DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 8/31/26.
Claims 1, 8 & 13 are amended.
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2010/0309803 A1 in view of Peng, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2022/0256501 A1, and in view of Fan, US 2020/0120527 A1, and further in view of Taherzadeh, US 2021/0409968 A1.
As to claim 1, Toh teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least:
maintain a connected state with a first network with a first subscription identity used by the apparatus (Toh, page 5, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The purpose underlying this is to maintain connections between the mobile station and the base station);
communicate with the first network regarding the start, length and periodicity parameters of one or more communication gaps related to activities on the second network (Toh, page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. "Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters);
receive from the first network one or more gap configurations of the one or more communication gaps (Toh, figure 1; page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. Here, these basic information to compose a gap are defined as "gap parameters." Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters).
But Toh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein maintain an inactive or idle state with a second network with a second subscription identity used by the apparatus; wherein the one or more gap configurations correspond to a number of synchronization signal block bursts for synchronization toward the first network, wherein the synchronization signal block bursts are configured to acquire time and frequency synchronization for monitoring a paging occasion of the second network while the apparatus maintains the connected state with the first network; transmit, to the first network, information indicating a selected gap configuration of the one or more gap configurations selected by the apparatus, wherein the information indicating the selected gap configuration is transmitted using uplink control information (UCI) signaling or a medium access control element (MAC- CE).
However, Peng teaches the limitation wherein maintain an inactive or idle state with a second network with a second subscription identity used by the apparatus (Peng, page 1, paragraph 13; i.e., [0013] The terminal device is in a connected state by using the first user identity and is in an idle state or an inactive state by using the second user identity, or the terminal device is in an idle state or an inactive state by using the first user identity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh to substitute base station from Peng for relay station from Toh to support two subscriber identity module cards, and the two cards may be of a same operator (Peng, page 1, paragraph 3).
However, Fan teaches the limitation wherein the one or more gap configurations correspond to a number of synchronization signal block bursts for synchronization toward the first network, wherein the synchronization signal block bursts are configured to acquire time (Fan, page 2, paragraph 19-20; page 10, paragraph 140-141; i.e., [0019] A length of a time domain interval of the time-frequency resource set corresponding to the reference signal set is equal to the duration of the reference signal set. A length of a frequency domain interval of the time frequency resource set is not limited in this embodiment, and may be bandwidths of a plurality of subcarriers. [0020] the mapping rule between the reference signal and the time frequency resource corresponding to the reference signal set may be mapping first in time domain and then in frequency domain or mapping first in frequency domain and then in time domain; [0140] one or more of a bandwidth of each synchronization signal, duration of the synchronization signal resource block, a quantity m of synchronization signal resource blocks in the synchronization signal burst set, a length of a synchronization signal resource block gap in the synchronization signal burst set, a period of the synchronization signal burst set, and a start time offset of the synchronization signal burst set); transmit, to the first network, information indicating a selected gap configuration of the one or more gap configurations selected by the apparatus (Fan, page 2, paragraph 10; page 12, paragraph 177; i.e., [0010] the start time offset is an offset between the start time of the measurement gap and a start time of a subframe 0. The terminal device may determine the start time of the measurement gap based on the start time offset; [0177] The terminal device selects measurement configuration information from the plurality of pieces of measurement configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh to substitute LTE from Fan for uplink radio from Toh to perform the measurement because the UE
needs to adjust a frequency of a receiver from the frequency of the serving cell to a frequency of a neighboring cell (Fan, page 1, paragraph 4).
However, Taherzadeh teaches the limitation wherein frequency synchronization for monitoring a paging occasion of the second network while the apparatus maintains the connected state with the first network (Taherzadeh, page 11, paragraph 128-129 & 132; i.e., [0128] receive the beam refinement reference signal prior to the paging PDCCH monitoring occasion based on the at least one transmission; [0132] 20. The apparatus of clause 17, wherein the at least one transmission is remaining minimum system information (RMSI) or other system information (OSI) indicating resources of the beam refinement reference signal); wherein the information indicating the selected gap configuration is transmitted using uplink control information (UCI) signaling or a medium access control element (MAC- CE) (Taherzadeh, page 6, paragraph 62; i.e., [0062] FIG. 2D illustrates an example of various UL channels within a subframe of a frame. The PUCCH may be located as indicated in one configuration. The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI), such as scheduling requests, and a channel quality indicator (CQI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh to substitute inter-frequency from Taherzadeh for FDMA from Toh to improvements in 5G NR technology (Taherzadeh, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 13 is/are directed to a method/computer readable medium claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 13 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2010/0309803 A1 in view of Fan, US 2020/0120527 A1, and further in view of Taherzadeh, US 2021/0409968 A1.
As to claim 8, Toh teaches an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least:
maintain a connected state with a terminal device (Toh, page 5, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The purpose underlying this is to maintain connections between the mobile station and the base station);
communicate with the terminal device regarding start, length, and periodicity parameters of one or more communication gaps of the terminal device network (Toh, page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters);
transmit one or more gap configurations of the one or more communication gaps to the terminal device (Toh, page 1, paragraph 13; i.e., [0013] The gap allocation method of the present invention includes the steps of: deciding whether or not change of a gap length is necessary based on a criterion parameter; and, when the gap length is decided to be changed, changing the gap length to a short gap length using a gap off duration parameter).
But Toh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the one or more gap configurations correspond to a number of synchronization signal block bursts for synchronization toward the first network, wherein the synchronization signal block bursts are configured to acquire time and frequency synchronization for monitoring a paging occasion of the second network while the terminal device maintains the connected state with the first network; receive, from the terminal device, information indicating a gap configuration of the one or more gap configuration selected by the terminal device, wherein the information indicating the selected gap configuration is transmitted using uplink control information (UCI) signaling or a medium access control element (MAC-CE).
However, Fan teaches the limitation wherein the one or more gap configurations correspond to a number of synchronization signal block bursts for synchronization toward the first network, wherein the synchronization signal block bursts are configured to acquire time (Fan, page 2, paragraph 19-20; page 10, paragraph 140-141; i.e., [0019] A length of a time domain interval of the time-frequency resource set corresponding to the reference signal set is equal to the duration of the reference signal set. A length of a frequency domain interval of the time frequency resource set is not limited in this embodiment, and may be bandwidths of a plurality of subcarriers. [0020] the mapping rule between the reference signal and the time frequency resource corresponding to the reference signal set may be mapping first in time domain and then in frequency domain or mapping first in frequency domain and then in time domain; [0140] one or more of a bandwidth of each synchronization signal, duration of the synchronization signal resource block, a quantity m of synchronization signal resource blocks in the synchronization signal burst set, a length of a synchronization signal resource block gap in the synchronization signal burst set, a period of the synchronization signal burst set, and a start time offset of the synchronization signal burst set); receive, from the terminal device, information indicating a gap configuration of the one or more gap configuration selected by the terminal device, (Fan, page 2, paragraph 10; page 12, paragraph 177; i.e., [0010] the start time offset is an offset between the start time of the measurement gap and a start time of a subframe 0. The terminal device may determine the start time of the measurement gap based on the start time offset; [0177] The terminal device selects measurement configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh to substitute LTE from Fan for uplink radio from Toh to perform the measurement because the UE needs to adjust a frequency of a receiver from the frequency of the serving cell to a frequency of a neighboring cell (Fan, page 1, paragraph 4).
However, Taherzadeh teaches the limitation wherein frequency synchronization for monitoring a paging occasion of the second network while the terminal device maintains the connected state with the first network (Taherzadeh, page 11, paragraph 128-129 & 132; i.e., [0128] receive the beam refinement reference signal prior to the paging PDCCH monitoring occasion based on the at least one transmission; [0132] 20. The apparatus of clause 17, wherein the at least one transmission is remaining minimum system information (RMSI) or other system information (OSI) indicating resources of the beam refinement reference signal); wherein the information indicating the selected gap configuration is transmitted using uplink control information (UCI) signaling or a medium access control element (MAC-CE) (Taherzadeh, page 6, paragraph 62; i.e., [0062] FIG. 2D illustrates an example of various UL channels within a subframe of a frame. The PUCCH may be located as indicated in one configuration. The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI), such as scheduling requests, and a channel quality indicator (CQI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh to substitute inter-frequency from Taherzadeh for FDMA from Toh to improvements in 5G NR technology (Taherzadeh, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 9, Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
receive from the terminal device a request regarding a set of gap configurations, the gap configurations providing different gap parameters (Toh, figure 1; page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. "Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters);
determine and transmit a set of gap configurations to the terminal device (Toh, figure 1; page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. "Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters);
receive from the terminal device information on a gap configuration selected by the terminal device (Toh, page 1, paragraph 13; i.e., [0013] The gap allocation method of the present invention includes the steps of: deciding whether or not change of a gap length is necessary based on a criterion parameter; and, when the gap length is decided to be changed, changing the gap length to a short gap length using a gap off duration parameter).
As to claim 12, Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
transmit to the terminal device a set of communication gap (Toh, page 1, paragraph 13; i.e., [0013] The gap allocation method of the present invention includes the steps of: deciding whether or not change of a gap length is necessary based on a criterion parameter; and, when the gap length is decided to be changed, changing the gap length to a short gap length using a gap off duration parameter); and
determine receive from the terminal device information on gap configuration selected by the terminal device (Toh, figure 1; page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. "Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2010/0309803 A1 in view of Fan, US 2020/0120527 A1, and Taherzadeh, US 2021/0409968 A1, and further in view of Zhang, US 2016/0157116 A1.
As to claim 10, Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 8, the at wherein receive from the terminal device a request regarding an extension in the length of a communication gap, the extension located at the start or end of the gap (Toh, page 5, paragraph 70; i.e., [0070] when the gap length is changed, by changing the present gap length using a gap off duration "G_Off_Duration" and delaying the next gap start time).
But Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determine and transmit to the terminal device confirmation of the length of a communication gap.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein determine and transmit to the terminal device confirmation of the length of a communication gap (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 44; i.e., [0044] the previously configured gap length 405 (FIG. 4) or 505 (FIG. 5) and MGRP 407 (FIG. 4) or 507. The eNB modifies the DL/UL scheduling strategy after the eNB receives this indication according to the gap length for RSRP/RSRQ measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh to substitute small cell from Zhang for neighboring cell from Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh to reduce the interruption time for the UE (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 11, Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
receive from the terminal device a request regarding at least two separate communication gaps (Toh, page 7, paragraph 106; i.e., [0106] Multiple gap length setting section 1010 stores the multiple gap length parameters outputted from receiving section 105. These multiple gap length parameters include long gap lengths, short gap lengths, gap intervals between different gap lengths, gap intervals between two same consecutive gap lengths, and gap start time);
transmit to the terminal device at least two configurations of communication gaps (Toh, page 7, paragraph 106; i.e., [0106] Multiple gap length setting section 1010 stores the multiple gap length parameters outputted from receiving section 105. These multiple gap length parameters include long gap lengths, short gap lengths, gap intervals between different gap lengths, gap intervals between two same consecutive gap lengths, and gap start time);
receive from the terminal device a request regarding an extension in the length of at least one of the configured gaps, the extension located at the start or end of the gap (Toh, page 5, paragraph 70; i.e., [0070] when the gap length is changed, by changing the present gap length using a gap off duration "G_Off_Duration" and delaying the next gap start time).
But Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein transmit to the terminal device confirmation of the length of the gap.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein transmit to the terminal device confirmation of the length of the gap (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 36; i.e., [0036] in response to receiving the feedback indication according to the gap length (for example, the second gap length 405).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh to substitute small cell from Zhang for neighboring cell from Toh-Fan-Taherzadeh to reduce the interruption time for the UE (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2010/0309803 A1 in view of Peng, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2022/0256501 A1, and Fan, US 2020/0120527 A1, and Taherzadeh, US 2021/0409968 A1, and further in view of Zhang, US 2016/0157116 A1.
As to claim 2, Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
request from the first network a set of gap configurations, the configurations of the set providing different gap parameters (Toh, figure 1; page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. "Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters);
receive from the first network a set of gap configurations (Toh, figure 1; page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. Here, these basic information to compose a gap are defined as "gap parameters." Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters);
transmit information on the determined gap configuration to the first network (Toh, page 1, paragraph 13; i.e., [0013] The gap allocation method of the present invention includes the steps of: deciding whether or not change of a gap length is necessary based on a criterion parameter; and, when the gap length is decided to be changed, changing the gap length to a short gap length using a gap off duration parameter).
But Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determine which gap configuration to use based on usage of earlier communication gaps and/or radio link condition of serving cell.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein determine which gap configuration to use based on usage of earlier communication gaps and/or radio link condition of serving cell (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 44; i.e., [0044] the previously configured gap length 405 (FIG. 4) or 505 (FIG. 5) and MGRP 407 (FIG. 4) or 507 (FIG. 5) according to the gap length for RSRP/RSRQ measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to substitute small cell from Zhang for neighboring cell from Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to reduce the interruption time for the UE (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 3, Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
determine a change in a gap length based on usage of earlier communication gaps and/or radio link condition of serving cell (Toh, figure 1; page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. "Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters);
request from the first network an extension in the length of a communication gap (Toh, page 5, paragraph 78; i.e., [0078] set up the next gap length to the length of a longer measurement duration without changing the gap length, or, to change the next gap length by setting up the gap off duration "G_Off_Duration" for retransmission).
But Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receive from the first network confirmation of the length of a communication gap.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein receive from the first network confirmation of the length of a communication gap (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 36; i.e., [0036] in response to receiving the feedback indication according to the gap length (for example, the second gap length 405).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to substitute small cell from Zhang for neighboring cell from Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to reduce the interruption time for the UE (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 4, Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
request from the first network at least two separate communication gaps (Toh, page 7, paragraph 106; i.e., [0106] Multiple gap length setting section 1010 stores the
multiple gap length parameters outputted from receiving section 105. These multiple gap length parameters include long gap lengths, short gap lengths, gap intervals between different gap lengths, gap intervals between two same consecutive gap lengths, and gap start time);
receive from the first network at least two communication gaps (Toh, page 7, paragraph 106; i.e., [0106] Multiple gap length setting section 1010 stores the multiple gap length parameters outputted from receiving section 105. These multiple gap length parameters include long gap lengths, short gap lengths, gap intervals between different gap lengths, gap intervals between two same consecutive gap lengths, and gap start time);
request from the first network an extension in the length of at least one of the gaps, the extension located at the start or end of the gap (Toh, page 5, paragraph 70; i.e., [0070] when the gap length is changed, by changing the present gap length using a gap off duration "G_Off_Duration" and delaying the next gap start time).
But Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determine change in a gap length based on usage of earlier communication gaps and/or radio link condition of serving cell; receive from the first network confirmation of the length of the gap.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein determine change in a gap length based on usage of earlier communication gaps and/or radio link condition of serving cell (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 44; i.e., [0044] the previously configured gap length 405 (FIG. 4) or 505 (FIG. 5) and MGRP 407 (FIG. 4) or 507 (FIG. 5) according to the gap length for RSRP/RSRQ measurement); receive from the first network confirmation of the length of the gap (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 36; i.e., [0036] in response to receiving the feedback indication according to the gap length (for example, the second gap length 405).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to substitute small cell from Zhang for neighboring cell from Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to reduce the interruption time for the UE (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 6, Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
receive from the first network a set of gap configurations (Toh, figure 1; page 2, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Further, gap control setting information is information for creating gaps and includes timings to start a gap, the lengths of gaps, intervals between gaps, and so on. "Further, this gap control setting information includes a gap off duration used to change the gap length "G_Off_Duration" and gap creation criterion information included in gap parameters);
transmit information on the determined gap configuration to the first network (Toh, page 1, paragraph 13; i.e., [0013] The gap allocation method of the present invention includes the steps of: deciding whether or not change of a gap length is necessary based on a criterion parameter; and, when the gap length is decided to be changed, changing the gap length to a short gap length using a gap off duration parameter).
But Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determine which gap configuration to use based on usage of earlier communication gaps and/or radio link condition of serving cell.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein determine which gap configuration to use based on usage of earlier communication gaps and/or radio link condition of serving cell (Zhang, page 4, paragraph 44; i.e., [0044] the previously configured gap length 405 (FIG. 4) or 505 (FIG. 5) and MGRP 407 (FIG. 4) or 507 (FIG. 5) according to the gap length for RSRP/RSRQ measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to substitute small cell from Zhang for neighboring cell from Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to reduce the interruption time for the UE (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 7, Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 6, wherein different gap configurations have different number of gaps, different lengths of gaps, different distances between gaps and/or different offset related to transmission frame (Toh, page 7, paragraph 106; i.e., [0106] Multiple gap length setting section 1010 stores the multiple gap length parameters outputted from receiving section
105. These multiple gap length parameters include long gap lengths, short gap lengths, gap intervals between different gap lengths, gap intervals between two same consecutive gap lengths, and gap start time).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are directed to a method/computer readable medium claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 2-3. Therefore, claim(s) 14-15 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 2-3.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2010/0309803 A1 in view of Peng, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2022/0256501 A1, Fan, US 2020/0344703 A1, and Taherzadeh, US 2021/0409968 A1, and Zhang, US 2016/0157116 A1, and further in view of Bendle US 2017/0223701 A1.
As to claim 5, Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh-Zhang teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 3. But Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh failed to teach the claim limitation wherein request from the first network a reduction in the length of the configured gap or at least one of the configured gaps, the reduction located at the start or end of the gap; receive from the first network confirmation of the length of the gap.
However, Zhang teaches the limitation wherein receive from the first network confirmation of the length of the gap (Zhang, page 6, paragraph 36; i.e., [0036] in response to receiving the feedback indication according to the gap length (for example, the second gap length 405).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to substitute small cell from Zhang for neighboring cell from Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh to reduce the interruption time for the UE (Zhang, page 1, paragraph 5).
However, Bendle teaches the limitation wherein request from the first network a reduction in the length of the configured gap or at least one of the configured gaps, the reduction located at the start or end of the gap (Bendle, page 9, paragraph 79; i.e., [0079] then the C-MAC 144/C-MAC Scheduler 145 can increase the number of RB gap(s), the size of RB gap(s). Conversely, if the number of outstanding downlink retransmissions decreases for one or more RB allocation size(s), then the C-MAC 144/C-MAC Scheduler 145 can decrease the number of RB gap(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh-Zhang to substitute small cell from Bendle for neighboring cell from Toh-Peng-Fan-Taherzadeh-Zhang to manage the communication network resources (Bendle, page 1, paragraph 2).
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are directed to a method/computer readable medium claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1-3. Therefore, claim(s) 13-15 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1-3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Liu, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20190058620 A1 number of the synchronization, number of slot.
Li, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210235404 A1 discloses terminal can determine the subcarrier spacings, block set.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416