DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s submission dated December 12, 2025. Any objections and/or rejections made in previous actions and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 15-34, 38, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (WO 2019/134992 A1) in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. (US 20100196581 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Christensen et al. teaches a vegetable meat substitute [Pg. 7, Ln. 12] wherein the composition comprises 56.5% water, 21.5% vegetable protein, and 8% vegetable fat. [Example 2] Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches that the composition can comprise liquid and solid vegetable fats, [Pg. 6, Ln. 15-17] and that the solid fat and liquid fat may be added in equal parts, or 50% each. [Pg. 11, Ln. 10-14] This composition reads on a meat analogue composition comprising 2-25% fat, 5-30% non-animal protein, and 30-70% water and to the use of hardstock and blending oil in a ratio between 5-95% each, but is silent to the hardstock comprising an interesterified blend of vegetable oil and fully hydrogenated vegetable oil.
Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a fat composition comprising interesterification of a totally hydrogenated vegetable oil with a liquid vegetable oil having low saturated fat content. [0015] Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches the hydrogenated oil may be canola [0026] and the liquid vegetable oil may be canola [0031] among others. Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches the interesterification process can be enzymatic or chemical, and the mixture of hydrogenated to non-hydrogenated can be 10-80% to 20-90%. [0037] The fat composition of Rodrigues Posada et al. reads on an interesterified blend of vegetable oil and fully hydrogenated vegetable oil.
Christensen et al. and Rodriguez Posada et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they both teach compositions comprising fats. Where Christensen et al. teaches a meat analog composition comprising vegetable fats, the vegetable fat (i.e., coconut oil) of Christensen et al. comprises saturated fat. The fat blend taught by Rodriguez Posada et al. is preferable to others in the art due to the low level of saturated fatty acids. [0018] Additionally, the amounts of fat, protein, and water taught by Christensen et al. lie within the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the teachings of Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. in order to produce a meat analog product with the claimed ranges of fat, protein, and water, wherein the fat composition comprises an interesterified blend of vegetable oil and fully hydrogenated vegetable oil and a lower amount of saturated fat, thereby rending obvious claim 1.
With respect to Claims 3 and 4, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches that the solid fat and liquid fat may be added in equal parts, or 50% each. [Pg. 11, Ln. 10-14] This reads on the limitation of a blend of hardstock and blending oil in ranges of 10-90% to 90-10%, and 50-80% to 20-50%. Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claims 3 and 4.
With respect to Claims 5 and 6, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches the fat composition can comprise between 10-80% totally hydrogenated vegetable oil and 20-90% of the liquid vegetable oil. [0037] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the teachings of Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. to produce a fat composition for use in a meat analog product to meet claims 5 and 6.
With respect to Claim 7, Christensen et al. in view of Rodrigues Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a fat composition comprising interesterification of a totally hydrogenated vegetable oil with a liquid vegetable oil having low saturated fat content. [0015] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the teachings of Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. in order to produce a fat composition that meets claim 7.
With respect to Claims 8-11, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a blend of fully hydrogenated canola oil [0026] and liquid canola oil. [0031] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. in order to produce a meat analog product comprising a fat composition comprising fully hydrogenated non-tropical oil, in the form of fully hydrogenated canola oil, and liquid canola oil, thereby rendering obvious claims 8 through 11.
With respect to Claim 15, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches the blend has a total saturated fatty acid content of less than 45%. [0038] It is well-known in the field that triglycerides are composed of acyl groups. Additionally, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches it is preferable to have oil that comprises mostly palmitic oil, a 16 C chain, and an 18 C chain, such as stearic. [0025] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have produced a meat analog composition comprising a fat composition with less than 55% saturated fatty acids, based on the total weight of the C4-C24 residues, by using the teachings of Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al., thereby rendering obvious claim 15.
With respect to Claim 16, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a fat composition with 27.3% stearic acid and 7.3% palmitic acid [0045] comprised of a hydrogenated soybean oil with 83.9% stearic acid and 13.4% palmitic acid [0043] and a sunflower oil with 3.0% stearic acid and 4.7% palmitic acid. [0044]
According to MPEP 2144.05 II, “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. The recitation of 40-60% stearic and 2.5-7.5% palmitic is the result of routine experimentation that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of blending the oils taught by Rodriguez Posada et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the teaching of Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. in order to produce a meat analog with a fat composition comprising 40-60% stearic and 2.5-7.5% palmitic acid based on the total weight of C4-C24 fatty acid residues, thereby rendering obvious claim 16.
With respect to Claim 17, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches the interesterification process can be enzymatic or chemical. [0037] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the teaching of Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. in order to chemically or enzymatically interesterify a vegetable fat blend for use in a meat analogue, thereby rendering obvious claim 17.
With respect to Claim 18, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches that the solid fat and liquid fat may be added in equal parts, and comprise oils including canola oil. [Pg. 11, Ln. 9-14]. Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious the invention recited in claim 18.
With respect to Claims 19-21, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches the use of a soy protein isolate. [Example 2] This reads on the limitation of a nonanimal, plant protein, such as legume protein. Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claims 19-21.
With respect to Claims 22 and 23, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches a textured soy protein at 13%. [Example 2] Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claims 22 and 23.
With respect to Claims 24-26 and 29, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches the use of stabilizers selected from a group consisting of cellulose, pectins, starch, gums, and mixtures thereof. [Pg. 7, Ln. 24-26] Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches wheat gluten added to the meat analog composition in order to entrap the stabilizer compound. [Pg. 8, Ln. 17-24]
Wheat gluten and a stabilizer as taught by Christensen et al. read on a stabilizer blend as recited in claim 24. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches a meat analog composition comprising 1.70% methyl cellulose and 4.05% wheat gluten, a total of 5.75% stabilizer blend. [Example 2] This teaching reads on the limitation of 5-10% stabilizer blend recited in claim 25. Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claims 24-26 and 29.
With respect to Claims 27 and 30, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches the addition of salt as a flavouring additive. [Example 2] Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claims 27 and 30.
With respect to Claim 28, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches the addition of beetroot colour at 1%. [Example 2] Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claim 28.
With respect to Claims 31 and 32, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, the composition taught by Christensen et al. teaches fat at 8% and nonanimal protein at 21.5%. [Example 2] Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claims 31 and 32.
With respect to Claims 33 and 34, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, the composition taught by Christensen et al. comprises no animal proteins or other animal derived products. [Example 2] Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claims 33 and 34.
With respect to Claim 38, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Additionally, Christensen et al. teaches that the vegetable meat substitute can be served as chopped steak. [Pg. 18, Ln. 2] Therefore, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious claim 38.
With respect to Claim 47, Christensen et al. teaches a method of producing a meat analog product comprising the steps of providing a plant protein material, [Pg. 3, Ln. 10] mixing with a liquid colour blend, [Pg. 3, Ln. 11] adding a vegetable fat, [Pg. 3, Ln. 16] adding a flavoring step after mixing the protein with liquid, [Pg. 11, Ln. 19-20] and finally forming the meat analogue into a food product. [Pg. 15, Ln. 11-17] Christensen et al. teaches the composition comprises 56.5% water, 21.5% vegetable protein, and 8% vegetable fat. [Example 2]
Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a fat composition comprising interesterification of a totally hydrogenated vegetable oil with a liquid vegetable oil having low saturated fat content. [0015] Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches the hydrogenated oil may be canola [0026] and the liquid vegetable oil may be canola [0031] among others. Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches the interesterification process can be enzymatic or chemical, and the mixture of hydrogenated to non-hydrogenated can be 10-80% to 20-90%. [0037]
Christensen et al. and Rodriguez Posada et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they both teach compositions comprising fats. Where Christensen et al. teaches a meat analog composition comprising vegetable fats, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a specific blend of interesterified hydrogenated oils and liquid vegetable fats useful as a fat substitute. The fat blend taught by Rodriguez Posada et al. is preferable to others in the art due to the low level of saturated fatty acids. [0018] Additionally, the amounts of fat, protein, and water taught by Christensen et al. lie within the claimed range. Therefore, the teaching of Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. renders obvious the method of claim 47.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (WO 2019/134992 A1) in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. (US 20100196581 A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Wheeler et al. (US 5378490).
With respect to Claims 12 and 13, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Christensen et al. and Rodriguez Posada et al. are silent to the use of high erucic rapeseed oil.
Wheeler et al. teaches a low-calorie triglyceride compositions and food compositions comprising them. [Col. 5, Ln. 36-39] Wheeler et al. teaches that the triglycerides in the invention are made of long fatty acid residues, referred to as R, comprising an acyl group, [Col. 8, Ln. 47-48] derived from any synthetic or natural organic acid, such as palmitic or stearic, or by hydrogenating an unsaturated acid, such as oleic or linoleic. [Col. 8, Ln. 59-67] Wheeler et al. teaches that the composition may contain R groups that are mixtures of fatty acids and can be derived from non-hydrogenated, partially hydrogenated, or fully hydrogenated oils, such as low erucic or high erucic rapeseed, [Col. 9, Ln. 7-13] or hydrogenated fats, such as hydrogenated canola oil. [Col. 9, Ln. 21-24]
Christensen et al., Rodriguez Posada et al., and Wheeler et al. all exist within the same field of endeavor in that they teach fat compositions and food products that comprise them. Where Christensen et al. teaches a meat analog comprising vegetable fats, Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches interesterification and hydrogenation of vegetable fats in order to produce a blend, and Wheeler et al. teaches fat compositions comprising randomly interesterified and hydrogenated canola oil. Wheeler et al. would have been obvious to combine with Christensen et al. and Rodriguez Posada et al. because Wheeler et al. teaches fat compositions that can be used as substitutes for part or all of the fat in a meat food product. [Col. 13, Ln. 33-35]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the teachings of Christensen et al. and Rodriguez Posada et al. in order to produce a meat analog composition, and the teaching of Wheeler et al. to create a meat analog composition comprising a fat composition comprising fully hydrogenated rapeseed oil, fully hydrogenated high erucic rapeseed oil, and vegetable oil, thereby rendering obvious claims 12 and 13.
With respect to Claim 14, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, and in further view of Wheeler et al., renders obvious claim 13, as described above. Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches the interesterification process can be enzymatic or chemical, and the mixture of hydrogenated to non-hydrogenated can be 10-80% to 20-90%. [0037] Wheeler et al. teaches the use of mixtures of fatty acids that can be derived from non-hydrogenated, partially hydrogenated, or fully hydrogenated oils, such as low erucic or high erucic rapeseed, [Col. 9, Ln. 7-13] or hydrogenated fats, such as hydrogenated canola oil. [Col. 9, Ln. 21-24]
According to MPEP 2144.05 II, “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. The recitation of 40-60% rapeseed oil, 5-15% fully hydrogenated high erucic acid rapeseed oil, and 30-50% fully hydrogenated rapeseed oil is simply the result of routine experimentation that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of blending the oils taught by Rodriguez Posada et al. and Wheeler et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the teaching of Christensen et al. and Rodriguez Posada et al. in view of Wheeler et al. to produce a meat analog with a fat composition comprising 40-60% rapeseed oil, 5-15% fully hydrogenated high erucic acid rapeseed oil, and 30-50% fully hydrogenated rapeseed oil, thereby rendering obvious claim 14.
Claims 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen et al. (WO 2019/134992 A1) in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. (US 20100196581 A1) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Rose et al. (US 20150351427 A1).
With respect to Claims 35-37, Christensen et al. in view of Rodriguez Posada et al. teaches a meat analog composition that renders obvious claim 1, as described above. Both references are silent to the use of animal derived products in the meat analog composition.
Rose et al. teaches a meat analog composition comprising milk proteins and vegetable proteins. [0013] Rose et al. teaches that the addition of casein, as a milk derived protein isolate, can be added to vegetarian meat-like fibres. [0027]
Christensen et al., Rodriguez Posada et al., and Rose et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they are all concerned with meat analog products and the fats that comprise them. Where Christensen et al. and Rodriguez Posada et al. teach compositions entirely free from animal derived products, Rose et al. teaches the use of casein in order to form better meat like fibres.
According to MPEP 2144.06 II, “In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art”. Rose teaches that casein can be substituted as an equivalence to vegetable protein isolates, and Christensen et al. teaches a soy protein isolate of 2%. [Example 2] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used the meat analog composition taught by Christensen et al. and Rodriguez Posada et al. with the milk protein isolate taught by Rose et al. in order to produce a meat analog with 1-20% animal milk proteins, thereby rendering claims 35-37 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on Page 10, Lines 23-23, that, “Christensen fails to disclose addition of a hardstock mixed with a blending oil – or a mixture of liquid and solid fats to a composition”. Applicant continues on Page 11, Line 1-2, “In Christensen, liquid fat is first intermixed with the disclosed composition; solid fat is subsequently added”. Applicant concludes “In the amended claims, liquid and solid fats are mixed together and that mixture is added to the composition”.
Examiner directs applicant to MPEP 2145 VI, which states, “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims”. The instant claim 1 does not recite an order of adding the fats to the fat composition or to the mixture as a whole, but rather recites a composition (not a process) that comprises a fat composition comprising a solid and liquid fat. Even were said limitation included, wherein the solid and liquid fats are mixed independently of the composition as a whole, MPEP 2144.04 IV. C, states, “Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious”.
Finally, MPEP 2145 IV states, “One cannot show nonobvious by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references”. Applicant fails to provide an explanation as to why the combination of Rodriguez-Posada et al. fails to cure the deficiencies with respect to the instant limitation.
For these reasons, applicant’s assertions are found to be unpersuasive.
Applicant asserts on Page 11, Lines 14-16, that, “The as-filed specification, moreover, established that the ability to admix fat compositions into a meat-analogue composition without melting has been found useful to provide heterogeneity” and claims on lines 23-24, that “Such benefits are not recognized or appreciated in the applied references, in particular, in Rodriguez Posada”.
Examiner directs applicant to MPEP 2145 VI, which states, “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims”. The properties applicant asserts are present in the composition are not germane with the limitations recited in the instant claim 1. Additionally, applicant is reminded that MPEP 2145 IV states, “One cannot show nonobvious by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references”.
Applicant concludes their assertions on Page 12, with respect to the dependent claims 12-14 in section B and claims 35-37 in section C, stating, “Wheeler fails to cure the deficiencies of Christensen and Rodriguez Posada” and “Rose fails to cure the deficiencies of Christensen and Rodriguez Posada” respectively. Applicant’s assertions with respect to claim 1 do not overcome the rejection, and therefore the assertion is moot.
For this reason, and those enumerated above, applicant’s assertions are found to be unpersuasive, and the rejection of claims 1, 3-38, and 47 are maintained.
Conclusion
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791