DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2 June 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita (US 2014/0312339 A1) in view of Matsushima (US 2015/0171327 A1).
With respect to claim 1: Fujita teaches “a display apparatus (10) comprising a first pixel (17 or 19) and a second pixel (19 or 21) arranged to be adjacent to the first pixel (see Fig. 1), wherein the first pixel comprises a first light-emitting element (15 in 17 or 19; see Fig. 1) comprising a first pixel electrode (12), a first EL layer (35) over the first pixel electrode (see Fig. 1), and a common electrode (13) over the first EL layer (see Fig. 1), and a first color conversion layer (26 or 27) over the first light-emitting element (see Fig. 1), wherein the second pixel comprises a second light-emitting element (15 in 19 or 21; see Fig. 1) comprising a second pixel electrode (12), a second EL layer over the second pixel electrode (25), and the common electrode over the second EL layer (13), and a second color conversion layer over the second light-emitting element (20 or 27), wherein the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element are each configured to emit blue light (paragraph 73), wherein the first color conversion layer is configured to convert light emitted from the first light-emitting element into light with different wavelengths (paragraph 71), wherein the second color conversion layer is configured to convert light emitted from the second light-emitting element into light with different wavelengths (paragraph 71), wherein the first pixel and the second pixel exhibit different colors (paragraph 71), and wherein a side surface of the first pixel electrode, a side surface of the first EL layer, a side surface of the second pixel electrode, and a side surface of the second EL layer each comprise a region (see Fig. 1) in contact with a first insulating layer (22)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “wherein the first insulating layer comprises a depressed portion, and wherein a second insulating layer is filled into the depressed portion and is positioned below the common electrode”.
However, Matsushima teaches “wherein the first insulating layer (314) comprises a depressed portion (314b), and wherein a second insulating layer (328) is filled into the depressed portion (see Fig. 12) and is positioned below the common electrode (317)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita with the depressed portion and second insulating layer filled therein taught by Matsushima in order to prevent light emitting material from one pixel from entering adjacent pixels during the manufacturing process (Matsushima paragraph 66) and prevent color mixing (Matsushima paragraph 77).
With respect to claim 2: Fujita teaches “a display apparatus (10) comprising a first pixel (17 or 19) and a second pixel (19 or 21) arranged to be adjacent to the first pixel (see Fig. 1), wherein the first pixel comprises a first light-emitting element (15 in 17 or 19; see Fig. 1) comprising a first pixel electrode (12), a first EL layer (35) over the first pixel electrode (see Fig. 1), and a common electrode (13) over the first EL layer (see Fig. 1), and a first color conversion layer (26 or 27) over the first light-emitting element (see Fig. 1), wherein the second pixel comprises a second light-emitting element (15 in 19 or 21; see Fig. 1) comprising a second pixel electrode (12), a second EL layer over the second pixel electrode (25), and the common electrode over the second EL layer (13), and a second color conversion layer over the second light-emitting element (20 or 27), wherein the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element are each configured to emit blue light (paragraph 73), wherein the first color conversion layer is configured to convert light emitted from the first light-emitting element into light with different wavelengths (paragraph 71), wherein the second color conversion layer is configured to convert light emitted from the second light-emitting element into light with different wavelengths (paragraph 71), wherein the first pixel and the second pixel exhibit different colors (paragraph 71), and wherein a side surface of the first pixel electrode, a side surface of the first EL layer, a side surface of the second pixel electrode, and a side surface of the second EL layer each comprise a region (see Fig. 1) in contact with a first insulating layer (22), wherein the first insulating layer comprises an inorganic material (paragraph 167)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “wherein the first insulating layer comprises a depressed portion, wherein a second insulating layer is filled into the depressed portion and is positioned below the common electrode, wherein the second insulating layer comprises an organic material”.
However, Matsushima teaches “wherein the first insulating layer (314) comprises a depressed portion (314b), wherein a second insulating layer (328) is filled into the depressed portion (see Fig. 12) and is positioned below the common electrode (17), wherein the second insulating layer comprises an organic material (paragraph 90)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita with the depressed portion and second insulating layer filled therein taught by Matsushima in order to prevent light emitting material from one pixel from entering adjacent pixels during the manufacturing process (Matsushima paragraph 66) and prevent color mixing (Matsushima paragraph 77).
With respect to claim 3: Fujita Fig. 1 embodiment teaches “a display apparatus (10) comprising a first pixel (17 or 19) and a second pixel (19 or 21) arranged to be adjacent to the first pixel (see Fig. 1), wherein the first pixel comprises a first light-emitting element (15 in 17 or 19; see Fig. 1) comprising a first pixel electrode (12), a first EL layer (35) over the first pixel electrode (see Fig. 1), and a common electrode (13) over the first EL layer (see Fig. 1), and a first color conversion layer (26 or 27) over the first light-emitting element (see Fig. 1), wherein the second pixel comprises a second light-emitting element (15 in 19 or 21; see Fig. 1) comprising a second pixel electrode (12), a second EL layer over the second pixel electrode (25), and the common electrode over the second EL layer (13), and a second color conversion layer over the second light-emitting element (20 or 27), wherein the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element are each configured to emit blue light (paragraph 73), wherein the first color conversion layer is configured to convert light emitted from the first light-emitting element into light with different wavelengths (paragraph 71), wherein the second color conversion layer is configured to convert light emitted from the second light-emitting element into light with different wavelengths (paragraph 71), wherein the first pixel and the second pixel exhibit different colors (paragraph 71), and wherein a side surface of the first pixel electrode, a side surface of the first EL layer, a side surface of the second pixel electrode, and a side surface of the second EL layer each comprise a region (see Fig. 1) in contact with a first insulating layer (22), wherein the first insulating layer comprises an inorganic material (paragraph 167)”
Fujita Fig. 1 does not teach “a common layer over the first EL layer, wherein a top surface of the first EL layer, a top surface of the second EL layer, and a top surface of the first insulating layer each comprise a region in contact with the common layer”.
However, in Fujita Fig. 9 embodiment, electron injection layer 37 is “a common layer over the first EL layer (35), wherein a top surface of the first EL layer (35 in 17 or 19), a top surface of the second EL layer (35 in 19 or 21), and a top surface of the first insulating layer (22) each comprise a region in contact with the common layer (see Fig. 9)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita by using a common electron injection layer as a substitute for multiple individual layers as an art recognized substitute for the individual layers for the purpose of transporting electrons in each of the display’s pixels (Fujita paragraph 281).
Fujita does not specifically teach wherein the first insulating layer comprises a depressed portion, wherein a second insulating layer is filled into the depressed portion and is positioned below the common layer, a top surface of the second insulating layer comprises a region in contact with the common layer.
However, Matsushima teaches wherein the first insulating layer (314) comprises a depressed portion (314b), wherein a second insulating layer (328) is filled into the depressed portion (see Fig. 12) and is positioned below the common layer (316), a top surface of the second insulating layer comprises a region in contact with the common layer (see Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita with the depressed portion and second insulating layer filled therein taught by Matsushima in order to prevent light emitting material from one pixel from entering adjacent pixels during the manufacturing process (Matsushima paragraph 66) and prevent color mixing (Matsushima paragraph 77).
With respect to claim 4: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 3 (see above)”.
Fujita further teaches “wherein the first insulating layer comprises an inorganic material (paragraph 167)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “wherein the second insulating layer comprises an organic material”.
However, Fujita teaches “wherein the second insulating layer comprises an organic material (paragraph 90)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita with the depressed portion and second insulating layer filled therein taught by Matsushima in order to prevent light emitting material from one pixel from entering adjacent pixels during the manufacturing process (Matsushima paragraph 66) and prevent color mixing (Matsushima paragraph 77).
With respect to claim 5: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “the display apparatus according to claim 3 (see above)”.
Fujita further teaches “wherein the common layer comprises at least one of a hole-injection layer, a hole- blocking layer, a hole-transport layer, an electron-transport layer, an electron-blocking layer, and an electron-injection layer (paragraph 281)”.
With respect to claim 8: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 1 (see above)”.
Fujita further teaches “wherein the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer each comprise a phosphor (paragraph 186)”.
With respect to claim 11: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 2 (see above)”.
Fujita further teaches “wherein the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer each comprise a phosphor (paragraph 186)”.
With respect to claim 14: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 3 (see above)”.
Fujita further teaches “wherein the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer each comprise a phosphor (paragraph 186)”.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Matsushima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0091152 A1).
With respect to claim 6: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 1(see above)”.
Fujita further teaches “wherein the first EL layer comprises a first light-emitting layer (35), a first charge-generation layer over the first light-emitting layer (34 or 36), wherein the second EL layer comprises a third light-emitting layer (35), a second charge- generation layer over the third light-emitting layer (34 or 36), wherein the first charge-generation layer and the second charge-generation layer comprise the same material (paragraphs 118, 143-146), and wherein the first insulating layer comprises at least a region in contact with a side surface of the first charge-generation layer and a region in contact with a side surface of the second charge-generation layer (see Fig. 1), wherein the first light-emitting layer and the third light-emitting layer comprise the same material (paragraphs 131-134)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “a second light-emitting layer over the first charge-generation layer, and a fourth light-emitting layer over the second charge-generation layer, wherein the second light-emitting layer and the fourth light-emitting layer comprise the same material”.
However, Yang teaches “a second light-emitting layer (433) over the first charge- generation layer (432), and a fourth light-emitting layer (435) over the second charge-generation layer (434)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita with the stacked pixel structure of Yang in order to obtain high resolution (Yang paragraph 79).
Fujita uses the same material as the light emitting layer in each pixel (paragraph 134), thus suggesting “wherein the second light-emitting layer and the fourth light-emitting layer comprise the same material” when the extra layers taught by Yang are combined therewith due to the art recognized suitability of the material taught by Fujita as a light emitting layer for each pixel of the device (Fujita paragraph 134).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Matsushima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Joo et al. (US 2021/0175291 A1).
With respect to claim 7: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 1(see above)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “wherein the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer each comprise a quantum dot”.
However, Joo teaches “wherein the first color conversion layer (CCF-R) and the second color conversion layer (CCF-G) each comprise a quantum dot (EP-G, EP-R; see paragraph 109)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita by substituting the quantum dots taught by Joo with the phosphors due to the art recognized equivalence of quantum dots and phosphors for the purpose of color conversion (Joo paragraph 109).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Matsushima as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Yang.
With respect to claim 9: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 2 (see above)”.
Fujita further teaches “wherein the first EL layer comprises a first light-emitting layer (35), a first charge-generation layer over the first light-emitting layer (34 or 36), wherein the second EL layer comprises a third light-emitting layer (35), a second charge- generation layer over the third light-emitting layer (34 or 36), wherein the first charge-generation layer and the second charge-generation layer comprise the same material (paragraphs 118, 143-146), and wherein the first insulating layer comprises at least a region in contact with a side surface of the first charge-generation layer and a region in contact with a side surface of the second charge-generation layer (see Fig. 1), wherein the first light-emitting layer and the third light-emitting layer comprise the same material (paragraphs 131-134)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “a second light-emitting layer over the first charge-generation layer, and a fourth light-emitting layer over the second charge-generation layer, wherein the second light-emitting layer and the fourth light-emitting layer comprise the same material”.
However, Yang teaches “a second light-emitting layer (433) over the first charge- generation layer (432), and a fourth light-emitting layer (435) over the second charge-generation layer (434)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita with the stacked pixel structure of Yang in order to obtain high resolution (Yang paragraph 79).
Fujita uses the same material as the light emitting layer in each pixel (paragraph 134), thus suggesting “wherein the second light-emitting layer and the fourth light-emitting layer comprise the same material” when the extra layers taught by Yang are combined therewith due to the art recognized suitability of the material taught by Fujita as a light emitting layer for each pixel of the device (Fujita paragraph 134).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Matsushima as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Joo.
With respect to claim 10: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 2 (see above)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “wherein the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer each comprise a quantum dot”.
However, Joo teaches “wherein the first color conversion layer (CCF-R) and the second color conversion layer (CCF-G) each comprise a quantum dot (EP-G, EP-R; see paragraph 109)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita by substituting the quantum dots taught by Joo with the phosphors due to the art recognized equivalence of quantum dots and phosphors for the purpose of color conversion (Joo paragraph 109).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Matsushima as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Yang.
With respect to claim 12: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 3 (see above)”.
Fujita further teaches “wherein the first EL layer comprises a first light-emitting layer (35), a first charge-generation layer over the first light-emitting layer (34 or 36), wherein the second EL layer comprises a third light-emitting layer (35), a second charge- generation layer over the third light-emitting layer (34 or 36), wherein the first charge-generation layer and the second charge-generation layer comprise the same material (paragraphs 118, 143-146), and wherein the first insulating layer comprises at least a region in contact with a side surface of the first charge-generation layer and a region in contact with a side surface of the second charge-generation layer (see Fig. 1), wherein the first light-emitting layer and the third light-emitting layer comprise the same material (paragraphs 131-134)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “a second light-emitting layer over the first charge-generation layer, and a fourth light-emitting layer over the second charge-generation layer, wherein the second light-emitting layer and the fourth light-emitting layer comprise the same material”.
However, Yang teaches “a second light-emitting layer (433) over the first charge- generation layer (432), and a fourth light-emitting layer (435) over the second charge-generation layer (434)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita with the stacked pixel structure of Yang in order to obtain high resolution (Yang paragraph 79).
Fujita uses the same material as the light emitting layer in each pixel (paragraph 134), thus suggesting “wherein the second light-emitting layer and the fourth light-emitting layer comprise the same material” when the extra layers taught by Yang are combined therewith due to the art recognized suitability of the material taught by Fujita as a light emitting layer for each pixel of the device (Fujita paragraph 134).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita in view of Matsushima as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Joo.
With respect to claim 13: Fujita in view of Matsushima teaches “The display apparatus according to claim 3 (see above)”.
Fujita does not specifically teach “wherein the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer each comprise a quantum dot”.
However, Joo teaches “wherein the first color conversion layer (CCF-R) and the second color conversion layer (CCF-G) each comprise a quantum dot (EP-G, EP-R; see paragraph 109)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display apparatus of Fujita by substituting the quantum dots taught by Joo with the phosphors due to the art recognized equivalence of quantum dots and phosphors for the purpose of color conversion (Joo paragraph 109).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shibusawa (US 20060060853 A1), which teaches a display device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875