DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 1/22/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-12, 15-19, 22, 24-28, and 31-32 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10-13 of the remarks, in regard to the independent claims, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goektepe et al. US 20220369136 (hereinafter “Goektepe”).
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Goektepe separately discloses the small data transmission and the stopping criterion for monitoring and does not disclose any relation between them.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding (1), as shown in FIG. 21 and mentioned in [0314], Goektepe teaches the gNB sending an indication of small data location while the UE is in "RRC_INACTIVE" state and the UE monitors and finds the indicated location of small data at PO2. The UE then monitors a specific location to find small data which maps to "monitor the paging channel during a subset of one or more first occasions". The Examiner interpreted the limitation as if the UE is configured to transmit/receive small data while it is in inactive state, the UE monitors a specific location for small data (or find information on where small data is located within a subset of occasions). Therefore, Goektepe discloses a relation between small data transmission and adjusting the monitoring of the paging channel based on small data indication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12, 17-19, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goektepe et al. US 20220369136 (hereinafter “Goektepe”).
As to claim 1 and 17 (claim 1 is the method claim for the network node in claim 17):
Goektepe discloses:
A method performed by a first network node, the method being for configuring a wireless device (“A UE may be configured with CG(s) by RRC signaling at some time and the CG(s) may be periodically used by the UE.”, Goektepe [0060]) the first network node operating in the wireless communications network, the method comprising: configuring the wireless device with one or more configured grants to transmit data in inactive state (“An embodiment may have a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system including one or more base stations, wherein the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state or in an RRC_IDLE state and is to monitor one or more paging occasions, wherein the UE is to perform one or more uplink, UL, transmissions to the base station without entering an RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g., using a configured grant, CG, or pre-configured resources”, Goektepe [0011]), the data having a size smaller than a threshold, (“In a wireless communication system or network, like the one described above with reference to FIG. 1, transmissions may be performed, which are referred to as a small data transmission, i.e., for transmissions in which the amount of data to be transmitted is below a certain threshold”, Goektepe [0058]) the one or more configured grants being configured by the first network node with a relation to one or more occasions to monitor a paging channel between the first network node and the wireless device. (“The present invention provides (see for example claim 1) a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system including one or more base stations, [0065] wherein the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state or in an RRC_IDLE state and is to monitor one or more paging occasions, [0066] wherein the UE is to perform one or more uplink, UL, transmissions to the base station without entering an RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g., using a configured grant, CG, or pre-configured resources, [0067] wherein the UE is to monitor one or more paging occasions following the one or more UL transmissions for a message from the base station, the message being associated with feedback information, e.g., HARQ feedback formation, for the one or more UL transmissions.”, Goektepe [0064])
wherein the relation is, with the proviso that the wireless device is configured with one or more first configured grants to transmit data in inactive state, the data having a size smaller than the threshold, an instruction to one of: i. disable monitoring of the paging channel for the one or more configured grants, and ii. monitor the paging channel during a subset of one or more first occasions to monitor the paging channel, already configured in the wireless device. (“An embodiment may have a user device, UE, for a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system including one or more base stations, wherein the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state or in an RRC_IDLE state and is to monitor one or more paging occasions, wherein the UE is to perform one or more uplink, UL, transmissions to the base station without entering an RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g., using a configured grant, CG, or pre-configured resources”, Goektepe [0011]) (“In a wireless communication system or network, like the one described above with reference to FIG. 1, transmissions may be performed, which are referred to as a small data transmission, i.e., for transmissions in which the amount of data to be transmitted is below a certain threshold”, Goektepe [0058]) (“In accordance with embodiments, a UE may be provided with a certain stopping criterion to stop monitoring additional paging occasions. More specifically, in case a UE is configured, explicitly or implicitly, with multiple additional paging occasions between default paging occasions, the UE, without a stopping criterion, monitors all additional paging occasions. However, this may lead to unnecessary monitoring actions and associated unnecessary power consumption, for example in case a feedback for an uplink transmission has already been received. In other words, in accordance with embodiments, the UE monitors the additional paging occasions only until it receives a HARQ feedback for the uplink transmission. After that, the UE may return to monitoring only the default paging occasions as calculated, for example, from the paging related parameters. This approach is advantageous as the stopping criterion improves the power efficiency at the UE. The stopping criterion is valid for both explicit and implicit additional monitoring”, Goektepe [0304]) (“FIG. 18(b) illustrates an embodiment in accordance with which only a subset of the additional paging occasions is to be monitored. Again, the gNB configured between adjacent default paging occasions the additional paging occasions, i.e., APO_N=2. However, in the depicted embodiment, UE1 and UE2 are to use only the first additional paging occasion PO.sub.2, PO.sub.5 and the second additional paging occasion PO.sub.3, PO.sub.6, respectively, so that the UE1 is configured with a bitmap having a value of “10” indicating that only the first additional paging occasion PO.sub.2, PO.sub.5 is to be monitored by the UE1, but not the second additional paging occasion PO.sub.3, PO.sub.6, as indicated by the dashed representation of the additional paging occasions PO.sub.3, PO.sub.6. UE 2 is provided with a bit map having a value of “01” indicating that only the second paging occasion PO.sub.3, PO.sub.6 is to be monitored, but not the first additional paging occasion PO.sub.2, PO.sub.5, as indicated by the dashed representation of the additional paging occasions PO.sub.2, PO.sub.5. FIG. 19(b) illustrates an embodiment in which the respective UEs are to monitor different subsets of the additional paging occasions. UE1, as is illustrated in FIG. 19(b) monitors only the first one of the additional paging occasions PO.sub.2, PO.sub.6 in the respective paging intervals, but not the second and third additional paging occasion PO.sub.3, PO.sub.4, PO.sub.7, PO.sub.8 as indicated by the dashed representation of these additional paging occasions. UE2 monitors two additional paging occasions PO.sub.3, PO.sub.4 and PO.sub.7, PO.sub.8, but not the first additional paging occasion PO.sub.2, PO.sub.6, as indicated by the dashed representation of those additional paging occasions. Thus, For UE1 the bitmap has a value of “100”, and for UE2 the bitmap has a value of “011”.”, Goektepe [0301-0303]) (“FIG. 21 illustrates an embodiment indicating the transmission of data, like small data, in a paging DCI. FIG. 21 shows a UE being in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state and monitoring the default paging occasions PO.sub.1, PO.sub.2, and PO.sub.3 for a paging message or for a paging DCI including, in accordance with the inventive approach, the indication of a small data downlink transmission. At a time t1, the gNB indicates at the second default paging occasion PO.sub.2 the existence of a small downlink message, for example by setting one of the unused bits in the paging DCI transmitted at PO.sub.2 to a specific value. In case the paging DCI also includes the downlink message itself, the UE continues to decode the message until the data is received. In accordance with other embodiments, in which the paging DCI includes the indication where the downlink message may be found, as depicted in FIG. 21, the UE retrieves the respective information about the DCI including the small data, and the UE monitors the indicated location for the additional DCI including the small data which is transmitted by the gNB at time t2. FIG. 21 illustrates the embodiment in which the indication includes the factor k indicating when to expect the small data transmission in the downlink using the DCI/small data message shown in FIG. 21.”, Goektepe [0314])
As to claim 2 and 18 (claim 2 is the method claim for the network node in claim 18):
Goektepe discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the relation is one of:
a fraction of the one or more occasions to monitor the paging channel,
a multiple of the one or more occasions to monitor the paging channel,
an alignment in time with the one or more occasions to monitor the paging channel,
(“In accordance with embodiments (see for example claim 31), the UE is configured by the base station semi-statically, e.g., in an RRC message, or dynamically, e.g., in a DCI, with a subset of the additional paging occasions to be monitored for the message, e.g., using a bitmap indicating among the additional paging occasions those to be used by the UE and those not to be used by the UE.”, Goektepe [0124]) (“In accordance with embodiments, a UE may be provided with a certain stopping criterion to stop monitoring additional paging occasions. More specifically, in case a UE is configured, explicitly or implicitly, with multiple additional paging occasions between default paging occasions, the UE, without a stopping criterion, monitors all additional paging occasions.”, Goektepe [0304]) (“FIG. 18(b) illustrates an embodiment in accordance with which only a subset of the additional paging occasions is to be monitored. Again, the gNB configured between adjacent default paging occasions the additional paging occasions, i.e., APO_N=2. However, in the depicted embodiment, UE1 and UE2 are to use only the first additional paging occasion PO.sub.2, PO.sub.5 and the second additional paging occasion PO.sub.3, PO.sub.6, respectively, so that the UE1 is configured with a bitmap having a value of “10” indicating that only the first additional paging occasion PO.sub.2, PO.sub.5 is to be monitored by the UE1, but not the second additional paging occasion PO.sub.3, PO.sub.6, as indicated by the dashed representation of the additional paging occasions PO.sub.3, PO.sub.6. UE 2 is provided with a bit map having a value of “01” indicating that only the second paging occasion PO.sub.3, PO.sub.6 is to be monitored, but not the first additional paging occasion PO.sub.2, PO.sub.5, as indicated by the dashed representation of the additional paging occasions PO.sub.2, PO.sub.5.”, Goektepe [0301]) (“FIG. 21 illustrates an embodiment indicating the transmission of data, like small data, in a paging DCI. FIG. 21 shows a UE being in the RRC_INACTIVE state or the RRC_IDLE state and monitoring the default paging occasions PO.sub.1, PO.sub.2, and PO.sub.3 for a paging message or for a paging DCI including, in accordance with the inventive approach, the indication of a small data downlink transmission. At a time t1, the gNB indicates at the second default paging occasion PO.sub.2 the existence of a small downlink message, for example by setting one of the unused bits in the paging DCI transmitted at PO.sub.2 to a specific value. In case the paging DCI also includes the downlink message itself, the UE continues to decode the message until the data is received. In accordance with other embodiments, in which the paging DCI includes the indication where the downlink message may be found, as depicted in FIG. 21, the UE retrieves the respective information about the DCI including the small data, and the UE monitors the indicated location for the additional DCI including the small data which is transmitted by the gNB at time t2. FIG. 21 illustrates the embodiment in which the indication includes the factor k indicating when to expect the small data transmission in the downlink using the DCI/small data message shown in FIG. 21.”, Goektepe [0314])
As to claim 3 and 19 (claim 3 is the method claim for the network node in claim 19):
Goektepe discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the configuring is performed via at least one of:
a parameter in a ConfiguredGrantConfig information element, (FIG. 15 shows parameters of CG Config, Goektepe)
and an offset with respect to the one or more occasions to monitor the paging channel. (“In accordance with embodiments (see for example claim 11), in case the feedback information includes scheduling information for a retransmission one or more of the following is indicated: [0080] a time factor indicating when to perform the retransmission with respect to the paging occasion at which the message is received, [0081] a frequency offset with respect to a reference frequency, [0082] an exact time/frequency allocation of the retransmission.”, Goektepe [0079]) (“FIG. 15 illustrates an embodiment of a CG index-based derivation of HARQ process IDs in accordance with which a UE uses the HARQ process ID associated with the CG index used for a transmission. FIG. 15 illustrates two configured grant configurations config #1 and config #2 defining occasions where the UE may transmit small data to the gNB. The configured grants occur with the indicated CG periodicity and the configured grants in accordance with config #1 and in accordance with config #2 are offset with respect to each other, either completely or in part. Within the time period or PO periodicity between two paging occasions PO.sub.1 and PO.sub.2 there are five configured grant occasions available for performing an uplink, three configured grant occasions of config #1 and two configured grant occasions of config #2, referred to in FIG. 15 as CG1 to CG5. When considering the interval between the paging occasions PO.sub.1 and PO.sub.2, the respective configured grant occasions of config #1 and config #2 have assigned therewith respective HARQ process IDs based on the timing the respective configured grant occasions occur. Within the PO interval or PO periodicity between paging occasions PO.sub.1 and PO.sub.2, the first CG occasion CG1 is associated with config #1, for which HARQ process ID=0. The second CG occasion, CG2, is associated with the CG config #2 for which HARQ process ID=1, and so on. In the depicted embodiment it is assumed that there is no data for an uplink transmission to the gNB at occasions CG1, CG3 and CG4, however, following the occasion CG1, data for an uplink becomes available and is transmitted by the UE using occasion CG2 of config #2.”, Goektepe [0275]) (“FIG. 16(a) illustrates this concept in general. The UE has the default paging occasions PO.sub.1, PO.sub.2 and PO.sub.3, and the gNB configures the UE with K additional paging occasions so that APO_N=K. Within the PO interval, i.e., within the period between two subsequent POs, K additional paging occasions are provided, and besides the number of additional paging occasions, the gNB also signals the following information to the UE: The additional information may (1) indicate when to start monitoring these additional PO(s), i.e., an offset value from the current PO, (2) include a PO monitoring based on the configured DRX cycle, e.g., by updating the DRX cycle, the location of the PO(s) is known, and the PO(s) and DRX cycles may always by in sync, (3) indicate which PO(s) to monitor, which may be based on the bitmap as shown in FIG. 18. As mentioned above, at the additional paging occasions, HARQ-feedback related DCIs may be received, thereby providing the HARQ feedback for uplink transmission to the UE to the gNB with a delay that is shorter than the PO periodicity between adjacent default paging occasions.”, Goektepe [0280])
As to claim 10 and 26 (claim 10 is the method claim for the wireless device in claim 26):
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the wireless device.
As to claim 11 and 27 (claim 11 is the method claim for the wireless device in claim 27):
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2 from the perspective of the wireless device.
As to claim 12 and 28 (claim 12 is the method claim for the wireless device in claim 28):
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3 from the perspective of the wireless device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 9, 15, 16, 22, 24, 25, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goektepe, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. US 20210307055 (hereinafter “Tsai”)
As to claim 6 and 22 (claim 6 is the method claim for the network node in claim 22):
Goektepe as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a first indication that the wireless device is configured with one or more first configured grants to transmit data in inactive state, the data having the size smaller than the threshold, and refraining from paging the wireless device, based on the obtained first indication; wherein the method further comprises, based on the obtained first indication; buffering first data to be transmitted to the wireless device, and sending the buffered first data to the wireless device in response to a subsequent configured grant to transmit data in inactive state, the data having a size smaller than the threshold.
However, Tsai further teaches the network node keeping the UE in inactive state after receiving indication that the UE is capable of transmitting small data in inactive state which includes:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining a first indication that the wireless device is configured with one or more first configured grants to transmit data in inactive state, the data having the size smaller than the threshold, (“Small data transmission may use the AS Context ID transmitted in the “first” message for contention resolution (e.g., at least when RACH is used). After the “first” message with small UL data is received, the NW may be able to inform the UE that it may transition to RRC_CONNECTED state via a DL RRC message (e.g., RRCConnectionResume). The “first” message with small UL data may provide information to enable the NW to apply overload control and prioritization, if needed.”, Tsai [0088) (“Transmission of large data may cause a state transition to RRC_CONNECTED state. The state transition may be a NW decision.”, Tsai [0089]) (“The UE may provide in the “first” message with the initial UL data transmission all necessary information to enable the NW to indicate to the UE to transition to RRC_CONNECTED state or to enable the NW to indicate to the UE to remain in RRC_INACTIVE state, e.g., BSR.”, Tsai [0090]) (“The UE may decide whether to use small data transmission based on a threshold related to or associated with at least the amount of data in the UE's buffer. If amount of data is higher than the threshold, UE may initiate an RRC procedure (e.g., a RRC connection resume procedure) to transition to RRC_CONNECTED state.”, Tsai [0098]) (Examiner’s Note: UE informs the network that it has configured grants to transmit small data in inactive state by transmitting “first” message with small UL data)
and refraining from paging the wireless device, based on the obtained first indication; (“The UE may provide in the “first” message with the initial UL data transmission all necessary information to enable the NW to indicate to the UE to transition to RRC_CONNECTED state or to enable the NW to indicate to the UE to remain in RRC_INACTIVE state, e.g., BSR.”, Tsai [0090]) (Examiner’s Note: the NW decides to either keep the UE in inactive state or wake up the UE)
wherein the method further comprises, based on the obtained first indication;
buffering first data to be transmitted to the wireless device, and sending the buffered first data to the wireless device in response to a subsequent configured grant to transmit data in inactive state, the data having a size smaller than the threshold. (“The UE AS context identifier (e.g., UE Inactive AS Context) used for UL data transmission in RRC_INACTIVE state may be the same as the context identifier used in state transition from RRC_INACTIVE state to RRC_CONNECTED state. The UE AS context may be located and identified in the NW via an “AS Context ID”, which may be allocated by the NW and stored in the UE (and the NW) when the UE transitions to RRC_INACTIVE state and used to locate the AS context when the UE either tries to transmit small data and/or to perform a transition to RRC_CONNECTED state. The UE AS Context may be stored in an “anchor”/source gNB and may be fetched to the new serving gNB when needed upon the triggering of small data transmission and/or transition from RRC_INACTIVE state to RRC_CONNECTED state.”, Tsai [0087]) (“Small data transmission may use the AS Context ID transmitted in the “first” message for contention resolution (e.g., at least when RACH is used). After the “first” message with small UL data is received, the NW may be able to inform the UE that it may transition to RRC_CONNECTED state via a DL RRC message (e.g., RRCConnectionResume). The “first” message with small UL data may provide information to enable the NW to apply overload control and prioritization, if needed.”, Tsai [0088) (“Transmission of large data may cause a state transition to RRC_CONNECTED state. The state transition may be a NW decision.”, Tsai [0089]) (“The UE may provide in the “first” message with the initial UL data transmission all necessary information to enable the NW to indicate to the UE to transition to RRC_CONNECTED state or to enable the NW to indicate to the UE to remain in RRC_INACTIVE state, e.g., BSR.”, Tsai [0090]) (“The UE may decide whether to use small data transmission based on a threshold related to or associated with at least the amount of data in the UE's buffer. If amount of data is higher than the threshold, UE may initiate an RRC procedure (e.g., a RRC connection resume procedure) to transition to RRC_CONNECTED state.”, Tsai [0098]) (Examiner’s Note: UE informs the network that it has configured grants to transmit small data in inactive state by transmitting “first” message with small UL data and data is generally buffered/stored by the network before transmission)
Tsai and Goektepe are analogous because they pertain to small data transmission in inactive state.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the network node keeping the UE in inactive state after receiving indication that the UE is capable of transmitting small data in inactive state as described in Tsai into Goektepe. By modifying the method to include the network node keeping the UE in inactive state after receiving indication that the UE is capable of transmitting small data in inactive state as taught by Tsai, the benefits of reduced power consumption (Tsai [0183]) and Goektepe [0299]) are achieved.
As to claim 8 and 24 (claim 8 is the method claim for the network node in claim 24)
Goektepe as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the configuring comprises sending an indication and the indication is a second indication, and wherein method further comprises at least one of: sending a third indication to a second network node, the third indication indicating that the wireless device is configured with one or more configured grants to transmit data in inactive state, and sending a fourth indication to the second network node, the fourth indication indicating that a configuration of one or more configured grants to transmit data in inactive state by the wireless device has been cancelled or released.
However, Tsai further teaches another network node going through the same process mentioned above which includes:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the configuring comprises sending an indication and the indication is a second indication, and wherein method further comprises at least one of: (“More specifically, the UE may (re)initialize the first CG configuration and/or another CG configuration when the UE successfully enters/camps on a second cell.”, Tsai [0283]) (“The UE may release the CG configuration in a case that the UE leaves the cell (e.g., a first cell) to another cell (e.g., a second cell). Specifically, the first cell may be a cell which provides/configures the CG configuration.”, Tsai [0310])
sending a third indication to a second network node, the third indication indicating that the wireless device is configured with one or more configured grants to transmit data in inactive state, and sending a fourth indication to the second network node, the fourth indication indicating that a configuration of one or more configured grants to transmit data in inactive state by the wireless device has been cancelled or released. (“Small data transmission may use the AS Context ID transmitted in the “first” message for contention resolution (e.g., at least when RACH is used). After the “first” message with small UL data is received, the NW may be able to inform the UE that it may transition to RRC_CONNECTED state via a DL RRC message (e.g., RRCConnectionResume). The “first” message with small UL data may provide information to enable the NW to apply overload control and prioritization, if needed.”, Tsai [0088]) (“MSG 3/MSGA (“RRC Connection Resume Request”) may include at least the required information for the NW to perform contention resolution, identify the UE AS context and verify the correct UE. The UE may be able to encrypt the small UL data transmission in RRC_INACTIVE state.”, Tsai [0101]) (“The UE may provide information to enable the NW to decide whether to have the UE transition from RRC_INACTIVE state or transition to RRC_CONNECTED state.”, Tsai [0105]) (Examiner’s Note: UE can migrate to another network node and go through the same process again. The UE also sends multiple messages related to transmitting data while it is in inactive state to the network )
Tsai and Goektepe are analogous because they pertain to small data transmission in inactive state.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include another network node going through the same process mentioned above as described in Tsai into Goektepe. By modifying the method to include another network node going through the same process mentioned above as taught by Tsai, the benefits of reduced power consumption (Tsai [0183]) and Goektepe [0299]) are achieved.
As to claim 9 and 25 (claim 9 is the method claim for the network node in claim 25):
Goektepe as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the relation further specifies that with the proviso that a number of one or more first configured grants to transmit data in inactive state is skipped, the wireless device is to monitor a subset of the configured one or more configured grants to transmit data in inactive state for downlink transmissions from the first network node
However, Tsai further teaches skipping transmission and monitoring CG for transmitting data in inactive state which includes:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the relation further specifies that with the proviso that a number of one or more first configured grants to transmit data in inactive state is skipped, the wireless device is to monitor a subset of the configured one or more configured grants to transmit data in inactive state for downlink transmissions from the first network node.(“The key enablers for small data transmission in NR, specifically the RRC_INACTIVE state, 2-step RACH, 4-step RACH and CG type-1 may have already been specified. The present disclosure builds on these concepts to enable small data transmission in RRC_INACTIVE state for NR.”, Tsai [0041]) (“The UE may determine whether to release/suspend/deactivate the CG configuration based on the measurement of SINR. More specifically, the UE may be configured with a threshold. If the measured SINR is lower or higher than threshold, the UE may release/suspend the CG configuration. Alternatively, if the change/difference of the SINR (measured on different time) is higher or lower than a threshold, the UE may release/suspend the CG configuration.”, Tsai [0258]) (“The UE may maintain a count of how many times (UL/DL) transmission (via the CG resource) has failed to (e.g., if the UE could not receive the feedback for the transmission from the NW, such as during a time window, the UE may consider the transmission as failed). If a number (or a counter) reaches a specific value (which may be configured by the NW), the UE may release/suspend the CG configuration.”, Tsai [0262]) (“If the UE skips an UL transmission (via CG resource), e.g., due to no data arrival, the UE may or may not increment the number (or the counter).”, Tsai [0267]) (“More specifically, the number and/or the counter may be reset when the UE receives an indication from the NW, where the indication may be used to (re-)configure/(re-)initialize the corresponding CG. For example, the indication may be a RRC release message (e.g., also called RRC release) and/or a suspend command (e.g., IE suspendConfig) and/or a specific configuration for small data transmission.”, Tsai [0270])
Tsai and Goektepe are analogous because they pertain to small data transmission in inactive state.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include skipping transmission and monitoring CG for transmitting data in inactive state as described in Tsai into Goektepe. By modifying the method to include skipping transmission and monitoring CG for transmitting data in inactive state as taught by Tsai, the benefits of reduced power consumption (Tsai [0183]) and Goektepe [0299]) are achieved.
As to claim 15 and 31 (claim 15 is the method claim for the wireless device in claim 31):
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6 from the perspective of the wireless device.
As to claim 16 and 32 (claim 16 is the method claim for the wireless device in claim 32):
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 9 from the perspective of the wireless device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471