DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election without traverse of Claims 43 - 54 in the reply filed on the 01/16/2026 is acknowledged
Status of Claims
1. The following is a non-final office action in response to the applicant’s submission received 01/12/2026.
2. Claims 43 - 54 are currently pending and have been examined.
3. Claims 1 - 42 have been cancelled.
4. Claims 55 – 65 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 10/28/2025 and 10/30/2024 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Foreign Priority/Domestic benefit
There is no claim to foreign priority according to the application data sheet and filing receipt.
Domestic priority has been claimed with respect to international application: PCT/IB2022/053119, filed April 4, 2022, which claims the benefit of provisional patent application serial number 63/170,023, filed April 2, 2021.
Oath/Declaration
1. The applicant’s oath/declaration filed on 09/27/2023 has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Drawings
1. The applicant’s drawings submitted on 09/27/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Objection(s)
The 4th – 5th line of claim 43 recites “…one or two transmission/Reception Points…”. The third determining step of claim 43 recites “…the first or the second TRP…”, however, it is not clear if this first or second TRP refers back to line 4 - 5 of claim 43, or is it referring back to the two TRPs in the previous two determining steps?. Similarly, are the first and second TRP of the two transmitting steps of claim 43 referring back to the TRPs in lines 4 – 5 of claim 43 or is it referring to the two TRPs recited in the determining steps?. Appropriate Clarification and/or correction to the record is necessary. See independent claim 54 for the same issue stated above.
Regarding claims 43 and 54, an objection is made to the use of the word "if". Specifically, it is not known whether the limitations following this word are necessary or optional. “If” conditions are not limitations against which prior art must be found because the step or function only occurs “if” the answer is positive. Under the broadest scenario, the steps or functions dependent on the “if” condition would not be invoked, and such, the Examiner is not required to find these limitations in the prior art in order to render the claim anticipated. In re Am. Acad. Of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 f.3d 1359, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Dependent claims 44 – 53 are objected to by virtue of their dependency on an objected based claim.
Claim interpretation
1. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted "in view of the specification" without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily) [MPEP 2106 Sec I, C]. “Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitation that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). [MPEP 2111.01 Sec II]. Thus, the Examiner interprets Applicant’s claims "in view of the specification" and does not “import into a claim limitation that are not part of the claim”.
2. When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations does not have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43 - 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm (R1-2101447, “Enhancements on Multi-TRP for PDCCH, PUCCH and PUSCH, January 25th – February 5th, 2021) in view of Lim et al. (US 2022/0239410 A1).
Regarding claim 43, Qualcomm discloses: A method performed by a wireless communication device comprising:
receiving Downlink Control Information, DCI, from a base station, wherein:
the DCI schedules Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, repetitions to one or two Transmission/Reception Points, TRPs, (page 16/18, third line from the bottom: "In this section, we discuss the following aspects related to single- DCI based PUSCH repetitions targeted towards different TRPs [..]")
wherein the DCI is configured by the base station with a first and a second Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, Resource Sets [see proposal 21 on page 27 /28] and the PUSCH is configured by the base station with a maximum rank larger than 2; (Page 23/28, Proposal 29, first subpoint: "…If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI…")
and the DCI comprises:
an antenna ports field that indicates two or more Demodulation Reference Signal, DMRS, ports; [see first paragraph on page 23/28]
a first and a second SRS resource indicator, SRI, fields and/or a first and a second Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI, fields; and [see section 4.3 on page 21/28, which pertains to two TPMI fields present in the DCI. See option 1 on page 17/28 for two SRI fields in the DCI]
two PTRS-DMRS association fields, a first and a second PTRS-DMRS fields,
each having 2 bits; (Section 4.5, page 23/28, proposal 29: first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions.")
determining, when the DCI schedules PUSCH repetitions to two TRPS, at least one of the DMRS port associated with at least one PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to a first TRP based on the first PTRS-DMRS association field comprised in the DCI, where the first TRP is associated to the first SRS resource set; [see proposal 29 on page 23 / 28 in view of the last three lines on page 16/28. There are two association fields present in the DCI each represented by two bits. Each Association field filed pertains to a separate TRP. The association field associates DMRS with PTRS in view of PUSCH repetition. The first paragraph under section 4.1 on pave 17/28, states: “…Each of the SRS resource sets contains one or more SRS resources from which the DCI can choose from. Effectively, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TRP and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TRP”, see also figure 12 whereby a single DCI has 4 repetitions in view of two TRP and each repetition is associated with an SRS resource set]
determining, when the DCI schedules PUSCH repetitions to two TRPs at least one DMRS port associated with at least one PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to a second TRP based on the second PTRS-DMRS association field comprised in the DCI where the second TRP is associated to the second SRS resource set; [see proposal 29 on page 23 / 28 in view of the last three lines on page 16/28. There are two association fields present in the DCI each represented by two bits. Each Association field filed pertains to a separate TRP. The association field associates DMRS with PTRS in view of PUSCH repetition. The first paragraph under section 4.1 on pave 17/28, states: “…Each of the SRS resource sets contains one or more SRS resources from which the DCI can choose from. Effectively, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TRP and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TRP”, see also figure 12 whereby a single DCI has 4 repetitions in view of two TRP and each repetition is associated with an SRS resource set]
determining, when the DCI schedules PUSCH repetitions to the first or the second TRP, at least one of the DMRS ports associated with at least one PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to the first or the second TRP based on the first PTRS-DMRS association field if the PUSCH repetitions are associated to the first SRI field or the second PTRS- DMRS association field if the PUSCH repetitions are associated to the second SRI field; [see proposal 29 on page 23 / 28 in view of the last three lines on page 16/28. There are two association fields present in the DCI each represented by two bits. Each Association field filed pertains to a separate TRP. The association field associates DMRS with PTRS in view of PUSCH repetition. The first paragraph under section 4.1 on pave 17/28, states: “…Each of the SRS resource sets contains one or more SRS resources from which the DCI can choose from. Effectively, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TRP and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TRP”, see also figure 12 whereby a single DCI has 4 repetitions in view of two TRP and each repetition is associated with an SRS resource set. In addition option 1 on page 17/28 states: “…Two SRI fields are included in the UL DCI and they indicate SRS resource(s) from the first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set…” ]
transmitting a first PUSCH repetition to the first TRP with the at least one PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to the first TRP; and (Page 16/28 (last three lines): "In this section, we discuss the following aspects related to single- DCI based PUSCH repetitions targeted towards different TRPs …" in view of with Section 4.5 (page 23/28), Proposal 29: first subpoint) transmitting a second PUSCH repetition to the second TRP with the at least one PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to the second TRP; (Page 16/28 (last three lines): "In this section, we discuss the following aspects related to single- DCI based PUSCH repetitions targeted towards different TRPs …" in view of with Section 4.5 (page 23/28), Proposal 29: first subpoint)
wherein either: [only one of the three options needs to be accounted for, Qualcomm possess the first option]
the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the first SRI field in the DCI and the second TRP is associated with the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the second SRI field in the DCI; or [see proposal 29 on page 23 / 28 in view of the last three lines on page 16/28. There are two association fields present in the DCI each represented by two bits. Each Association field filed pertains to a separate TRP. The association field associates DMRS with PTRS in view of PUSCH repetition. The first paragraph under section 4.1 on pave 17/28, states: “…Each of the SRS resource sets contains one or more SRS resources from which the DCI can choose from. Effectively, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TRP and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TRP”, see also figure 12 whereby a single DCI has 4 repetitions in view of two TRP and each repetition is associated with an SRS resource set. In addition option 1 on page 17/28 states: “…Two SRI fields are included in the UL DCI and they indicate SRS resource(s) from the first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set…”]
the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with a first SRS resource set or the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with a second SRS resource set, where the first SRS resource set is associated with the first SRI field in the DCI and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second SRI field in the DCI; [see proposal 29 on page 23 / 28 in view of the last three lines on page 16/28. There are two association fields present in the DCI each represented by two bits. Each Association field filed pertains to a separate TRP. The association field associates DMRS with PTRS in view of PUSCH repetition. The first paragraph under section 4.1 on pave 17/28, states: “…Each of the SRS resource sets contains one or more SRS resources from which the DCI can choose from. Effectively, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TRP and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TRP”, see also figure 12 whereby a single DCI has 4 repetitions in view of two TRP and each repetition is associated with an SRS resource set. In addition option 1 on page 17/28 states: “…Two SRI fields are included in the UL DCI and they indicate SRS resource(s) from the first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set…”]
Qualcomm discloses every aspect of claim 43, however, to address the other limitations that are optional under the wherein clause the reference of Lim is relied on which discloses:
wherein either:
“the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the first SRI field in the DCI and the second TRP is associated with the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the second SRI field in the DCI” [ ¶ 0507 (last sentence) and ¶ 0508 in view of ¶ 0517.]
Lim also discloses: the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with a first SRS resource set or the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with a second SRS resource set, where the first SRS resource set is associated with the first SRI field in the DCI and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second SRI field in the DCI; [see ¶ 0507 and ¶ 0508]
Lim also discloses: the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the first TPMI field of the DCI or the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the second TPMI field of the DCI. [¶ 0508 and ¶ 0507]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Qualcomm in view of Lim. The motivation for making the above modification would have been to implement DCI format 0_1 or 0_2 and determines the association between the PTRS port and DMRS port regarding each TRP. [¶ 0513 of Lim].
Note to applicant:
Nokia (R1-2101006, “Enhancements for Multi-TRP URLLC schemes”, January 25th – February 5th, 2021) discloses in the third paragraph on page 15/22, when the rank is above 2 that is 3 or 4, the DCI field is increased from 2 bits to 4 bits, that is, two bits per association field for each TRP of the DCI. The examiner believes this is the salient feature of the applicant’s claimed invention of having two association field in a single DCI that is above rank 2 and each association field pertains to 2 bits. A single association field that associates SRI, PTRS-DMRS, TPMI per TRP is already known in the art of rank less than 2 which involves 2 bits only in the DCI. Having 2 association field in the DCI of 2 bits each when the rank is above 2 would have been obvious with regards to the reference of Qualcomm in view of Nokia.
Claim 54 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 43. Such difference as the transmitter, processor in view of the wireless communication device can be seen in the reference of Lim, see figure 26.
Claim 44, Qualcomm in view of Lim further discloses: The method of claim 43, wherein:
the DCI comprises the two PTRS-DMRS association fields, the first and the second PTRS-DMRS fields, each having 2 bits; [Lim: ¶ 0292: an association field is of 2 bits and in ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs, see also ¶ 0508. Qualcomm further assign 2 bits per association field see: Section 4.5, page 23, proposal 29: first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions."]
the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the first TRP; and [Lim: ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs in view of Qualcomm: Section 4.5 (page23/28),proposal 29: , first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions”]
the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the second TRP; [Lim: ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs in view of Qualcomm: Section 4.5 (page23/28),proposal 29: , first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions”]
wherein the first TRP is associated with the first SRI field in the DCI and the second TRP is associated with the second SRI field in the DCI. [¶ 507 – 508 of Lim in view of Qualcomm: The first paragraph under section 4.1 on pave 17/28, states: “…Each of the SRS resource sets contains one or more SRS resources from which the DCI can choose from. Effectively, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TRP and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TRP”, see also figure 12 whereby a single DCI has 4 repetitions in view of two TRP and each repetition is associated with an SRS resource set. In addition option 1 on page 17/28 states: “…Two SRI fields are included in the UL DCI and they indicate SRS resource(s) from the first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set…”].
Claim 45, Qualcomm in view of Lim further discloses: The method of claim 43, wherein:
the DCI comprises the two PTRS-DMRS association fields, the first and the second PTRS-DMRS fields, each having 2 bits; [Lim: ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs in view of Qualcomm: Section 4.5 (page23/28),proposal 29: , first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions”]
the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the first SRS resource set associated to the first TRP; and [Lim: ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs in view of Qualcomm: Section 4.5 (page23/28),proposal 29: , first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions”]
the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the second SRS resource set associated to the second TRP; [Lim: ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs in view of Qualcomm: Section 4.5 (page23/28),proposal 29: , first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions”]
wherein the first SRS resource set is associated with the first SRI field in the DCI and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second SRI field in the DCI. [¶ 507 – 508 of Lim in view of Qualcomm: The first paragraph under section 4.1 on pave 17/28, states: “…Each of the SRS resource sets contains one or more SRS resources from which the DCI can choose from. Effectively, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TRP and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TRP”, see also figure 12 whereby a single DCI has 4 repetitions in view of two TRP and each repetition is associated with an SRS resource set. In addition option 1 on page 17/28 states: “…Two SRI fields are included in the UL DCI and they indicate SRS resource(s) from the first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set…”].
Claim 46, Qualcomm in view of Lim further discloses: The method of claim 43, wherein:
the DCI comprises the two PTRS-DMRS association fields, the first and the second PTRS-DMRS fields, each having 2 bits; [Lim: ¶ 0292: an association field is of 2 bits and in ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs, see also ¶ 0508. Qualcomm further assign 2 bits per association field see: Section 4.5, page 23, proposal 29: first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions."]
the DCI is for non-codebook based PUSCH transmission and further comprises a first SRI field and a second SRI field; [¶ 0515, two SRI fields present in view of ¶ 0520, see in view of Qualcomm: Section 4.1, first paragraph along with figure 12 and option 1]
the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the first SRI field; and the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the second SRI field. [¶ 507 – 508 of Lim, “…two PTRS-DMRS association fields are configured…”, in view of Qualcomm: The first paragraph under section 4.1 on pave 17/28, states: “…Each of the SRS resource sets contains one or more SRS resources from which the DCI can choose from. Effectively, the first SRS resource set is associated with the first TRP and the second SRS resource set is associated with the second TRP”, see also figure 12 whereby a single DCI has 4 repetitions in view of two TRP and each repetition is associated with an SRS resource set. In addition option 1 on page 17/28 states: “…Two SRI fields are included in the UL DCI and they indicate SRS resource(s) from the first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set…”].
Claim 47, Qualcomm in view of Lim further discloses: The method of claim 43, wherein:
the DCI comprises the two PTRS-DMRS association fields, the first and the second PTRS-DMRS fields, each having 2 bits; [Lim: ¶ 0292: an association field is of 2 bits and in ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs, see also ¶ 0508. Qualcomm further assign 2 bits per association field see: Section 4.5, page 23, proposal 29: first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions."]
the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the first TPMI field of the DCI associated to the first TRP; and [Lim:¶ 0508: “On the other hand, when the SRI and TPMI fields in the DCI indicate two SRIs and two TPMIs, the UE may transmit the PUSCH by the multiple TRPs and determine that two PTRS-DMRS association fields are configured.”]
the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the second TPMI field of the DCI associated to the second TRP. [Lim: ¶ 0508: “On the other hand, when the SRI and TPMI fields in the DCI indicate two SRIs and two TPMIs, the UE may transmit the PUSCH by the multiple TRPs and determine that two PTRS-DMRS association fields are configured.”]
Claim 48, Qualcomm in view of Lim discloses: The method of claim 43, wherein:
the DCI comprises the two PTRS-DMRS association fields, the first and the second PTRS-DMRS fields, each having 2 bits; [Lim: ¶ 0292: an association field is of 2 bits and in ¶ 0507, the PTRS-DMRS association fields in the DCI format 0_1 and 0_2 is two corresponding to multiple TRPs, see also ¶ 0508. Qualcomm further assign 2 bits per association field see: Section 4.5, page 23, proposal 29: first subpoint, "If the configured value of maxRank>2, a second PTRS-DMRS association field is included in the DCI, which consists of 2 bits and indicates the PTRS-DMRS association for the second set of repetitions."]
the DCI is for codebook based PUSCH transmission and further comprises a first TPMI field and a second TPMI field; [Lim: ¶ 0419 and ¶ 505. See also qualcomm page 21/28]
the first PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the first TPMI field; and
the second PTRS-DMRS association field is associated with the second TPMI field. [Lim: ¶ 0508 “On the other hand, when the SRI and TPMI fields in the DCI indicate two SRIs and two TPMIs, the UE may transmit the PUSCH by the multiple TRPs and determine that two PTRS-DMRS association fields are configured.” In view of Lim: ¶ 0419 and ¶ 505]
Claim 49, Lim discloses: The method of claim 43, wherein:
determining the at least one DMRS port associated with the at least one PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to the first TRP comprises determining a first DMRS port associated with a first PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to the first TRP based on the first PTRS-DMRS association field comprised in the DCI; [¶ 0511]
determining the at least one DMRS port associated with the at least one PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to the second TRP comprises determining a second DMRS port associated with a second PTRS port for PUSCH transmissions to the second TRP based the second PTRS- DMRS association field comprised in the DCI; [¶ 0511]
transmitting the first PUSCH repetition to the first TRP comprises transmitting the first PUSCH repetition to the first TRP with the first PTRS port associated to the first DMRS port;
and transmitting the second PUSCH repetition to the second TRP comprises transmitting the second PUSCH repetition to the second TRP with the second PTRS port associated to the second DMRS port. [¶ 0515].
Claim 50, Lim further discloses: The method of claim 43, wherein:
the first PTRS-DMRS association field indicates one of up to four DMRS ports indicated in the antenna ports field to be associated with a first PTRS port for the PUSCH transmissions to the first TRP; and [¶0533]
the second PTRS-DMRS association field indicates one of up to four DMRS ports indicated in the antenna ports field to be associated with a first PTRS port for the PUSCH transmissions to the second TRP. [¶0533]
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 51 – 53 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming all rejection(s)/objection(s) set forth in this office action.
Conclusion
MAHARISHI V. KHIRODHAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MAHARISHI V KHIRODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463