DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 is missing punctuation. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a length adjustment mechanism” in claim 1 (corresponding structure includes a mechanism including the combination of a worm gear, ring gear, and spool described in paragraph [0024], an electric motor described in paragraph [0028], or a rotatably adjustable spool as described in originally filed claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said worm gear" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is claim 17 meant to depend from claim 16 instead of claim 1?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101147814 B1 (see also English translation) in view of Cook, US 10,076,221.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, KR 101147814 discloses an adjustable curvature cleaning structure adapted to clean both flat and curved surfaces (see Figures, capable of cleaning flat and curved surfaces), the cleaning structure comprising: a frame comprising a base (1) operatively engaging an elongated handle structure (15; Figure 1) and at least one arm projecting away from the base (3, 5, 7 form an arm), said at least one arm comprising a plurality of link elements (3, 5, 7) with hinges disposed between said link elements (unlabeled, see Figure 1) such that said at least one arm is bendable upwardly and downwardly in curved relation relative to said base (see English translation, upward and downward directions vary depending on how the device is held); at least one adjustable length cable extending along the at least one arm (9, Figure 1), wherein a proximal end of the at least one adjustable length cable is operatively connected to a length adjustment mechanism disposed at said base that is a rotatably adjustable spool engaging the at least one cable and adapted to take up and release portions of the at least one cable in response to rotational adjustment of the spool (11, Figures 1-2; comprises a rotatably adjustable spool 25; see also English translation). Regarding claim 2, there are a pair of arms projecting laterally from opposing sides of the base (Figure 1).
KR 101147814 fails to disclose a material for the plurality of link elements, particularly that they comprise polymer or metal with living hinges disposed between the link elements (claims 6, 11).
Cook teaches an adjustable curvature cleaning structure that comprises a frame made of polymer or metal as it is recognized for its rigid and resilient properties (column 5 lines 39-41, column 6 lines 1-3) with polymer living hinges (136) so as to flex when cleaning curved surfaces (column 6 line 66 to column 7 line 21). Regarding claims 12-13, the hinges are polymer ribbons in the form of polymer living hinges and extend in a major length dimension of at least one arm (136, see Figures).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material used in construction of the frame of KR 101147814 so that it is polymer or metal and also to substitute the hinges with living hinges, as taught by Cook, so that the frame can be both rigid while allowing some resilience and flexibility and by forming the hinges integrally with the links allows for fewer parts to construct the frame.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101147814 B1 (see also English translation) and Cook, US 10,076,221 as applied to claim 1 in view of Yang et al., US 2014/0237749.
KR 101147814 and Cook disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the polymer consists of is nylon, polyester, or polypropylene.
Yang et al. teach a similar cleaning structure wherein the frame comprises a polymer including nylon, polyester, or polypropylene in order to form a flexible cleaning base (paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the polymer of KR 101147814 and Cook specifically to include nylon, polyester, or polypropylene as they are taught by Yang et al. to be polymers that form flexible cleaning structures.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101147814 B1 (see also English translation) and Cook, US 10,076,221 as applied to claim 1 in view of Yang et al., US 2014/0237749.
KR 101147814 and Cook disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the at least one adjustable length cable consists of is nylon, polyester, or polypropylene. Regarding claim 5, the at least one adjustable length cable is a monofilament (see Figure 1).
Yang et al. teach a similar cleaning structure and that it’s known to use materials including polymer of nylon, polyester, or polypropylene due to its flexible nature (paragraph [0032]). In addition, nylon, polyester, and polypropylene are well known polymers used in the manufacture of many items including cable.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the cable of KR 101147814 and Cook from a polymer including nylon, polyester, or polypropylene as they are taught by Yang et al. to be polymers that are flexible and it would also be obvious to manufacture the cable from nylon, polyester, or polypropylene since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice (In re Leshin, USPQ 416 and MPEP 2144.07).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is allowed.
Claims 7-10 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art made of record disclose, teach, or suggest the invention of claims 7-10 or 14-18. In particular, the length adjustment mechanism of KR 101147814 does not include a worm gear operatively connected to a ring gear surrounding the rotatably adjustable spool. Cook does not include living hinges that comprise segments of polymer ribbons.
Other relevant prior art includes Abrahamson, US 8,528,146, which discloses an adjustable curvature cleaning structure adapted to clean both flat and curved surfaces (see Figures, Abstract), the cleaning structure comprising: a frame comprising a base (base is centermost cap of 145 that forms a T at 200, see Figure 2) operatively engaging an elongated handle structure (300) and at least one arm projecting away from the base (arm being the remainder of the cap 145 extending from the base resulting in two arms), said at least one arm comprising a plurality of link elements of polymer or metal (130; column 4 lines 60-62) with hinges disposed between said link elements (unlabeled, see Figures 2-3 and 5-10) such that said at least one arm is bendable upwardly and downwardly in curved relation relative to said base (see bendable arms in Figures 6-10, upward and downward directions vary depending on how the device is held, see also column 4 lines 1-15); at least one adjustable length cable extending along the at least one arm (160). In Abrahamson there is not a length adjustment mechanism disposed at the base.
DE 4202312 A1 to Piller teach an adjustable curvature cleaning structure adapted to clean flat and curved surfaces that includes one arm formed of a plurality of link elements (13, see Figures), the arm is bendable upwardly or downwardly (Figure 1), and includes a length adjustment mechanism (14). In Piller, there is not a material disclosed for the link elements and the length adjustment mechanism does not include a spool, gears, or motor.
US 4,845,800 to Pederson et al. is also relevant, but does not include a cable or length adjustment mechanism.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg