Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see page 2, line 3, filed 17 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizumi et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication no. WO 2019/003682 A1), hereinafter Iizumi, in view of Kato et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2006-259129 A), hereinafter Kato; have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant makes the argument that Kato fails to provide a motivation to combine its teaching of a repeating unit that includes a fluorine atom and the repeating unit including a fluorine atom is a repeating unit represented by Formula (3) of the present application to the teaching of Iizumi. This argument is not persuasive. Applicant argues that the motivation cited to combine said teaching of creating a film free of defects with high optical uniformity is owed to the entirety of the polymer of Kato, not to specifically the repeating unit that includes a fluorine atom and the repeating unit including a fluorine atom is a repeating unit represented by Formula (3) of the present application. The polymer of Kato is a “fluoroaliphatic group-containing polymer having a photoreactive group” which teaches a repeating unit comprising one or more fluorine atoms and a repeating unit comprising a photoreactive group. In addition to the cited section, Paragraph [0068] reinforces the cited motivation wherein Kato states: “the fluorine-based polymer [i.e. absent the photoreactive troup] functions as an agent for preventing unevenness.” Thus, Kato specifically teaches the repeating unit comprising a fluorine atom therein that contributes to it uniformity and thus lack of defects.
2. Applicant further argues present application consequently has unexpected results. Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 716.02. The claims permit an exponential number of polymeric possibilities in any amount and is claimed with open-ended language, i.e. “comprising” thus an essentially unlimited number of unclaimed repeating units may allow comprise the resin claim. Also, the second repeating unit claimed has the sole limitation of comprising a fluorine atom and could, thus, be also a nearly infinite number of possible repeating unit. Thus the data provided is not commensurate in scope with the claim language and Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizumi et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication no. WO 2019/003682 A1), hereinafter Iizumi, in view of Kato et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2006-259129 A), hereinafter Kato.
6. Regarding Claims 1-13, Iizumi teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035 and 0045-0075]) a repeating unit represented by Formula (1) of the present application including a photocrosslinkable group. Iizumi teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035 and 0045-0075]) a repeating unit represented by Formula (2) of the present application. Iizumi teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035 and 0045-0075]) with regard to Formula (1) of the present application, the moiety “A” is one linking group selected from the group consisting of Formulae (a-1) through (a-4) of the present application. Iizumi teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035 and 0045-0075]) with regard to Formula (1) of the present application, the moiety “A” is a linking group represented by Formula (a-1) of the present application. Iizumi teaches (Paragraph [0085]) the resin is soluble in a fluorine-based solvent. Iizumi teaches (Paragraph [0085]) a fluorine-based solvent. Iizumi teaches (Paragraph [0085]) an organic solvent. Iizumi teaches (Paragraph [0021]) a photocrosslinked product. Iizumi teaches (Paragraphs [0089-0097]) a pattern, which is constituted by a photocrosslinked product. Iizumi teaches (Paragraphs [0115-0117]) an electronic device, comprising a photocrosslinked product.
7. However, Iizumi fails to explicitly teach a repeating unit that includes a fluorine atom. Furthermore, Iizumi fails to explicitly teach the repeating unit including the above fluorine atom is a repeating unit represented by Formula (3) of the present application.
8. Kato teaches (Paragraphs [0038-0042]) a repeating unit that includes a fluorine atom. Kato teaches (Paragraphs [0038-0042]) the repeating unit including the above fluorine atom is a repeating unit represented by Formula (3) of the present application. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0008]) resins comprising said repeating units produce films free from defects with high optical uniformity.
9. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that Iizumi in view of Kato teaches a repeating unit that includes a fluorine atom; and the repeating unit including the above fluorine atom is a repeating unit represented by Formula (3) of the present application. Doing so would result in films free from defects with high optical uniformity, as recognized by Kato.
Conclusion
10. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737