DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 09/15/2025, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-3, 10-15 have been amended. No claim has been cancelled. No claim has been added. Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
As an initial matter, the rejection under 35 USC 101 for claim 10-12 has been withdrawn in view of applicant's amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/15/2025 regarding claims rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits “each block in amended independent claim 1 includes four thresholds (i.e., a first lightness threshold, a second lightness threshold, a third lightness threshold, and a fourth lightness threshold). Primary Examiner contending that Lin's threshold block contains two thresholds and then adding the thresholds of two blocks to get four thresholds does not teach or suggest one block containing four thresholds as recited in amended independent claim 1.” (Remarks, Page 11).
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion. Applicant’s claim recites a first set of blocks and a second set of blocks. Thus, it is not one block containing four thresholds. It is two blocks each has two thresholds. There are three areas that applicant needs to consider. First, the threshold value mask in Lin has Ti,j values, i and j is an integer selected from 1 to M, which the mask has more than four threshold values. Second, the independent claim recites a first, second, third, fourth threshold without further define those thresholds and their functions. Therefore, those four threshold values do not necessary to be different values. They could be the same threshold which a first, second, third, fourth threshold could be essentially one threshold. Third, the claim recites the third and fourth thresholds for a second set of blocks. Thus, the third and fourth thresholds could be just repeating the first and second thresholds in a different set of blocks since there is no addition definition to define the purpose of each threshold in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panza (EP3007108A1) in view of Lin (US Pub 2019/0102588 A1) and Arce et al. (US Pub 2018/0075570 A1).
As to claim 1, Panza discloses a method comprising:
receiving a Quick Response (QR) code including a plurality of dark blocks and a plurality of light blocks (Fig. 2a to 2j, Fig .3, ¶0002, “The QR code is more precisely a two-dimensional bar code in the form of a matrix consisting of light and dark juxtaposed squares called "modules".”);
for each of a first set of blocks, defining a central pixel or a plurality of central pixels, and a plurality of outer pixels (Fig.2a, ¶0018, “decomposition of each module of the first graphical matrix code into a central area comprising at least one pixel of the module and a peripheral area comprising the other pixels of the module”);
combining the QR code with an image, the image having an area to be co- located with the QR code with pixel dimensions corresponding to pixel dimensions of the QR code, to form a combined image (Fig. 3, ¶0018, “the selection step may be applied to the pixels of the central areas of all the modules, and, for each correspondence between a pixel of a peripheral area of a module of the first graphical matrix code with a pixel of the image” ¶0019, “only a central zone of each module can be reserved for reading the code, the peripheral zone making it possible to highlight the image.” ¶0041, “the dimensions of the image (in number of pixels) are at least equal to the dimensions of the first graphical matrix code. A corresponding pair of pixels can be seen as facing pixels when the first graphical matrix code and the image are superimposed.”),
wherein combining the QR code and the image comprises:
at locations of the combined image corresponding to outer pixel locations of the QR code, using pixel data from the image as pixel data for the combined image (Fig. 3, ¶0018, “the selection step may be applied to the pixels of the central areas of all the modules, and, for each correspondence between a pixel of a peripheral area of a module of the first graphical matrix code with a pixel of the image, the pixel of the image may be added to the second graphical matrix code.” ¶0019, “only a central zone of each module can be reserved for reading the code, the peripheral zone making it possible to highlight the image.”).
Panza does not explicitly discloses associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold; associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold; associating pixels of each dark block of a second set of blocks with a third lightness threshold: and associating pixels of each light block of the second set with a fourth lightness threshold.
Lin teaches associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold (Lin, ¶0035, “a step S43 includes generating a threshold value mask image based on the greyscale image. For example, a method of full range calculation or regional calculation can be used to generate the threshold value mask image. Wherein, the method of regional calculation can help improve the situation of defects that the black and white QR code may have after binarization if the greyscale image has uneven lighting.” ¶0036, “In a greyscale image 50 containing N×N greyscale image pixels 51, the method of regional calculation uses a section window 52 to calculate an average intensity of each one of greyscale image pixels. The section window 52 can have a size containing, for example, 5×5 greyscale image pixels 51, but the present invention is not limited to this size. The average intensity of each one of the greyscale image pixels 51 in the section window 52 will be calculated and acquired and set as the threshold value of the greyscale image 53 in the center of the section window 52. After, the threshold value mask image 60, as the one shown in FIG. 6, is generated after.” ¶0040, Function (1). “Yi,j≤Ti,j−α” and “Yi,j≥Ti,j+α”. ¶0042. ¶0045, “if the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the pixel of the plurality of layer blocks is white, and the intensity of the pixel in the plurality of layer blocks is greater than or equal to the threshold value at the corresponding position (the threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) plus the strength value, the intensity of the pixel requires no modification; if the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the pixel of the plurality of layer blocks is black, and the intensity of the pixel in the plurality of layer blocks is less than or equal to the threshold value at the corresponding position (the threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) minus the strength value, the intensity of the pixel requires no modification. For those which do not satisfy the previous conditions, the pixels of the plurality of layer blocks require modifications.” ¶0049, function (3). ¶0051.);
associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold (Lin has a threshold value mask in Fig. 6. ¶0041, “Ti,j refers to the average threshold value of the module located at a position of row i and column j in threshold value mask image” “each one of i and j is an integer selected from 1 to M.” Fig.7, ¶0045, “(the threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) plus the strength value” “the threshold value at the corresponding position (the threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) minus the strength value”).;
associating pixels of each dark block of a second set of blocks with a third lightness threshold: and associating pixels of each light block of the second set with a fourth lightness threshold (Lin has a threshold value mask in Fig. 6. ¶0041, “Ti,j refers to the average threshold value of the module located at a position of row i and column j in threshold value mask image” “each one of i and j is an integer selected from 1 to M.” Fig.7, ¶0045, “(the threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) plus the strength value” “the threshold value at the corresponding position (the threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) minus the strength value” Examiner would like to point out three things. First, the threshold value mask has Ti,j values, i and j is an integer selected from 1 to M, which is more than four threshold values as recited in the claim. Second, the claim recites a first, second, third, fourth threshold without further define those thresholds and their functions. Therefore, those threshold values do not necessary to be different values. They could be the same threshold which a first, second, third, fourth threshold could be essentially one threshold. Third, the claim recites the third and fourth thresholds for a second set of blocks. Thus, the third and fourth thresholds could be just repeating the first and second thresholds in the first set of blocks.).
Panza and Lin are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to combine QR code and image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Panza with the features of “associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold; associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold; associating pixels of each dark block of a second set of blocks with a third lightness threshold: and associating pixels of each light block of the second set with a fourth lightness threshold.” as taught by Lin. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have a two dimensional barcode including a color image to make it more attractive and has the same error correction capability as the original two dimensional barcode (Lin, ¶0053)
Arce also teaches associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold; associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold; associating pixels of each dark block of a second set of blocks with a third lightness threshold: and associating pixels of each light block of the second set with a fourth lightness threshold (Acre, Fig.3, ¶0048, 0052, ¶0056, ¶0061, ¶0063).
Panza, Lin and Arce are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to computer image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Panza with the features of “associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold; associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold; associating pixels of each dark block of a second set of blocks with a third lightness threshold: and associating pixels of each light block of the second set with a fourth lightness threshold” as taught by Arce. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
As to claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and Panza discloses combining the QR code with an image includes converting the pixel data of the image to HSL (hue, saturation, lightness) color representation (Panza, ¶0086, “. The TSL (Hue, Saturation, Luminance, or HSL) chromatic model may be used to model the color of the second pixel of the image”).
Claims 2-6, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panza (EP3007108A1) in view of Lin (US Pub 2019/0102588 A1) and Arce et al. (US Pub 2018/0075570 A1).
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Panza does not disclose wherein combining the QR code and the image includes: at locations of the combined image corresponding to central pixel locations of the QR code, applying the associated lightness thresholds, such that each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a dark block is darker than the first lightness threshold and each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a light block is lighter than the second lightness threshold.
Lin teaches associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold and associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold (Lin, ¶0035, “a step S43 includes generating a threshold value mask image based on the greyscale image. For example, a method of full range calculation or regional calculation can be used to generate the threshold value mask image. Wherein, the method of regional calculation can help improve the situation of defects that the black and white QR code may have after binarization if the greyscale image has uneven lighting.” ¶0036, “In a greyscale image 50 containing N×N greyscale image pixels 51, the method of regional calculation uses a section window 52 to calculate an average intensity of each one of greyscale image pixels. The section window 52 can have a size containing, for example, 5×5 greyscale image pixels 51, but the present invention is not limited to this size. The average intensity of each one of the greyscale image pixels 51 in the section window 52 will be calculated and acquired and set as the threshold value of the greyscale image 53 in the center of the section window 52. After, the threshold value mask image 60, as the one shown in FIG. 6, is generated after.”);
and wherein combining the QR code and the image includes:
at locations of the combined image corresponding to central pixel locations of the QR code, applying the associated lightness thresholds, such that each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a dark block is darker than the first lightness threshold and each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a light block is lighter than the second lightness threshold (¶0037, “The greyscale image and the threshold value mask image are partitioned based on the number of the modules of the second QR code. If the second QR code has M×M modules, the greyscale image and the threshold value mask image will be respectively partitioned into a number of M×M greyscale image modules of equal size and a number of M×M threshold value mask image modules of equal size. Further, a center block is partitioned off in each one of the greyscale image modules in the step S44. For example, if each one of the greyscale image modules has its size of 24 pixels×24 pixels, the center block can have its size of 8 pixel×8 pixels, 10 pixels×10 pixels, or 13 pixels×13 pixels.” ¶0038, “the characteristic intensity of the center block of the greyscale image module, the threshold value at the corresponding position, and the module of the second QR code at the corresponding position are judged to determine if the center block needs to be modified. If the center block requires no modification, each one of its pixels requires no modification as well. If the center block requires a modification, each one of its pixels is further processed in steps S46-S48.” ¶0039, “if the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is white (Qi,j=0), and the average characteristic intensity (e.g. average intensity or median intensity) of the center block is greater than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) plus a strength value, the center block requires no modification. If the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is black (Qi,j=1), and the average characteristic intensity of the center block is less than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) minus strength value, the center block requires no modification. For those which do not satisfy the previous conditions, the center block requires a modification.” Fig. 7, ¶0040-0051.).
Panza and Lin are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to combine QR code and image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Panza with the features of “associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold and associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold; and wherein combining the QR code and the image includes: at locations of the combined image corresponding to central pixel locations of the QR code, applying the associated lightness thresholds, such that each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a dark block is darker than the first lightness threshold and each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a light block is lighter than the second lightness threshold.” as taught by Lin. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have a two dimensional barcode including a color image to make it more attractive and has the same error correction capability as the original two dimensional barcode (Lin, ¶0053)
Arce also teaches associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold and associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold; and wherein combining the QR code and the image includes: at locations of the combined image corresponding to central pixel locations of the QR code, applying the associated lightness thresholds, such that each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a dark block is darker than the first lightness threshold and each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a light block is lighter than the second lightness threshold (Acre, Fig.3, ¶0048, 0052, ¶0056, ¶0061, ¶0063).
Panza, Lin and Arce are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to computer image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Panza with the features of “associating central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold and associating central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold; and wherein combining the QR code and the image includes: at locations of the combined image corresponding to central pixel locations of the QR code, applying the associated lightness thresholds, such that each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a dark block is darker than the first lightness threshold and each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a central pixel of a light block is lighter than the second lightness threshold” as taught by Arce. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
As to claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses defining a first plurality of blocks representing encoded data as the first set of blocks and defining a second plurality of blocks representing a function pattern as a second set of blocks (Lin, Fig. 7 and Fig. 9, ¶0040-0051).
As to claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated and the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses associating pixels of each dark block of the second set with a third lightness threshold and associating pixels of each light block of the second set with a fourth lightness threshold, and wherein combining the QR code with the image further includes: applying the associated lightness thresholds such that each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a dark block of the second set of blocks is darker than the third threshold and wherein each pixel of the combined image that corresponds to a light block of the second set of blocks is lighter than the fourth lightness threshold (Lin, ¶0037, “The greyscale image and the threshold value mask image are partitioned based on the number of the modules of the second QR code. If the second QR code has M×M modules, the greyscale image and the threshold value mask image will be respectively partitioned into a number of M×M greyscale image modules of equal size and a number of M×M threshold value mask image modules of equal size. Further, a center block is partitioned off in each one of the greyscale image modules in the step S44. For example, if each one of the greyscale image modules has its size of 24 pixels×24 pixels, the center block can have its size of 8 pixel×8 pixels, 10 pixels×10 pixels, or 13 pixels×13 pixels.” ¶0038, “the characteristic intensity of the center block of the greyscale image module, the threshold value at the corresponding position, and the module of the second QR code at the corresponding position are judged to determine if the center block needs to be modified. If the center block requires no modification, each one of its pixels requires no modification as well. If the center block requires a modification, each one of its pixels is further processed in steps S46-S48.” ¶0039, “if the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is white (Qi,j=0), and the average characteristic intensity (e.g. average intensity or median intensity) of the center block is greater than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) plus a strength value, the center block requires no modification. If the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is black (Qi,j=1), and the average characteristic intensity of the center block is less than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) minus strength value, the center block requires no modification. For those which do not satisfy the previous conditions, the center block requires a modification.” Fig. 7, ¶0040-0051. Lin has a threshold value mask which has a third and fourth threshold.).
As to claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated and the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses the third lightness threshold is set at a darker level than the first lightness threshold and wherein the fourth lightness threshold is set at a lighter level than the second lightness threshold (Lin, Fig. 6-7 and Fig. 9, ¶0040-0051. Lin has a threshold value mask which has a third and fourth threshold. Out of all thresholds in threshold map of Fig. 6, there are obvious to have third lightness threshold darker than a first lightness threshold and a fourth lightness threshold lighter than a second lightness threshold).
As to claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses defining a central pixel or a plurality of central pixels, and a plurality of outer pixels includes subdividing each of the first set of blocks into a square of n by n pixels where n is greater than or equal to 3 (Lin, Fig. 5 and Fig. 7).
As to claim 10, the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses a tangible machine-readable medium, including a set of instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to: receive a graphic code including a plurality of dark blocks and a plurality of light blocks representing encoded data; represent each encoded data block as an array of pixels including a central pixel, or a plurality of central pixels, and a plurality of border pixels, wherein the border pixels surround the central pixels; replace pixel data of the border pixels with corresponding pixel data from an image having the same dimensions as the graphic code; and replace pixel data of the central pixels with modified corresponding pixel data from the image; wherein modifying the corresponding pixel data from the image includes applying a lightness threshold to the image pixel data, wherein for replaced central pixels located in a dark block of the graphic code, the lightness threshold comprises a first lightness threshold, which defines a maximum lightness level, and for replaced central pixels located in a light block of the graphic code, the lightness threshold comprises a second lightness threshold, which defines a minimum lightness level; the set of instructions further cause the processor to: associate central pixels of each dark block of the first set with a first lightness threshold; associate central pixels of each light block of the first set with a second lightness threshold; associate pixels of each dark block of a second set of blocks with a third lightness threshold; and associate pixels of each light block of the second set with a fourth lightness threshold (See claim 1 and claim 2 for detailed analysis. Also see Lin, ¶0039, “if the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is white (Qi,j=0), and the average characteristic intensity (e.g. average intensity or median intensity) of the center block is greater than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) plus a strength value, the center block requires no modification. If the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is black (Qi,j=1), and the average characteristic intensity of the center block is less than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) minus strength value, the center block requires no modification. For those which do not satisfy the previous conditions, the center block requires a modification.”).
As to claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated and the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses including instructions to: detect a plurality of dark blocks and a plurality of light blocks of the graphic code that represent a function pattern; replace pixel data of the function patterns with modified corresponding pixel data from the image, wherein modifying the corresponding pixel data from the image includes applying the associated third and fourth lightness thresholds to image pixel data at locations corresponding to the function pattern (See claim 4-5 for detailed analysis. Lin has a threshold value mask which has a third and fourth threshold. Out of all thresholds in threshold map of Fig. 6, there are obvious to have third lightness threshold darker than a first lightness threshold and a fourth lightness threshold lighter than a second lightness threshold.).
As to claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated and the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses wherein the third lightness threshold defines a maximum lightness level for dark blocks and is set at a lower lightness level than the first lightness threshold; and wherein the fourth lightness level defines a minimum lightness level for light blocks and is set at a higher lightness level than the second lightness threshold (See claim 4-5 for detailed analysis. Lin has a threshold value mask which has a third and fourth threshold. Out of all thresholds in threshold map of Fig. 6, there are obvious to have third lightness threshold darker than a first lightness threshold and a fourth lightness threshold lighter than a second lightness threshold.).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panza (EP3007108A1) in view of Lin (US Pub 2019/0102588 A1) and Arce et al. (US Pub 2018/0075570 A1).
As to claim 13, the combination of Panza and Lin discloses an apparatus comprising: an image processing module to: receive a quick response (QR) code and an image; wherein each pixel location of the QR code corresponds to a pixel location of the image; for each of a first set of blocks of the QR code, define a central pixel or a plurality of central pixels, and a plurality of outer pixels, wherein the outer pixels surround the central pixels; and combine the QR code with the image, wherein combining the QR code with the image includes: for pixel locations corresponding to outer pixels, using pixel data of the image as combined pixel data; for pixel locations corresponding to central pixels, applying a lightness threshold to the pixel data of the image to provide combined pixel data, wherein the lightness threshold is based on whether that location corresponds to a light block or a dark block of the QR code; (See claim 10 for detailed analysis. A printer to print the combined QR code and image output is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and is considered as part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art.).
Panza and Lin does not explicitly disclose the apparatus further comprising a printer to print the combined image and QR code.
Arce discloses an apparatus (Arce, ¶0095.Fig.8) comprising: an image processing module to: receive a quick response (QR) code and an image; wherein each pixel location of the QR code corresponds to a pixel location of the image (Arce, ¶0043, 0050, 0092, 0093, Fig. 3);
for each of a first set of blocks of the QR code, define a central pixel or a plurality of central pixels, and a plurality of outer pixels, wherein the outer pixels surround the central pixels (Arce, ¶0047, ¶0050 Fig. 3); and
combine the QR code with the image, wherein combining the QR code with the image includes: for pixel locations corresponding to outer pixels, using pixel data of the image as combined pixel data (Arce, Fig. 3, ¶0047, 0050);
for pixel locations corresponding to central pixels, applying a lightness threshold to the pixel data of the image to provide combined pixel data, wherein the lightness threshold is based on whether that location corresponds to a light block or a dark block of the QR code (Arce, ¶0050, 0063, 0067, Fig. 3);
the apparatus further comprising a printer to print the combined image and QR code (Arce, ¶0098).
Panza, Lin and Arce are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to computer image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Panza with the features of “a printer to print the combined image and QR code” as taught by Arce. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
As to claim 14, claim 13 is incorporated and the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses applying the lightness threshold comprises: for a central pixel of a dark block of the first set, applying a maximum lightness threshold of the first lightness threshold by adjusting a lightness level of image pixels with a lightness level above the maximum lightness threshold to be below or equal to the maximum lightness threshold; for a central pixel of a light block of the first set, applying a minimum lightness threshold of the second lightness threshold by adjusting a lightness level of image pixels with a lightness level below the minimum lightness threshold to be above or equal to the minimum lightness threshold (See claim 1 and claim 2 for detailed analysis. Also see Lin, ¶0039, “if the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is white (Qi,j=0), and the average characteristic intensity (e.g. average intensity or median intensity) of the center block is greater than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) plus a strength value, the center block requires no modification. If the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is black (Qi,j=1), and the average characteristic intensity of the center block is less than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) minus strength value, the center block requires no modification. For those which do not satisfy the previous conditions, the center block requires a modification.”).
As to claim 15, claim 13 is incorporated and the combination of Panza, Lin and Arce discloses the image processing module is to: define a first plurality of blocks representing encoded data as the first set of blocks and define a second plurality of blocks representing a function pattern as a second set of blocks; wherein combining the QR code with the image includes: for pixel locations corresponding to dark blocks of the second set of blocks, applying a maximum lightness threshold, which is lower than the maximum lightness threshold associated with the first set of blocks; for pixel locations corresponding to light blocks of the second set of blocks, applying a minimum lightness threshold, which is higher than the minimum lightness threshold associated with the first set of blocks (See claim 1 and claim 2 for detailed analysis. Also see Lin, ¶0039, “if the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is white (Qi,j=0), and the average characteristic intensity (e.g. average intensity or median intensity) of the center block is greater than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) plus a strength value, the center block requires no modification. If the color of the module of the second QR code having its position corresponding to the center block is black (Qi,j=1), and the average characteristic intensity of the center block is less than or equal to the average threshold value of the corresponding position (the average threshold value of the threshold value mask image at the corresponding position) minus strength value, the center block requires no modification. For those which do not satisfy the previous conditions, the center block requires a modification.”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panza (EP3007108A1) in view of Fan et al. (US Pub 2020/0143131 A1) and Yoon (US Pub 2014/0098076 A1).
As to claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and Panza does not disclose scaling the received QR code by multiplying the number of pixels used to represent each block of the QR code by a pre-defined factor.
Fan teaches scaling the received QR code by multiplying the number of pixels used to represent each block of the QR code by a pre-defined factor (Fan, ¶0021, “The scaling may be performed on each individual pixel in both the X and Y directions of the grid in some embodiments; pixels that are closer to the scanner may be made smaller, while pixels that are farther away from the scanner may be made larger. In other embodiments, the scaling may be performed across a single direction (e.g., one of the X direction and the Y direction); in such an embodiment, the pixels in each vertical line in the X direction across the QR code may be scaled together according to the same scaling factor, or the pixels in each horizontal line in the Y direction across the QR code may be scaled together according to the same scaling factor, wherein the scaling factor is determined based on a distance of the line of pixels to the scanner.”).
Yoon teaches scaling the received QR code by multiplying the number of pixels used to represent each block of the QR code by a pre-defined factor (Yoon, ¶0064, “The scaler (not illustrated) is a configuration for scaling image data to a display screen size. Scaling means multiplying an integer to a distribution range so that a distribution range of a pixel value is within a predetermined range. Up-scaling refers to a case where the predetermined range is greater than the distribution range of an initial image data, and after an up-scaling, a screen of the image data is enlarged to the predetermined ratio. On the other hand, down-scaling refers to a case where the predetermined range is smaller than the distribution range of a pixel value of the input image data, and after a down-scaling, a screen of the image data is reduced to the predetermined ratio. In the case of up-scaling, a pixel value on the input image data may match a plurality of pixel values of the image data screen as a result of the scaling, and thus resolution may decrease.”).
Panza, Fan and Yoon are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to computer image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Panza with the features of “scaling the received QR code by multiplying the number of pixels used to represent each block of the QR code by a pre-defined factor” as taught by Fan and Yoon. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panza (EP3007108A1) in view of Picard et al. (US Pub 2018/0197053).
As to claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and Panza does not disclose the received QR code comprises a first QR code and the image comprises a second QR code which is spatially offset from the first QR code by a pre-defined offset, relative to a timing pattern of the first QR code; and the method comprises, for each of the first set of blocks, replacing an outer pixel of each block of the first QR code with a pixel representing a central pixel of a block of the second QR code.
Picard discloses a first QR code and the image comprises a second QR code which is spatially offset from the first QR code by a pre-defined offset, relative to a timing pattern of the first QR code; and the method comprises, for each of the first set of blocks, replacing an outer pixel of each block of the first QR code with a pixel representing a central pixel of a block of the second QR code (Picard, abstract, ¶0055, Fig .1-6).
Panza and Picard are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to computer image. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Panza with the features of “a first QR code and the image comprises a second QR code which is spatially offset from the first QR code by a pre-defined offset, relative to a timing pattern of the first QR code; and the method comprises, for each of the first set of blocks, replacing an outer pixel of each block of the first QR code with a pixel representing a central pixel of a block of the second QR code” as taught by Picard. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613