DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-6 & 8 in the reply filed on 01/09/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claim process steps must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims:
Claim 1:
a stacked wafer forming step of forming a stacked wafer by stacking a plurality of memory wafers in a bump-less manner;
a dicing step of dicing the stacked wafer into the stacked memories as individual pieces;
a rearrangement step of rearranging a plurality of the stacked memories in a predetermined shape;
a molding step of molding the stacked memories that have been rearranged;
a wiring forming step of forming external wiring on the stacked memories; and
a separation step of separating a resultant semifinished product into memory modules each including a predetermined number of the stacked memories that have been molded.
Claim 2:
after the rearrangement step and before the molding step, an external through electrode forming step of forming an external through electrode that extends in a stacking direction of the stacked memories, wherein
in the rearrangement step, the stacked memories as the individual pieces are disposed on each other and rearranged in a predetermined shape, and
in the molding step, the stacked memories that have been rearranged and the external through electrode are molded.
Claim 8:
wherein in the rearrangement step, the logic chip is stacked on a control chip that is exposed on one surface of the stacked wafer in a stacking direction and that controls the operation of the stacked memories.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein in the rearrangement step, the logic chip is stacked on a control chip that is exposed on one surface of the stacked wafer in a stacking direction”. It is unclear what particular component in the drawings refer to the control chip that is exposed on one surface of the stacked wafer. The Examiner suggests that applicant identifies said feature with a reference numeral in a specific drawing. Correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Pub. 2022/0130813A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method for manufacturing a module including a predetermined number of stacked memories, the method comprising:
a stacked wafer forming step of forming a stacked wafer by stacking a plurality of memory wafers in a bump-less manner (see Fig. 1A-1C);
a dicing step of dicing the stacked wafer into the stacked memories as individual pieces (it is understood that a dicing step was performed to obtain individual pieces 30a & 30b that can function as memory chips, see Fig. 1A-1C or see Fig. 1D-1E, wherein stacked memories 20 are diced into individual pieces 20);
a rearrangement step of rearranging a plurality of the stacked memories in a predetermined shape (see Fig. 1E-1H);
a molding step of molding the stacked memories that have been rearranged (Fig. 1I);
a wiring forming step of forming external wiring 12 on the stacked memories (Fig. 1J); and
a separation step of separating a resultant semifinished product into memory modules each including a predetermined number of the stacked memories that have been molded (see Fig. 1K).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Zhai et al. (US Patent, 9,659,907).
Regarding claim 2, while Chen teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: an external through electrode forming step of forming an external through electrode 23 that extends in a stacking direction of the stacked memories (see Fig. 1D-1E & 1K), wherein in the rearrangement step, the stacked memories as the individual pieces are disposed on each other and rearranged in a predetermined shape (Fig. 1E-1H), and in the molding step, the stacked memories that have been rearranged and the external through electrode are molded (Fig. 1K); However, Chen is silent on wherein the step of forming external electrodes is carried out after the rearrangement step and before the molding step. Nonetheless, Zhai teaches in Fig. 8- Fig. 9, wherein the step of forming external electrodes 140 is carried out after a rearrangement step and before a molding step. This has the advantages of performing an alternative approach. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen with the sequence of electrode and molding process steps, as taught by Zhai, so as to employ an alternative approach to obtaining a packaging device.
Claims 3-6 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Chuang et al. (US Pub. 2021/0202354).
Regarding claim 3, Chen is silent on the method according to claim 1, wherein in the rearrangement step, the stacked memories and a logic chip are rearranged in a predetermined shape, and in the molding step, the stacked memories and the logic chip are molded. However, Chuang teaches in Fig. 12 or Fig. 13, wherein in an rearrangement step, stacked memories (410, 310, 210 & 110) and a logic chip 510 are rearranged in a predetermined shape, and in a molding step (note molding layer 530), the stacked memories 410, 310, 210 & 110) and the logic chip 510 are molded. This has the advantages of providing a logic chip in the stacked structure to process data and execute instructions. Together, the memory chips store short or long term data while the logic chips manage the operation of the semiconductor device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen with the logic and memory chips, as taught by Chuang, so as to enhance the operations of the semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen and Chuang teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein in the rearrangement step, the logic chip 510 is stacked on the plurality of stacked memories (Chuang’s Fig. 12 or Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chen and Chuang teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein in the rearrangement step, the logic chip 510 is stacked on the plurality of stacked memories (410, 310, 210 & 110) so as to straddle the plurality of stacked memories (Chuang’s Fig. 12 or Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chen and Chuang teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein in the rearrangement step, the stacked memories (410, 310, 210 & 110) are stacked on the logic chip 510 (Chuang’s Fig. 12 or Fig. 13 and respective text: rearranging for logic die to be stacked on the memory dies or vice versa would have been within the ordinary skill in the art in view of Chuang).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, the combination of Chen and Chuang teaches the method according to any one of claim 3, wherein in the rearrangement step, the logic chip 510 is stacked on a control chip (e.g. 410 in Chuang’s Fig. 13 or one of the chips in 20a in Chen’s Fig. 1K can function as a control chip) that is exposed on one surface of the stacked wafer in a stacking direction and that controls the operation of the stacked memories.
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818