DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the Response filed on 03/11/2026 and, in which claims1, 18, 37, 54 are directly amended, claims 1, 18, 37-60 are pending, wherein claims 1, 18, 37, 54 are recited in independent form. The present Application claims priority to foreign application PCTCN2021084178 with a filing date of 03/30/2021 (certified copy received 09/26/2023), and is a 371 of PCT/IB2022/052948 with a filing date of 03/30/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 18, 37, 54 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed to limitations added by amendment, which are addressed by the Examiner by reference to a new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicant amendment. Therefore, the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant asserts the limitation “indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a method for performing propagation delay estimation, wherein the method for performing propagation delay estimation comprises a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round-trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” added by amendment is not taught. Without agreeing, and in order to best address the limitations added by amendment Examiner provides US-20210329580 to Kim et al (hereinafter d3), which, when considered together with d1 in view of d2 suggest a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node; transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311); transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2). Turning to d3, di3 suggest a terminal device which indicates to a network node a particular identification during communication establishment (see d3 Figs. 8-9, paras. 0151-0155 and para. 00158-0164) wherein the identification identifies the terminal device as part of time sensitive communication (see d3 para. 0051-0057) wherein the signaling of the identifier by the terminal device equates to indicating a preference for propagation delay estimation using a more accurate of at least two methods (see d3 0192-0196, 0203, 0237) including at least RTT or TA based methods (see d3 para. 0158-0164, 0065-0067). Therefore, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet the limitations as amended. Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3 it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) (see d3 para. 0024-0025) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve efficiency and reliability of a communication system based on the time-sensitive networking (see d3 para. 0028). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, without importing limitations from the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is only limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked and is otherwise given the broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner had not identified any language which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, therefore the limitations will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation, without importing limitations for the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18, 37-39, 44-45, 51, 54-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20240137883 to Chen (hereinafter d1) in view of NPL document “Feature lead summary#2 on propagation delay compensation enhancements” (R1-2101896) to 3GPP (hereafter d2) in view of US-20210329580 to Kim et al (hereinafter d3).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “A method implemented by a terminal device, the method comprising:” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node;
As to the limitation “transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” d1 discloses transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311);
d1 does may not explicitly disclose all the limitations of claim 1, although the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitation and may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication, teaches transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a method for performing propagation delay estimation, wherein the method for performing propagation delay estimation comprises a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round-trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” added by amendment, without agreeing to any assertions regarding d1, d2 and/or d3, and in order to best address the limitations added by amendment Examiner turns to d3, which, when considered together with d1 in view of d2 suggest a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node; transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311); transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2). Turning to d3, di3 suggest a terminal device which indicates to a network node a particular identification during communication establishment (see d3 Figs. 8-9, paras. 0151-0155 and para. 00158-0164) wherein the identification identifies the terminal device as part of time sensitive communication (see d3 para. 0051-0057) wherein the signaling of the identifier by the terminal device equates to indicating a preference for propagation delay estimation using a more accurate of at least two methods (see d3 0192-0196, 0203, 0237) including at least RTT or TA based methods (see d3 para. 0158-0164, 0065-0067). Therefore, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet the limitations as amended.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3 it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) (see d3 para. 0024-0025) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve efficiency and reliability of a communication system based on the time-sensitive networking (see d3 para. 0028). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 18, as to the limitations “A method by a network node, the method comprising:” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node;
As to the limitation “receiving, from a terminal device, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” d1 discloses transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311);
d1 does may not explicitly disclose all the limitations of claim 1, although the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitation and may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication, teaches transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a method for performing propagation delay estimation, wherein the method for performing propagation delay estimation comprises a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round-trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” added by amendment, without agreeing to any assertions regarding d1, d2 and/or d3, and in order to best address the limitations added by amendment Examiner turns to d3, which, when considered together with d1 in view of d2 suggest a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node; transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311); transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2). Turning to d3, di3 suggest a terminal device which indicates to a network node a particular identification during communication establishment (see d3 Figs. 8-9, paras. 0151-0155 and para. 00158-0164) wherein the identification identifies the terminal device as part of time sensitive communication (see d3 para. 0051-0057) wherein the signaling of the identifier by the terminal device equates to indicating a preference for propagation delay estimation using a more accurate of at least two methods (see d3 0192-0196, 0203, 0237) including at least RTT or TA based methods (see d3 para. 0158-0164, 0065-0067). Therefore, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet the limitations as amended.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3 it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) (see d3 para. 0024-0025) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve efficiency and reliability of a communication system based on the time-sensitive networking (see d3 para. 0028). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 37, as to the limitations “A terminal device adapted to:” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node;
As to the limitation “transmit, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round-trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” d1 discloses transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311);
d1 does may not explicitly disclose all the limitations of claim 1, although the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitation and may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication, teaches transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a method for performing propagation delay estimation, wherein the method for performing propagation delay estimation comprises a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round-trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” added by amendment, without agreeing to any assertions regarding d1, d2 and/or d3, and in order to best address the limitations added by amendment Examiner turns to d3, which, when considered together with d1 in view of d2 suggest a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node; transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311); transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2). Turning to d3, di3 suggest a terminal device which indicates to a network node a particular identification during communication establishment (see d3 Figs. 8-9, paras. 0151-0155 and para. 00158-0164) wherein the identification identifies the terminal device as part of time sensitive communication (see d3 para. 0051-0057) wherein the signaling of the identifier by the terminal device equates to indicating a preference for propagation delay estimation using a more accurate of at least two methods (see d3 0192-0196, 0203, 0237) including at least RTT or TA based methods (see d3 para. 0158-0164, 0065-0067). Therefore, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet the limitations as amended.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3 it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) (see d3 para. 0024-0025) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve efficiency and reliability of a communication system based on the time-sensitive networking (see d3 para. 0028). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 38, as to the limitation “The terminal device of claim 37, wherein the first preference comprises at least one of: a preference of the terminal device for at least one downlink reference signal; a preference of the terminal device for at least one uplink reference signal; and a preference of the terminal device for at least one physical random access channel, PRACH, transmission on an uplink” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses at least one of a reference signal or a PRACH (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 39, as to the limitation “The terminal device of claim 37, wherein the first preference indicates a preference of the terminal device to use a network node based propagation delay estimation or a terminal device based propagation delay estimation” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses indicates a preference of the terminal device to use a network node based propagation delay estimation or a terminal device based propagation delay estimation (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266; d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 44, as to the limitation “he terminal device of claim 37 further adapted to transmit, to the network node, a desired clock synchronization accuracy of the terminal device” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 a desired clock synchronization accuracy of the terminal device (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266; d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 45, as to the limitation “The terminal device of any one of claims 37 to 44claim 37wherein the first preference comprises a periodicity for refreshing a clock between the terminal device and the network node” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 a desired clock synchronization accuracy of the terminal device (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266, Fig. 6 para. 0269, 0274; d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 51, as to the limitation “The terminal device of claim 37 wherein the information indicating the first preference of the terminal device is transmitted based on a selected PRACH resource, and wherein the PRACH resource is at least one of: a PRACH time/frequency resource, a PRACH preamble, a PRACH sequence length, a PRACH format, a PRACH power ramping step, PRACH back off time configuration, and a set of single side bands, SSBs, associated with a PRACH occasion and the PRACH preamble” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 disclose at least one of a time/frequency resource, a preamble, a sequence length, a format, a power ramping step, back off time configuration, and a set of single side bands, SSBs, associated with an occasion and the preamble (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 54, as to the limitations “A network node adapted to:” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node;
As to the limitation “receive, from a terminal device, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” d1 discloses transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311);
d1 does may not explicitly disclose all the limitations of claim 1, although the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitation and may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication, teaches transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2).
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
As to the limitation “indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a method for performing propagation delay estimation, wherein the method for performing propagation delay estimation comprises a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round-trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation” added by amendment, without agreeing to any assertions regarding d1, d2 and/or d3, and in order to best address the limitations added by amendment Examiner turns to d3, which, when considered together with d1 in view of d2 suggest a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including at least a terminal device (see d1 Fig. 9) and network node (see d1 Fig. 8) wherein each device includes the commonly used elements of processing circuitry, power supply circuitry which control the device to perform a method (see d1 Figs. 5) involving communication between the terminal device and the network node; transmitting from a terminal device and reception by a network node time synchronization scenario information reflective of preference of a UE regarding which of a known set of propagation delay techniques to use (see d1 Fig. 5 para. 0253-0266); as well as disclosure of known propagation delay techniques or TA or RTT based propagation delay techniques (see d1 para. 0018-0019, 0072-0073, 0231-0235, 0311); transmitting, to a network node, information indicating a first preference of the terminal device to use a timing advance, TA, based propagation delay estimation or a round- trip time, RRT, based propagation delay estimation (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2). Turning to d3, di3 suggest a terminal device which indicates to a network node a particular identification during communication establishment (see d3 Figs. 8-9, paras. 0151-0155 and para. 00158-0164) wherein the identification identifies the terminal device as part of time sensitive communication (see d3 para. 0051-0057) wherein the signaling of the identifier by the terminal device equates to indicating a preference for propagation delay estimation using a more accurate of at least two methods (see d3 0192-0196, 0203, 0237) including at least RTT or TA based methods (see d3 para. 0158-0164, 0065-0067). Therefore, d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 meet the limitations as amended.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 with d3 it is noted that d1, d2 and d3 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) (see d3 para. 0024-0025) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve efficiency and reliability of a communication system based on the time-sensitive networking (see d3 para. 0028). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 55, as to the limitation “The network node of claim 54, adapted to: select a configuration for clock synchronization between the network node and the terminal device based on the information indicating the first preference of the terminal device” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses selecting a configuration for clock synchronization between the network node and the terminal device based on the information indicating the first preference of the terminal device (see d1 Figs. 5-6 para. 0253-0273; d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 56, as to the limitation “The network node of claim 54, adapted to: based on the information indicating the first preference of the terminal device, determine whether the terminal device is a time sensitive network, TSN, terminal device or a non-TSN terminal device; and determine or adjust at least one parameter associated with a propagation delay configuration based on whether the terminal device is determined to be the TSN terminal device or the non-TSN terminal device” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses determining whether the terminal device is a time sensitive network, TSN, terminal device or a non-TSN terminal device; and determine or adjust at least one parameter associated with a propagation delay configuration based on whether the terminal device is determined to be the TSN terminal device or the non-TSN terminal device (see d1 Figs. 5-6 para. 0253-0273; d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 57, as to the limitation “The network node of claim 54, adapted to: determine whether the network node needs the information indicating the first preference of the terminal device; and transmit, to the terminal device, a request for the information indicating the first preference” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses determining whether the network node needs the information indicating the first preference of the terminal device; and transmit, to the terminal device, a request for the information indicating the first preference (see d1 Figs. 5-6 para. 0253-0273; d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 58, as to the limitation “The network node of claim 54,wherein the first preference comprises at least one of: a preference of the terminal device for at least one downlink reference signal; a preference of the terminal device for at least one uplink reference signal; and a preference of the terminal device for at least one physical random access channel, PRACH, transmission on an uplink” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses at least one of: a preference of the terminal device for at least one downlink reference signal; a preference of the terminal device for at least one uplink reference signal; and a preference of the terminal device for at least one physical random access channel, PRACH, transmission on an uplink (see d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 59, as to the limitation “The network node of claim 54, wherein the first preference indicates a preference of the terminal device to use a network node based propagation delay estimation or a terminal device based propagation delay estimation” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses indicating a preference of the terminal device to use a network node based propagation delay estimation or a terminal device based propagation delay estimation (see d1 Figs. 5-6 para. 0253-0273; d2 page 29, section 3.1.2-2), wherein implementation is obvious from the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3.
Regarding a motivation to combine d1 and d2 it is noted that d1 and d2 are executed in similar field of endeavor (wireless communication), involving similar procedure (TSN delay compensation) wherein the disclosure of d1, d2 and/or d3 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve flexibility, rationality of the time synchronization strategy, and applicability under the time synchronization scenario, which is beneficial to reduce the system overhead and improve the time synchronization effect (see d1 para. 0270). Such teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is found in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved performance. Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (wireless communication) in a similar manner (TSN delay compensation) for similar purposes (enhanced performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40-43, 46-50, 52-53, 60 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643