spread apart from each other in a direction from the data driver DDV toward the pixels PXL. Figs. 2(a) and 2(c), along with [0108], of Qi point to the bridges 203 connecting and in communication with adjacent second touch electrodes 202 (second sub-fan-out line segments) around the first touch electrode 201 (third connection line) that is positioned between (a gap). It is considered obvious that said communication between the bridge(s) and second touch electrodes would be established by the formation of signal lines/ line segments. It is also considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art could further form the fan-out area by simply replicating the existing bridge/line segment structures of Qi into said area.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qi and Cho, such that a fan-out area is further formed in order to better distribute one signal to multiple destinations.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. in further view of Cok (PGPub No. 20210375979).
Regarding claim 16, Cok teaches wherein the fan-out area comprises a plurality of light-emitting cells (Fig. 2 points to an active-matrix display comprising a plurality of pixels 60 (light-emitting cells).), and each of the plurality of light-emitting cells comprises a driving circuit and a plurality of light-emitting elements; wherein the driving circuit comprises a common voltage terminal and an output terminal; the plurality of light-emitting elements are sequentially connected in series between a driving voltage terminal and the output terminal (Figs. 27-30 point to multiple embodiments of a pixel 60 comprising LEDs 20 (light-emitting elements), a control signal 52 (driving voltage signal terminal), a common voltage signal 52 (common voltage terminal), and a rightmost ground signal 56 (output terminal).); the common voltage terminal is electrically connected to the first fan-out line (Fig. 31 shows each pixel 60 (common voltage terminal) connecting to the power signal 54 (first fan-out line).); and in at least one of the plurality of light-emitting cells, at least two of the plurality of light- emitting elements are electrically connected through the second connection line; and/or, at least two of the plurality of light-emitting elements are electrically connected through the third connection line (It is considered obvious that the choice between the second and third connection lines is based entirely on the position of the light-emitting elements within the device, i.e., whether or not the light-emitting elements are separated by the first sub-fan-out lines (second connection line) or the second sub-fan-out lines (third connection line).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qi et al. and Cok, such that the fan-out area further comprises a plurality of light-emitting cells in order to create a full-color display.
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899