DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a 2nd Non-Final Rejection. Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed 07/06/2026, with regards to the 103 rejection over Wagner was given consideration and found convincing. However, upon further search and consideration, a closer prior art was found, and thereby relied upon in the rejection herewith.
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-17 are pending in this application. Claims 7-17, drawn to non-elected groups. Claim 6 is amended. Claims 1-6 are currently under examination and the subject matter of the present Office Action.
Rejection(s) not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite because it recites “into the product” which lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear what product in Claim 1 is being referred to, i.e. just the lactones from the heat treatment or the flavor-imparting agent comprising the lactones, or something else. Thus, the claim is rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagner et al. ("Key odorants of French fries." Journal of the American Oil Chemists' Society 75.10 (1998): 1385-1392), hereinafter Wagner, as evidenced by Leech, J. (What Is the Healthiest Oil for Deep Frying? The Crispy Truth, obtained from Wayback Machine on 08/08/2026 URL: <https://web.archive.org/web/20171023072557/https:/www.healthline.com/nutrition/healthiest-oil-for-deep-frying#section1>, first published August 18, 2016, and Bezard et al. (J Am Oil Chem Soc 48, 134–139 (1971).
Regarding Claim 1, Wagner teaches using coconut fat as frying medium for potatoes; its fatty acid composition (g/100 g) after transesterification is 8:0 (7.2), 10:0 (6.0), 12:0 (44.2), 14:0 (15.1), 16:0 (8.1), 18:0 (3.2), 18:1 (5.2), and 18:2 (1.9), which totals to 72.5% and reading on the claimed amount of fatty acids (p. 1385, Materials). Deep frying temperature is between 176–190°C, and coconut oil has a smoke point at 180°C, as evidenced by Leech. The coconut fat led to a coconut note in the profile of French fries contributed by lactones, primarily by [Symbol font/0x67]-octalactone, anticipating the claim (Abstract; Table 3; p. 1388, Results). As such, Claim 3 is also anticipated.
Regarding Claim 2, Wagner teaches that (E,Z)-2,4-decadienal and (E,E)-2,4-decadienal cause the deep-fried note in the odor profile of French fries, and that these dienals are formed by autooxidation of linoleic acid found in coconut fat at 1.9%, which anticipates the claimed range for unsaturated fatty acid (p. 1391, L. Col., 1st and 2nd paragraph; Tables 4-5).
Regarding Claim 5, Wagner teaches coconut fat (Materials), which has a total glyceride that is almost exclusively triglycerides, i.e. 99.8% triglycerides, as evidenced by Bezard (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner, as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 4, Wagner teaches that the [Symbol font/0x67]-lactones with 8 to 10 carbon atoms cause the coconut-like note atoms (p. 1390, Discussion, 1st paragraph). If a stronger coconut and a decrease in deep-frying note is desired, one would limit the triglycerides to only contain fatty acid precursors of [Symbol font/0x67]-lactones with 8 to 10 carbon.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner, as applied to Claim 1 above, and in view of Little Figgy (The Best Parmesan Truffle Fries Recipe - Little Figgy Food. May 29, 2020. Obtained from WayBack Machine on 08/08/2026. URL: <https://web.archive.org/web/20200918193323/https:/www.littlefiggy.com/the-best-parmesan-truffle-fries-recipe/>), as evidenced by Amazon (Amazon.com : The Truffleist Black Truffle Oil – Black Truffle Infused Olive Oil – 8.5 oz : Grocery & Gourmet Food. Obtained from URL: <https://www.amazon.com/TRUFFLEIST-Black-Truffle-Olive-Oil/dp/B01N9YSTPG> on 08/08/2026. Review posted for product on December 30, 2019), and Viola et al. (Clinics in Dermatology (2009) 27, 159–165).
Wagner does not teach mixing additional triglyceride.
Little Figgy teaches the preparation of truffle fries by adding fresh truffle oil on the cooked fries while it is still hot (p. 2, bottom 2 paragraphs; p. 6, To season section).
Most truffle oils are olive oil infused with black truffle, as evidenced by Amazon. Olive oil contains 98%-99% triglycerides as evidenced by Viola et al. (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add truffle oil to fries cooked per the teaching of Wagner, to obtain truffle fries, which has truffle aroma. In doing so, the truffle oil, which is olive-oil based, would be mixed with the coconut oil the fries is cooked in. Because olive oil contains triglycerides, Claim 6 is obvious.
Response to Remarks:
Applicant’s arguments are centered around Grab and Grab2, which are no longer relied on in this 2nd Non-final Action.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JANICE Y SILVERMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1792