Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 12, 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin ( Pub. No. US 20150035159 A1 ), hereinafter Lin.
Regarding Independent Claim 1 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10”; [0012], thinned semiconductor substrate 10” );
a wiring layer ( Lin, FIG. 2, 20, 22, 22T; [0011], inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layers 20; associated metallization layers 22; Top metal contacts 22T ) on a first surface ( Lin, FIG. 1, 10A ) of the substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10” );
a first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40; [0015], conductive layer 40 ) provided on a second surface ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10B”; [0012], backside 10B'' ) opposite the first surface ( Lin, FIG. 1, 10A ) of the substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10” ); and
a through electrode ( FIG. 2, FIG. 7, 18; [0010], through-substrate via (TSV) structures 18 ) that connects a second wiring ( Lin, FIG. 2, 22, 22T; [0011], associated metallization layers 22; Top metal contacts 22T ) in the wiring layer ( Lin, FIG. 2, 20, 22, 22T ) and the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40 ) and penetrates the substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10” ),
wherein a part of the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40 ) has a region in an uneven shape ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40A; [0015], concave portion 40A ).
Regarding Claim 2 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein the uneven shape ( FIG. 7, 40A ) is a non-through hole ( Lin, FIG. 4, concave surface 18A; [0015], concave portion 40A; [0017], the concave portion 40A located above the concave surface 18A of the TSV structure 18 ) that does not penetrate the substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10” ).
Regarding Claim 3 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein a plurality ( Lin, FIG. 2, at least two of through-substrate via (TSV) structures 18 18 ) of the non-through hole ( Lin, FIG. 4, concave surface 18A; FIG. 7, concave portion 40A above 18 ) is provided.
Regarding Claim 4 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein a plurality ( Lin, FIG. 2, at least two of through-substrate via (TSV) structures 18 ) of the non-through hole ( Lin, FIG. 4, concave surface 18A; FIG. 7, concave portion 40A )having different depths ( Lin , [0014], In an embodiment, the TSV structure 18 can be recessed by, for example, performing a dry etch process using HBr/O2, HBr/Cl2/O2, SF6/CL2, SF6 plasma, or the like. In an embodiment, the distance between the concave surface 18A and the top surface 30A is in the range of about 1000 Å to about 2 µm ) with respect to the substrate is provided.
Regarding Claim 5 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein the non-through hole ( Lin, FIG. 4, concave surface 18A; FIG. 7, concave portion 40A ) has a lattice shape( Lin, FIG. 2, at least two of through-substrate via (TSV) structures 18, showing multiple parallel structures ).
Regarding Claim 6 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein the non-through hole ( Lin, FIG. 4, concave surface 18A; FIG. 7, concave portion 40A ) is filled with same material as the first wiring (Lin, FIG. 7, 40; [0015], conductive layer 40).
Regarding Claim 8 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40; [0015], conductive layer 40 ) is formed in a shape having a step ( Lin, [0015], The concave portion 4A is lower than the surface of the planar portion 40P; [0016], returned signals reflected from the concave portion 40A and the planar portion 40P are read and detected, and the step height is easily aligned by lithographic tools ).
Regarding Claim 9 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein a region of the substrate corresponding to the region in the uneven shape ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40A; [0015], concave portion 40A ) of the second surface ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10B”; [0012], backside 10B'' ) of the substrate has a protrusion ( Lin, FIG. 10, 18B; [0020], thereby forming a convex portion 18B of the TSV structures 18 protruding from the backside 10B'' ) in a protruding shape.
Regarding Claim 10 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
an insulating film ( Lin, FIG. 3 – FIG. 7, 30; [0013], an isolation film 30 is formed over the backside 10B'' of the thinned semiconductor substrate 10'' to cover the protruding portions of the TSV structures 18; [0015], conductive layer 40 is deposited over the isolation film 30 and the TSV structure 18 ) between the substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10”) and the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40 ),
wherein a region of the insulating film (Lin, FIG. 4 – FIG. 7, 30) corresponding to the region in the uneven shape ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40A ) of the second surface ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10B” ) of the substrate has a recess ( Lin, FIG. 7, 30 below 40A ) in a recessed shape.
Regarding Claim 11 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40 ) and the region in the uneven shape ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40A ) are arranged at a predetermined interval ( Lin, FIG. 2, plurality of through-substrate via (TSV) structures 18 are arranged at a predetermined interval; [0015], The concave portion 40A is lower than the surface of the planar portion 40P ).
Regarding Claim 12 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein a size of the non-through hole ( Lin, FIG. 4, concave surface 18A; [0015], concave portion 40A; [0017], the concave portion 40A located above the concave surface 18A of the TSV structure 18 ) is 70% or less ( Lin, the size of 18A in FIG. 4, or the size of 40A in FIG. 7, are less than the size of 18 in FIG. 3 ) of a size of the through electrode ( FIG. 3, 18 ).
Regarding Claim 14 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein the uneven shape ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40A; [0015], concave portion 40A ) is formed in such a size that a plating area ( Lin, [0018], The connection element may be any suitable conductive material, such as Cu, Ni, Sn, Au, Ag, solder or the like, and may be formed by any suitable method, including evaporation, electroplating, printing, jetting, stud bumping, direct placement, wire bonding or the like ) per unit area is uniform ( Lin, [0015], a conductive layer 40 is deposited over the isolation film 30 and the TSV structure 18. In an embodiment, the conductive layer 40 is formed by depositing a conformal conductive layer, such as a layer of Al, an Al alloy, W, Cu, Ti, Ta, TiN, TaN, or the like, using CVD or PVD techniques. When the conductive layer 40 is deposited, it replicates the topography of the underlying feature ) in an entire region where the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40; [0015], conductive layer 40 ) is disposed.
Regarding Claim 15 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein the region in the uneven shape ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40A; [0015], concave portion 40A ) is provided on the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40 ) having a large film thickness ( [0016] FIG. 6 illustrates a patterned mask 50 formed over the conductive layer 40 in accordance with an embodiment. The patterned mask 50 defines portions of the conductive layer 40 that will act as conductive pads and/or redistribution lines ).
Regarding Independent Claim 16 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches an imaging device (Lin, FIG. 2, 12; [0008], For example, the electrical circuitry 12 may include various N-type metal-oxide semiconductor (NMOS) and/or P-type metal-oxide semiconductor (PMOS) devices, such as transistors, capacitors, resistors, diodes, photo-diodes, ... The functions may include memory structures, processing structures, sensors, amplifiers, power distribution, input/output circuitry) comprising:
a first chip ( FIG. 2, 12 ) on which a solid-state imaging element ( Lin, [0008] ) is formed; and
a second chip ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10”, 18, 20, 22, 22T; [0012], thinned semiconductor substrate 10''; [0011], inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layers 20; associated metallization layers 22; Top metal contacts 22T ) that processes a signal from the first chip ( Lin, FIG. 2, 12, 14; [0009], contacts 14 are formed through an inter-layer dielectric (ILD) layer 16 to provide an electrical contact to the electrical circuitry 12 ),
the second chip ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10”, 18, 20, 22, 22T ) including:
a substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10” );
a wiring layer ( Lin, FIG. 2, 20, 22, 22T; [0011] ) on a first surface ( Lin, FIG. 1, 10A ) of the substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10” );
a first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40; [0015], conductive layer 40 ) provided on a second surface ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10B”; [0012], backside 10B'' ) opposite the first surface ( Lin, FIG. 1, 10A ) of the substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10 ); and
a through electrode ( FIG. 2, FIG. 7, 18; [0010], through-substrate via (TSV) structures 18 ) that connects a second wiring ( Lin, FIG. 2, 22, 22T; [0011], associated metallization layers 22; Top metal contacts 22T ) in the wiring layer ( Lin, FIG. 2, 20, 22, 22T ) and the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40 ) and penetrates the substrate ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10 ),
wherein a part of the first wiring ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40 ) has a region in an uneven shape ( Lin, FIG. 7, 40A; [0015], concave portion 40A ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, in view of Lin.
Regarding Claim 7 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 2, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein the non-through hole ( Lin, FIG. 4, concave surface 18A; FIG. 7, concave portion 40A ).
Lin fails to explicitly disclose:.
wherein the non-through hole has a slit shape.
However, Lin teaches:
[0014], Referring to FIG. 4, an etching process is performed to recess the top surface 18T of the TSV structure 18, and thereby the top surface 18T becomes a concave surface 18A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin ( FIG. 4, concave surface 18A ) by duplicating the structure in FIG. 4 and overlapping them, and then multiple concave surfaces 18A form a slit shape. Doing so would provide a specific structure for the through-substrate via includes a concave or a convex portion adjacent to the backside of the semiconductor substrate, and therefore the bonding configuration and stacked-die package can be improved.
Regarding Claim 13 ( Currently Amended ), Lin teaches the semiconductor device as claimed in claim 7, on which this claim is dependent, Lin further teaches:
wherein a depth of the non-through hole ( Lin, FIG. 4, concave surface 18A; [0015], concave portion 40A; [0017], the concave portion 40A located above the concave surface 18A of the TSV structure 18 ) in the slit shape from the second surface is 50% or less ( Lin, the depth of 18A in FIG. 4, or the depth of 40A in FIG. 7, are less than the depth of 18 in FIG. 3 ) of a depth of the through electrode ( FIG. 3, 18 ) from the second surface ( Lin, FIG. 2, 10B” ).
Conclusion
/DA-WEI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817