DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/02/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claim 1, Applicant argues:
a) D1 does not disclose “receiving from a network node, a plurality of random access channel, RACH, configurations, each RACH configuration being associated with a cell within a plurality of cells that are configured to as target candidate cells for Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility” because “the disclosed RACH configuration and RACH configuration index are not each associated with one of a plurality of cells that configured as target candidate cells for Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility. In fact, DI relates specifically to handover for LTE and does not even mention Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility.” (p11, 1st para);
b) D2 does not discloses “receiving a Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling comprising an indication of a change from a source cell to a target cell, wherein the target cell is one of the cells configured as target candidate cells for Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility” because “none of the cited paragraphs disclose or even relate to Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility.”, similar reasons stated in a) (p11, last 2 paras);
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees:
a) D1 recites physCellIds and MAC CE, and physCellIds is associated with layer 1 and MAC CE is associated with layer 2 as explained by OA. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Applicant made the statement that D1 does not disclose “Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility” without even addressing Examiner’s interpretation on L1 and L2 mobility with RACH configuration;
b) similar to what stated in response to a) regarding L1 and L2 mobility, D1 recites targetPhysCellId with L1 Mobility and targetCelllndex of the MAC CE L2. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Applicant does not address Examiner’s interpretation on L1 and L2 mobility with RACH configuration.
Applicant’s arguments to other claims are based on the arguments to claim 1, to which Examiner’s responses are the same as to that of claim 1.
Applicant’s Request for Evidentiary Support (p12, last para) is moot because the OA does not rely on “common knowledge” or “Official Notice” and other information with the Examiner’s personal knowledge to establish rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 18, 27-29, 31-32, 34-42 and 45-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by D1 (US 20170135001).
For claim 1, D1 discloses a method by a wireless device (FIG. 1, Terminal 100), the method comprising:
receiving from a network node, a plurality of random access channel, RACH, configurations (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0013] … receiving system information from the source base station, wherein a plurality of RACH configuration information of a plurality of cells in the wireless communication system is mapped to a plurality of RACH configuration indices, respectively, and the system information includes mapping information between the plurality of RACH configuration information and the plurality of RACH configuration indices.”), each RACH configuration being associated with a cell within a plurality of cells that are configured to as target candidate cells for Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility (“[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …”);
receiving a Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling comprising an indication of a change from a source cell to a target cell, wherein the target cell is one of the cells configured as target candidate cells for Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0052] … cell identifications physCellIds of the adjacent cells measured by the terminal are sequentially arranged and included in information elements of the adjacent cell measurement report messages”, “[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …” and [0064]; note that physCellIds is associated with layer 1 and MAC CE is associated with layer 2); and
based on the indication, determining, among the plurality of RACH configurations, a RACH configuration associated with the target cell (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
For claim 18, D1 discloses a method by a network node (FIG. 1, network device 300), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless device, a plurality of random access channel, RACH, configurations (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0013] … receiving system information from the source base station, wherein a plurality of RACH configuration information of a plurality of cells in the wireless communication system is mapped to a plurality of RACH configuration indices, respectively, and the system information includes mapping information between the plurality of RACH configuration information and the plurality of RACH configuration indices.”), each RACH configuration being associated with a cell within a plurality of cells that are configured as target candidate cells for Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …”; note that MAC CE is a layer 2); and
transmitting, to the wireless device via Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling, an indication of a change from a source cell to a target cell, wherein the indication enables the wireless device to determine, among the plurality of RACH configurations, a RACH configuration associated with the target cell (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …” and “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
Claim 27 is rejected because it is a claim of a wireless device that performs the method of claim 1 and has the same subject matter.
Claim 45 is rejected because it is a claim of a network device that performs the method of claim 18 and has the same subject matter.
As to claim 28, D1 discloses claim 27, D1 further discloses wherein the Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling is one of:
a mobility signaling indicating a change from the source cell associated with a first Physical Cell Identifier, PCI, to the target cell associated with a second PCI (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …” or [0064]; note that the target cell index targetCelllndex is a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) mobility signaling), and
a signaling multiplexed with mobility signaling indicating a change from the source cell to the target cell (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”; note that “pre-RACH command” is a mobility signaling).
As to claim 29, D1 discloses claim 27, D1 further discloses wherein the wireless device is adapted to perform a random access using the determined RACH configuration (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as reference sign S210 of FIG. 2 or “[0065] … steps S206 and S210 of FIG. 2 may be performed through the L2 signaling”).
As to claim 31, D1 discloses claim 29, D1 further discloses: wherein when performing the random access using the determined RACH configuration, the wireless device is adapted to:
determine that at least one condition is fulfilled; and based on the at least one condition being fulfilled, use the determined RACH configuration (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
As to claim 32, D1 discloses claim 31, D1 further discloses: wherein when determining that the at least one condition is fulfilled, the wireless device is adapted to determine that a timer associated with the determined RACH configuration is running (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
As to claims 34 and 46. The wireless device of claims 27 and 45, wherein the determined RACH configuration comprises at least one parameter that is applicable to the plurality of cells, each of the cells being associated with one or more Physical Cell Identifiers, PCIs (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
As to claim 35, D1 discloses claim 27, D1 further discloses: wherein the determined RACH configuration comprises at least one parameter that is applicable only to the particular cell that is associated with one or more Physical Cell Identifiers, PCIs (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
As to claim 36, D1 discloses claim 27, D1 further discloses: wherein the determined RACH configuration comprises at least one parameter that is applicable only to the target cell that is associated with one or more Physical Cell Identifiers, PCIs (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”)
As to claim 37, D1 discloses claim 27, D1 further discloses: wherein the plurality of RACH configurations are received via a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0007] That leads to a procedure where changing beams from different cells require RRC signaling and a set of UE protocols actions”).
As to claim 38, D1 discloses claim 27, D1 further discloses: wherein the wireless device is adapted to perform at least one of:
receive a change to at least a portion of the determined RACH configuration (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”);
receive a change to an association between at least a portion of the determined RACH configuration and a cell or a Physical Cell Identifier, PCI (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”); and
receive a change to an association between at least a portion of the determined RACH configuration and a parameter or an information element (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0052] … cell identifications physCellIds of the adjacent cells measured by the terminal are sequentially arranged and included in information elements of the adjacent cell measurement report messages”).
As to claim 39, D1 discloses claim 27, D1 further discloses: wherein the indication of the change from the source cell to the target cell is received as a Medium Access Control-Control Element, MAC CE (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
As to claim 40, D1 discloses claim 39, D1 further discloses: wherein the MAC CE comprises a cell identifier associated with a new target cell, and the wireless device is adapted to:
determine a new RACH configuration among the plurality of RACH configurations associated with the new target cell (FIGs. 1-10 and associated text; e.g, FIG. 2 shows RACH configurations associated with the target BS/cell 300, or “[0013] … receiving system information from the source base station, wherein a plurality of RACH configuration information of a plurality of cells in the wireless communication system is mapped to a plurality of RACH configuration indices …”); and
switch from the target cell to the new target cell (FIGs. 1-10 and associated text, such as “[0052] FIG. 2 is a view for describing a method for handover according to a first exemplary embodiment of the present invention”).
As to claim 41, D1 discloses claim 39, D1 further discloses: wherein the MAC CE comprises a RACHConfigID associated with a new target cell to which the wireless device performs Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility (FIGs. 1-10 and associated text, such as “[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …”;).
As to claim 42, D1 discloses claim 39, D1 further discloses: wherein the MAC CE comprises a mobilityCellID and the RACHConfigID, and the wireless device is adapted to update an association between the mobilityCellID and the RACHConfigID (FIGs. 1-10 and associated text, such as “[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …”).
As to claim 47, D1 discloses claim 45, D1 further discloses: wherein at least one RACH configuration within the plurality of RACH configurations comprises at least one parameter that is applicable only to the target cell that is associated with one or more Physical Cell Identifiers, PCIs (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
As to claim 48, D1 discloses claim 45, D1 further discloses: wherein the plurality of RACH configurations are transmitted in a Radio Resource Control message, a Medium Access Control message, and/or a Medium Access Control-Control Element (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
As to claim 49, D1 discloses claim 45, D1 further discloses: further adapted to transmit, to the wireless device, at least one of:
a change to at least a portion of at least one RACH configuration (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0052] … cell identifications physCellIds of the adjacent cells measured by the terminal are sequentially arranged and included in information elements of the adjacent cell measurement report messages”);
a change to an association between at least a portion of at least one RACH configuration and a cell or a Physical Cell Identifier, PCI (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”); and
a change to an association between at least a portion of at least one RACH configuration and a parameter or an information element (FIGs. 1-10 and associated text, such as “[0052] … cell identifications physCellIds of the adjacent cells measured by the terminal are sequentially arranged and included in information elements of the adjacent cell measurement report messages”).
As to claim 50, D1 discloses claim 45, D1 further discloses: wherein the indication of the change from the source cell to the target cell is transmitted via a Medium Access Control—Control Element, MAC CE (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0064] The terminal 100 receiving the pre-RACH command may confirm a cell identification targetPhysCellId of the target base station through the target cell index targetCelllndex of the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command, and obtain the RACH transmission section information of the target base station 300 through the RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 33 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (US 20170135001) in view of D2 (WO 2022097046, FOR dated 9/26/23, 72 pages).
As to claim 30, D1 discloses claim 29, and is silent but D2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication, discloses: wherein the wireless device is adapted to start a timer upon receiving the plurality of RACH configurations, and wherein the determined RACH configuration is used until the timer expires (FIGs. 5-19 and associated text, such as “[0202] … • Within ServingCellConfigCommon, and within the RACH configuration, for each beam there can be a configured PCI (that is not necessarily the same as the PCI within ServingCellConfigCommon). • Multiple instances of ReconfigurationWithSync IES ServingCellConfigCommon configurations (list-spCellConfigCommon of IE SEQUENCE (SIZE(E.Kl)) OF ServingCellConfigCommon), one per PCI and/or cell the UE can access in the handover e.g. within ReconfigurationWithSync; in that case, there would be an instance of timer T304 value for each PCI and/or cell that could be accessed; hence, upon selecting an SSB the UE determines the PCI and/or cell associated and applies the associated configuration e.g. starts the timer T304 with a value within that configuration.” or ([0009], 5th bullet “… o rach-ConfigDedicated: Random access configuration to be used for the reconfiguration with sync (e.g. handover). The UE performs the RA according to these parameters in the firstActiveUplinkBWP (see UplinkConfig). ...”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of D2 above to the wireless system by D1 to yield a predictable result of updating RACH configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application to combine D1 and D2 for the benefit of updating RACH configuration ([0009] of D2).
As to claim 33, D1 discloses claim 31, and is silent but D2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication, discloses: wherein the wireless device is adapted to: determine that the timer associated with the determined RACH configuration has expired; and determine to cease using the determined RACH configuration (FIGs. 5-19 and associated text, such [0009], 5th bullet “… ReconfigurationWithSync: o spCellConfigCommon (of IE ServingCellConfigCommon): used to configure cell specific parameters of a UE's serving cell. The IE contains parameters which a UE would typically acquire from SSB, MIB or SIBs when accessing the cell from IDLE. With this IE, the network provides this information in dedicated signalling when configuring a PCell upon reconfiguration with sync. o newUE-Identity of IE RNTI-Value: C-RNTI for this cell group o t304: supervision timer started upon reconfiguration with sync and upon expiry the UE declares a handover/reconfiguration with sync failure. o rach-ConfigDedicated: Random access configuration to be used for the reconfiguration with sync (e.g. handover). The UE performs the RA according to these parameters in the firstActiveUplinkBWP (see UplinkConfig). ...”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of D2 above to the wireless system by D1 to yield a predictable result of updating RACH configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application to combine D1 and D2 for the benefit of updating RACH configuration ([0009] of D2).
As to claim 43, D1 discloses claim 39, D1 further discloses: wherein the wireless device determines not to perform random access when a Time Alignment, TA, timer is running, and the wireless device is adapted to:
upon receiving an indication to perform the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility (FIGs. 1-10 and the associated text, such as “[0052] … cell identifications physCellIds of the adjacent cells measured by the terminal are sequentially arranged and included in information elements of the adjacent cell measurement report messages”, “[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …” and [0064]),
D1 is silent but D2, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication, discloses: initiate monitoring of a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, and/or Control Resource Set, CORESET, according to an indicated Transmission Configuration Identifier, TCI, state (FIGs. 5-19 and associated text, such “[0013] L1/L2 inter-cell centric mobility should be understood as a UE receiving a L1/L2 signaling (instead of RRC signaling) indicating a TCI state (e.g. for PDCCH) associated to an SSB whose PCI is not necessarily the same as the PCI of the cell the UE has connected to e.g. via connection resume or connection establishment. In other words, Ll/L2-centric inter-cell mobility procedure can be interpreted as a beam management operation expanding the coverage of multiple SSBs associated to multiple PCIs (e.g. possibly associated to the same cell or different cells).”). OOSA would have been motivated to apply the teaching of D2 above to the wireless system by D1 to yield a predictable result of expanding the coverage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application to combine D1 and D2 for the benefit of expanding the coverage ([0013] of D2).
As to claim 44, D1 in view of D2 discloses claim 43, further discloses: wherein the wireless device determines to perform random access when the TA timer has expired (FIGs. 5-19 and associated text, such [0009] … 5th bullet “… As to claim 33, D1 discloses claim 31, D1 further discloses: wherein the wireless device is adapted to: determine that the timer associated with the determined RACH configuration has expired; and determine to cease using the determined RACH configuration.”), and the wireless device is further adapted to: upon receiving an indication to perform the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility, perform random access with the determined RACH configuration (D1: “[0052] … cell identifications physCellIds of the adjacent cells measured by the terminal are sequentially arranged and included in information elements of the adjacent cell measurement report messages”, “[0061] Referring to FIG. 5, the MAC CE of the pre-RACH command includes one octet (8 bits) including a 4-bit target cell index targetCelllndex and a 4-bit RACH configuration index rachConfiglndex. …”). The motivation of combining D1 and D2 is updating RACH configuration ([0009] of D2).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462