DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 8-16 in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 8-16 are currently examined on the merits.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the structural elements illustrated in figs 3a and 3b do not have reference numbers linked to the description/written specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 10 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “… at least one hot zone for growing a silicon single crystal… at least one hot zone for growing a silicon single crystal ...” which should read “… at least one hot zone for growing a silicon single crystal… the at least one hot zone for growing [[a]] the silicon single crystal...”
Claim 10 recites “… the hot zone ...” which should read “… the at least one hot zone...”
Claim 13 recites “… at least one hot zone ...” which should read “… the at least one hot zone...”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Use of the word “means” (or “step for” or a generic placeholder) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim element is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph). The word “means” may be substituted by a term that serves as a generic placeholder and still invoke 112(f) paragraph. The presumption that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph) is invoked is rebutted when the function is recited with sufficient structure, material, or acts within the claim itself to entirely perform the recited function.
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for” or a generic placeholder) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim 9 recites “keeping a the-distance between the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt constant by the second control unit” limitation which has been analyzed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because they use the non-structural terms “unit” coupled with functional language “keeping a the-distance between the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt constant.” However, per the specification, the “unit” has no corresponding description of the structural elements associated with it.
Claim 12 recites “the second control unit is configured to move the insulator downward in the vertical direction during growth of the silicon single crystal” limitation which has been analyzed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because they use the non-structural terms “unit” coupled with functional language “move the insulator downward in the vertical direction during growth of the silicon single crystal.” However, per the specification, the “unit” has no corresponding description of the structural elements associated with it.
Claim 13 recites “a third control unit configured for moving the heater in the vertical direction” limitation which has been analyzed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because they use the non-structural terms “unit” coupled with functional language “moving the heater in the vertical direction.” However, per the specification, the “unit” has no corresponding description of the structural elements associated with it.
Claim 14 recites “the second control unit and the third control unit drive the insulator and the heater, respectively” limitation which has been analyzed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because they use the non-structural terms “unit” coupled with functional language “drive the insulator and the heater, respectively.” However, per the specification, the “unit” has no corresponding description of the structural elements associated with it.
Claim 15 recites “the first control unit is configured to rotate the crucible about a center axis of the crucible” limitation which has been analyzed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because they use the non-structural terms “unit” coupled with functional language “rotate the crucible about a center axis of the crucible.” However, per the specification, the “unit” has no corresponding description of the structural elements associated with it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the apparatus," “the insulator,” “the reflector,” “the liquid surface,” “the crucible,” “the position,” “the height direction,” “the vertical direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It should be noted that claim 1 has been withdrawn, and is not currently examined on the merits.
The recited in claim 8 “…A method for regulating at least one hot zone… the apparatus for regulating at least one hot zone …” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. While reciting “A method for regulating at least one hot zone”, claim 8 also recites “apparatus for regulating at least one hot zone”. Therefore, claim 8 embraces the apparatus and process limitations in the same claim, thus failing to clearly recite the boundaries sought for protection. Claims 9-18 are rejected because they depend on claim 8.
The recited in claim 9 “…a distance between the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt …” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. Parent claim 8 already recites “a distance between a bottom of the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt.” It is not clear whether the “distance between the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt” refers to the previously recited “distance between a bottom of the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt” or not. For examining purpose, this limitation is interpreted as the distance between the bottom of the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 9 are not readily ascertainable. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second control unit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the heater” and “the monocrystalline silicon ingot”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The recited in claim 10 “…cooled at a higher rate…” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. It is not clear what a comparative rate is being used as a reference point for “a higher rate”. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 10 are not readily ascertainable. Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second control unit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The recited in claim 13 “The method … the apparatus …” constitutes an indefinite subject matter. While reciting “The method”, claim 13 positively recites “the apparatus for regulating at least one hot zone further comprises a third control unit”. Therefore, claim 8 embraces the apparatus and process limitations in the same claim, thus failing to clearly recite the boundaries sought for protection.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second control unit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first control unit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the control units”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9 and 12-15 recite “control unit(s)”, but there is no corresponding structure in the specification could be identified as the “unit”. Claim elements “unit” are limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claims 9 and 12-15 are not clearly defined.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hun et al (KR 20180057999 A, machine translation, “Hun”), and further in view of Masahiro Sakurada (US 20060130740 A1, “Sakurada”) and Yokoyama et al (US 20060016387 A, “Yokoyama”).
Regarding claim 8, Hun teaches a method for regulating at least one hot zone for growing a silicon single crystal, which is carried out using the apparatus for regulating at least one hot zone for growing a silicon single crystal (figs 3 and 6), the method comprising before growth of the silicon single crystal, raising (moving) a member 211 with a heat shield 203 (reflector) to a highest position (fig 6a, 0032), and after solid poly (polycrystalline) silicon feedstock is completely melted into silicon melt, lowering (adjusting) the reflector (heat shield 203) to a position at a distance from the liquid surface of the silicon melt (figs 3 and 6, 0018-0020, 0032-0034).
Hun further teaches during growth of the silicon single crystal, and lowering (moving) the member 211 with the reflector (heat shield 203) downward in the vertical direction so as to keep a distance between a lower surface (bottom) of the reflector (heat shield 203) and the liquid surface of the silicon melt constant (0033-0044), but does not explicitly teach rotating the crucible with the position of the crucible in the height direction being kept unchanged. However, Sakurada teaches a method for producing a single crystal, wherein during growth of the silicon single crystal, the crucible is rotated and a distance between a melt surface and a heat insulating member is controlled by changing a position of the heat insulate member in a height direction (position of the crucible in the height direction being kept unchanged) (0023, 0024, 0056, 0059, 0064, 0073 and claim 14-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Hun per teachings of Sakurada in order to provide an alternate way for precisely control a distance between the reflector/insulating member and the liquid surface of the silicon melt, which can produce the single crystal with desired quality at high yield (Sakurada 0015, 0016 and 0024).
Hun/Sakurada teaches moving the member with the reflector as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the member being insulator. However, Yokoyama teaches a method for pulling a single crystal, wherein suspension component made of carbon-carbon fiber composite material (insulator) is connected to a heat shield/reflector with for moving heat shield/reflector (0292, 0293, 0294, 0305). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Hun/Sakurada per teachings of Yokoyama in order to provide suitable conditions for producing defect-free silicon single crystal (Yokoyama abstract and 0001). It is also well established that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Also see MPEP 2144.07. Furthermore, regarding the apparatus limitations of the insulator and the reflector in the process claims, the court has held that unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 9, Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama teaches moving the insulator with the reflector downward in the vertical direction so as to keep the distance between the bottom of the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt constant and keeping the distance between the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt constant as addressed above, and further teaches monitoring the level of the liquid surface of the silicon melt during growth of the silicon single crystal (Sakurada 0056, 0073); and the distance between the reflector and the liquid surface of the silicon melt being controlled by a control meaning (second control unit) according to the level of the liquid surface of the silicon melt (Sakurada 0056, 0073). Furthermore, regarding the apparatus limitations of the second control unit in the process claims, the court has held that unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 11, Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama teaches the insulator as addressed above, and further teaches insulation tube (a side heat insulation cover) and insulation ring (a top heat insulation cover), and wherein the side heat insulation cover (insulation tube) is arranged in parallel to a heater (Hun fig 3; Yokoyama figs 15, 28-35), the top heat insulation cover (insulation ring) is arranged to extend in a horizontal direction from a top of the side heat insulation cover (insulation tube) towards the growing silicon single crystal without extending over the crucible (Hun figs 3 and 6; Yokoyama figs 15, 28-35), and the reflector is fixedly connected to the top heat insulation cover (Hun 0012, 0013, 0029, claims 7 and 8). Furthermore, regarding the apparatus limitations of the side heat insulation cover, the top heat insulation cover and the reflector being fixedly connected to the top heat insulation cover in the process claims, the court has held that unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 12, Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama teaches that the second control unit is configured to move the insulator downward in the vertical direction during growth of the silicon single crystal (Sakurada fig 5, 0056, 0073). Furthermore, regarding the apparatus limitations in the process claims, the court has held that unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 15, Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama teaches that a driving mechanism (first control unit) is configured to rotate the crucible about a center axis of the crucible (Sakurada 0053, 0056; Yokoyama 0174). Furthermore, regarding the apparatus limitations in the process claims, the court has held that unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Takeyasu et al (US 20160194783 A1, “Takeyasu”) and Taguchi et al (US 5840115 A, “Taguchi”).
Regarding claim 10, Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama teaches the insulator being moved downward as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach moving the heater downward in the vertical direction when the insulator is moved downward, so that a temperature of the liquid surface of the silicon melt is kept constant and heat from the heater is no longer transferred to the monocrystalline silicon ingot; and regulating the hot zone for growth of the silicon single crystal by moving the insulator and the heater downward in the vertical direction, so as to allow the silicon single crystal to be being cooled at a higher rate. However, Takeyasu teaches a method of pulling a crystal, wherein both a heater and a shield are vertically lowered (0014, 0025, 0026, 0031, 0037, 0039), and regulating a hot zone for growth of the silicon single crystal by moving the insulator and the heater downward in the vertical direction, so as to allow the silicon single crystal to be being easily cooled at a better cooling efficiency (at a higher rate) (0014, 0031, 0039), e.g., heat from the heater is no longer transferred to the monocrystalline silicon ingot. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama per teachings of Takeyasu in order to provide suitable conditions for efficiently producing the crystal (Takeyasu 0012-0014, 0031, 0039). Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama/Takeyasu teaches moving the heater downward in the vertical direction when the insulator is moved downward as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach that a temperature of the liquid surface of the silicon melt is kept constant. However, Taguchi teaches a method of growing a crystal, wherein a position of a heater is controlled, so that temperature of the melt surface is constantly maintained (col 5 lines 10-31; col 6 lines 3-9 and col 8 lines 15-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama/Takeyasu per teachings of Taguchi in order to provide the crystal with stabilized quality (Taguchi col 3 lines 40-45 and col 8 lines 10-20).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Takeyasu et al (US 20160194783 A1, “Takeyasu”).
Regarding claim 13, Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama teaches the heater as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach a third control unit configured for moving the heater in the vertical direction. However, Takeyasu teaches a method of pulling a crystal, wherein a supporting member (third control unit) is configured for moving the heater in the vertical direction (0014, 0025, 0026, 0031, 0037, 0039). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama per teachings of Takeyasu in order to provide suitable conditions for efficiently producing the crystal (Takeyasu 0012-0014, 0031, 0039). Furthermore, regarding the apparatus limitations in the process claims, the court has held that unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 14, Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama teaches that the second control unit is configured to move the insulator downward in the vertical direction during growth of the silicon single crystal (Sakurada fig 5, 0056, 0073), and third control unit configured for moving the heater in the vertical direction (Takeyasu 0012-0014, 0031, 0039), e.g., the second control unit and the third control unit drive the insulator and the heater, respectively. It is also well established that the court has held that making the structure integral or separable would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. MPEP 2144.04 V. Furthermore, regarding the apparatus limitations in the process claims, the court has held that unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Miura et al (US 20010054376 A1, “Miura”).
Regarding claim 16, Hun/Sakurada/Yokoyama teaches a camera (level sensor), wherein the level sensor is configured to monitor the level of the liquid surface of the silicon melt, a position of the liquid level surface is fed back to a control unit means (Sakurada 0056, 0073), but does not explicitly teach a processor, and the processor is configured to transmit control signals to the control units based on the level the liquid surface of the silicon melt. However, Miura teaches a method for producing a crystal, wherein a processor is configured to transmit control signals to the control units based on the level the liquid surface of the silicon melt (abstract, 0039, 0045, 0071, 0073 and 0076). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Hun/Sakurada/ Yokoyama per teachings of Miura in order to enable automatic melt level control for accurately detecting a melt level and obtaining a crystal with high quality (Miura 0015). Furthermore, regarding the apparatus limitations in the process claims, the court has held that unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Conclusion
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714