DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-10 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 09/21/2023, 03/24/2025, 04/07/2025, and 07/15/2025 has/have been taken into account.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su (US 2019/0290008).
In regards to Claim 1, Su discloses an interior component for a conveyance having a design surface, comprising: a base material (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-9; 3); and a skin material (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-9; 4, 5) covering the base material, wherein the skin material includes a linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10; 5) at an end portion of the skin material, and the linear locking member is attached at a position that is not visible from a design surface side of the base material (Su: Fig. 8).
In regards to Claim 2, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 1, wherein the linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10; 5) is formed in a rod shape or an elongated plate shape.
In regards to Claim 3, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the linear locking members (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10; 5) are provided, and the linear locking member includes a first linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1; 5 - upper) attached to a first terminal portion of the base material, and a second linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1; 5 - lower) attached to a second terminal portion of the base material, the second terminal portion being located opposite to the first terminal portion.
In regards to Claim 4, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 3, wherein the first linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1; 5 - upper) and the second linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1; 5 - lower) are disposed to be separated from each other as the first linear locking member and the second linear locking member extend from an end portion toward a center of the base material.
In regards to Claim 5, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 3, wherein the first linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1; 5 - upper) is attached to the first terminal portion on an upper side of the base material, the second linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1; 5 - lower) is attached to the second terminal portion on a lower side of the base material, and the second linear locking member is longer than the first linear locking member (Su: Fig. 2).
In regards to Claim 7, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 1, wherein the base material (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-9; 3) includes an engaging portion (Su: Fig. 3, 5-7; 32) that engages with the linear locking member on a back side of a terminal portion.
In regards to Claim 8, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 7, wherein the base material includes a point-shaped locking portion (Su: Annotated Fig. 6; L) that locks the skin material (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-9; 4, 5) on the back side of the terminal portion in addition to the engaging portion (Su: [0031] – indicated portion grips the skin material).
In regards to Claim 9, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 7, wherein a through-hole (Su: Fig. 6-7; 50) is formed in the vicinity of the terminal portion of the skin material, the engaging portion (Su: Fig. 3, 5-7; 32) includes a hook portion that is hooked onto the linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10; 5), and the linear locking member is attached to the base material by being hooked onto the hook portion inserted into the through-hole (Su: Fig. 7).
In regards to Claim 10, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 7, wherein the engaging portion (Su: Fig. 3, 5-7; 32) includes a locking claw that locks the linear locking member, the linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10; 5) is formed in an elongated plate shape, and the linear locking member is attached to the base material by being disposed on a back surface side of the base material and by engaging with the locking claw (Su: Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 2019/0290008) in view of Hobl et al. (US 2011/0049948).
In regards to Claim 6, Su discloses the interior component for a conveyance according to claim 3, wherein the first linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1; 5 - upper) is attached to the first terminal portion on an upper side of the base material, and the second linear locking member (Su: Fig. 1; 5 - upper) is attached to the second terminal portion on a lower side of the base material.
Su fails to explicitly disclose a skin material has a design line between the first linear locking member and the second linear locking member. However, Hobl teaches a skin material that has a design line (Hobl: Fig. 1-2; 22) between a first end and a second end.
Su and Hobl are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. mounting brackets; and securing coverings to furniture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the skin in Su with the design line from Hobl, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a decorative feature for the skin material, thereby further enhancing the aesthetic appearance (Hobl: [0016]).
Annotated Figures
I: Su; Fig. 6
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631