DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I, claims 1-7, 10-20, in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/03/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 1-7 and 10-20 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that this application is national stage of international patent application PCT/EP2022/025111, filed on 03/17/2022; which claims priority from France patent application FR2103042, filed on 03/25/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 16 are objected for depending on withdrawn claims 8 and 9, respectively.
Claim 18 is objected for starting from “A”. The dependent claim 18 should start from “The”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11-13, 17 and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 7 recites the broad recitation “hydrolyzed and hydroxyalkyl starch”, and the claim also recites “hydroxypropylated starch” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 11 recites the broad recitation “shaping hair”, and the claim also recites “shaping hair curls” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 17 recites the broad recitation “shaping hair”, and the claim also recites “shaping hair curls” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 12-13 are rejected for depending on rejected claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Schweinsberg et al. (US20120328532).
The limitation of claims 1-7 and 18 are met by Schweinsberg et al. disclosing a method of shaping hair by applying a composition comprising hydrolyzed, propylene oxide modified starch obtained from pea (abstract; claims 1 and 11; [0009, 0015]), and propylene oxide modified starch is hydroxypropylated modified starch according to applicant’s specification ([ 0028]). Schweinsberg et al. teaches retention of hair curl, but silent about all other functional properties claimed, which are regarded as results from the prior art steps.
In summary, although the reference is silent about all the functional properties instantly claimed, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “It is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.” In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145. On this record, it is reasonable to conclude that the same hair is being administered the same cosmetic agent by the same mode of administration in the same amount in both the instant claims and the prior art reference. The fact that Applicant may have discovered yet another beneficial effect from the method set forth in the prior art does not mean that they are entitled to receive a patent on that method. Thus, Schweinsberg et al. teaches, either expressly or inherently implied, each and every limitation of the instant claims. it remains the Examiner's position that the instantly claimed method is not only anticipated in the prior art but also obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweinsberg et al. (US20120328532).
In arguendo that claims 1-7 and 18 are not anticipated, they are still obvious according to the following analysis.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Schweinsberg et al. teaches Cosmetic agents for temporarily reshaping keratin fibers, particularly human hair, containing in a cosmetic carrier at least one starch modified with propylene oxide, the starch having an average molecular weight (weight-average) of 50 to 2,500 kDa and a propylene oxide content of 4 to 6 wt. % (based on weight of the starch modified with propylene oxide), wherein the agents achieve styling with a good degree of hold and elevated flexibility. The propylene oxide-modified starches are based on renewable raw materials. Here, effective styling agents for hair can be provided without having to rely on setting polymers obtained from fossil fuels (abstract, claim 1). Method for temporarily reshaping keratin fibers comprising applying a cosmetic agent according to claim 1 onto the keratin fibers (claim 11). The modified starch can be obtained from peas, beans, etc. ([0009]). Starches modified with propylene oxide are, for example, prepared by reacting a native starch with propylene oxide. Prior to modification with propylene oxide, the starch may have been subjected to various physical or chemical processes such as heat treatment, shearing or cleavage by thermal treatment, acid hydrolysis, oxidation, or enzymatic treatment, etc. ([0015]). In addition to starch modified with propylene oxide (particularly that modified with propylene oxide according to embodiments A) to R)), the cosmetic agent according to the invention preferably also contains at least one polymer chosen from film-forming polymers or setting polymers ([0047]). Preferred cosmetic agents according to one embodiment are those having at least one additional film-forming and/or setting polymer, provided that all these additional polymers are polysaccharide-based polymers. These additional polymers differ from the propylene oxide-modified polysaccharides. It is preferred that all further polymers of the cosmetic agent be chosen from xanthan, dehydroxanthan, alginate, guar gum, gum arabic, locust bean gum, starch, chitosan or mixtures thereof ([0112]). It is also preferred to use at least one nonionic surfactant. According to the invention, these surfactants can already have an emulsifying action ([0117]). It is preferred in particular if the agent according to the invention is formulated as a cream so that the cosmetic agent according to the invention additionally contains at least one oil phase. In a preferred embodiment, the oil of the oil phase is chosen from at least one oil of plant oils, animal oils, ester oils. Preferred vegetable oils are chosen from at least one of amaranth oil, sunflower oil, olive oil, soy oil, rapeseed oil, castor oil, sesame oil, almond oil, jojoba oil, orange oil, apricot kernel oil, macadamia nut oil, wheat germ oil, peach stone oil and the liquid fractions of coconut oil ([0141-0149]). Agents according to the invention which additionally contain at least one fatty substance are also suitable. The fatty substance is preferably chosen from candelilla wax, shea butter, carnauba wax, beeswax, coconut oil, C12 to C20 fatty acids (particularly palmitic acid, stearic acid) ([0153, 0155]). Agents according to the invention contain their active ingredients in a cosmetic carrier, preferably in a hydrous cosmetic carrier, alcoholic cosmetic carrier or an aqueous-alcoholic cosmetic carrier. For temporarily reshaping hair, such carriers include lotions, water-in-oil emulsions, oil-in-water emulsions, creams, gels, foams, pomades, waxes or other preparations suitable for use on hair ([0157]). In one particular embodiment, the cosmetic agent contains one or more direct dyes. This makes it possible, when applying the composition, for the treated keratin fibers not only to be temporarily structured but also to be dyed at the same time. This may be particularly desirable when, for example, only temporary dyeing with conspicuous fashion colors is desired, which can be removed again from the keratin fibers simply by washing ([0171]). Curl retention is measured after treatment of cosmetic agents ([0182]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Schweinsberg et al. is that Schweinsberg et al. is not specific enough for anticipation.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Schweinsberg et al. teaches a method of shaping hair by applying a composition comprising hydrolyzed, propylene oxide modified starch obtained from pea, and propylene oxide modified starch is hydroxypropylated modified starch according to applicant’s specification ([ 0028]). Schweinsberg et al. teaches retention of hair curl, but silent about all other functional properties claimed, which are regarded as results from the prior art steps.
In summary, although the reference is silent about all the functional properties instantly claimed, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “It is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.” In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145. On this record, it is reasonable to conclude that the same hair is being administered the same cosmetic agent by the same mode of administration in the same amount in both the instant claims and the prior art reference. The fact that Applicant may have discovered yet another beneficial effect from the method set forth in the prior art does not mean that they are entitled to receive a patent on that method. Thus, Schweinsberg et al. teaches, either expressly or inherently implied, each and every limitation of the instant claims. it remains the Examiner's position that the instantly claimed method is not only anticipated in the prior art but also obvious.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 10-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweinsberg et al. (US20120328532), as applied for the above 103 rejection for claims 1-7 and 18, in view of Zhu et al. (US20170065512).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Schweinsberg et al. teaching has already been discussed in the above 103 rejection and is incorporated herein by reference.
Zhu et al. teaches cosmetic composition in the form of hair styling (abstract; claims 1 and 21). The composition comprises modified starch such as hydroxypropyl starch ([0111]). The compositions disclosed herein may be used in many end-use applications. Examples include (but are not limited to) a water phase suspension, an oil in water emulsion, a water in oil emulsion, a silicone in water emulsion, a water in silicone emulsion, a Pickering emulsion, and/or an oil phase suspension, and/or kits ([0084]). Oils typically used in cosmetics include those selected from the group consisting of polar oils, non-polar oils, volatile oils, non-volatile oils and mixtures thereof. These oils may be saturated or unsaturated, straight or branched, aliphatic or aromatic hydrocarbons. Preferred oils include non-polar volatile hydrocarbons including isodecane (such as Permethyl-99A®, available from Presperse Inc.) and the C7-C8 through C12-C15 isoparaffins (such as the Isopar® Series available from Exxon Chemicals) ([0088]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Schweinsberg et al. is that Schweinsberg et al. do not expressly teach mixture of volatile oil and non-volatile oil. This deficiency in Schweinsberg et al. is cured by the teachings of Zhu et al.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schweinsberg et al., as suggested by Zhu et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace mixture of volatile oil and non-volatile oil for plant oil (such as castor oil) as oil in oil phase of emulsion because this is simple substitution of one known oil for another to obtain predictable results. MPEP 2143, it is prima facie obviousness for simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Under guidance from Zhu et al. teaching mixture of volatile oils and non-volatile oils as alternative to non-volatile oil (such as plant oil) as oil in oil phase of emulsion, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace mixture of volatile oil and non-volatile oil for plant oil (such as castor oil) as oil in oil phase of emulsion and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 10-17 and 19-20, prior art teaches a method of shaping hair by applying a O/W emulsion comprising volatile oi, non-volatile, hydrolyzed, propylene oxide modified starch obtained from pea, wax, surfactant, dye (colorant), guar gum (gelling agent according to applicant’s specification) and water. Schweinsberg et al. teaches retention of hair curl, but silent about all other functional properties claimed, which are regarded as results from the prior art steps.
In summary, although the reference is silent about all the functional properties instantly claimed, it does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories, 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “It is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable.” In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145. On this record, it is reasonable to conclude that the same hair is being administered the same cosmetic agent by the same mode of administration in the same amount in both the instant claims and the prior art reference. The fact that Applicant may have discovered yet another beneficial effect from the method set forth in the prior art does not mean that they are entitled to receive a patent on that method. Thus, Schweinsberg et al. teaches, either expressly or inherently implied, each and every limitation of the instant claims. it remains the Examiner's position that the instantly claimed method is not only anticipated in the prior art but also obvious.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613