DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The objection to the title is withdrawn in view of applicants’ submission of a replacement title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2006/0169988 to Kenya Itani (hereinafter “Itani”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0189883 to Itani, et al. (“Itani II”) and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2022/0106702 to Eichler, et al. (“Eichler”) and still further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2017/0204533 to Schunemann, et al. (“Schunemann”).
Regarding claim 1, Itani teaches a method of producing a GaAs wafer (see the Abstract, Figs. 1A-D, ¶¶[0005]-[0013], and entire reference which teach a method of producing a GaAs wafer), comprising:
a grinding step of grinding a peripheral surface of a GaAs ingot including formation of a provisional orientation flat (see Fig. 1A and ¶[0009] which teach that a GaAs ingot includes an orientation flat (1a); see also ¶[0013] which teaches that the orientation flat is formed by grinding);
a slicing step of slicing the GaAs ingot after the grinding step to cut out a material wafer having an off angle (see Fig. 1A and ¶[0009] which teach that the GaAs ingot is sliced to produce a sliced wafer (1); see also ¶[0011] which teaches that the GaAs wafer has (100) as the principal plane which necessarily has at least a small degree of miscut (i.e., an off angle) since it is essentially impossible to make a wafer-sized substrate comprised entirely of the (100) plane); and
a cleaving step of applying marking to the material wafer according to an orientation of an orientation flat determined based on the provisional orientation flat and cleaving the material wafer toward a peripheral surface of the material wafer from the marking to form the orientation flat comprising a cleaved surface (see Figs. 1B-C, ¶[0009], and ¶[0011] which teach scribing the GaAs wafer to form a scratch (2) and cleaving along dotted line (3) to form a cleaved orientation flat having a surface along a (011) plane),
wherein the cleaving step is a step of cleaving the material wafer at a position where a length (interval A) of a line segment perpendicularly extended from the midpoint of the cleavage to the peripheral surface of the material wafer outward in a radial direction of the material wafer (see Figs. 1C and ¶[0009] which teach that the location of the cleavage plane along dotted line (3) produces a length of interval (A) which extends from a midpoint of the cleavage plane to the peripheral surface of the GaAs wafer (1)).
Itani does not teach that the length (A) is 9 mm or more. However, in Fig. 4 and ¶¶[0043]-[0057] Itani II teaches an analogous method of producing a plurality of wafers from an ingot of a Group III-V semiconductor such as InP by grinding an orientation flat and then slicing a plurality of wafers therefrom. In Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0029]-[0037] Itani II specifically teaches that the length of the ridge line (13) where the main surface (11) of the wafer (10) is in contact with the orientation flat is preferably between 8 to 50% of the diameter of the main surface (11) of the wafer in order to ensure that the location of the orientation flat can be efficiently confirmed while not taking up a significant portion of the total effective area of the wafer. Itani and Itani II do not teach that the wafer is a GaAs wafer with a diameter sufficient to produce a length A of 9 mm or more. However, in Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0055]-[0062] Eichler teaches that large diameter GaAs single crystal ingots may be produced by the vertical gradient freeze method. In at least Fig. 9, ¶[0006], ¶[0035], and ¶[0062] Eicher further teaches that present day GaAs wafers may have a diameter of 100, 150, or even as large as 200 mm. For a GaAs wafer having a diameter of 150 or 200 mm as taught by Eichler the length of the chord that constitutes the orientation flat can be up to 50% of the diameter as taught by Itani II which, upon performing some basic math for the geometry of a circle, translates to a chord length (i.e., the length of ridge line (13) in Fig. 1 of Itani II) of 75 or 100 mm and a length A of 10.0 mm and 13.4 mm, respectively. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to use the cleaving method of Itani on a 150 or 200 mm GaAs wafer as taught by Eichler to produce an orientation flat with a length of 75 or 100 mm and length A of 10 or 13.4 mm, respectively, as per the teachings of Itani II in order to reproducibly form large GaAs wafers with highly precise orientational flats for the production of electronic and optoelectronic devices thereupon. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results has been held to support a prima facie determination of obviousness. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). See also, MPEP 2143(A).
Itani, Itani II, and Eichler do not teach that an angle between a principal surface of the GaAs wafer and a surface forming the orientation flat is 89.80 or less or 90.2° or more. However, in Fig. 6 and ¶¶[0054]-[0059] Schunemann teaches an embodiment of a system and method for epitaxial growth on wafers (212) such as GaAs. In ¶[0054] Schunemann specifically teaches that the GaAs wafer preferably has an off-cut angle of 2° to 4° in order to promote step-flow growth across the surface in order to produce a smoother surface with reduced defect incorporation and a 2 to 4 times increase in the growth rate during epitaxial growth. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize a GaAs wafer with an off angle of 2° to 4° in the [011] direction to promote step-flow growth and to increase the growth rate by 2 to 4 times such that the total growth time may be reduced. In this regard, when the off angle on the principal (100) surface of the sliced wafer (1) in Fig. 1 of Itani has an off-cut angle of 2° to 4° in the [011] direction the cleavage surface (4) in Fig. 1D will necessarily form an angle with the polishedsurface of the wafer (1) that is 89.8° or less or 90.2° or more as claimed. Stated in other words, since the combination of Itani, Itani II, and Eichler perform each and every step of the claimed process it must necessarily produce the same results, namely an angle between a principal surface of the GaAs wafer and a surface forming the orientation flat is 89.80 or less or 90.2° or more. It is axiomatic that one who performs the steps of the known process must necessarily produce all of its advantages. Mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property, that is inherently possessed by things in the prior art does not cause a claim drawn to these things to distinguish over the prior art. Therefore, an angle between a principal surface of the GaAs wafer and a surface forming the orientation flat of 89.80° or less or 90.2° or more, if not clearly envisaged, would be reasonably expected by the skilled artisan. See Leinoff v. Louis Milona & Sons, Inc. 220 USPQ 845 (CAFC 1984).
Regarding claim 2, Itani does not teach that the interval A is 12 mm or more. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 1, in Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0029]-[0037] Itani II specifically teaches that the length of the ridge line (13) where the main surface (11) of the wafer (10) is in contact with the orientation flat is preferably between 8 to 50% of the diameter of the main surface (11) of the wafer in order to ensure that the location of the orientation flat can be efficiently confirmed while not taking up a significant portion of the total effective area of the wafer. Then in Fig. 9, ¶[0006], ¶[0035], and ¶[0062] Eicher further teaches that present day GaAs wafers may have a diameter of up to 200 mm. For a GaAs wafer having a diameter of 200 mm the length of the chord that constitutes the orientation flat can be up to 50% of the diameter as taught by Itani II which translates to a chord length (i.e., the length of ridge line (13) in Fig. 1 of Itani II) of 100 mm and a length A of 13.4 mm which meets the claim. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to use the cleaving method of Itani on a 200 mm GaAs wafer as taught by Eichler to produce an orientation flat with a length of 100 mm and length A of 13.4 mm in order to reproducibly form large GaAs wafers with highly precise orientational flats for the production of electronic and optoelectronic devices thereupon.
Regarding claim 3, Itani, Itani II, and Eichler do not teach that the off angle is 0.2° or more. However, in Fig. 6 and ¶¶[0054]-[0059] Schunemann teaches an embodiment of a system and method for epitaxial growth on wafers (212) such as GaAs. In ¶[0054] Schunemann specifically teaches that the GaAs wafer preferably has an off-cut angle of 2° to 4° in order to promote step-flow growth across the surface in order to produce a smoother surface with reduced defect incorporation and a 2 to 4 times increase in the growth rate during epitaxial growth. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize a GaAs wafer with an off angle of 2° to 4° to promote step-flow growth and to increase the growth rate by 2 to 4 times such that the total growth time may be reduced.
Regarding claim 5, Itani and Itani II do not teach that the GaAs wafer has a diameter of 100 mm or more. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 1, in Fig. 9, ¶[0006], ¶[0035], and ¶[0062] Eicher teaches that present day GaAs wafers may have a diameter of up to 200 mm. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to use a GaAs wafer having a diameter of up to 200 mm in order to benefit from the economies of scale and produce more electronic and/or optoelectronic devices per wafer.
Regarding claim 6, Itani and Itani II do not teach that the GaAs wafer has a diameter of 150 mm or more. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 1, in Fig. 9, ¶[0006], ¶[0035], and ¶[0062] Eicher teaches that present day GaAs wafers may have a diameter of up to 200 mm. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to use a GaAs wafer having a diameter of up to 200 mm in order to benefit from the economies of scale and produce more electronic and/or optoelectronic devices per wafer.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itani in view of Itani II and further in view of Eichler and still further in view of Schunemann and even further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,110,764 to Nobuyoshi Ogino (“Ogino”).
Regarding claim 7, Itani teaches a beveling step of beveling a peripheral surface of the GaAs wafer except for the orientation flat, after the cleaving step (see ¶[0009] which teaches that the sliced wafer is chamfered (a form of beveling) such that the cleavage surface is remained). Even if it is assumed arguendo that the chamfering step of Itani is different from beveling, this would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Ogino. In at least Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, l. 7 to col. 4, l. 63 Ogino teaches a method of beveling circumferential edges of a wafer such that the beveled portions (1a) and (1b) have uneven widths and angles so that the former can prevent the occurrence of a crown and the latter can prevent the wafer from being chipped. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to bevel the peripheral surfaces of the GaAs wafer of Itani with the exception of the cleaved orientation flat in order to minimize the propensity for chipping of the wafer while still preserving the precision of the cleavage plane defined by the orientation flat.
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itani in view of Itani II and further in view of Eichler and still further in view of Schunemann and even further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2009/0283761 to Hammer, et al. (“Hammer”).
Regarding claim 17, Itani and Itani II teach that the method produces a GaAs wafer group consisting of all GaAs wafers that are obtained from the GaAs ingot, that have an identical off angle, and that have the orientation flat formed by the cleaving step (see Figs. 1A-D and at least ¶¶[0009]-[0010] of Itani which teach that a single crystal ingot is sliced to produce a GaAs wafer (1) having an off-angle which is then cleaved to form an orientation flat; see also Fig. 4 and ¶¶[0042]-[0050] of Itani II which teach that a single ingot is sliced a plurality of times to produce a plurality of wafers; accordingly, a PHOSITA would be motivated to slice the GaAs ingot multiple times to produce a plurality of the same wafers (1) from a single ingot in order to make the production process more cost-effective), but do not explicitly teach that a mean value of orientation flat orientation accuracies of the GaAs wafer group is within ±0.010°, and a standard deviation of the orientation flat orientation accuracies of the GaAs wafer group is 0.009° or less. However, since the method of Itani, Itani II, and Eichler performs each and every step of the claimed process it must necessarily produce the same results, namely an orientation flat accuracy of ±0.010° and standard deviation of 0.009° or less as claimed. It is axiomatic that one who performs the steps of the known process must necessarily produce all of its advantages. Mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property, that is inherently possessed by things in the prior art does not cause a claim drawn to these things to distinguish over the prior art. Therefore, an orientation flat accuracy of ±0.010° and standard deviation of 0.009° or less, if not clearly envisaged, would be reasonably expected by the skilled artisan. See Leinoff v. Louis Milona & Sons, Inc. 220 USPQ 845 (CAFC 1984).
Alternatively, in ¶¶[0004]-[0005] Hammer teaches that the orientation accuracy of flats can be increased by cleaving Group III-V semiconductors such as GaAs along {110} planes since they are natural cleavage planes. In at least Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0035]-[0063] Hammer teaches that the process of crack initiation and propagation during cleaving can be carefully controlled through the use of an indenter with a defined geometry and by controlling the stress fields in order to produce a high orientation accuracy of as small as ≤ 0.001°. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to produce the cleaved orientation flat in the method of Itani using the carefully controlled cleavage conditions as taught by Hammer in order to produce an orientation accuracy of within ±0.01° with a standard deviation of 0.009° or less such that crystallographic planes and directions can be identified more precisely during device fabrication.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 1, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant initially argues against the introduction of Itani II by repeating their argument that since grinding is a mechanical material-removal process while cleaving propagates along crystallographic planes a parameter optimized for a ground orientation flat cannot automatically be assumed to apply to the formation of a cleaved orientation flat. See applicants’ 9/1/2026 reply, pp. 6-7. Applicants’ argument is again noted, but remains unpersuasive for reasons presented in the July 30, 2026, Advisory Action. In this case the basis for combining the teachings of Itani and Itani II is independent of the method used to form the orientation flat since it is based on striking a balance between making a clearly visible orientation flat while also preserving the amount of real estate on the wafer surface. In this case the teachings of Itani II show that there is an optimal length for the orientation flat that is 8 to 50% of the diameter of the wafer and this optimal length is completely independent of the method used to form the orientation flat itself.
Applicant then argues that the ingot in Itani II must have a sufficient diameter surplus or margin prior to cleaving in order to obtain an Interval (A) with a length of 9 mm or more and that applying an Interval (A) of 9 mm or more to the teachings of Itani II would result in an OF exceeding 50% of the wafer diameter. Id. at pp. 8-9. Applicants’ argument is noted, but is unpersuasive since, for one, it amounts to arguing against the references individually. In this case the teachings of Itani II are merely relied upon to teach that it is preferable for the length of the orientation flat to be between 8 to 50% of the diameter of the wafer. Itani II is not relied upon to teach the actual diameter of the wafer itself. Instead, it is Eichler that is introduced to teach that present-day GaAs wafers may have a diameter of up to 150 to 200 mm. Thus, the use of a 200 mm GaAs wafer in the method of Itani and Itani II in which the orientation flat is 50% of the diameter (i.e., 100 mm) this then yields an Interval (A) of 13.4 mm which therefore meets the claim.
Applicant subsequently argues that the claimed angle between a principal surface of the GaAs wafer and the cleaved surface forming the orientation flat of 89.9° or less or 90.2° or more is not inherently produced because Itani II utilizes grinding to cut the edge of the wafer and Itani teaches that the cleaved surface exhibits “facet roll-off.” Id. at pp. 9-10. Applicant’s arguments are noted, but are unpersuasive since, for one, they amount to arguing against the references individually. In this case it is Itani rather than Itani II that is relied upon to teach forming the orientation flat by cleaving rather than grinding. Itani II is then introduced to teach that the orientation flat is preferably 8 to 50% of the diameter of the wafer. Then Schunemann is introduced to teach that that it is desirable to utilize GaAs wafers which have an off-cut angle of 2° to 4° in order to promote step-flow growth across the surface. The Figure below shows a schematic illustrating what may be considered as an exemplary side view of a GaAs ingot (14A) with a top surface (6A) where either the left or right side represents the cleaved orientation flat. In this case the miscut angle (b) causes the vicinal face (9A) of the wafer to form either an
angle of 86° to 88° or an angle of 92° to 94° depending on whether the tilt angle (b) is away from or towards the cleaved side face. Moreover, as detailed supra with respect to the rejection of claim 1, since the combination of Itani, Itani II, Eichler, and Schunemann teach each and every step of the claimed process it must necessarily produce the same results.
Finally, applicant argues against the rejection of claim 17 by contending that the cited prior art does not teach each and every step of the claimed process and that the missing characteristic is not necessarily present. Id. at pp. 11-12. Applicant’s argument is noted, but is unpersuasive. First, for reasons discussed supra, it is the Examiner’s position that each and every step of the claimed process is taught by the cited prior art. Second, applicants’ arguments are moot in view of the introduction of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2009/0283761 to Hammer, et al. which teaches a cleaving process which produces an orientational accuracy of as low as ≤0.001°.
Conclusion
/KENNETH A BRATLAND JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714