DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/26/2023 and 11/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The Office acknowledges the applicant’s 9/26/2023 preliminary amendment to: 1. Amend the instant Specification. 2. Amend the Claims.
Claims Status
Claims 21-39 are currently pending. Claims 1-20 have been canceled. New claims 21-39 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-34; and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 21 recites the limitation "the at least one structurable material" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, "the at least one structurable material" in line 6 will be interpreted to read as "the structurable material".
In Re claims 22-29 and 31-34, they are rejected due to their dependence from claim 1.
B. Claim 30 recites the limitation "the partially transparent material" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, "the partially transparent material" in lines 2-3 will be interpreted to read as "the at least partially transparent material".
C. Claim 38 recites the limitation "the partially transparent material" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, "the partially transparent material" in lines 2-3 will be interpreted to read as "the at least partially transparent material".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-36 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MLADENOVSKI et al (US 2020/0335482 A1, hereafter Mladenovski).
Re claim 35, Mladenovski discloses in FIG. 4 (with references to FIG. 3) an optoelectronic intermediate product (light emitting source) comprising:
a printed circuit board (32; [0030]) having at least one first region (bottom of 24; [0030]) and at least one second region (left/right 22; [0030] and [0034]) adjacent to the first region (bottom of 24);
at least one optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 20; [0030]) arranged on (within) the at least one first region (bottom of 24); and
a partial region (upper part) of a structured sacrificial layer (30; [0030]) arranged on a top surface (upper plane) of the at least one optoelectronic semiconductor
component (20),
wherein the at least one second region (left/right 22) protrudes (extends) above the top surface (upper plane) of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 20), and
wherein a top surface (upper plane) of the partial region (upper part) of the structured sacrificial layer (30) opposite (above) the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 20) protrudes (extends above) the at least one second region (left/right 22).
Re claim 36, Mladenovski discloses the optoelectronic intermediate product
according to claim 35, further comprising a contact pad (27/28; [0030]) arranged
between the first region (bottom of 24) and the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 20).
Re claim 38, Mladenovski discloses the optoelectronic intermediate product
according to claim 35, wherein the structured sacrificial layer (30) comprises an at least partially transparent material (optical encapsulant; [0023]), and wherein the at least partially transparent material (optical encapsulant) is parylene or silicone ([0023]).
Re claim 39, Mladenovski discloses the optoelectronic intermediate product
according to claim 35, wherein the structured sacrificial layer (30) comprises light-converting and/or light-scattering particles (36; [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOON et al (US 2019/0027639 A1, hereafter Yoon) in view of Wu et al (US 2016/0172253 A1, hereafter Wu).
Re claim 21, Yoon discloses in FIGS. 9-10 and 14 a method for transferring at
least one optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) from a first carrier (110) to a second carrier (10g), the method comprising:
providing (FIG. 9: P1 and FIG. 14) an optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100; [0111]) on the first carrier (110; [0111]);
picking up (FIG. 9: P2 and FIG. 10(a)) the optoelectronic semiconductor
component (LED 100) by a transfer unit (130; [0112]) comprising a placement of (attaching) the transfer unit (130) on a top surface (upper plane) of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100);
lifting (FIG. 9: P2) the optoelectronic semiconductor (LED 100) component off the first carrier (110);
arranging (FIG. 9: P3 and FIG. 10) the optoelectronic semiconductor component
(LED 100) on a first region (bottom of 121; [0111]) of the second carrier (10g), wherein at least a second region (left/right 122; [0111]) adjacent to the first region (bottom of 121) on the second carrier (10g) protrudes (extends vertically higher) the top surface (upper plane) of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100); and
fixing (FIGS. 10(c)-10(d); [0119]-[0120]) the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) to the second carrier (10g),
wherein a top surface (upper plane) of the at least one second region (left/right 120f) protrudes the top surface (upper plane) of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) after the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) is arranged on the first region (bottom of 121).
Yoon fails to disclose applying a structurable material layer on the at least one
optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) arranged on the first carrier (110); structuring the structurable material layer in such a way that a partial region of the structured material layer on a top surface of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) is assigned to the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100); picking up the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) by the transfer unit (130) comprising the placement of (attaching) the transfer unit (130) on a top surface of the partial region of the structured material layer opposite the optoelectronic
semiconductor component (LED 100); and wherein the top surface of the partial region of the structured material layer protrudes the at least one second region (left/right 122) after the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) is arranged on the first region (bottom of 121).
However,
Wu discloses in FIGS. 2A-2N a method for transferring at least one optoelectronic
semiconductor component (left ED; [0022] and [0032]) from a first carrier (S1; [0027]) to a second carrier (S2; [0037]), the method comprising:
applying (FIGS. 2G-2H) a structurable material layer (120; [0032]) on at least one optoelectronic semiconductor component layer (100’; [0032]) arranged on the first carrier (S1);
structuring (patterning; [0032]) the one structurable material layer (120) in such a way (photolithography and etching; [0032]) that a partial region (120a; [0032]) of the structured material layer (120) on a top surface (upper plane) of the optoelectronic semiconductor component layer (100’) is assigned to the optoelectronic semiconductor component (left ED);
picking up (FIG. 2L; [0035]) the optoelectronic semiconductor component (left ED) by a transfer unit (200; [0035]) comprising the placement of (attaching) the transfer unit (200) on a top surface (upper plane) of the partial region (120a) of the structured material layer (100’) opposite the optoelectronic semiconductor component (left ED); and
wherein the top surface (upper plane) of the partial region (120a) of the structured material layer (100’) protrudes (extends from when 120a not removed; [0038]) the top surface (upper plane) of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (left ED) after the optoelectronic semiconductor component (left ED) is arranged (placed in FIG. 2N) on a first region (left two bumps Bs; [0037]) of the second carrier (S2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yoon by adding the applying a structurable material layer on the at least one optoelectronic semiconductor
component, as disclosed by Wu, arranged on the first carrier (110), structuring the
structurable material layer in such a way that a partial region of the structured material layer on a top surface of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) is assigned to the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100); picking up the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) by the transfer unit (130) comprising the placement of (attaching) the transfer unit (130) on a top surface of the partial region of the structured material layer opposite the optoelectronic semiconductor
component (LED 100); and wherein the top surface of the partial region of the structured material layer protrudes the at least one second region (left/right 122) after the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) is arranged on the first region (bottom of 121), to add a protective layer to the top surface of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100), preventing the transfer unit from engaging and damaging the at least one second region (left/right 120f).
For the record, the inserted figure (annotated (a)-(d) of FIG. 10) depicts the partial region (120a) of Wu applied to the top surface of the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) of Yoon, wherein the top surface of the partial region of the structured material layer protrudes the at least one second region (left/right 120f) after the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) is arranged on the first region (bottom of 121).
Re claim 22, Yoon discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the
first region forms (bottom of 121) a bottom surface (lower plane) of a cavity (left/right
sidewalls 120f of 121; [0111]) and the at least one second region (left/right 122) forms a surface (shape) of a rim (mask; [0111]) forming the cavity (left/right sidewalls 120f of 121).
Re claim 23, Yoon and Wu disclose the method according to claim 21, wherein fixing (Yoon: FIGS. 10(c)-10(d) the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) comprises pressing (in the Z direction; [0117]) the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) onto the second carrier (10g) and optionally heating (Wu: [0037]) the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) to melt the solder (Yoon: 12; [0056]) as part of the method discussed for claim 21.
Re claim 24, Yoon and Wu disclose the method according to claim 21, wherein fixing (FIGS. 10(c)-10(d)) the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) is conducted by a substantially rigid plate (130; [0112]), the plate optionally being formed of a plurality of layers having different degrees of hardness.
Re claim 25, Yoon discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the second carrier (10g) is a printed circuit board (PCB; [0048]).
Re claim 26, Yoon discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the first carrier (110) is a wafer (110/112; [0149]) or a growth substrate.
Re claim 27, Yoon discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the first region (bottom of 121) comprises a contact pad (11; [0050]), and wherein the
optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 100) is arranged on (above) the contact pad (11).
Re claim 28, Yoon discloses the method according to claim 21.
But, fails to disclose the method further comprising removing at least a portion of the partial region of the structured material layer.
However, Wu discloses removal of the at least a portion of the partial region of the structured material layer (120a) is optional ([0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to remove at least a portion of the partial region of the structured material layer depending on the desired post-placement protection is required for the optoelectronic semiconductor component.
Re claim 34, Yoon discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein a plurality (FIG. 10 (a)) of optoelectronic semiconductor components (LED 100) are simultaneously transferred from the first carrier (110) to the second carrier (10g).
Claim 29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon and Wu as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ogihara et al (US 2004/0259331 A1, hereafter Ogihara).
Re claims 29 and 33, Yoon and Wu disclose the method according to claim 21, wherein the structurable material layer (Wu: 120) comprises an organic layer (materials or polymer; [0030]).
But, fail to disclose wherein the structurable material layer comprises a photoresist; and wherein applying the structurable material layer comprises a spin-on process or sputtering.
However,
Ogihara discloses in FIGS. 1-11 a method for transferring at least one optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 20a) from a first carrier (11) to a second carrier (31), the method comprising: applying (FIG. 2) a structurable material layer (19a; [0096]-[0098]) on the at least one optoelectronic semiconductor component (left 20a)
arranged on the first carrier (11), the structurable material layer (19a) comprises a
photoresist ([0097] and [0127]); and wherein the applying the structurable material layer (19a) comprises a spin-on process ([0127]) or sputtering.
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the method of Yoon and Wu by using the photoresist of Ogihara as the structurable material layer as a substitution for the organic material of Wu, applying the structurable material layer using the spin-on process of Ogihara, for varying mechanical and etching characteristics (Ogihara; [0127]) of the structurable material layer according to the requirements necessary for transfer of the at least one optoelectronic semiconductor component from a first carrier to a second carrier.
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon and Wu as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Mladenovski.
Re claims 30-31, Yoon and Wu disclose the method according to claim 21.
But, fail to disclose wherein the structurable material layer (Wu: 120a) comprises an at least partially transparent material, and wherein the at least partially transparent material is parylene or silicone; and wherein the structurable material layer (120a) comprises light-converting and/or light-scattering particles.
However, Mladenovski renders these limitations obvious by disclosing a structurable material layer comprising an at least partially transparent material, and wherein the at least partially transparent material is silicone; and wherein the structurable material layer comprises light-converting and/or light-scattering particles as discussed for claims 38-39 above.
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the method of Yoon and Wu by using the structurable material layer of Mladenovski as a substitutional equivalent for the structurable material layer of Wu, the structurable material layer comprising an at least partially transparent material, and wherein the at least partially transparent material is silicone; and wherein the structurable material layer comprises light-converting and/or light-scattering particles, tailoring optical properties of the optoelectronic semiconductor component and enhance mechanical strength of the optoelectronic intermediate product (Mladenovski; [0012]; [0023]; [0026]; [0034] and [0037]).
Re claim 32, Yoon and Wu disclose the method according to claim 21.
But, fail to disclose wherein the partial region (upper plane) of the structured material layer (Wu: 120a) surrounds the optoelectronic semiconductor component (Yoon/Wu: LED 100/left ED) as viewed in a circumferential direction.
However, Mladenovski discloses wherein the partial region (upper plane) of the structured material layer (30) surrounds the optoelectronic semiconductor component (LED 20) as viewed in a circumferential direction (laterally).
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the method of Yoon and Wu by forming the partial region (upper plane) of the structured material layer to surround the optoelectronic semiconductor component as viewed in a circumferential direction, as disclosed by Mladenovski, as part of the tailoring optical properties of the optoelectronic semiconductor component and enhance mechanical strength of the optoelectronic intermediate product discussed for claims 30-31.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mladenovski in view of Ogihara.
Re claim 37, Mladenovski discloses the optoelectronic intermediate product according to claim 35, wherein the structured sacrificial layer (120) comprises an organic material (epoxy or acrylic resins or silicone; [0023]).
But, fails to disclose wherein the structured sacrificial layer comprises a photoresist.
However, Ogihara would render these limitations obvious by disclosing structured sacrificial layers comprises a photoresist (see claim 29).
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892