DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 9, 18 and 21 have been cancelled; claims 1 and 10 have been amended; and claims 1-8, 10-17, 19-20, and 22-23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-17, 19-20, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2021/0391407 A1) in view of HU (WO 2022/160087 A1, however, its US equivalent Pat. No. 11869268 B2 is used for the rejection, hereinafter “HU”).
In regards to claim 1, Yoon discloses (See, for example, Fig. 7) a display panel (10) comprising:
a substrate (100);
a driving circuit layer (PCL) arranged on the substrate (100), an orthographic projection of the driving circuit layer (PCL) on the substrate (100) defining a plurality of light-transmissive zones (TA, See also Pars [0062], [0071], [0146]);
a pixel defining layer (119) arranged on a side of the driving circuit layer (PCL) away from the substrate (100);
wherein the pixel defining layer (119) is provided therein with a plurality of light-irradiating openings (the pixel-defining layer 119 is provided with a plurality of openings, including third holes H3 arranged in the transmission areas TA through which light irradiates (i.e., light is output from the component 40 to the outside or progresses from the outside toward the component 40) (Pars [0161], [0062]). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, "light-irradiating openings" encompasses openings through which light radiates, including the third holes H3 in the pixel-defining layer 119 that permit light transmission through the transmission areas TA) and a plurality of pixel openings (the pixel defining layer 119 is provided with a plurality of pixel openings OP1 and OP2);
an orthogonal projection of a light-irradiating opening on the substrate is located in a light-transmissive zone (TA, the third holes H3 of the pixel-defining layer 119 overlap the first holes H1 of the inorganic insulating layer IIL (Par [0161]: "The third hole H3 may overlap the first hole H1 and the second hole H2"). Accordingly, the orthogonal projection of a third hole H3 (light-irradiating opening) on the substrate 100 is located within the light-transmissive zone defined by the corresponding first hole H1);
and a shape of the orthogonal projection of the light-irradiating opening on the substrate is substantially same as a shape of the light-transmissive zone (the first through third holes H1 through H3 each correspond to the transmission area TA and overlap one another (Pars [0146], [0161]). Yoon further discloses that the shape and size of the transmission area TA may be defined by the shape and size of the bottom hole BMLH in the bottom metal layer BML (See, Par [0173]), and that the transmission hole TAH (formed collectively in the functional layers and opposite electrode above the pixel-defining layer) overlaps the transmission area TA (Par [0171]). Since the first holes H1 and third holes H3 both correspond to and overlap the same transmission area TA, the shape of the orthogonal projection of the third hole H3 on the substrate is substantially the same as the shape of the light-transmissive zone defined by the first hole H1. See FIG. 7, showing the aligned and similarly-shaped holes H1, H2, and H3 all corresponding to the transmission area TA).
However, Yoon is silent about the light-transmissive zone is located between orthogonal projections of two adjacent pixel openings of a row of pixel openings on the substrate.
HU while disclosing a display panel teaches (See, for example, Fig. 12) the light-transmissive zone (111) is located between orthogonal projections of two adjacent pixel openings (112) of a row of pixel openings on the substrate (See. Figs. 3, 6, and 12; See also, claims 1-3, and 11-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to locate Yoon’s light-transmissive zone between two adjacent pixel openings of a row, as taught by HU for the purpose of forming a light path allowing light to sufficiently reach the photosensitive device, thereby improving sensing efficiency and accuracy.
In regards to claim 5, Yoon teaches (See, for example, Fig. 9) wherein the driving circuit layer includes a plurality of pixel circuits arranged in multiple rows and multiple columns (pixel circuit areas PCA arranged in rows and columns in the main display area MDA and the component area CA, Par[0106], Par [0108]; see also FIGS. 5);
first scanning signal lines extending substantially along a row direction in which the plurality of pixel circuits are arranged (scan lines SLa extending in the x-direction (row direction), the scan lines SLa being electrically connected to main pixel circuits of the main sub-pixels Pm arranged on the same row, Par [0196]);
and second scanning signal lines extending substantially along the row direction (scan lines SLb extending in the x-direction, the scan lines SLb being electrically connected to main pixel circuits and auxiliary pixel circuits arranged on the same row inside the main display area MDA and the component area CA, Par [0196]),
wherein the light-transmissive zone is located between a first scanning signal line and a second scanning signal line that are adjacent (the scan lines SLa arranged between the pixel groups PG that are apart from each other may be biased on the bottom side, and the scan lines SLb may be biased on the top side, Par [0200]; accordingly, in the component area CA, the transmission area TA is located between an adjacent pair of scan lines SLa and SLb that are offset in opposite directions to maximize the clear aperture of the transmission area);
and the light-irradiating opening is substantially parallel to opposite edges of an orthographic projection of a second set line segment of the first scanning signal line on the substrate (the transmission area TA is adjacent to the scan line SLa that is biased to one side, the edges of the light-irradiating opening corresponding to the transmission area TA run substantially parallel to the line segments of SLa that border the transmission area, See Pars [0199]–[0200]);
and the light-irradiating opening is substantially parallel to opposite edges of an orthographic projection of a third set line segment of the second scanning signal line on the substrate (similarly, the transmission area TA is adjacent to the opposite side by the scan line SLb biased to the other side, the edges of the light-irradiating opening run substantially parallel to the line segments of SLb that border the transmission area on the opposite side, Pars[0199]-[0200]).
In regards to claim 6, Yoon teaches (see, for example, Fig. 9) wherein the first scanning signal line includes second straight line segments and second bent segments that are alternately connected (“ the scan lines SL and the data lines DL arranged in the component area CA may be appropriately bent”, See Par [0199]; the scan lines SLa extend generally in the x-direction but must route around the transmission areas TA, and thus include straight segments running in the x-direction and bent segments deviating therefrom, alternately connected as the scan lines traverse through the component area CA);
the second scanning signal line includes third straight line segments and third bent segments that are alternately connected (similarly, the scan lines SLb are also appropriately bent in the component area CA, See Par [0199], including straight segments and bent segments alternately connected);
and a second bent segment and a third bent segment that are adjacent are bent toward directions away from each other (“the scan lines SLa arranged between the pixel groups PG that are apart from each other may be biased on the bottom side, and the scan lines SLb may be biased on the top side”, See Par[0200]; accordingly, in a pair of adjacent scan lines SLa and SLb flanking a transmission area TA, the bent segment of SLa bends downward while the bent segment of SLb bends upward, i.e., toward directions away from each other); and
the second set line segment includes at least a portion of the second bent segment (the second set line segment of the first scanning signal line SLa, whose orthographic projection is parallel to the light-irradiating opening, includes at least a portion of the bent segment of SLa that deviates toward the bottom side to define the boundary of the transmission area TA, See Par [0200]);
and the third set line segment includes the third bent segment and a portion of the third straight line segment (the third set line segment of the second scanning signal line SLb includes the bent segment of SLb that deviates toward the top side as well as a portion of the straight line segment of SLb connecting to the bent segment … the straight segment of SLb also runs along the edge of the transmission area TA and its orthographic projection is parallel to the light-irradiating opening, See Pars [0196] and [0200]).
In regards to claim 7, Yoon teaches (See, for example, fig. 9) wherein the second bent segment includes a first reset trace segment, a second reset trace segment, a third reset trace segment, a fourth reset trace segment, a fifth reset trace segment, a sixth reset trace segment, and a seventh reset trace segment that are connected in sequence (as shown in FIG. 9, the scan lines SLa in the component area CA must route around multiple transmission areas TA and pixel groups PG in a complex path; the bent segments of SLa include multiple directional changes as the scan line navigates between adjacent pixel groups PG, tracing a path that moves laterally away from the transmission area, runs parallel to the row direction in an offset position, jogs further outward around the pixel group, runs parallel again at a greater offset, then returns through a symmetric set of transitions, yielding seven sequential trace segments, See also Pars [0199]-[0200]),
wherein the first reset trace segment and the seventh reset trace segment are respectively connected to second straight line segments on both sides of the second bent segment (the first and seventh trace segments transition between the straight portions of SLa on either side of the bent segment, connecting the bent segment to the adjacent straight line segments);
an extending direction of the second reset trace segment, the fourth reset trace segment and the sixth reset trace segment is substantially same as an extending direction of the second straight line segments (these trace segments run substantially in the x-direction, the same direction as the straight line segments of the scan line Par [0192]);
and the second reset trace segment and the sixth reset trace segment are farther away from the second scanning signal line than the second straight line segments (the scan line SLa is biased on the bottom side, See Par [0200], the second and sixth trace segments are offset downward away from the scan line SLb, placing them farther from SLb than the undeflected straight line segments);
the fourth reset trace segment is farther away from the second scanning signal line than the second reset trace segment and the sixth reset trace segment (the fourth trace segment represents the maximum offset of the bent segment, being the portion of SLa that passes closest to the pixel group PG and thus farthest from the scan line SLb on the opposite side of the transmission area TA); and
the second set line segment includes the fourth reset line segment, a portion of the third reset line segment, and a portion of the fifth reset line segment (the second set line segment, whose orthographic projection is parallel to the light-irradiating opening as mapped in claims 5 and 6, includes the maximally offset fourth trace segment and portions of the adjacent third and fifth trace segments that transition to and from this maximum offset, as these are the segments that define the edge of the scan line closest to the transmission area TA).
In regards to claim 8, Yoon teaches (See, for example, fig. 9) teaches wherein the third bent segment includes a first scanning trace segment, a second scanning trace segment, and a third scanning trace segment (as shown in FIG. 9, the scan lines SLb in the component area CA include bent segments that route around the transmission areas TA; the bent portion of SLb comprises a first angled trace segment transitioning away from the straight-line path, a second trace segment running in the offset position, and a third angled trace segment transitioning back, the three trace segments connected in sequence, See also Par [0199]-[0200]), wherein
the first scanning trace segment and the third scanning trace segment are respectively connected to third straight line segments on both sides of the third bent segment (the first and third scanning trace segments connect to the straight portions of SLb on either side of the bent segment);
and an extending direction of the second scanning trace segment is substantially same as an extending direction of the third straight line segments (the second scanning trace segment runs substantially in the x-direction, the same direction as the straight line segments of SLb, See also Pars [0191]-[0192]);
and the second scanning trace segment is farther away from the first scanning signal line than the third straight line segments (the scan lines SLb may be biased on the top side Par[0200], the offset second scanning trace segment of SLb is displaced upward away from the scan line SLa, placing the second scanning trace segment farther from SLa than the undeflected third straight line segments; this lateral offset creates the widened gap for the transmission area TA between the adjacent scan lines).
In regards to claim 10, Yoon teaches (See, for example, Figs. 5 and 7) wherein the plurality of pixel openings include a plurality of first pixel openings, a plurality of second pixel openings, a plurality of third pixel openings, and a plurality of fourth pixel openings (the main sub-pixels Pm include red sub-pixels Pr, green sub-pixels Pg, and blue sub-pixels Pb [Par 0107], and the pixel-defining layer 119 includes openings corresponding to each of these sub-pixels; in the PENTILE structure, the red sub-pixels Pr and blue sub-pixels Pb are arranged on first sub-rows 1SN, while green sub-pixels Pg are arranged on second sub-rows 2SN, See Par [0108]; the openings corresponding to these four types of sub-pixel positions — red on odd rows, blue on odd rows, green on even rows at one column position, and green on even rows at another column position — constitute first, second, third, and fourth pixel openings, respectively),
wherein the plurality of first pixel openings and the plurality of second pixel openings are arranged in multiple rows and multiple columns, each row includes multiple first pixel openings and multiple second pixel openings that are arranged alternately, and each column includes multiple first pixel openings and multiple second pixel openings that are arranged alternately (“red sub-pixels Pr and blue sub-pixels Pb are alternately arranged on a first sub-row 1SN of each row N”, See Par [0108], and further that “the red sub-pixels Pr and the blue sub-pixels Pb are alternately arranged on …. a first column 1M ….and the third column 3M”, See Par [0108]; this alternating arrangement in both the row and column directions is repeated up to the N-th row and M-th column); and
the plurality of third pixel openings and the plurality of fourth pixel openings are arranged in multiple rows and multiple columns, each row includes multiple third pixel openings and multiple fourth pixel openings that are arranged alternately, and each column includes multiple third pixel openings and multiple fourth pixel openings that are arranged alternately (“green sub-pixels Pg are apart from each other with a preset interval on a second sub-row 2SN”, See Par [0108]; green sub-pixels on adjacent second sub-rows occupy alternating column positions, resulting in two sets of green pixel openings — those on even-numbered second sub-rows and those on odd-numbered second sub-rows — that alternate in both the row direction and column direction); and
a third pixel opening is located between first pixel openings and second pixel openings that are arranged in two rows and two columns, and a fourth pixel opening adjacent thereto is located between first pixel openings and second pixel openings that are arranged in another two rows and two columns (the PENTILE structure in which red sub-pixels Pr are respectively arranged on first and third vertexes of a virtual quadrangle VS with a green sub-pixel Pg centered at the center of the virtual quadrangle VS, and blue sub-pixels Pb are respectively arranged on second and fourth vertexes, See Pars [0109]-[0110]; accordingly, each green sub-pixel (third or fourth pixel opening) is located at the center of a group of four surrounding red and blue sub-pixels arranged in two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns; adjacent green sub-pixels correspond to adjacent but different groups of surrounding red/blue sub-pixels as shown in Fig. 5).
In regards to claim 11, Yoon teaches (See, for example, Figs. 6) wherein the light-irradiating opening is located between a first pixel opening and a second pixel opening that are adjacent in a row direction in which the pluralities of first pixel openings and second pixel openings are arranged (in the component area CA, the auxiliary display areas ADA and the transmission areas TA may be alternately arranged in the x-direction and the y-direction, See Par[0114]; as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the transmission areas TA are located between pixel groups PG containing auxiliary sub-pixels Pa that include red sub-pixels Pr and blue sub-pixels Pb; accordingly, the light-irradiating opening corresponding to a transmission area TA is located between a first pixel opening (for example, corresponding to Pr) and a second pixel opening (for example, corresponding to Pb) that are adjacent in the x-direction (row direction); see FIGS. 6A, 6B).
In regards to claim 12, Yoon discloses all limitations of claim 11 above but fails to explicitly teach wherein an orthogonal projection, on the substrate, of each of the first pixel opening, the second pixel opening, the third pixel opening, and the fourth pixel opening is substantially circular.
However, it is well known and conventional in the OLED display art that pixel openings in a pixel defining layer are formed with substantially circular shapes to provide uniform current distribution across the emission area and to reduce edge effects in the organic light-emitting diode. Such circular pixel openings are a common design choice in PENTILE-structured OLED displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form each of the first, second, third, and fourth pixel openings of Yoon as modified above in a circular shape, as such a shape is a well-known design choice that provides predictable results of uniform light emission and reduced current crowding at the edges of the emission area as changes in shape are a matter of design choice absent evidence of criticality. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
In regards to claim 13, Yoon teaches (See, for example, Figs. 6, 7 and 9) wherein the light-transmissive zone includes a first folded edge, a first straight edge, a second folded edge, and a second straight edge that are connected in sequence (the light-transmissive zone corresponds to the transmission area TA defined by the bottom hole BMLH in the bottom metal layer BML and the first hole H1 in the inorganic insulating layer IIL, Pars [0146], and Par [0173]; the shape of the transmission area TA is determined by the routing of surrounding circuit elements, scan lines, data lines, and initialization voltage lines, which must navigate around the circular pixel openings of the adjacent pixel groups PG, Pars [0199]–[0200]; because the surrounding first pixel openings (Pr) and second pixel openings (Pb) are circular and the transmission area TA must fit between them in the row direction, the edges of the light-transmissive zone facing the first pixel openings follow a folded (zigzag) profile to conform to the curved contours of the circular openings, forming a first folded edge; the edges facing the third pixel openings (Pg) on one side form a first straight edge; the edges facing the second pixel openings follow another folded profile forming a second folded edge; and the edges facing the fourth pixel openings (Pg) on the other side form a second straight edge);
the first folded edge includes a plurality of first straight sub-edges connected in sequence, and the second folded edge includes a plurality of second straight sub-edges connected in sequence (the folded edges are formed by the boundaries of the circuit layer patterns — including the bottom metal layer BML and inorganic insulating layers — the folded edges are composed of a plurality of straight sub-edges connected in sequence at angles to approximate the zigzag profile necessary to fit between the circular pixel openings; see FIGS. 6A, 6B);
and the first straight edge and the second straight edge are respectively an edge closest to a third pixel opening adjacent to the light-transmissive zone and an edge closest to a fourth pixel opening adjacent to the light-transmissive zone (the straight edges of the light-transmissive zone face the adjacent green sub-pixel openings (third and fourth pixel openings) positioned above and below the transmission area TA in the column direction; see FIGS. 6A, 6B);
the light-irradiating opening includes a third folded edge, a third straight edge, a fourth folded edge, and a fourth straight edge that are connected in sequence; the third folded edge is proximate to the first pixel opening and includes a plurality of third straight sub-edges connected in sequence; and the fourth folded edge is proximate to the second pixel opening and includes a plurality of fourth straight sub-edges connected in sequence (the third hole H3 in the pixel-defining layer 119 arranged in the transmission area TA, Par [0161]; the shape of the third hole H3 mirrors the shape of the underlying first hole H1 and bottom hole BMLH, Par [0161]; accordingly, the light-irradiating opening has folded edges proximate to the first and second pixel openings, each composed of a plurality of straight sub-edges, and straight edges proximate to the third and fourth pixel openings; see FIG. 7); and
the third straight edge is substantially parallel to the first straight edge, and the fourth straight edge is substantially parallel to the second straight edge (the third hole H3 overlaps the first hole H1 and the second hole H2 , Par [0161], the straight edges of the light-irradiating opening are substantially parallel to the corresponding straight edges of the light-transmissive zone);
the plurality of third straight sub-edges in the third folded edge are in one-to-one correspondence with and substantially parallel to the plurality of first straight sub-edges in the first folded edge (the holes H1 through H3 all correspond to the same transmission area TA and overlap one another, Pars [0146] and [0161], the folded sub-edges of the light-irradiating opening correspond to and are substantially parallel to the folded sub-edges of the light-transmissive zone on the side facing the first pixel openings); and
a number of the plurality of fourth straight sub-edges in the fourth folded edge is less than a number of the plurality of second straight sub-edges in the second folded edge, and each fourth straight sub-edge is substantially parallel to a second straight sub-edge (“the area of the transmission hole TAH may be less than the area of the first hole H1”, See Par[0171], and that the width Wt of the transmission hole TAH is less than the width of the first hole H1, See Par 0171]; because the light-irradiating opening (third hole H3/transmission hole TAH) is smaller than the light-transmissive zone (first hole H1), the fourth folded edge of the light-irradiating opening has fewer sub-edges than the second folded edge of the light-transmissive zone, while each fourth straight sub-edge remains substantially parallel to a corresponding second straight sub-edge; see FIG. 7).
In regards to claim 14, Yoon discloses (See, for example, Figs. 6) wherein an orthogonal projection, on the substrate, of each of the first pixel opening, the third pixel opening, and the fourth pixel opening is substantially circular (circular pixel openings are a well-known and conventional design choice in PENTILE-structured OLED displays; it would have been obvious to form the first, third, and fourth pixel openings in substantially circular shapes for the same reasons set forth above, as discussed in connection with claim 12);
an outer contour of the second pixel opening includes a first curved edge and a second curved edge, both ends of the first curved edge are respectively connected to both ends of the second curved edge, and the first curved edge and the second curved edge are connected at a first connection point and a second connection point ( the size of the blue sub-pixel Pb and the red sub-pixel Pr may be larger than the green sub-pixel Pg, Par 0108], and that the size of the auxiliary sub-pixel Pa may be greater than the size of the main sub-pixel Pm emitting the same color, See Par [0122]; accordingly, the second pixel opening (corresponding to the blue sub-pixel Pb) may have an elongated shape with two curved edges meeting at two connection points to accommodate a larger emission area while fitting within the pixel layout constraints; see FIGS. 6A, 6B); and
among dimensions of the second pixel opening in a plane in which the substrate is located, a maximum dimension is in a direction along the first connection point to the second connection point (the elongated shape of the second pixel opening has its maximum dimension along the direction connecting the two connection points); and
the second pixel opening is divided into a first sub-portion including the first curved edge and a second sub-portion including the second curved edge along the direction; an area of the first sub-portion is greater than an area of the second sub-portion (the second pixel opening is positioned between adjacent transmission areas TA and pixel groups PG in the component area CA, See Par[0114], and the light-irradiating opening (transmission area TA) is located on one side of the second pixel opening, Par[0114], the second pixel opening is asymmetric such that the first sub-portion facing away from the transmission area has a greater area than the second sub-portion facing toward the transmission area, to maximize the emission area while accommodating the asymmetric spacing constraints imposed by the adjacent transmission area; see FIGS. 6A, 6B).
Yoon as modified is silent about specific asymmetric shape (curved edge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the second pixel opening with the claimed asymmetric contour (curved edge) as a matter of design optimization to maximize the emission area in the constrained space of the component area CA while maintaining the transmission area TA for component light transmission. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1966).
In regards to claim 15, Yoon discloses (See, for example, Figs. 6 and 9) the light-transmissive zone includes a first folded edge, a first straight edge, a second folded edge, and a second straight edge that are connected in sequence; the first folded edge includes a plurality of first straight sub-edges connected in sequence, and the second folded edge includes a plurality of second straight sub-edges connected in sequence; and the first straight edge and the second straight edge are respectively an edge closest to a third pixel opening adjacent to the light-transmissive zone and an edge closest to a fourth pixel opening adjacent to the light-transmissive zone (for the same reasons and based on the same teachings set forth in the rejection of claim 13, the light-transmissive zone defined by the bottom hole BMLH and the first hole H1 has the claimed edge structure with folded and straight edges facing the surrounding pixel openings, Par[0146] and Par[0173]; see FIGS. 6A, 6B, 9);
the light-irradiating opening includes a third folded edge, a third straight edge, a fourth folded edge, and a fourth straight edge that are connected in sequence; the third folded edge is proximate to the first pixel opening and includes a plurality of third straight sub-edges connected in sequence; and the fourth folded edge is proximate to the second pixel opening and includes a plurality of fourth straight sub-edges connected in sequence (for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 13, the third hole H3 in the pixel-defining layer 119 has folded edges with straight sub-edges proximate to the first and second pixel openings, Par [0161]; see FIG. 7);
the third straight edge is substantially parallel to the first straight edge, and the fourth straight edge is substantially parallel to the second straight edge; the plurality of third straight sub-edges in the third folded edge are in one-to-one correspondence with and substantially parallel to the plurality of first straight sub-edges in the first folded edge; and each fourth straight sub-edge is substantially parallel to a second straight sub-edge (the holes H1 through H3 correspond to the same transmission area TA and overlap one another Pars [0146] and [0161], the corresponding edges are substantially parallel); and
in a case where the fourth folded edge is opposite to the second curved edge of the second pixel opening, the plurality of fourth straight sub-edges in the fourth folded edge are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of second straight sub-edges in the second folded edge ( the fourth folded edge of the light-irradiating opening faces the smaller second sub-portion of the asymmetric second pixel opening, the light-irradiating opening is not constrained to be smaller on this side, and accordingly the fourth folded edge has sub-edges in one-to-one correspondence with the second folded edge sub-edges of the light-transmissive zone); and
in a case where the fourth folded edge is non-opposite to the second curved edge of the second pixel opening, a number of the plurality of fourth straight sub-edges in the fourth folded edge is less than a number of the plurality of second straight sub-edges in the second folded edge (when the fourth folded edge faces the larger first sub-portion of the asymmetric second pixel opening, the light-irradiating opening must be reduced in extent on that side to maintain clearance from the larger curved surface, and accordingly the fourth folded edge has fewer sub-edges than the second folded edge, consistent with Yoon's teaching that the transmission hole TAH is smaller than the first hole H1, Par[0171]; see FIG. 7).
In regards to claim 16, Yoon discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2) a touch layer arranged on a side of the pixel defining layer away from the substrate (the touchscreen layer TSL on the thin-film encapsulation layer TFEL, Pars [0076]-[0077]; the touchscreen layer TSL is on a side of the pixel-defining layer 119 away from the substrate 100; see FIG. 2),
wherein the touch layer includes a plurality of touch lines (at the touchscreen layer TSL includes a touch electrode and touch wirings, the touch wirings being connected to the touch electrode, Par[0076]),
and an orthographic projection of the plurality of touch lines on the substrate is staggered from an orthogonal projection of the pixel openings and the light-irradiating openings on the substrate (to avoid blocking light emitted from the pixel openings and light passing through the transmission areas TA, the touch wirings are arranged to be staggered from the pixel openings and the light-irradiating openings; this is an inherent design requirement in display panels having both a touchscreen layer and an under-display component, since arranging touch wirings over the emission areas and transmission areas would reduce both display quality and component light transmittance, Pars[0062] and [0076]);
and the plurality of touch lines are arranged crosswise to form a mesh structure (the touchscreen layer TSL may sense an external input according to a mutual capacitance method, Par [0076]; mutual capacitance touch sensing inherently requires crosswise-arranged touch electrodes forming a mesh structure with drive and sense electrodes crossing each other),
wherein there exists at least such one row of light-irradiating openings that there is no touch line between the row of light-irradiating openings and both first pixel openings and second pixel openings adjacent thereto in the row direction (the transmission areas TA in the component area CA require high light transmittance, See Par[0062], and the touch wirings must be staggered from the light-irradiating openings and pixel openings, there exists at least one row of light-irradiating openings where touch lines are routed away from the gap between the light-irradiating openings and adjacent pixel openings in the row direction, so as not to reduce the light transmittance of the component area CA).
Yoon as modified above is silent about this specific touch line routing arrangement.
It is well known in the art to at least one row of light-irradiating openings has no touch line between it and adjacent pixel openings in the row direction for the purpose of maximizing the light transmittance of the component area CA for the under-display component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to route the touch lines such that at least one row of light-irradiating openings has no touch line between it and adjacent pixel openings in the row direction, in order to maximize the light transmittance of the component area CA for the under-display component.
In regards to claim 17, Yoon discloses (See, for example, Figs. 5-9) wherein first pixel openings and second pixel openings in a same row are divided into a plurality of pixel opening groups, and each pixel opening group includes a first pixel opening and a second pixel opening that are adjacent (as also addressed in claim 10 rejection, red sub-pixels Pr and blue sub-pixels Pb are alternately arranged on each sub-row, See Par[0108]; adjacent pairs of Pr and Pb openings form pixel opening groups);
and in a same pixel opening group, a first pixel opening and a second pixel opening is provided therebetween with a touch line (within a pixel opening group, a touch line of the mesh structure passes between the first pixel opening and the second pixel opening where there is no transmission area TA requiring clear aperture);
and there is no touch line between a first pixel opening and a second pixel opening that are adjacent and belong to different pixel opening groups in the row direction (between pixel opening groups in the row direction, where a transmission area TA is located, no touch line is routed so as to preserve the light transmittance of the transmission area TA for the under-display component, Pars [0062] and [0199]); and/or
in a case where there is no touch line between a light-irradiating opening and a pixel opening, a distance between the light-irradiating opening and the pixel opening is a first distance; in a case where there is a touch line between a light-irradiating opening and a pixel opening, a distance between the light-irradiating opening and the pixel opening is a second distance; and the first distance is less than the second distance (where no touch line is present between a light-irradiating opening and a pixel opening, the spacing between them can be reduced because no clearance for touch wiring is needed, resulting in a first distance that is less than the second distance where a touch line is interposed and additional clearance is required).
Yoon as modified above is silent about this specific touch line routing arrangement.
It is well known in the art to eliminate the touch line between the light-irradiating opening and the adjacent pixel opening permits a reduced spacing (first distance < second distance), thereby maximizing the emission area and transmission area within the limited space of the component area CA.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize eliminating the touch line between the light-irradiating opening and the adjacent pixel opening permits a reduced spacing (first distance < second distance), thereby maximizing the emission area and transmission area within the limited space of the component area CA.
In regards to claim 19, Yoon discloses (See, for example, Fig. 2) a black matrix arranged on a side of the pixel defining layer away from the substrate (the optical functional layer OFL may include a filter plate including a black matrix and color filters, See Par [0080]; the optical functional layer OFL is arranged on a side of the display panel 10 away from the substrate 100 … on a side of the pixel defining layer 119 away from the substrate 100),
wherein the black matrix is provided therein with a plurality of first avoidance openings and a plurality of second avoidance openings (the black matrix inherently includes openings that correspond to the emission areas of the sub-pixels (first avoidance openings) to allow emitted light to pass through, and openings corresponding to the transmission areas TA (second avoidance openings) to allow light to pass to/from the component 40, See Pars [0062],[0079]–[0080]),
wherein an orthogonal projection of a pixel opening on the substrate is located within a range of an orthogonal projection of a first avoidance opening on the substrate (the first avoidance openings in the black matrix are configured to allow light emitted from the organic light-emitting diodes to pass through, See Par [0080]; accordingly, the orthogonal projection of each pixel opening (OP1, OP2, See Fig. 7, Pars [0159] and [0162]) on the substrate falls within the range of the corresponding first avoidance opening in the black matrix, since the black matrix opening must be at least as large as the pixel opening to avoid blocking emitted light); and
an orthogonal projection of a light-irradiating opening on the substrate is located within a range of an orthogonal projection of a second avoidance opening on the substrate (the optical functional layer OFL may include an opening OFL_OP corresponding to the transmission area TA , See Par [0079]; the opening OFL_OP constitutes a second avoidance opening in the optical functional layer (including the black matrix portion), and the orthogonal projection of the light-irradiating opening (third hole H3) on the substrate is located within the range of the orthogonal projection of this second avoidance opening on the substrate, since the OFL_OP is provided to significantly improve the light transmittance of the transmission area TA, See Par [0079]).
In regards to claim 20, Yoon discloses all limitations of claim 19 above but silent about an average distance between a boundary of the orthogonal projection of the first avoidance opening on the substrate and a boundary of the orthogonal projection of the pixel opening on the substrate is in a range of 2 μm to 6 μm, inclusive.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have recognized that the first avoidance opening in the black matrix must be slightly larger than the pixel opening to account for alignment tolerances between the black matrix layer and the pixel defining layer while preventing light leakage between adjacent sub-pixels. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and a routine optimization of alignment tolerance well within the capability of one of ordinary skill. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding a distance between a boundary of the orthogonal projection of the second avoidance opening on the substrate and a boundary of the orthogonal projection of the light-irradiating opening on the substrate is in a range of 0 μm to 3.2 μm, inclusive, Yoon discloses that the opening OFL_OP corresponds to the transmission area TA and is provided to maximize light transmittance, as described in Par [0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select a distance between the second avoidance opening boundary and the light-irradiating opening boundary in the range of 0 μm to 3.2 μm inclusive because it has been held that this represents a routine optimization to maximize the clear aperture for light transmission while accounting for process alignment tolerances. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d at 456.
Regarding a distance between the first avoidance opening and the second avoidance opening is greater than or equal to a first preset value, and the first preset value is a process limit value allowing the first avoidance opening to be separated from the second avoidance opening, it is well known in the art that the black matrix must maintain sufficient separation between adjacent openings to preserve its light-blocking function and structural integrity. Setting the minimum separation distance to a process limit value that allows the openings to remain separated is an inherent manufacturing constraint recognized by one of ordinary skill.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to maintain at least the minimum process-limited separation to ensure reliable fabrication of the black matrix pattern because it is well known in the art that the black matrix must maintain sufficient separation between adjacent openings to preserve its light-blocking function and structural integrity. Setting the minimum separation distance to a process limit value that allows the openings to remain separated is an inherent manufacturing constraint recognized by one of ordinary skill
In regards to claim 22, Yoon teaches (See, for example, Fig. 2) a color film arranged on a side of the black matrix away from the substrate (the optical functional layer OFL may include a filter plate including a black matrix and color filters, See Par[0080]; the color filters constitute a color film arranged on a side of the black matrix away from the substrate 100),
wherein the color film includes a plurality of filter patterns (the color filters include filter patterns corresponding to the different color sub-pixels, e.g., red, green, and blue filter patterns Par[ 0080]),
and the orthogonal projection of the pixel opening on the substrate is located within a range of an orthogonal projection of a filter pattern on the substrate (each color filter pattern is aligned with its corresponding sub-pixel such that the orthogonal projection of the pixel opening falls within the range of the corresponding filter pattern to ensure proper color filtering of the emitted light).
Yoon as modified above is silent about a distance between a boundary of the orthogonal projection of the filter pattern on the substrate and a boundary of the orthogonal projection of the first avoidance opening on the substrate is greater than or equal to 4.5 μm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have recognized that the color filter pattern must extend beyond the first avoidance opening in the black matrix to ensure complete color filtering of all light passing through the black matrix opening and to account for alignment tolerances between the color filter layer and the black matrix layer, and selecting a minimum overlap distance of 4.5 μm between the filter pattern boundary and the first avoidance opening boundary represents a routine optimization of the overlap margin necessary to prevent color mixing, unfiltered light leakage at the edges of the black matrix opening, and to ensure adequate color filtering performance and manufacturing yield. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to claim 23, Yoon teaches (See, for example, Fig. 7) the display panel including a light-exit side and a non-light-exit side arranged opposite thereto (the display panel 10 is a top-emission type display in which the light exits from the side of the opposite electrode 123 away from the substrate 100 (light-exit side), while the substrate 100 side constitutes the non-light-exit side, See Pars [0158] and [0166]); and
a photosensitive device arranged on the non-light-exit side of the display panel (the component 40 may include a camera that uses an infrared ray or visible light and may include an imaging element, See Par[0062]; the component 40 is arranged below the display panel 10 on the non-light-exit side (on the substrate 100 side), corresponding to the component area CA, See Par[0062] and [0066]; a camera/imaging element is a photosensitive device that receives light through the transmission areas TA of the component area CA; see FIG. 2).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of HU as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2022/198575, however, its equivalent US PG Pub US 2024/0005869 A1 has been used for the rejection below, hereinafter “Zhang”).
In regards to claim 2, Yoon discloses (See, for example, Figs. 5, 7 and 9)
a plurality of pixel circuits arranged in multiple rows and multiple columns (main pixel circuits PC and auxiliary pixel circuits PC' arranged in the main display area MDA, See Fig. 7; and the component area CA, respectively, with sub-pixels arranged in rows and columns (see FIGS. 5, 9, and Pars [0087], [0106]: "pixel circuit areas PCA in which a pixel circuit is arranged"). Pixel circuits are arranged in multiple rows …rows 1SN through N, and multiple columns …columns M through M-th, See, Par [0108]);
wherein a row of pixel circuits is divided into a plurality of pixel circuit groups, and each pixel circuit group includes two adjacent pixel circuits; and in a same pixel circuit group, two pixel circuits are substantially symmetrical about a first axis line, the first axis line extends along a column direction (a left pixel circuit PCa and a right pixel circuit PCb have a vertically symmetric structure… vertical line symmetry, with respect to the first vertical voltage line VL1a of the first initialization voltage line VL1, which extends in the y-direction (column direction) ([0207], [0234]; FIG. 10). Similarly, pixel circuits PCd and PCe are symmetric about VL2a (FIG. 13, [0253]), and pixel circuits PCf and PCg are symmetric about bias line BW (FIG. 15, [0261]); and
a plurality of data lines substantially extending along the column direction (DL extending in the y-direction (column direction) See, Fig. 9 and Par ([0192]).
However, Yoon is silent about
the data lines are divided into a plurality of data line groups, each data line group including two adjacent data lines;
two data lines in a data line group are respectively electrically connected to two adjacent pixel circuits belonging to different pixel circuit groups;
the light-transmissive zone is located between two data lines in a same data line group; and
the light-irradiating opening is substantially parallel to opposite edges of orthographic projections of first set line segments of the two data lines in the same data line group on the substrate.
Zhang while disclosing a display device teaches (Figs. 1, 2 and 6) a display substrate for a transparent display device including:
the plurality of data lines (DR, DG, DB) are divided into a plurality of data line groups, and each data line group includes two adjacent data lines (See, FIG. 6, and Par [0130]. As seen in FIGS. 2 and 6, data lines serving the first repeating unit C11 and data lines serving the second repeating unit C12 are arranged on opposite sides of the transparent region TM10, forming pairs of adjacent data lines that bracket the transparent region);
two data lines in a data line group are respectively electrically connected to two adjacent pixel circuits belonging to different pixel circuit groups (the innermost data lines on opposite sides of the transparent region TM10 serve sub-pixel driving circuits belonging to different repeating units (C11 and C12, respectively), which constitute different pixel circuit groups (Pars [0148], [0130] and FIG. 6);
the light-transmissive zone is located between two data lines in a same data line group (each repeating unit C1 includes a transparent region TM10 ([0066]), and this transparent region TM10 is located between the pixel regions P10 of adjacent repeating units C11 and C12 (See, FIG. 2, Par [0148]). As shown in FIG. 6, the transparent region TM10 is located between the innermost data lines of the adjacent repeating units… between two data lines of the same data line group); and
the light-irradiating opening is substantially parallel to opposite edges of orthographic projections of first set line segments of the two data lines in the same data line group on the substrate (the light-emitting elements 160 have openings defined by the pixel defining layer 138 (FIGS. 4, 5, Pars [0019], [0120]-[0123]). As illustrated in FIG. 5, the openings in the pixel defining layer 138 have edges that extend substantially parallel to the data lines running in the Y direction, and thus the light-irradiating openings are substantially parallel to opposite edges of the data line segments that bracket the transparent region).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Yoon to arrange the pixel circuits and data lines in the symmetrical grouped configuration taught by Zhang because such an arrangement reduces the total number of signal lines and the space occupied thereby, increases the area of the transparent region, and improves the light transmittance of the display substrate.
In regards to claim 3, Yoon as modified above discloses (See, for example, Fig. 9, Yoon) the data lines each include first straight line segments and first bent segments that are alternately connected (“the scan lines SL and the data lines DL arranged in the component area CA may be appropriately bent” See Par [0199], see also that “ the data lines DL arranged in the component area CA may not be arranged on the central portion of the transmission area TA but be arranged to be biased on one side” Par [0199]; since the data lines extend generally in the y-direction Par [0192] but must route around the transmission areas TA, the data lines necessarily include straight line segments extending in the y-direction and bent segments that deviate from the y-direction, the straight and bent segments being alternately connected as the data lines traverse through the component area CA across successive transmission areas TA and pixel groups PG);
and in the same data line group, first bent segments of the two data lines are bent toward directions away from each other (“the data lines DLa arranged between the pixel groups PG that are apart from each other may be biased on the left, and the data lines DLb may be biased on the right” Par [0200]; accordingly, in a pair of adjacent data lines DLa and DLb that bracket a transmission area TA, the bent segments of DLa bend leftward while the bent segments of DLb bend rightward … toward directions away from each other, so as to maximize the clear aperture of the transmission area TA); and
the first set line segments each include at least a portion of a first bent segment (the transmission areas TA defined by the holes H1, H2, H3 in the component area CA, and these transmission areas TA are located between the paired data lines DLa and DLb that bend away from each other See, Pars [0199]– [0200], the opposite edges of the orthographic projections of the first set line segments of the two data lines on the substrate necessarily include at least a portion of the first bent segments of the data lines that form the peripheral limits of the transmission area TA; see FIG. 9).
In regards to claim 4, Yoon as modified above teaches (See, for example, Fig. 9, Yoon) that the first bent segment includes a first data trace segment, a second data trace segment, and a third data trace segment that are connected in sequence (as shown in FIG. 9, the data lines DLa and DLb each include bent portions that route around the transmission areas TA in the component area CA; these bent portions necessarily comprise a first angled trace segment transitioning away from the main straight-line path, a second trace segment running substantially parallel to the main y-direction in the offset position, and a third angled trace segment transitioning back toward the main straight-line path, the three trace segments being connected in sequence to form the complete bent segment, See Par [0199]–[0200]);
the first data trace segment and the third data trace segment are respectively connected to first straight line segments on both sides of the first bent segment (the first angled trace segment connects to the straight portion of the data line above the transmission area TA, and the third angled trace segment connects to the straight portion of the data line below the transmission area TA, such that the bent segment transitions between the two straight line segments on both sides Par [0199]);
an extending direction of the second data trace segment is substantially same as an extending direction of the first straight line segments (the data lines extend generally in the y-direction See, Par [0192], and the offset middle portion of the bent segment, after the lateral jog, continues to run substantially in the y-direction … substantially parallel to the first straight line segments; see FIG. 9);
and the second data trace segment is farther away from first bent segments of an other data line in the same data line group than the first straight line segments (because “the data lines DLa arranged between the pixel groups PG that are apart from each other may be biased on the left, and the data lines DLb may be biased on the right”, See Par [0200], the offset second data trace segment of each data line is displaced laterally away from the paired data line in the same group, such that the second data trace segment is farther from the bent segments of the other data line than the straight line segments are from each other; this lateral offset is precisely what creates the widened gap for the transmission area TA between the paired data lines; see FIG. 9); and
the first set line segment includes a portion of the second data trace segment, and includes a portion of the first data trace segment or a portion of the third data trace segment (the first set line segments include at least a portion of the bent segments form the peripheral limits of the transmission area TA; accordingly, the first set line segments encompass a portion of the offset second data trace segment that runs parallel to the transmission area TA and at least a portion of one of the angled first or third data trace segments that transitions into or out of the offset position, these being the segments whose orthographic projections on the substrate define edges substantially parallel to the light-irradiating opening located in the transmission area TA between the paired data lines; see FIG. 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893