DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 11-20) in the reply filed on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the carrier substrate" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and therefore this limitation renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 11 recites the limitaiton “a bin stage on which the carrier substrate on which the unit pixels transported by the picker unit are disposed is located.” This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear to what part of the claim the phrase “on which” makes reference.
Claims 12-20 are indefinite due to their dependence on the indefinite claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishio (US 2021/0005520) in view of KR’325 (KR 10-2020-0128325, cited in IDS, Machine Translation is provided).
Regarding claim 11, Ishio discloses a transferring apparatus for a light emitting device for a display, comprising: a temporary substrate (Fig. 1, numeral 11a) to which singularized unit pixels (21) are attached; a light source unit (Fig.1, numeral 71) irradiating ultraviolet rays to the unit pixels (31) on the temporary substrate (11) under the wafer stage ([0250]; Fig.28); a picker unit (Fig.1, numeral 61) for picking up and transporting the unit pixels (31) irradiated with ultraviolet rays on the temporary substrate (11a); the carrier substrate (21) on which the unit pixels (31) transported by the picker unit (61) are disposed is located, wherein the light source unit(71) irradiates ultraviolet rays in a unit of a predetermined area to unit pixels selected based on electrical or optical measurement data ([0250]).
Ishio does not disclose (1) a loading unit for supplying the temporary substrate; (2) a wafer stage on which the temporary substrate supplied from the loading unit is located; (3) a bin stage.
Regarding element (1), Ishio discloses that apparatus include loading section ([0261]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to have a loading unit for supplying the temporary substrate for the purpose of substrate loading.
Regarding element (2), Ishio discloses that the temporary substrate with unit pixel is inspected in determination section (Fig. 29, numeral 105).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a wafer stage on which the temporary substrate supplied from the loading unit is located for the purpose of unit pixels inspection (Ishio, [0252]).
Regarding element (3), KR’325 however discloses a bin stage ([0058]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ishio with KR’325 to have a bin stage for the purpose of effective transfer process.
Regarding claim 12, Ishio discloses wherein the picker unit picks up and transports the unit pixels irradiated with ultraviolet rays in the unit of the predetermined area ([0250]).
Regarding claim 13, Ishio discloses wherein: the picker unit includes a pickup head (lower part of 61) having an adhesive tape, and the pickup head picks up the unit pixels using the adhesive tape ([0087]).
Regarding claim 14, Ishio discloses an ejector unit (61) pressing the temporary substrate while facing the pickup head ([0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Ishio does not disclose a gripper unit for gripping the temporary substrate from the loading unit and delivering it to the wafer stage.
KR’325 however discloses a gripper unit for gripping the temporary substrate from the loading unit and delivering it to the wafer stage ([0118]; [0023]; Fig.1).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ishio with KR’325 to have a gripper unit for gripping the temporary substrate from the loading unit and delivering it to the wafer stage for the purpose of effective transfer process.
Regarding claim 16, Ishio discloses a first vision unit for checking the unit pixels on the temporary substrate [0077]); a second vision unit for checking the unit pixels picked up by the picker unit ([0082]); and a third vision unit for checking the unit pixels on the carrier substrate ([0090]).
Regarding claim 17, KR’325 discloses an unloading unit (1510) for loading and unloading the carrier substrate; and a transfer robot (1500) that moves the carrier substrate from the unloading unit to the bin stage, and moves the carrier substrate to which the unit pixels are transferred from the bin stage to the unloading unit ([0058]; Fig.1).
Regarding claim 18, Ishio does not disclose wherein the predetermined area encompasses 20-unit pixels or more.
Ishio however discloses that the plurality of unit pixels can be removed ([0079]).
It would have been therefore obvious to have the predetermined area encompasses 20-unit pixels or more for the purpose of optimizing the transfer process.
Regarding claim 19, Ishio discloses wherein each of the unit pixels includes a blue light emitting device, a green light emitting device, and a red-light emitting device ([0059]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishio in view of KR’325 as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Fan (US 2009/0078955).
Regarding claim 20, Ishio does not disclose wherein the blue light emitting device, the green light emitting device, and the red-light emitting device are stacked on one another.
Fan however discloses wherein the blue light emitting device, the green light emitting device, and the red-light emitting device are stacked on one another ([0043]; Fig.1B, 1C).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Ishio with Fan to have the blue light emitting device, the green light emitting device, and the red-light emitting device are stacked on one another for the purpose of fabrication micro display devices (Fan, [0005]).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891