DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. With respect to applicant’s remarks filed on 06/18/26 regarding rejected claims, Applicant argues “particles transmitted to third transmitting tube 24 [are] transmitted to deposition chamber 26, and thereafter deposited onto [a semiconductor wafer.]" (Chae, col. 5, lines 37-39.) Only "the lost particles not deposited onto the wafer" are counted by a second counter 30”. Chae’s figure 2 discloses output from mobilizer 18 is divided into first portion 22, and second portion 24. Although " Only "the lost particles not deposited onto the wafer" are counted by a second counter 30”, current claims do not require that all particles of second portion 24 must be received by the second counter 30.
2. Moreover, new amended limitation “the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion” has also been found in new reference of Oommen (U.S. Pat. No. 2009/0078064), (figure 2, the flow output from sample injector 24 being divided into 4 portions, which includes a first portion and a second portion).
3. Grounds for the rejection of claims are provided below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 5-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman et al. (Pat. No. 5,247,842), in view of Chae et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 5,654,205), or in view of Oommen (U.S. Pat. No. 2009/0078064). Hereafter “Kaufman”, “Chae”, “Oommen”.
Regarding Claim 1, Kaufman teaches an apparatus for calibrating condensation particle counters (figure 1) comprising
a container for supplying test particles (figure 1, container 16);
a pump communicatively connected to the container (figure 1, pump 18, container 16);
a nebulizer communicatively connected to the pump (figure 1, nebulizer 20, pump 18);
a classifier communicatively connected to the nebulizer, the classifier receiving an aerosol input from the nebulizer and providing a flow output (figure 1, classifier 50, nebulizer 20, the flow output from classifier 50 to particle counter 52 CPC);
a first particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the first particle counter receiving a first portion (figure 1, particle counter 52, classifier 50, a first portion of the flow output from classifier 50 to particle counter 52 CPC).
However, Kaufman does not teach the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion, and a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion. Chae teaches the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion, and a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion (figure 2, the flow output being divided into a first portion 22 and a second portion 24, first counter 28, second counter 30. Chae’s analyzer 18 is not different from a classifier. Please see explanation in paragraph 1 above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Kaufman by having a second particle counter in order to count different particle (figure 2, first counter 28, second counter 30).
Oommen also teaches the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion (figure 2, the flow output from sample injector 24 being divided into 4 portions, which includes a first portion and a second portion), and a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion (figure 2, sample injector 24 is not different from mobility classifier, and the second particle counter (one particle counter of four particle counters 40) communicatively connected to element 24, and receiving a second portion). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Kaufman by having the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion, and a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion; in order to count different particle (figure 2, first counter 28, second counter 30).
Regarding Claims 2, 5, Kaufman as modified by Chae or Oommen, teach the apparatus according to claim 1 as stated above except for the test particles have a known and constant diameter, and the test particle size ranges from 3.6 nm to 15 nm. Kaufman teaches the test particles have a known and constant diameter (column 2, lines 10-11, 47-48; Column 4, lines 21-23; Column 8, lines 48-49). Further, selection of particle size range or similar range is well known. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose appropriate particle size range for the benefit of well operated inspection system. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim(s) 6-17, Kaufman as modified by Chae or Oommen, teach all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for peristaltic pump, nanoparticle nebulizer, Kanomax 9100 nebulizer, ion mobility classifier, annular flow ion mobility classifier, Kanomax 3660 classifier, condensation particle counter, Fast Condensation Particle Counter, Kanomax 3650 Fast CPC, scanning condensation particle counter, Kanomax 36X0 Scanning CPC. Kaufman, Chae, Oommen, do not teach the exact type of nebulizer, pump, classifier, counter, as that claimed by Applicant. However, the type differences are considered obvious and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular type of the nebulizer, pump, classifier, counter, is anything more than one of numerous type a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing support. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Regarding Claim 18, Kaufman teaches an apparatus for calibrating condensation particle counters comprising
a container for supplying particles (figure 1, container 16) of a known and constant diameter (column 2, lines 10-11, 47-48; Column 4, lines 21-23; Column 8, lines 48-49);
a pump communicatively connected to the container (figure 1, pump 18, container 16);
a nebulizer communicatively connected to the pump (figure 1, nebulizer 20, pump 18);
a classifier communicatively connected to the nebulizer (figure 1, classifier 50, nebulizer 20);
a first condensation particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier (figure 1, particle counter 52, classifier 50); and
However, Kaufman does not teach a tubular Y-connector receiving an output from the ion mobility classifier, the first/second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier through the Y-connector, output being divided into a first portion and a second portion. Chae teaches a tubular Y-connector receiving an output from the ion mobility classifier, first/second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier through the Y-connector, output being divided into a first portion and a second portion, (figure 2, first counter 28, second counter 30. The connection of tubes 20, 22, 24 is not different from a tubular Y-connector. Chae’s analyzer 18 is not different from a classifier 50 of Kaufman’s reference. Please see the explanation in paragraph 1 above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Kaufman by having a second particle counter in order to count different particle at different chambers (figures 1, 2, first counter 110, second counter 120. Page 10, claim 1).
Although the Kaufman and Chae does not teach the exact type of nanoparticle nebulizer, ion mobility classifier, as that claimed by Applicant, the type differences are considered obvious and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular type of the nanoparticle nebulizer, ion mobility classifier is anything more than one of numerous type a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing support. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Note: selection of particle size range or similar range is well known. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose appropriate particle size range for the benefit of well operated inspection system. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Oommen also teaches the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion (figure 2, the flow output from sample injector 24 being divided into 4 portions, which includes a first portion and a second portion), and a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion (figure 2, sample injector 24 is not different from mobility classifier, and the second particle counter (one particle counter of four particle counters 40) communicatively connected to element 24, and receiving a second portion). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Kaufman by having the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion, and a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion; in order to count different particle (figure 2, first counter 28, second counter 30).
6. Claims 3-4, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman et al. (Pat. No. 5,247,842) in view of Chae et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 5,654,205), or in view of Oommen (U.S. Pat. No. 2009/0078064), further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 2022/0177863). Hereafter “Kaufman”, “Chae”, “Zhang”.
Regarding Claim(s) 3-4, Kaufman as modified by Chae or Oommen, teach all the limitations of claims 1, 2, as stated above except for protein is selected from a group consisting of Cytochrome, IgGi/PEBG, and PEG 200K. Zhang teaches protein is selected from a group consisting of Cytochrome, IgGi/PEBG, and PEG 200K, ([0961, 1017]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Kaufman, Chae, or Oommen, by having protein being selected from a group consisting of Cytochrome, IgGi/PEBG, and PEG 200K in order to implement inspection with a specific particle.
Regarding Claim 19, Kaufman teaches a system for calibrating condensation particle counters comprising
a. a container for supplying test particles (figure 1, container 16) of a known and constant diameter between 3.6 and 15nm in diameter (column 2, lines 10-11, 47-48; Column 4, lines 21-23; Column 8, lines 48-49);
b. a pump communicatively connected to the container (figure 1, pump 18, container 16);
c, a nebulizer communicatively connected to the pump (figure 1, nebulizer 20, pump 18);
d. a classifier communicatively connected to the nebulizer, the classifier providing a flow output (figure 1, classifier 50, nebulizer 20, the flow output from classifier 50 to particle counter 52 CPC. Please see the Specification/Claim Objection above);
e. a first particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the first condensation particle counter receiving the first portion of the flow output; (figure 1, particle counter 52, classifier 50, t a first portion of the flow output from classifier 50 to particle counter 52 CPC. Please see the Specification/Claim Objection above).
However, Kaufman does not teach a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion of the flow output, the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion. Chae teaches a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion of the flow output (figure 2, first counter 28, second counter 30. Chae’s analyzer 18 is not different from a classifier 50 of Kaufman’s reference. Please see the explanation in paragraph 1 above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Kaufman by having a second particle counter in order to count different particle (figure 2, first counter 28, second counter 30).
Although the Kaufman and Chae does not teach the exact type of condensation particle counter, peristaltic pump, annular flow ion mobility classifier, nanoparticle nebulizer, as that claimed by Applicant, the type differences are considered obvious and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular type of the condensation particle counter, peristaltic pump, annular flow ion mobility classifier, nanoparticle nebulizer is anything more than one of numerous type a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing support. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Moreover, although Kaufman does not teach protein test particles, Zhang teaches protein test protein ([0961, 1017]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Kaufman and Chae by having protein test protein in order to implement inspection with a specific particle.
Note: selection of particle size range or similar range is well known. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose appropriate particle size range for the benefit of well operated inspection system. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Oommen also teaches the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion (figure 2, the flow output from sample injector 24 being divided into 4 portions, which includes a first portion and a second portion), and a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion (figure 2, sample injector 24 is not different from mobility classifier, and the second particle counter (one particle counter of four particle counters 40) communicatively connected to element 24, and receiving a second portion). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Kaufman by having the flow output being divided into a first portion and a second portion, and a second particle counter communicatively connected to the classifier, the second particle counter receiving a second portion; in order to count different particle (figure 2, first counter 28, second counter 30).
Fax/Telephone Information
July 11, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877