DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed February 20, 2026. Claims 4, 7, 11, and 17 have been cancelled without prejudice. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-24 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to independent claim 1, applicant’s arguments, on pages 10-14 of the Remarks, have been fully considered and are appreciated. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Namely, applicant argues that the disclosure of JP ‘672 fails to disclose “a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element” and rather discloses the placement of the pulse stretcher differently than applicant’s claimed invention. However, it is noted that the JP ‘672 reference is used to disclose adding a pulse stretcher to the optical arrangement in order to length the pulse emitted by the beam allowing for conditioning of the beam for the particular use. The placement of such an optical component within the system would have predictable results and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize placing the element to achieve a particular beam condition at a particular position in the propagation path. It is further noted that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Therefore claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12-16 and 18-24 are rejected as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koolen et al. (US 2004/0257547 A1) in view of Knowles et al. (US 2002/0154668 A1) and further in view of JP (5688672), hereinafter JP ‘672.
In regard to claim 1, Koolen et al. discloses a laser system (i.e. including laser 2, see e.g. Figure 3 and paragraph [0039]) comprising (see e.g. Figures 1, 3, 4):
a laser operable 2 to generate a laser beam (see e.g. paragraph [0039]);
an optical system (i.e. including at least 9) comprising a first optical element f (13 in Figure 4) and a second optical element f (14 in Figure 4) (see e.g. paragraph [0056]); and
an output through which the laser beam exits the laser system (see e.g. Figures 1 and 3 and note the light is output from the beam deliver system BD where BD in Figure 1 comprises the components of Figure 3);
the laser 2, the optical system (i.e. including at least 9) and the output are arranged such that the laser beam propagates to the first optical element f,13, the second optical element f,14 and the output sequentially (see e.g. Figures 1, 3, 4);
wherein the first optical element has a first focal length, the second optical element has a second focal length equal to the first focal length, and the second optical element is spaced from the first optical element by a distance of two times the first focal length (see e.g. paragraph [0056] where it is noted the lens are identical positive lenses with focal length f spaced at 2f).
Koolen et al. fails to disclose
a housing comprising an exit aperture,
the laser disposed in the housing,
the optical system disposed in the housing,
a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element, and
wherein the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture,
wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture.
However, Knowles et al. discloses
a housing 4 comprising an exit aperture 18 (denoted “shutter module”, (see e.g. Figure 1, paragraph [0055] ),
the laser disposed in the housing (see e.g. paragraph [0047]),
the optical system disposed in the housing (see e.g. paragraph [0047]),
wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture 18 (see e.g. Figure 1, paragraph [0055]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a configuration in which the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Given the teachings of Knowles et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al. with a housing comprising an exit aperture, the laser disposed in the housing, the optical system disposed in the housing, wherein the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture, wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture.
Providing a housing to the laser system and its optical elements would provide protection from the external environment (i.e. dust, humidity, etc.).
Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., fails to disclose
a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element.
However, JP ‘672 discloses
a pulse stretcher for increasing a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. with a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 2, Koolen et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the laser 2 comprises an excimer laser (see e.g. paragraph [0039]).
In regard to claim 3, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 2 above, abut fails to disclose
the first pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam.
However, JP ‘672 discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
the first pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher).
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with the first pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 5, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 3 above, but fails to disclose
a pulse of increased pulse length exits the pulse stretcher through an output of the first pulse stretcher.
However, JP ‘672 discloses wherein the pulse stretcher comprises
a pulse stretcher output through which a pulse of increased pulse length may exit the pulse stretcher (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher).
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with a pulse of increased pulse length exits the pulse stretcher through an output of the first pulse stretcher.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 6, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, abut fails to disclose
the first pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam.
However, JP ‘672 discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
the first pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher).
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with the first pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 8, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 6 above, but fails to disclose
a pulse of increased pulse length exits the pulse stretcher through an output of the first pulse stretcher.
However, JP ‘672 discloses wherein the pulse stretcher comprises
a pulse stretcher output through which a pulse of increased pulse length may exit the pulse stretcher (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher).
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with a pulse of increased pulse length exits the pulse stretcher through an output of the first pulse stretcher.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 9, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 8 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a distance between the output of the first pulse stretcher and the first optical element is less than the first focal length.
However, JP ‘672 discloses the laser light source may include the pulse stretcher (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange wherein a distance between the output of the first pulse stretcher and the first optical element is less than the first focal length, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with wherein a distance between the output of the first pulse stretcher and the first optical element is less than the first focal length.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 10, Koolen et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the second optical element f, 14 receives the laser beam directly from the first optical element f, 13 (see e.g. Figures 3-4).
In regard to claim 12, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 11 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a distance between the exit aperture and the second optical element is less than the first focal length.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a configuration in which a distance between the exit aperture and the second optical element is less than the first focal length, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with wherein a distance between the exit aperture and the second optical element is less than the first focal length.
Selecting the distance between the exit aperture and the second optical element would provide desired beam characteristics and is considered within ordinary skill in the art.
In regard to claim 13, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
the second optical system comprising a third optical element and a fourth optical element; wherein the third optical element has a third focal length, the fourth optical element has a fourth focal length equal to the third focal length, and the fourth optical element is spaced from the third optical element along an optical axis by a distance of two times the third focal length.
However, JP ‘672 discloses
multiple relay systems (i.e. 10, 12 in Figure 2). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include the second optical system comprising a third optical element and a fourth optical element, since such a modification would have involved a mere duplication of parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would recognize using a configuration in which the third optical element has a third focal length, the fourth optical element has a fourth focal length equal to the third focal length, and the fourth optical element is spaced from the third optical element along an optical axis by a distance of two times the third focal length, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with the second optical system comprising a third optical element and a fourth optical element; wherein the third optical element has a third focal length, the fourth optical element has a fourth focal length equal to the third focal length, and the fourth optical element is spaced from the third optical element along an optical axis by a distance of two times the third focal length.
Providing additional optics for conditioning of the beam would be considered within ordinary skill in the art.
In regard to claim 14, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 13 above, but fails to disclose
a second pulse stretcher.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include a second pulse stretcher, since such a modification would have involved a mere duplication of parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, with a second pulse stretcher.
Providing additional optics for conditioning of the beam would be considered within ordinary skill in the art.
In regard to claim 15, Koolen et al. discloses a lithographic apparatus (see e.g. paragraph [0033]) comprising (see e.g. Figure 1):
a laser system (i.e. including laser 2, see e.g. Figure 3 and paragraph [0039]) comprising (see e.g. Figures 1, 3, 4):
a laser operable 2 to generate a laser beam (see e.g. paragraph [0039]);
an optical system (i.e. including at least 9) comprising a first optical element f (13 in Figure 4) and a second optical element f (14 in Figure 4) (see e.g. paragraph [0056]); and
an output through which the laser beam exits the laser system (see e.g. Figures 1 and 3 and note the light is output from the beam delivery system BD where BD in Figure 1 comprises the components of Figure 3);
the laser 2, the optical system (i.e. including at least 9) and the output are arranged such that the laser beam propagates to the first optical element f,13, the second optical element f,14 and the output sequentially (see e.g. Figures 1, 3, 4);
wherein the first optical element has a first focal length, the second optical element has a second focal length equal to the first focal length, and the second optical element is spaced from the first optical element by a distance of two times the first focal length (see e.g. paragraph [0056] where it is noted the lens are identical positive lenses with focal length f spaced at 2f).
Koolen et al. fails to disclose
a housing comprising an exit aperture,
the laser disposed in the housing,
the optical system disposed in the housing,
a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element,
wherein the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture,
wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture.
However, Knowles et al. discloses
a housing 4 comprising an exit aperture 18 (denoted “shutter module”, (see e.g. Figure 1, paragraph [0055] ),
the laser disposed in the housing (see e.g. paragraph [0047]),
the optical system disposed in the housing (see e.g. paragraph [0047]),
wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture 18 (see e.g. Figure 1, paragraph [0055]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a configuration in which the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Given the teachings of Knowles et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al. with a housing comprising an exit aperture, the laser disposed in the housing, the optical system disposed in the housing, wherein the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture, wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture.
Providing a housing to the laser system and its optical elements would provide protection from the external environment (i.e. dust, humidity, etc.).
Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., fails to disclose
a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element.
However, JP ‘672 discloses
a pulse stretcher for increasing a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. with a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 16, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitation as applied to claim 15 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam, and
wherein a pulse of increased pulse length exits the first pulse stretcher through an output of the first pulse stretcher.
However, JP ‘672 discloses (see e.g. Figure 1):
wherein the pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher).
wherein a pulse of increased pulse length exits the first pulse stretcher through an output of the first pulse stretcher (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher).
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with wherein the pulse stretcher is configured to increase a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam, and wherein a pulse of increased pulse length exits the first pulse stretcher through an output of the first pulse stretcher.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 18, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a distance between the exit aperture and the second optical element is less than the first focal length.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a configuration in which a distance between the exit aperture and the second optical element is less than the first focal length, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., with wherein a distance between the exit aperture and the second optical element is less than the first focal length.
Selecting the distance between the exit aperture and the second optical element would provide desired beam characteristics and is considered within ordinary skill in the art.
In regard to claim 19, Koolen et al. discloses a laser system (i.e. including laser 2, see e.g. Figure 3 and paragraph [0039]) comprising (see e.g. Figures 1, 3, 4):
a laser operable 2 to generate a laser beam (see e.g. paragraph [0039]);
an optical system (i.e. including at least 9) comprising a first optical element f (13 in Figure 4) and a second optical element f (14 in Figure 4) (see e.g. paragraph [0056]); and
an output through which the laser beam exits the laser system (see e.g. Figures 1 and 3 and note the light is output from the beam delivery system BD where BD in Figure 1 comprises the components of Figure 3);
the laser 2, the optical system (i.e. including at least 9) and the output are arranged such that the laser beam propagates to the first optical element f,13, the second optical element f,14 and the output sequentially (see e.g. Figures 1, 3, 4);
wherein the first optical element has a first focal length, the second optical element has a second focal length, and the second optical element is spaced from the first optical element by a distance substantially equal to the sum of the first focal length and the second focal length (see e.g. paragraph [0056] where it is noted the lens are identical positive lenses with focal length f spaced at 2f).
Koolen et al. fails to disclose
a housing comprising an exit aperture,
the laser disposed in the housing,
the optical system disposed in the housing,
a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element,
wherein the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture,
wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture.
However, Knowles et al. discloses
a housing 4 comprising an exit aperture 18 (denoted “shutter module”, (see e.g. Figure 1, paragraph [0055] ),
the laser disposed in the housing (see e.g. paragraph [0047]),
the optical system disposed in the housing (see e.g. paragraph [0047]),
wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture 18 (see e.g. Figure 1, paragraph [0055]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a configuration in which the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Given the teachings of Knowles et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al. with a housing comprising an exit aperture, the laser disposed in the housing, the optical system disposed in the housing, wherein the second optical element is located proximal to the exit aperture, wherein the output is located at or proximal to the exit aperture.
Providing a housing to the laser system and its optical elements would provide protection from the external environment (i.e. dust, humidity, etc.).
Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al., fails to disclose
a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element.
However, JP ‘672 discloses
a pulse stretcher for increasing a pulse length of a pulse in the laser beam (i.e. of laser light source LS, see e.g. page 2, first full paragraph for pulse stretcher). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of JP ‘672, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. with a first pulse stretcher arranged between a front focal plane of the first optical element and the first optical element.
Providing the system with a pulse stretcher allows for an increase in the pulse length of a laser beam, conditioning the beam for the particular application.
In regard to claim 20, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose
wherein the optical system is configured to reduce an effective propagation length of the laser beam by a distance equal to four times the first focal length.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein the optical system is configured to reduce an effective propagation length of the laser beam by a distance equal to four times the first focal length, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, with wherein the optical system is configured to reduce an effective propagation length of the laser beam by a distance equal to four times the first focal length.
Optimizing the system to have a reduced propagation length would provide a device with a smaller footprint.
In regard to claim 21, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 20, but fails to disclose
wherein a reduction in the effective propagation length of the laser beam influences one or more characteristics of the laser beam.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the changing the propagation length of the beam would at least affect quality and stability of the beam as well as shape and size of the beam due to the effects of diffraction and other optical phenomena.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, with wherein a reduction in the effective propagation length of the laser beam influences one or more characteristics of the laser beam.
Optimizing the system to have a desired propagation length would provide a device with a smaller footprint and quality laser beam characteristics.
In regard to claim 22, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 21, but fails to disclose
wherein the one or more characteristics of the laser beam comprises a beam size, a beam shape, or beam stability.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the changing the propagation length of the beam would at least affect quality and stability of the beam as well as shape and size of the beam due to the effects of diffraction and other optical phenomena.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, with wherein the one or more characteristics of the laser beam comprises a beam size, a beam shape, or beam stability.
Optimizing the system to have a desired propagation length would provide a device with a smaller footprint and quality laser beam characteristics.
In regard to claim 23, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 15, but fails to explicitly disclose
wherein the optical system is configured to reduce an effective propagation length of the laser beam by a distance equal to four times the first focal length.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein the optical system is configured to reduce an effective propagation length of the laser beam by a distance equal to four times the first focal length, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, with wherein the optical system is configured to reduce an effective propagation length of the laser beam by a distance equal to four times the first focal length.
Optimizing the system to have a reduced propagation length would provide a device with a smaller footprint.
In regard to claim 24, Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, discloses the limitations as applied to claim 23, but fails to explicitly disclose
wherein a reduction in the effective propagation length of the laser beam influences one or more characteristics of the laser beam, the one or more characteristics of the laser beam comprising a beam size, a beam shape, or beam stability.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein the optical system is configured to reduce an effective propagation length of the laser beam by a distance equal to four times the first focal length, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Koolen et al., in view of Knowles et al. and JP ‘672, with wherein a reduction in the effective propagation length of the laser beam influences one or more characteristics of the laser beam, the one or more characteristics of the laser beam comprising a beam size, a beam shape, or beam stability.
Optimizing the system to have a reduced propagation length would provide a device with a smaller footprint.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871