DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed temperature range of 300 to 600°C differentiates the claimed method from the method taught by Pena et al. (“Atomic Layer Deposition of Silicon Dioxide Using Aminosilanes Di-sec-butylaminosilane and Bis(tert-butylamino)silane with Ozone”, hereafter Pena), and argues that the Examples of the specification exemplify this range. This is not found persuasive because the Examples do not show that the claimed temperature range provides new or unexpected results. While the Examples show data from within the claimed temperature range, there is no data to compare it to values outside the claimed range to show that the claimed range provides unexpected results.
Applicant argues that Pena does not teach that the composition that includes the silicon precursor is substantially free of impurities that include halides. This is not found persuasive because Pena teaches that the silicon precursor can be free of halide impurities, as discussed in the previous action and below.
It is further noted that the claimed composition only comprises the at least one silicon precursor. Therefore, if Pena teaches a silicon precursor with the claimed structure that is substantially free of halides, then Pena meets the requirements of the claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 objected to because of the following informalities: the claims contain the limitation “the at least one silicon precursor” in line 10 of claim 1, and lines 1-2 of claim 2, which should be “the silicon precursor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 14-16 objected to because of the following informalities: claims 14-16 recite “the process of claim 11” in line 1. However, claim 11 is “a composition”. Therefore, “the process of claim 11” should instead be “the composition of claim 11”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pena et al. (“Atomic Layer Deposition of Silicon Dioxide Using Aminosilanes Di-sec-butylaminosilane and Bis(tert-butylamino)silane with Ozone”, hereafter Pena).
Claim 11: Pena teaches a composition for depositing a silicon oxide film (abstract, title) comprising:
a silicon precursor comprising di-sec-butylaminosilane (abstract, pg. 10928 Materials and Methods, pg. 10931 ALD Process with DSBAS and O3), which corresponds to the claimed structure where R1 and R2 are each C4 branched alkyl groups, where the silicon precursor can be free of halide impurities (pg. 10927 Introduction).
Claim 12: Pena teaches that the silicon precursor can be di-sec-butylaminosilane (abstract, pg. 10928 Materials and Methods, pg. 10931 ALD Process with DSBAS and O3).
Claims 14-16: Pena teaches that the silicon precursor can be free of halide impurities (pg. 10927 Introduction) and, therefore, have 0 ppm chloride.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pena et al.
Claim 1: Pena teaches a method for depositing a silicon oxide film (abstract, title) comprising:
providing a substrate in a reactor (pg. 10928 Materials and Methods);
introducing into the reactor a silicon precursor comprising di-sec-butylaminosilane (abstract, pg. 10928 Materials and Methods, pg. 10931 ALD Process with DSBAS and O3), which corresponds to the claimed structure where R1 and R2 are each C4 branched alkyl groups, where the silicon precursor can be free of halide impurities (pg. 10927 Introduction);
purging the reactor with a purge gas (pg. 10928 Materials and Methods);
introducing an oxygen source into the reactor (abstract, pg. 10928 Materials and Methods, pg. 10931 ALD Process with DSBAS and O3); and
purging the reactor with a purge gas (pg. 10928 Materials and Methods),
wherein a cycle comprising the introducing and purging steps are repeated resulting in a desired thickness being deposited (Fig. 1, Table 3, pg. 10931 ALD Process with DSBAS and O3), wherein the pressure in the reactor can be 1.2 to 7.5 Torr (Table 3).
With respect to claim 1, Pena does not explicitly teach that the process temperature is from 300 to 600°C.
However, the claimed method differs from the method taught by Pena only in the process temperature, and it has been held that, generally, differences in temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior at unless there is evidence indicating that said temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Claim 2: Pena teaches that the silicon precursor can be di-sec-butylaminosilane (abstract, pg. 10928 Materials and Methods, pg. 10931 ALD Process with DSBAS and O3).
Claims 4-6: Pena teaches that the silicon precursor can be free of halide impurities (pg. 10927 Introduction) and, therefore, have 0 ppm chloride.
Claim 7: Pena teaches that the purge gas can be nitrogen (pg. 10928 Materials and Methods).
Claim 8: Pena teaches that the oxygen source can be ozone (abstract, pg. 10928 Materials and Methods, pg. 10931 ALD Process with DSBAS and O3).
Conclusion
/BG/
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713