DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for benefit to prior filed US Provisional application 63/162,990 (filed on 03/18/2021).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and SARS-CoV-2, corresponding to claims 1 and 5-10, in the reply filed 24 March 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2-4 and 11-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 24 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galili (Cancer Immunol Immunother. 2004 Nov;53(11):935-45.).
Regarding claim 1, Galili discloses irradiated autologous tumor vaccines that are processed to express α-gal epitopes, which are bound to the membrane of the tumor cell, the α-gal epitopes allow for uptake of the tumor cells by APCs, activating the immune response (Abstract; FIG.1, reproduced below).
Regarding claim 7, Galili discloses irradiated autologous tumor vaccines, which are vaccines made of tumor cells harvested from a patient, cultured for α-gal epitope synthesis, and then irradiated before vaccination of the patient the cells were originally harvested from (Abstract).
Accordingly, Galili anticipated the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galili as applied to claim 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Corbett, et al. (Nature 586, 567–571 (2020)., NPL-IDS, filed, 09/15/2023, hereinafter “Corbett”).
As discussed above claims 1 and 7 were anticipated by Galili.
Regarding claims 5-6, Galili teaches that the membrane bound antigenic polypeptide is α-gal (Abstract). Galili does not teach that the membrane bound antigenic polypeptide is a SARS-CoV-2 protein. However, Corbett teaches that the SARS-CoV-2 S protein is highly immunogenic and induces both binding and neutralizing antibodies and well as a T cell response (pg. 568 column 2 and figures 2-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted the membrane bound α-gal on the autologous tumor vaccine taught by Galili for the immunogenic S protein from SARS-CoV-2 taught by Corbett. Corbett provides motivation by teaching that the SARS-CoV-2 S protein is highly immunogenic and induces both binding and neutralizing antibodies and a T cell response (Figures 2-3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for substituting the α-gal epitope for the S protein of SARS-CoV-2 because they both are immunogenic polypeptides.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galili as applied to claim 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Caisova, et al. (Cancers (Basel). 2019 May 11;11(5):654., hereinafter “Caisova”).
As discussed above claims 1 and 7 were anticipated by Galili.
Regarding claims 8-10, Galili does not teach that the vaccine comprises a phagocytosis stimulating agent and an immunostimulatory adjuvant. However, Caisova teaches that intratumoral application of mannan-BAM (phagocytosis stimulating agent), toll-like receptor ligands (immunostimulatory adjuvant), and anri-CD40 antibodies (immunostimulatory adjuvant) which induces an immune response and leads to reduction and eradication of cancerous lesions (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the teachings of Galili for an autologous tumor vaccine and the teachings of Caisova for mannan-BAM, TLR ligands, and Anti-CD40. Caisova provides motivation by teaching that for mannan-BAM, TLR ligands, and Anti-CD40 reduce and completely eradicate cancerous lesions (Abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of combing Galili and Caisova because they both teach cancer vaccines.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
NO CLAIMS ARE ALLOWED
/CASSANDRA SENN GRIZER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/THOMAS J. VISONE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672