Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 39 and 47 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 39 and 47 recite the acronyms without the description of each acronym. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 18, 36, 42 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bergstorm et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0223178 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Bergstrom discloses a method performed by an access node (See Bergstrom; Fig. 2; eNodeB 14) for a wireless network, the method comprising:
receiving an uplink reference signal from a User Equipment, UE (See Par. [10], [32], [119], [188] of Bergstrom for a reference to network node adapts its receiver and receives uplink transmissions, which may be a reference signal, from the wireless device after determining timing adjustment information tied to uplink timing);
deriving timing-related information based on the uplink reference signal in
accordance with a defined uplink signal timing detection error requirement (See Par. [135]-[138] of Bergstrom for a reference to the network node determining a timing adjustment parameter for uplink signal transmission and signaling the rule/value/parameter back to the wireless device), the defined uplink signal timing detection error requirement being a function of:
a subcarrier spacing used for the uplink reference signal such that the uplink
signal timing detection error requirement is inversely related to the subcarrier
spacing used for the uplink reference signal (See Par. [29], [87]-[88], [105] of Bergstrom for a reference to the timing accuracy/validity is determined according to numerology that includes, among others, subcarrier spacing); or
a total bandwidth occupied by the uplink reference signal such that the uplink
signal timing detection error requirement is inversely related to the total
bandwidth occupied by the uplink reference signal (See Par. [27], [165], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to timing error limit may be a function of both numerology and bandwidth and further states the timing adjustment parameter may be determined based on uplink or downlink bandwidth); or
both the subcarrier spacing used for the uplink reference signal and the total
bandwidth occupied by the uplink reference signal (See Par. [27], [87]-[88], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to timing error limit may be a function of both numerology, including Subcarrier Spacing, and bandwidth and further states the timing adjustment parameter may be determined based on uplink or downlink bandwidth); and
sending the timing-related information to the UE (See Par. [29], [88], [182], [190] of Bergstrom for a reference to the network node transmits to the wireless device a rule, predefined value, or timing adjustment parameter based on numerology).
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 18.
Regarding claim 42, Bergstrom discloses a method performed by a User Equipment, UE (See Bergstrom; Fig. 2; Wireless device 12a), comprising:
receiving a downlink signal from an access node (See Par. [10], [32], [119], [188] of Bergstrom for a reference to the wireless device adapts its receiver and receives downlink transmissions, which may be a reference signal, from the BS after determining timing adjustment information tied to downlink timing); and
deriving timing-related information based on the downlink signal, in accordance
with a downlink signal timing detection error requirement (See Par. [135]-[138], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to a wireless device determining timing adjustment parameters based on downlink numerology and downlink bandwidth, including a rule or predefined value received from a network node) that is a function of:
a subcarrier spacing used for the downlink signal such that the downlink signal
timing detection error requirement is inversely related to the subcarrier spacing
used for the downlink signal (See Par. [29], [87]-[88], [105] of Bergstrom for a reference to the timing accuracy/validity is determined according to numerology of the downlink signal that includes, among others, subcarrier spacing); or
a total bandwidth occupied by the downlink signal such that the downlink signal
timing detection error requirement is inversely related to the total bandwidth
occupied by the downlink signal (See Par. [27], [165], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to timing error limit may be a function of both numerology and bandwidth and further states the timing adjustment parameter may be determined based on uplink or downlink bandwidth); or
both the subcarrier spacing used for the downlink signal and the total bandwidth
occupied by the downlink signal (See Par. [27], [87]-[88], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to timing error limit may be a function of both numerology, including Subcarrier Spacing, and bandwidth and further states the timing adjustment parameter may be determined based on uplink or downlink bandwidth).
Regarding claim 46, Bergstrom discloses method performed by a User Equipment, UE (See Bergstrom; Fig. 2; Wireless device 12a), comprising:
transmitting an uplink signal to an access node, in accordance with an uplink signal
transmit timing error requirement that initial UE transmission error is ±TₑTₛN (See Par. [10], [32], [119], [188] of Bergstrom for a reference to the wireless device adjusts timing with specified relative accuracy to the signaled timing advance value and transmits the uplink signals according to the adjusted uplink transmit timing) where TₑTSN is a UE transmit timing error limit value that is a function of:
a subcarrier spacing used for the uplink signal (See Par. [29], [87]-[88], [105] of Bergstrom for a reference to tie timing accuracy / TA granularity to subcarrier spacing, with larger subcarrier spacing requiring finer timing granularity); or
a total bandwidth occupied by the uplink signal (See Par. [27], [165], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to the timing error limit may be a function of numerology and bandwidth and that the timing parameter may be determined based on uplink bandwidth); or both the subcarrier spacing used for the uplink signal and the total bandwidth
occupied by the uplink signal (See Par. [27], [87]-[88], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to timing error limit may be a function of both numerology, including Subcarrier Spacing, and bandwidth and further states the timing adjustment parameter may be determined based on uplink or downlink bandwidth).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 19 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al. in view of Cha et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0309050 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Bergstrom does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink reference signal is a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS.
However, Cha discloses wherein the uplink reference signal is a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS (See Par. [183] of Cha for a reference to the UL reference signal may be a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) or a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha to Bergstrom. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving UE location estimation through using additional UE measurements. (Cha; Par. [175])
Regarding claim 47, Bergstrom does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink signal is: CSI-RS, PRS, DMRS, TRS, or any combination thereof.
However, Cha discloses wherein the uplink signal is: CSI-RS, PRS, DMRS,
TRS, or any combination thereof (See Par. [183] of Cha for a reference to the UL reference signal may be a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) or a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha to Bergstrom. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving UE location estimation through using additional UE measurements. (Cha; Par. [175])
9. Claims 38 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al. (US. Pub. No. 2012/0258733 A1) in view of Bergstrom et al..
Regarding claim 38, Fischer discloses a method performed by an access node (See Fischer; Fig. 2; BS 210) for a wireless network, the method comprising:
measuring a receive timing of an uplink subframe containing an uplink signal
associated with a User Equipment, UE (See par. [33], [41], [48], [57] of Fischer for a reference to LTE timing advance as involving the difference between eNB Rx-Tx and UE Rx-Tx time differences, i.e., timing measurements tied to UL and DL propagation for positioning);
measuring a transmit timing of a downlink subframe that is closest in time to the
uplink subframe containing the uplink signal associated with the UE (See par. [26], [48], [56]-[57] of Fischer for a reference to timing offset between DL reception and UL transmission and use of eNB Rx-Tx/UE Rx-Tx timing differences for positioning);
deriving Receive-to-Transmit, Rx-Tx, timing of the access node based on the
measured receive timing and the measured transmit timing (See par. [30], [33], [44] of Fischer for a reference to timing advance in LTE is defined as the time interval or difference between eNB Rx-Tx time difference and UE Rx-Tx time difference);
Fischer does not explicitly disclose wherein the Rx-Tx timing is derived in accordance with a defined Rx-Tx timing accuracy requirement that is a function of:
(a) uplink signal Signal to Interference Plus Noise, SINR, Ês/Iot, where Ês is
Received energy per Resource Element (RE) and lot is a received power
spectral density of a total noise and interference for a certain RE;
(b) uplink signal Io range, where Io is a total received power density, including
signal and interference, as measured at a UE antenna connector of the UE;
(c) uplink signal transmission bandwidth;
(d) uplink signal subcarrier spacing;
(e) downlink signal subcarrier spacing;
(f) whether Frequency Division Duplexing, FDD, or Time Domain Duplexing,
TDD, is used
(g) whether the access node is operating in frequency range 1, FR1, or frequency
range 2, FR2;
(h) an operating band of the access node;
(i) an operating band combination being used;
(j) a configured maximum transmission power of the UE;
(k) a configured maximum transmission power of the UE on a serving cell of the
UE; or (1) any two or more of (a)-(k).
However, Bergstrom discloses (c) uplink signal transmission bandwidth (See Par. [27], [165], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to timing error limit may be a function of both numerology and bandwidth and further states the timing adjustment parameter may be determined based on uplink or downlink bandwidth);
(d) uplink signal subcarrier spacing; (e) downlink signal subcarrier spacing (See Par. [29], [87]-[88], [105] of Bergstrom for a reference to the timing accuracy/validity is determined according to numerology that includes, among others, subcarrier spacing). [Alternatives c-e are cited]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bergstrom to Fischer. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by providing autonomous timing adjustment under various numerologies. (Bergstrom; Par. [60])
Regarding claim 50, Fischer discloses a method performed by a User Equipment (See Fischer; Fig. 2; UE 205), UE, for a wireless network, the method comprising:
measuring a receive timing of a downlink subframe containing a downlink signal
received from an access node (See par. [33], [41], [48], [57] of Fischer for a reference to LTE timing advance is measured, by the UE, as the difference between eNB Rx-Tx and UE Rx-Tx time differences, i.e., timing measurements tied to UL and DL propagation for positioning);
measuring a transmit timing of an uplink subframe that is closest in time to the
downlink subframe containing the downlink signal (See par. [26], [48], [56]-[57] of Fischer for a reference to timing offset between DL reception and UL transmission and use of eNB Rx-Tx/UE Rx-Tx timing differences for positioning is measured by the UE);
deriving Receive-to-Transmit, Rx-Tx, timing of the UE based on the measured
receive timing and the measured transmit timing (See par. [30], [33], [44] of Fischer for a reference to timing advance in LTE is defined as the time interval or difference between eNB Rx-Tx time difference and UE Rx-Tx time difference);
Fischer does not explicitly disclose wherein the Rx-Tx timing is derived in accordance with a defined Rx-Tx timing accuracy requirement that is a function of:
(a) uplink signal Signal to Interference Plus Noise, SINR, Ês/Iot, where Ês is
Received energy per Resource Element (RE) and lot is a received power
spectral density of a total noise and interference for a certain RE;
(b) uplink signal Io range, where Io is a total received power density, including
signal and interference, as measured at a UE antenna connector of the UE;
(c) uplink signal transmission bandwidth;
(d) uplink signal subcarrier spacing;
(e) downlink signal subcarrier spacing;
(f) whether Frequency Division Duplexing, FDD, or Time Domain Duplexing,
TDD, is used
(g) whether the access node is operating in frequency range 1, FR1, or frequency
range 2, FR2;
(h) an operating band of the access node;
(i) an operating band combination being used;
(j) a configured maximum transmission power of the UE;
(k) a configured maximum transmission power of the UE on a serving cell of the
UE; or (1) any two or more of (a)-(k).
However, Bergstrom discloses (c) uplink signal transmission bandwidth (See Par. [27], [165], [182], [185] of Bergstrom for a reference to timing error limit may be a function of both numerology and bandwidth and further states the timing adjustment parameter may be determined based on uplink or downlink bandwidth);
(d) uplink signal subcarrier spacing; (e) downlink signal subcarrier spacing (See Par. [29], [87]-[88], [105] of Bergstrom for a reference to the timing accuracy/validity is determined according to numerology that includes, among others, subcarrier spacing). [Alternatives c-e are cited]
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bergstrom to Fischer. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by providing autonomous timing adjustment under various numerologies. (Bergstrom; Par. [60])
10. Claims 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al. in view of Bergstrom et al. and further in view of Cha et al..
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Fischer and Bergstrom does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink signal is a PRACH preamble, a PUCCH signal, a PUSCH signal, a SRS, a DMRS, or a PTRS.
However, Cha discloses wherein the uplink signal is a PRACH preamble, a PUCCH signal, a PUSCH signal, a SRS, a DMRS, or a PTRS, SRS (See Par. [183] of Cha for a reference to the UL reference signal may be a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) or a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cha to the combination of Fischer and Bergstrom. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving UE location estimation through using additional UE measurements. (Cha; Par. [175])
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aldana et al. (US 2023/0396474 Al) teaches techniques for wireless communication on New Radio unlicensed (NR-U) spectrum.
Tang (US 2022/0104160 A1) teaches a latency compensation method, a device and a storage medium.
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2020/0314793 Al) teaches systems and architectures to support location services in a 5G Next Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413