DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argue on page 8 that in FIG. 11B of Lu the third channel structure 14 is “merely a part of the channel structure that is continuously formed during a channel formation process” which is incorrect. Lu in FIG. 5 forms a channel structure 11 using a deposition process (¶ [0067]). Lu then teaches (FIG. 6) forming a filling layer (12, ¶ [0068]) and etching back (FIG. 7A,7B to 10A,10B) which forms a groove (13) of increased width (x). Lu then teaches in a separate step (S107) (FIG. 11A,11B) forming a third channel structure (14) within the groove (13). Since the Lu teaches forming the third channel (14) in an independently different processing step from the channel layer (11), Lu satisfies the amended language and the rejection maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0081060 A1 to Lu et al., “Lu”.
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a three-dimensional flash memory (e.g. FIG. 20,21A,22B) with an improved stack connection, the three-dimensional flash memory comprising:
a plurality of stack structures (formed from FIG. 11A and 11B lower stack 2 and formed from FIG. 12 upper stack 15, ¶ [0047],[0081]), wherein each of the plurality of stack structures includes:
a plurality of word lines (FIG. 22A,22B conductors 40, ¶ [0112]) extending in a horizontal direction and stacked alternately with each other in a vertical direction; and
at least one cell string extending through the plurality of word lines in the vertical direction, wherein the at least one cell string includes a channel layer (from FIG. 5 channel 11, ¶ [0067] and FIG. 16 channel 23, ¶ [0095]) extending in the vertical direction and a charge storage layer (8, ¶ [0061]) formed to surround the channel layer; and
at least one buffer layer (14, ¶ [0079]-[0080]) disposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of stack structures arranged in the vertical direction, wherein the least one buffer layer (14) connects the respective channel layers (11 and 23) of the adjacent ones of the plurality of stack structures to each other (as pictured),
wherein the at least one buffer (14) is independently formed (14 in formed in recess 13 in FIG. 11A,11B, ¶ [0079],[0080]) through a process different from that of the respective channel layers (lower channel 11 is formed in the step of FIG. 5, upper channel 23 is formed in step of FIG. 16) so as to partition the charge storage layers (8) of the respective stack structures and contact outer surfaces of the channel layers (FIG. 10A,10B exposed surfaces of 11 in groove 13, ¶ [0076]) of the respective stack structures, thereby connecting the channel layers of the respective stack structures to each other.
Regarding claim 2, Lu discloses the three-dimensional flash memory of claim 1, and Lu further anticipates wherein the at least one buffer layer (14) has a size and a position set such that the at least one buffer layer accommodates (i.e. connects) both the respective channel layers of the adjacent ones of the plurality of stack structures in a plan view of the three-dimensional flash memory (as evidenced by the side-profile, similar to Applicant’s FIG. 7F buffer 714 connects channels in side-view and therefore necessarily also in plan view).
Examiner’s Note: the language of claim 2 of “accommodates” is determined to be satisfied if the buffer connects the lower and upper channels and is deemed definite as much as the subject matter permits, see e.g. MPEP 2173.05 which states in part:
a claim limitation specifying that a certain part of a pediatric wheelchair be "so dimensioned as to be insertable through the space between the doorframe of an automobile and one of the seats" was held to be definite. Orthokinetics, Inc. v. Safety Travel Chairs, Inc., 806 F.2d 1565, 1 USPQ2d 1081 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The court stated that the phrase "so dimensioned" is as accurate as the subject matter permits, noting that the patent law does not require that all possible lengths corresponding to the spaces in hundreds of different automobiles be listed in the patent, let alone that they be listed in the claims.
Regarding claim 3, Lu discloses the three-dimensional flash memory of claim 1, and Lu further anticipates wherein the at least one buffer layer (14) is made of the same material (silicon, ¶ [0079]) as a material constituting the respective channel layers of the adjacent ones of the plurality of stack structures (11 is silicon ¶ [0067], 23 is silicon ¶ [0095]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0081060 A1 to Lu et al., “Lu”, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0033086 A1 to Wang et al., “Wang”.
Regarding claim 4, Lu discloses a method for manufacturing a three-dimensional flash memory (e.g. FIG. 20,21A,22B) with an improved stack connection, the method comprising:
preparing (FIG. 1) a lower stack structure (2) including:
a plurality of word lines (when replace with 40, ¶ [0112]) extending in a horizontal direction and stacked alternately with each other in a vertical direction; and
at least one hole (FIG. 5 hole 5) extending through the plurality of word lines in the vertical direction;
forming (FIG. 3) a charge storage layer (8, ¶ [0061]) having an inner hole defined therein in the at least one hole of the lower stack structure;
disposing (FIG. 11A,11B) at least one buffer layer (14, ¶ [??]) on a top surface (one of the pluralit of top surfaces) of the lower stack structure;
forming (FIG. 12) an upper stack structure on top of the lower stack structure on which the at least one buffer layer has been disposed, wherein the upper stack structure including:
a plurality of word lines (when replace with 40, ¶ [0112]) extending in the horizontal direction and stacked alternately with each other in the vertical direction; and
at least one hole (FIG. 13 hole 18) extending through the plurality of word lines in the vertical direction;
forming (FIG. 15) a charge storage layer (20, ¶ [0090]) having an inner hole defined therein in the at least one hole of the upper stack structure;
removing (FIG. 15) a portion of the at least one buffer layer (14) corresponding to the inner hole of each of the lower stack structure and the upper stack structure, wherein the inner hole of the lower stack structure and the inner hole of the upper stack structure communicate with each other (electrically connected) by removing the portion of the at least one buffer layer; and
forming (FIG. 16) a channel layer (23, ¶ [0095]) in an integrated manner (i.e. electrically connected) in the respective inner holes of the lower stack structure and the upper stack structure,
wherein the at least one buffer (14) is independently formed (14 in formed in recess 13 in FIG. 11A,11B, ¶ [0079],[0080]) through a process different from that of the respective channel layers (lower channel 11 is formed in the step of FIG. 5, upper channel 23 is formed in step of FIG. 16) so as to partition the charge storage layers (8) of the respective stack structures and contact outer surfaces of the channel layers (FIG. 10A,10B exposed surfaces of 11 in groove 13, ¶ [0076]) of the respective stack structures, thereby connecting the channel layers of the respective stack structures to each other.
Although Lu teaches forming word lines (conductors 40) in the stack, Lu fails to clearly teach wherein the replacement process for forming the word lines occurs prior to forming the one hole such that the hole extends through the plurality of word lines in the vertical direction.
Wang teaches forming (FIG. 3A) a stack (memory deck 102a, ¶ [0029],[0030]) including a plurality of word lines (106, ¶ [0031]) prior to forming a trench (FIG. 3B trench 302a, ¶ [0051]), and similarly forming (FIG. 3H) a plurality of word lines (106) prior to forming the trench (302b, ¶ [0061]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the method of Lu by forming the stack including the word lines already formed as taught by Wang in order to either 1) eliminate the step of needing to remove the sacrificial layer and replace with word line material layer, and/or 2) in order to form varying width channels without compromising or sacrificing the erase performance and/or cell electrostatics performance of the memory array (Wang ¶ [0017],[0018]) and/or 3) since it has been held in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) that exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention,
wherein in the instant case one having ordinary skill in the art could have and would have found it obvious to apply (B) Simple substitution of forming the word lines prior to forming the memory trenches rather than after forming the trenches with the predictable and desired result of forming suitable stacked three-dimensional flash memory structures.
Regarding claim 5, Lu in view of Wang yields the method of claim 4, and Lu further teaches wherein the disposing of the at least one buffer layer (14) includes forming the at least one buffer layer so as to have a size and a position set such that the at least one buffer layer accommodates (i.e. connects) both the respective inner holes of the lower stack structure and the upper stack structure in a plan view of the three-dimensional flash memory (as evidenced by the side-profile, similar to Applicant’s FIG. 7F buffer 714 connects channels in side-view and therefore necessarily also in plan view).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric A. Ward/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891