Status of the Claims
Claims 15, 19-22, and 24-35 are pending and rejected. Claims 1-14, 16-18, and 23 are cancelled. Claim 15 is amended and claims 32-35 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 19-22, and 24-35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 15 and 32, the claims indicate that the substrate is configured for exposure to a fatty acid heated to at least 60°C and/or against an organic solvent heated to at least 40°C, however, there is insufficient support for this limitation in the specification. The specification describes the rheological agent may enhance chemical resistance of the coating layer against an organic solvent at a temperature of at least 40°C or a fatty acid at temperature of at least 60°C, however, it does not indicate that the substrate is configured for such exposure. Since none of the dependent claims remedy the issue of claims 15 and 32, they are also considered to include new matter.
Claims 15, 19-22, 24-27, and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 15 and 32, the claims require that the substrate is configured for exposure to a fatty acid heated to at least 60°C and/or against an organic solvent heated to at least 40°C, however, it is unclear what is required for a substrate to be configured for such exposure. Claims 28-31 describe that the substrate is steel or a tank or pipe for chemical storage or transport. For the purposes of examination, having a substrate that is steel or a tank or pipe for chemical storage or transport is considered to meet the requirement of being configured for exposure to a fatty acid heated to at least 60°C and/or against an organic solvent heated to at least 40°C. Since only claims 28-31 are considered to clarify claim 15, all the other dependent claims are considered to include new matter. Appropriate action is required without adding new matter.
Regarding claim 33, the claim indicates that the fatty acid comprises PFAD and the organic solvent comprises methanol, however, claim 32 indicates that the coating layer is exposed to the fatty acid and/or the organic solvent, such that it is unclear whether claim 33 requires that the coating is exposed to both PFAD and methanol or whether when the coating is exposed to the fatty acid, it is required to be PFAD and when the coating is exposed to the organic solvent it is required to be methanol. For the purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted as though when the coating is exposed to the fatty acid, it is required to be PFAD and when the coating is exposed to the organic solvent it is required to be methanol. Appropriate action is required without adding new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 19, 20, 22, and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizawa, WO 2019022218 A1 as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals, “Disparlon 6650”, 2021 and for claim 19, as further evidenced by Special Chem, “Disparlon® 6650”, 2019 and alternatively in view of US Department of Labor, “Occupational Safety and Health Administration”, 2012 (hereinafter OSHA) as evidenced by IPCS INCHEM, “Methanol”, 2018 (hereinafter IPCS) or List, “Storage, Handling, and Transport of Oils and Fats”, 2005.
Claims 24 and 32-35 are rejected over Nishizawa in view of List and as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals.
Claims 25 and 32-35 are rejected over Nishizawa in view of OHSA and IPCS and as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals.
The following citations to Nishizawa, WO 2019022218 A1 are in reference to the machine translation provided by Espacenet and the tables in the original document.
Regarding claims 15, 26, and 28-31, Nishizawa teaches a method of producing a substrate coated on at least a portion thereof with a coating layer (a method for producing a substrate with a coating film, 0025), the method comprising:
applying a coating composition to at least a portion of a substrate to form a coating layer (applying a coating composition to a substrate and drying to form a coating film, 0025),
wherein the coating composition comprises a rheological agent (where the composition includes anti-sagging or anti-settling agents, 0073, where the settling agent is desirably an amide wax, 0084, such as Disparlon 6650 manufactured by Kusumoto Chemical Co., 0085, 0101).
As evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals, Disparlon 6650 is an amide wax having a melting point of 122°C (pg. 1). Therefore, the coating composition is understood to include a rheological agent having at least 85 wt % of a compound having a melting temperature of greater than 95°C since the compound has a melting temperature of 122°C.
As to the rheological agent enhancing the chemical resistance of the coating, it is noted that Nishizawa teaches that the composition has excellent oil resistance, chemical resistance, and solvent resistance (0029) and since they provide the process of claim 1, the resulting rheological agent is also expected to enhance the chemical resistance of the coating. According to MPEP 2112.01 I, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”.
Nishizawa further teaches using steel substrates (0091). They teach forming the coating on inner surface of cargo tanks used to transport chemicals by land or sea, the inner surfaces of land tanks for storing similar chemicals, the inner surfaces of pipelines and the like that come into contact with chemicals, etc. (0090). They teach that the composition is preferably used on the inner surfaces of tanks and pipelines used for transporting or storing chemical substances (0090). Therefore, the substrate comprises a tank or pipe having an internal surface, where the internal surface is coated with the coating composition and where the tank or pipe is configured to chemical storage or transport. Therefore, since they provide a tank or pipe for storing or transporting chemicals, including methanol (as required by claim 25), where the substrate (tank or pipe) is steel as required by the claims, the resulting substrate is considered to be configured for exposure to a fatty acid heated to at least 60°C and/or against an organic solvent heated to at least 40°C, as noted in the 112(b) rejection above, where since they provide a coating composition meeting the claimed requirements (and more further discussed below for claims 19, 20, 22, and 24-27), the resulting coating composition is also expected to enhance chemical resistance of the coating layer against the fatty acid heated to at least 60°C and/or against the organic solvent heated to at least 40°C.
Alternatively, they do not specifically teach that the substrate is configured for exposure to a fatty acid heated to at least 60°C and/or against an organic solvent heated to at least 40°C. As noted above they teach that the coating provides desirable resistance to solvents including methanol and oils including palm oil (0030).
Osha teaches that atmospheric tanks shall not be used for the storage of a flammable liquid at a temperature at or above its boiling point (pg. 6).
As evidenced by IPCS, methanol is highly flammable with a boiling point of 65°C (pg. 1-2).
From the teachings of Osha and as evidenced by IPCS, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the tank for exposure to the methanol at a temperature of less than 65°C so as to overlap the claimed range because OSHA indicates that atmospheric tanks should not be used to store flammable liquids at temperatures above their boiling point and IPCS indicates that methanol is flammable with a boiling point of 65°C, such that the temperature range is expected to be suitable for the storage of methanol. Therefore, the temperature will overlap the claimed range and since the coating is indicated as providing resistance against methanol and meets the claimed requirement, it is also expected to enhance the chemical resistance of the coating layer against the exposure to methanol at a temperature range overlapping the claimed range. According to MPEP 2144.05, “in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Alternatively: List teaches that extremes of temperature of an oil during shipment can have a deleterious effect on quality because oxidative deterioration and hydrolysis are accelerated by temperature (pg. 219, section 2.16). They provide recommended storage temperatures during voyage and on discharge for various oils (pg. 219, section 2.16). They teach that for palm fatty acid distillate, the discharge temperature is in the range of 67 to 72°C (table 7). They teach that tanks are often coated with inert materials to prevent contaminations (pg. 199, section 1.5).
From the teachings of List, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the coating for a tank storing palm fatty acid distillate and to have configured the tank/substrate for exposure to the PFAD at a temperature in the range of 67-72°C because Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals teaches that the coating provides excellent oil resistance to oils including palm oil and List indicates that tanks for storing oils such as PFAD should be coated to prevent contamination, where the PFAD should be discharged at a temperature of 67-72°C, such that the coating will be expected to also provide desirable resistance to PFAD (an oil) at the desired temperature. Therefore, the temperature will be within the claimed range. According to MPEP 2131.03, “[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art.”
Regarding claim 19, Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and alternatively in view of OSHA as evidenced by IPCS or List suggests the process of claim 15. As further evidenced by Special Chem, Disparlon 6650 is a polyamide thixotrope (pg. 1), such that it is understood to include at least two amide groups since it is a polyamide.
Regarding claim 20, Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and alternatively in view of OSHA as evidenced by IPCS or List suggests the process of claim 15. Nishizawa teaches that the anti-sagging agent can be a hydrogenated castor oil wax or a mixture of hydrogenated castor oil wax and amide wax, where they indicate that the preferred anti-sagging agent is selected from amide wax, powdered silica, oxidized polyethylene wax, and organoclay wax (0084). They provide an example of the coating composition that includes Disparlon 6650, where there is no indication that hydrogenated castor oil is included (0101). Therefore, they teach that the composition does not include hydrogenated castor oil and since they indicate that hydrogenated castor oil is optional and amide wax is preferred, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected Disparlon 6650 as the amide wax and to have excluded hydrogenated castor oil.
Regarding claim 22, Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and alternatively in view of OSHA as evidenced by IPCS or List suggests the process of claim 15. Nishizawa teaches that the composition has excellent oil resistance, chemical resistance, and solvent resistance (0029). They teach that excellent oil resistance, solvent resistance, and chemical resistance specifically means excellent resistance to oils such as palm oil, solvents such as methanol, etc. (0030). They teach testing coated plates in naphtha at room temperature for 180 days, in benzene or ethanol at room temperature for 180 days (0110-0111). They teach that the evaluation criteria uses 5 for no rust, no blisters, and a hardness of HB or higher, 4 for no rust, no blisters, and hardness of B to 4B, 3 for no rust, no blisters and a hardness of 5B or less, 2 for slight rust and blisters, and 1 for rust and blisters (0110). They provide the data in Tables 5-7 (0108), where the samples include values of 4 and 5, suggesting that at least some of the sample have a chemical resistance to a chemical for 180 days (about 6 months). While they do not teach that the rheological agent provides the chemical resistance allowing for the coating to remain intact after about 6 months, since the chemical has not been defined and they provide the process of claim 1 and they indicate that the coating has resistance to a chemical for about 6 months, the resulting process and the rheological agent is also expected to enhance chemical resistance of the coating layer such that the coating layer remains intact after a total of at least 6 months of continuous exposure to a chemical. According to MPEP 2112.01 I, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”.
Regarding claim 24, Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and alternatively in view of OSHA as evidenced by IPCS or List suggests the process of claim 15. As discussed above, List suggests that the fatty acid comprises palm fatty acid distillate.
Regarding claim 25, Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and alternatively in view of OSHA as evidenced by IPCS or List suggests the process of claim 15. As discussed above, OSHA as evidenced by IPCS suggests that the solvent comprises methanol.
Regarding claim 27, Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and alternatively in view of OSHA as evidenced by IPCS or List suggests the process of claim 15. As evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals, Disparlon 6650 is a thixotropic agent (pg. 1).
Regarding claims 32 and 33, as discussed above for claims 15, 24, and 25, Nishizawa in view of OHSA as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and IPCS or Nishizawa in view of List and as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals suggest the process of claims 32 and 33, such that it is considered to meet the requirements of claim 33 as discussed in the 112(b) rejection above.
Regarding claims 34 and 35, Nishizawa in view of OHSA as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and IPCS or Nishizawa in view of List and as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals suggest the process of claim 32. While they do not teach that the rheological agent enhances the chemical resistance of the coating layer against the fatty acid heated to at least 60°C and against the organic solvent heated to at least 40°C such that the coating layer remains intact after a total of at least 6 months of continuous exposure thereto, since they provide the claimed coating, the resulting coating is also expected to provide the claimed features. According to MPEP 2112.01 I, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizawa, WO 2019022218 A1 as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemical, 2021 and alternatively in view of OSHA as evidenced by IPCS or List as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Arabatzis, “Multi-Criteria decision-making methodology for the selection of cargo hold coating for bulk carriers”, 2018.
Regarding claim 21, Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals and alternatively in view of OSHA as evidenced by IPCS or List suggests the process of claim 15.
They do not teach determining the chemical resistance accordance with ISO 2812-1:2007.
Arabatzis teaches that coating cargo holds of bulk carriers constitutes the primary source of protection of the vessel’s structure against corrosion, while ensuring the proper cleanliness in the holds and protection of cargoes against contamination (abstract). They teach testing cargo hold paints to determine chemical resistance using ISO 2812-1:2007 (pg. 3, section 3.1). They teach that under the chemical resistance test method, a material or surface is exposed to the chemical substance for a certain time, and the relevant area is then inspected microscopically to determine discoloration, softening, alteration in the degree of shine, swelling, detachment of coatings and blistering (pg. 15, section 4.8). They teach that on completion of the defined test period, any residues of the test liquid are removed, and the material surface is assessed and analyzed for visible alterations (pg. 15, section 4.8).
From the teachings of Arabatzis, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used ISO 2812-1:2007 to determine the chemical resistance of the coatings because Arabatzis teaches that such a standard is used to determine the chemical resistance of coatings such that it will be expected to be a suitable test for determining the chemical resistance of the coatings of Nishizawa as evidenced by Kusumoto Chemicals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 6/22/2026, have been fully considered.
In light of the claimed amendments, the rejection over Barth has been withdrawn.
In light of the amendments to the claims and the new claims, the rejection has been modified as indicated above.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Nishizawa fails to teach determining the chemical resistance of a heated fatty acid or solvent, since they provide a coating meeting the claimed requirements, the resulting coating is considered to also provide the claimed results. According to MPEP 2112.01 I, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. Further, it is noted that claim 22 does not require that the coating enhances resistance to the fatty acid or the solvent, only that it enhances chemical resistance of the coating layer after exposure to “a chemical”.
As to Applicant’s arguments over claim 24, as written, the claim does not require that the coating composition is exposed to PFAD, only that it is configured to be exposed to the fatty acid and/or the organic solvent and that the coating enhances the chemical resistance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA D MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718