DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/21/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are currently amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Hz,” should be replaced with “Hz” (with comma removed) for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function.
The term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that.”
The term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is “jaws for clamping the metal alloy” in Claim 7, which is described in the specification as the means for attaching the rectifier on page 12, line 12.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the same formulation" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the orientation" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims dependent on any of the rejected claims are likewise rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al (US 2017/0361422 A1) in view of CN 112760525 A, based on the machine translation, and the document Products Finishing.
Brand et al teaches polishing a metallic workpiece with an abrasive polishing media comprising metallic chips, liquid, and abrasive (abstract) and as represented below in the annotated drawing:
The metallic workpiece includes rotors from turbines [0012]. Brand et al teaches shaking and oscillation at a desired amplitude and frequency [0014], which reads on vibratory finishing. The workpiece 18 is immersed in the hopper 34. The polishing media includes aluminum oxide [0017], copper [0021], and a liquid [0024]. The polishing process continues until the desired surface finish is achieved. Subsequent run time may be predetermined based on testing results of the initial run. Periodically reversing the direction of the motors 40 at predetermined time interval is helpful in producing a consistent and acceptable end result [0028]. If varying grits of abrasive are used, the total process time may be divided into shorter sessions with different polishing media [0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the orientation of the workpiece would change between sessions to allow for the polishing apparatus to be cleaned of excess media between sessions. When the polishing process is complete, the hopper is emptied of media and the rotor is removed from the fixture 42. The rotor may be cleaned of excess media, for example by a water rinse and drying. However, Brand et al does not teach producing the workpiece as recited in step (a) or that some or all of the abrasive composition is evacuated and replaced by a new abrasive composition of the same formulation as claimed.
Regarding producing the workpiece, CN 112760525 A (CN ‘525) teaches forming a nickel base super alloy for a turbine engine (abstract). The method includes melting and depositing a powder mixture, and a laser beam is used for fusion welding (page 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the metallic workpiece in Brand et al with the process of CN ‘525, since CN ‘525 teaches a superalloy with excellent weldability at ambient temperature and a good combination of mechanical and oxidation characteristics (page 2).
Regarding evacuating and replacing the abrasive composition with the same formulation, Products Finishing abrasive media in vibratory finishing does not last forever; with no abrasive, cutting stops and so does wear (page 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace some or all of the polishing media in Brand et al as taught by Products Finishing, since Brand et al teaches using abrasive materials and performing tests to achieve a desired surface finish.
Regarding Claim 2, Brand et al teaches the workpiece is titanium or a nickel-based alloy [0012].
Regarding Claim 3, Brand et al teaches less than 0.05% abrasive, more than 98% metallic chip (copper), and less than 2% liquid [0026].
Regarding Claim 4, Brand et al teaches a surfactant may be added to the liquid [0025].
Regarding Claim 6, Brand et al teaches an array as represented in FIG. 1 [0012], which reads on at least one aerodynamic blade that are configured to form a monobloc assembly with a rectifier at least taught by rim 16 with annular shape around an axis of revolution.
Regarding Claim 8, CN ‘525 teaches acid extruding the formed ingot and washing to remove surface oxidation (page 3).
Regarding Claim 9, CN ‘525 teaches an acid.
Regarding Claim 10, aluminum oxide would have a hardness greater than titanium or nickel-based alloys, since Products Finishing teaches that the media needs to be capable of removing metal from parts (page 1).
Regarding Claim 11, the density of copper is 8.96 g/cm3 and aluminum oxide is 3.99 g/cm3 as evidenced by the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Regarding Claim 12, Brand et al teaches less than 2% liquid [0026], which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 14, the Brand et al teaches oscillating or shaking in both lateral and vertical components [0014], which reads on three axes.
Regarding Claim 15, CN ‘525 teaches aging the turbine engine component (page 2).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 81/01976 A1.
Brand et al in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Brand et al in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing does not teach the frequency as claimed.
WO 81/01976 A1 (WO ’976) teaches vibration treatment of parts in a working fluid environment (page 1) using oscillatory motion and a frequency of 30-100 Hz (page 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the desired frequency (see Bland et al [0014]) to treat the metallic workpiece in Bland et al in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing to have the frequency range taught by WO ‘976, since WO ‘976 teaches increasing the speed of relative movement of parts and working fluids without increasing the amplitude of oscillations and thereby reducing the processing time of parts (page 2).
Claims 1-4, 8-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015/055601 A1 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing.
WO 2015/055601 (WO ‘601) teaches a method of polishing a machine component comprising at least one airfoil portion (abstract) using a polishing mixture comprising an abrasive powder, a liquid, and metal particles in a vibrating container (page 3, lines 13-15). The polishing mixture comprises aluminum oxide, copper particles, and a liquid (page 11, lines 9-13). Different positions of the blade were treated (page 17, line 3) and only part of the component is covered (page 11, line 5-7), which reads on changing the position of the component. However, WO ‘601 does not teach producing a blank by additive manufacturing using laser fusion as in step (a) or that some or all of the abrasive composition is evacuated and replaced by a new abrasive composition as claimed.
Regarding producing the workpiece, CN ‘525 is applied as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the metallic workpiece in WO ‘601 with the process of CN ‘525, since CN ‘525 teaches a superalloy with excellent weldability at ambient temperature and a good combination of mechanical and oxidation characteristics (page 2).
Regarding evacuating and replacing the abrasive composition, Products Finishing is applied as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace some or all of the polishing media in WO ‘601 as taught by Products Finishing, since WO ‘601 teaches using abrasive materials and performing tests to achieve a desired surface finish.
Regarding Claim 2, CN ‘525 teaches a nickel base superalloy.
Regarding Claim 3, WO ‘601 teaches 0.05-0.4% abrasive powder, 90-98% metal particles, and 3-10% liquid (page 7, lines 6-8).
Regarding Claim 4, WO ‘601 teaches the liquid is water (page 7, line 2).
Regarding Claim 8, CN ‘525 teaches acid extruding the formed ingot and washing to remove surface oxidation (page 3).
Regarding Claim 9, CN ‘525 teaches an acid.
Regarding Claim 10, aluminum oxide would have a hardness greater than titanium or nickel-based alloys, since Products Finishing teaches that the media needs to be capable of removing metal from parts (page 1).
Regarding Claim 11, the density of copper is 8.96 g/cm3 and aluminum oxide is 3.99 g/cm3 as evidenced by the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Regarding Claim 12, WO ‘601 teaches 3-10% liquid (page 7, lines 6-8), which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 15, CN ‘525 teaches aging the turbine engine component (page 2).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘601 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO ‘976 A1.
WO ‘601 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, WO ‘601 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing does not teach the frequency as claimed.
WO ’976 is applied as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the desired frequency to treat the metallic workpiece in WO ‘601 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing to have the frequency range taught by WO ‘976, since WO ‘976 teaches increasing the speed of relative movement of parts and working fluids without increasing the amplitude of oscillations and thereby reducing the processing time of parts (page 2).
Claims 6, 7, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘601 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mingot (US 2022/0410327 A1).
Mingot is in the same patent family as CA 3161362 A1 published 06/17/2021.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
WO ‘601 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing discloses the invention substantially as claimed. WO ‘601 teaches at least one airfoil portion (abstract) but is not limited to rotor and stator blades or buckets for turbomachines (page 1, lines 4-7). However, WO ‘601 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing does not teach the configuration of a monobloc assembly of a rectifier as in Claim 6 or the tooling recited in Claim 7.
Mingot teaches polishing a component made by additive manufacturing [0004] as represented below in the annotated drawings:
Regarding Claim 6, the component is exemplified in the drawings as a turbine engine rectifier. Regarding Claim 7, the retaining elements read on “jaws for clamping.” The flat ferromagnetic base and electromagnetic field are represented in the drawings above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Mingot to polish a component with the process of WO ‘601 in view of CN ‘525 and Products Finishing, since Mingot teaches reducing the installation operations for performing polishing and removal operations and providing a versatile device [0015-0016].
Regarding Claim 13, Mingot teaches the blank is on the bottom of the tank, and at least overlaps extending at most 30% of the maximum height of the abrasive composition since it is immersed.
Regarding Claim 14, Mingot teaches sussultatory (up and down) and vibrational (side to side) movements [0007], which reads on three axes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 01/76819 A1 (WO ‘819) teaches a method of polishing and/or cleaning a substrate (abstract). The substrate can be any suitable metal including titanium (page 2, lines 30-33). The polishing and cleaning components include abrasives such as alumina (page 4, lines 9-11) with an aqueous carrier (Ibid, line 33) and a metal catalyst such as copper (page 5, lines 29-32). Sensors are used to monitor the parameters of the polishing process such as to monitor the polishing or cleaning solution and the substrate surface. Higher polishing performance can be achieved by detecting changes as the process proceeds or ends (page 13, line 26 to page 14, line 6).
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/TIMA M. MCGUTHRY-BANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733