Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 12/29/25 include amendments to the claims. Claims 1-14 are pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 10-12 remain withdrawn. Claims 13-14 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that none of the references teach a heater that heats the treatment liquid flowing through the recovery pipe to a first temperature at the recovery pipe:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the supply system" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes it has been assumed that the limitation refers to the supply piping system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergman (EP1481741B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Bergman teaches a substrate treatment apparatus (see abstract) comprising: a substrate treatment unit 15 that is capable of treating a substrate 20 with a treatment liquid containing sulfuric acid (reads on claim 5) and ozone dissolved therein (see abstract, paragraph [0037], [0091], [0105], figures 1-2, 6); a recovery tank 50 in which the treatment liquid discharged from the substrate treatment unit 15 may be recovered (see paragraphs [0038], [0041], figures 1-2, 6); a recovery pipe 105 that connects the substrate treatment unit 15 to the recovery tank 50 (see paragraph [0041], figures 1-2, 6); a heater 125 that is capable of heating the treatment liquid to a first temperature in the recovery tank 50 (see paragraph [0046], figures 1-2, 6); a supply piping system 70 that is capable of supplying the treatment liquid from the recovery tank 50 to the substrate treatment unit 15 (see paragraph [0039], figures 1-2, 6); and an ozone gas pipe 80 that supplies ozone gas to the supply piping system 70 to mix the ozone gas in the treatment liquid passing through the supply piping system 70 (see paragraph [0039], figures 1-2, 6).
Regarding claim 6, Bergman teaches the limitations of claim 5. Bergman teaches that the substrate may include a silicon layer with a resist layer formed thereon and removable by sulfuric acid containing liquid with ozone dissolved therein (see abstract, paragraphs [0051]-[0053], [0058], [0074]-[0080], [0091]). Bergman does not explicitly teach that the substrate includes a silicon layer having a major surface, and the resist layer formed on a protection region of the major surface of the silicon layer. However, since all of the structural requirements of the claim are taught by Bergman, the particular nature of the substrate that the apparatus is applied to is a matter of intended use, and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Furthermore, it has been determined that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman (EP1481741B1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Kouichi et al. (JP2006024793A).
Regarding claim 2, Bergman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Bergman does not teach a temperature adjuster that adjusts a temperature of the treatment liquid passing through the supply piping system to a second temperature lower than the first temperature. Kouichi et al. teaches a substrate treatment apparatus (see abstract) and a temperature adjuster 38 capable of adjusting a temperature of the treatment liquid passing through the supply piping system 9 to a second temperature lower than a first temperature, so as to ensure that the temperature of the solution is suitable for processing (see page 4 of the translation, figures 2, 5). Since both Bergman and Kouichi et al. teach substrate processing apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a temperature adjuster may be included in the system by Bergman so as to ensure that the temperature of the solution is suitable for processing, as shown to be known and conventional by Kouichi et al.
Regarding claim 3, Bergman and Kouichi et al. together teach the limitations of claim 2. Bergman does not explicitly teach that the first and second temperatures are 150-200C and 80-130C, respectively. However, since all structural requirements of the claim are taught by the prior art and the modified system is capable of providing solution heating and temperature control as discussed in the rejections of claims 1 and 2, the particular temperatures chosen are matter of intended use, and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 4, Bergman and Kouichi et al. together teach the limitations of claim 2. Bergman teaches in paragraph [0039] and figures 1-2, 6 that the ozone gas is mixed into the supply piping system 70 immediately upstream of the substrate treatment unit 15. Therefore, in the modified system including a temperature adjuster, it is readily apparent that the temperature adjuster would be disposed upstream of the ozone gas pipe in the supply piping system.
Regarding claim 7, Bergman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Bergman does not teach a storage tank. Kouichi et al. teaches a substrate treatment apparatus (see abstract) and a storage tank 31 that stores the treatment liquid; an upstream supply pipe 32 that feeds the treatment liquid from the recovery tank 22 to the storage tank 31; and a downstream supply pipe 9 that supplies the treatment liquid from the storage tank 31 toward the substrate treatment unit 1, thereby allowing for storage and circulation of the treatment liquid (see figures 2, 5 and pages 3-4 of the translation). Since both Bergman and Kouichi et al. teach substrate treatment apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a storage tank may be included downstream of the recovery tank so as to allow for storage and circulation of the treatment liquid, as shown to be known and conventional by Kouichi et al. Hence, in the modified system, it is readily apparent that the downstream pipe downstream from the storage tank would be connected to the ozone gas pipe for mixing with ozone prior to being fed to the substrate treatment unit.
Regarding claim 13, Bergman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Bergman also teaches in figures 1-2, 6, 7 and paragraph [0039], [0085]-[0086] a fluid mixer 90/315 that is disposed at a connection point of the ozone gas pipe 80 to the supply piping system 70, and that mixes the ozone gas and the treatment liquid. Bergman does not teach explicitly teach a cooler. Kouichi et al. teaches a substrate treatment apparatus (see abstract) and a temperature adjuster 38 (reads on cooler) capable of adjusting a temperature of the treatment liquid passing through the supply piping system 9 to a second temperature lower than a first temperature, so as to ensure that the temperature of the solution is suitable for processing (see page 4 of the translation, figures 2, 5). Since both Bergman and Kouichi et al. teach substrate processing apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a cooler may be included in the system by Bergman so as to ensure that the temperature of the solution is suitable for processing, as shown to be known and conventional by Kouichi et al. Bergman teaches in paragraph [0039] and figures 1-2, 6 that the ozone gas is mixed into the supply piping system 70 immediately upstream of the substrate treatment unit 15. Therefore, in the modified system including a temperature adjuster, it is readily apparent that the cooler would be disposed upstream of the mixer in the supply piping system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman (EP1481741B1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Lee et al. (KR20070066323A).
Regarding claim 8, Bergman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Bergman teaches in paragraphs [0041] and [0061] that the concentration of ozone is a variable that affects the rate of removal of resist, and that repeated circulation through the recovery tank 50 may increase the ozone concentration. Bergman does not teach an ozone concentration meter. Lee et al. teaches a substrate treatment apparatus (see abstract) and an ozone concentration meter 16 that detects an ozone concentration of the treatment liquid in the circulation piping 25, so as to ensure decontamination efficiency (see abstract, page 3 of the translation, figure 1). Since Bergman and Lee et al. teach substrate treatment apparatuses that use ozone, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that an ozone concentration meter may be disposed in the recovery tank of the system by Bergman so as to measure the ozone concentration of the treatment liquid and ensure decontamination efficiency, as shown to be known and conventional by Lee et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Bergman (EP1481741B1). Bergman fails to teach/disclose all of the limitations of claim 9 and independent claim 14, including the following limitations of claim 14: “..a controller that controls the switch valve based on a detection result of the ozone concentration meter; wherein the controller opens the switch valve if the concentration detected by the ozone concentration meter is not higher than a predetermined threshold, and closes the switch valve if the detected concentration is higher than the predetermined threshold”. Furthermore, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part along with the requisite motivation for combination to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711