Claim Objection
Claims 1, 19, 35 and 54 are objected for missing antecedent basis for “……receiving, from the network node via Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling, an indication…
There are two claims numbered as “35”. Appropriate correction is required. Infact independent claim 35 should be renumbered as “claim 36” and similar correction is required for the following claims.
Claim number 45 is missing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-44, 46-53 and 54-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
a processor, memory, etc.
Examiner suggest the applicant to amend claims 35 and 54 as below:
A wireless device comprising:
a processor;
a memory;
a transceiver; etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19, 35, 35-41 (two claims were numbered as 35), 43-44, 46-47, 49-50, and 52-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0014991, hereinafter Zhou) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0014997, hereinafter Zhou II).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a method by a User Equipment, UE (para 0008; method for wireless communication by a UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node, an indication of a list of UE identifiers for the UE to use in a target candidate cell after a Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0100; UE receiving signaling configuring multiple candidate target physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of at least one candidate target cell that supports physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer mobility signaling); receiving, from the network node via Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling, an indication (para 0073; 0086 an indication provided to UE); and based on the indication, determining a UE identifier to use at the target candidate cell after the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0063;0087-0089; 0126; 0183 – C-RNTIs).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 19, Zhou discloses a network node (para 0012; communication by a network entity), the method comprising:
transmitting to a user equipment, UE, an indication of a list of UE identifiers for the UE to use in a target candidate cell after a Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0100; UE receiving signaling configuring multiple candidate target physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of at least one candidate target cell that supports physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer mobility signaling); transmitting, to the UE via Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling, an indication (para 0073; 0086 an indication provided to UE) of a change from a source cell to a target cell (para 0012; and 0031), wherein the indication enables the UE to determine a UE identifier to use at the target candidate cell after the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0063;0087-0089; 0126; 0183 – C-RNTIs).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 35 (numbering needs to be corrected), Zhou discloses a wireless device adapted to (para 0008; wireless communication by a UE):
receive, from a network node, an indication of a list of UE identifiers for the UE to use in a target candidate cell after a Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0100; UE receiving signaling configuring multiple candidate target physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of at least one candidate target cell that supports physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer mobility signaling); receive, from the network node via Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling, an indication (para 0073; 0086 an indication provided to UE); and based on the indication, determine a UE identifier to use at the target candidate cell after the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0063;0087-0089; 0126; 0183 – C-RNTIs).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 54, Zhou discloses a network node adapted to (para 0012; communication by a network entity):
transmit to a user equipment, UE, an indication of a list of UE identifiers for the UE to use in a target candidate cell after a Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0100; UE receiving signaling configuring multiple candidate target physical cell identifiers (PCIs) of at least one candidate target cell that supports physical (PHY) layer or medium access control (MAC) layer mobility signaling); transmit, to the UE via Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling, an indication (para 0073; 0086 an indication provided to UE) of a change from a source cell to a target cell (para 0012; and 0031), wherein the indication enables the UE to determine a UE identifier to use at the target candidate cell after the Layer 1 or Layer 2 procedure (para 0063;0087-0089; 0126; 0183 – C-RNTIs).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 35, Zhou discloses wherein the indication 1s transmitted via downlink control information, DCI (para 0068; DCI).
Regarding claims 36, Zhou discloses wherein the wireless device is adapted to perform one of receiving and transmitting data in the target cell based on the indicated UE identifier (para 0011; 0087-0088).
Regarding claim 37, Zhou discloses wherein the Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling indicates a Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state (para 0052; 0065-0066; TCI state), and wherein the wireless device is adapted to: determine a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, of the target cell based on the TCI state (para 0071); and determine the UE identifier to use at the target cell based on the SSB (para 0067-0069).
Regarding claim 38, Zhou discloses wherein the wireless device is adapted to performing the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure, and wherein the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure comprises a beam management operation expanding a coverage of a plurality of SSBs associated to a plurality of Physical Cell Identifiers, PCIs (para 0047-0048; 0050; 0052 and 0064).
Regarding claim 39, Zhou discloses wherein the UE identifier is associated with a plurality of PCIs of a plurality of target candidate cells in Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (0074-0075 and 0087-0088).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that there is a list of UE identifiers associated with the plurality of PCIs.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses that there is a list of UE identifiers associated with the plurality of PCIs (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 40, Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the list of UE identifiers is associated with a single PCI associated with the target candidate cell.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses wherein the list of UE identifiers is associated with a single PCI associated with the target candidate cell (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 41, Zhou discloses wherein the determined UE identifier is associated with a PCI of the target candidate cell of the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0087-0088).
Regarding claim 43, Zhou does not explicitly disclose that wherein the list comprising the UE identifiers comprises a list of a plurality of Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifiers, C-RNTIs.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses that wherein the list comprising the UE identifiers comprises a list of a plurality of Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifiers, C-RNTIs. (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 44, Zhou discloses, wherein the indication comprises a C-RNTI to use in the target candidate cell after the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure.
(para 0087-0088 and 0090).
Regarding claim 46, Zhou discloses wherein the indication comprises a PCI associated with the target candidate cell, and when determining the UE identifier (para 0090-0091), the wireless device is adapted to determine a C-RNTI to use at the target candidate cell after the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure based on the PCI (para 0087-0088).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the identifier is determined among the list of UE identifiers.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses that the UE identifier is determined from the list of UE identifiers (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 47, Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication further comprises an indication of a cell group associated with the list of UE identifiers.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses wherein the indication further comprises an indication of a cell group associated with the list of UE identifiers (para 0058; 0067-0068; 0075-0076; set of cells). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Regarding claim 49, Zhou discloses wherein the list of UE identifiers is received as a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message (para 0053-0054; RRC).
Regarding claim 50, Zhou discloses wherein the indication is received via a Medium Access Control-Control Element, MAC CE (para 0031; 0101;0104; MAC-CE).
Regarding claim 52, Zhou discloses wherein the indication is received via downlink control information, DCI (para 0065; and 0068-0069).
Regarding claim 53, Zhou discloses wherein the wireless device is adapted to use the determined UE identifier in the target candidate cell in the place of another UE identifier used prior to the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (para 0087-0088; C-RNTI is a temporary identifier for a particular PCI).
Regarding claims 55, Zhou discloses wherein the network node is adapted to perform one of receiving and transmitting data based on the UE identifier determined by the UE (para 0011; 0087-0088).
Regarding claim 56, Zhou discloses wherein the Layer 1 or Layer 2 signaling indicates a Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state (para 0052; 0065-0066; TCI state), for determining a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, of the target cell by the UE,
and wherein the UE identifier to use at the target cell based on the SSB (para 0067-0069).
Regarding claim 57, Zhou discloses wherein the Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure comprises a beam management operation expanding a coverage of a plurality of SSBs associated to a plurality of Physical Cell Identifiers, PCIs (para 0047-0048; 0050; 0052 and 0064).
Regarding claim 58, Zhou discloses wherein the UE identifier is associated with a plurality of PCIs of a plurality of target candidate cells in Layer 1 or Layer 2 mobility procedure (0074-0075 and 0087-0088).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that there is a list of UE identifiers associated with the plurality of PCIs.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses that there is a list of UE identifiers associated with the plurality of PCIs (para 0112- 0113;0183; different RNTIs). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to maintain quality of service during handover.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou/Zhou II in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US 2020/0314701, hereinafter Talebi).
Regarding claim 42, Zhou/Zhou II does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless device is adapted to receive at least one additional list of UE identifiers, wherein each additional list comprises at least one additional UE identifier of which the wireless device is configured to use in one of a plurality of target candidate cells.
In an analogous art, Talebi discloses wherein the wireless device is adapted to receive at least one additional list of UE identifiers, wherein each additional list comprises at least one additional UE identifier of which the wireless device is configured to use in one of a plurality of target candidate cells (para 0067; 0181; 0265; 0272; 0289-0290; 0293). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou/Zhou II’s method/system by having Talebi’s disclosure in order to improve session management during handover.
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou/Zhou II in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0306768, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 48, Zhou/Zhou II does not explicitly disclose wherein the cell group comprises a master cell group or a secondary cell group to which the target candidate cell belongs.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the cell group comprises a master cell group or a secondary cell group to which the target candidate cell belongs (para 0059; 0103; 0177; 0191). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou/Zhou II’s method/system by having Kim’s disclosure in order to efficiently address the changes during handover.
7. Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou/Zhou II in view of Rao (WO 2021/101538, hereinafter Rao).
Regarding claim 51, Zhou/Zhou II does not explicitly disclose the MAC CE comprises at least one bit for indicating a UE identifier, and when determining the UE identifier among the list of UE identifiers to use at the target candidate cell, the wireless device is adapted to replace a portion of a previous UE identifier with the at least one bit to arrive at the determined UE identifier.
In an analogous art, Rao discloses the MAC CE comprises at least one bit for indicating a UE identifier (para 0054-0055; 0057), and when determining the UE identifier among the list of UE identifiers to use at the target candidate cell (para 0022-0023), the wireless device is adapted to replace a portion of a previous UE identifier with the at least one bit to arrive at the determined UE identifier (para 0067). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou/Zhou II’s method/system by having Rao’s disclosure in order to provide reliable and low latency communication.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462