Status of Application
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12-30 are pending and presented for examination on the merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/003025 to Takahashi et al. (cited in IDS 12/15/2023).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-16, 21-25, and 30, Takahashi et al. teaches a battery comprising: a positive electrode and a negative electrode ([0055]).
Takahashi et al. does not expressly teach that the positive electrode is used as a positive electrode of a test battery comprising a lithium metal counter electrode, and when a test is conducted, a discharge capacity value is obtained as claimed in claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, 21-23, and 30. Takahashi et al. does not expressly teach the electrolyte of the test battery per claims 16 and 25 or that the test battery is a coin-type half cell per claims 15 and 24.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the claimed invention, because the prior art positive electrode comprises the same active material as the claimed invention - lithium cobalt oxide and a layered rock-salt crystal structure in the discharged state (abstract; [0013]; [0049-52]; [0057]; [0063]; [0081]; [0085]; [0100]; [0110]; [0134]), exhibits a small change in the crystal structure between the high-voltage charged state and the discharged state, and suppresses a decrease in capacity caused by charge and discharge cycles (abstract; [0010]; [0013]; [0024]; [0119]; [0134]; [0156]; [0358]). Thus, the prior art positive electrode is capable of being used as a positive electrode of a test battery and when the resulting test battery is tested as claimed, the discharge capacity values of the test battery are expected to follow. Furthermore, the limitations relating to the test battery about test conditions (claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, 21-23, and 30), its electrolyte solution (claims 16 and 25), and it being a coin-type half cell (claims 15 and 24) do not structurally limit the claimed battery.
Regarding claims 17 and 26, Takahashi et al. teaches that the positive electrode comprises a layered rock-salt positive electrode active material (abstract; [0013]; [0110]; [0134]).
Regarding claims 18 and 27, Takahashi et al. teaches that the positive electrode comprises lithium cobalt oxide (abstract; [0013]; [0049-52]; [0057]; [0063]; [0081]; [0085]; [0100]; [0110]; [0134]).
Regarding claims 19 and 28, Takahashi et al. teaches an electronic device comprising the battery of claims 2 and 4, respectively (Figs. 25-27; [0321]).
Regarding claims 20 and 29, Takahashi et al. teaches a vehicle comprising the battery of claims 2 and 4, respectively (Figs 28A and 28B; [0352-354]).
Conclusion
/Heng M. Chan/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725