DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s Response to the Requirement for Restriction/Election filed 2/23/2026.
In this Response, Applicant has:
cancelled claims 1-10, 22-27, and 29-35, and
amended claim 36.
Claims 11-21, 28, and 36 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I (claims 11-21, 28, and (amended) 36) in the reply filed on 2/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 3-4 of [0003] of the specification, the reference number “200” is used four times. The number does not appear in Figure 2. Further, the reference number “200” is used to represent an eDRX mode in two of the instances and an eDRX cycle in the other two instances.
In paragraphs [0045] and [0046] of the specification, the reference number “402” is used. However, the reference number does not appear in the Figures.
In paragraph [0051], the phrase “if the eDRX parameters or normal NR” should be changed to “if the eDRX parameters for normal NR”.
In paragraphs [0052] and [0054] of the specification, the reference number “404” is used. However, the reference number does not appear in the Figures.
In paragraph [0062] of the specification, the reference number “602” is used. However, the reference number does not appear in the Figures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13, 16-19, 21, 28, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0199902 to Vogedes et al.
Regarding claim 11: Vogedes discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
determining whether to transmit toward a network function first power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs (disclosed throughout; see [0139], for example, which discloses that the UE “decides whether to re-negotiate its eDRX parameters” when “the traffic profiles or energy/power characteristics on the UE 201 changes”; this can include either a change in the type of traffic or a change in the charging or battery power levels; as indicated in [0140], when the UE determines to re-negotiate, the UE “sends a registration update request to the AMF 203 to re-negotiate its eDRX cycle”; further, this information is associated with a NR UE (non-RedCap) or RedCap UE as indicated in [0138] and [0141], which indicates that the UE indicates capabilities including whether or not the UE is a RedCap UE);
based on the determination, including the first power saving information in a first message (disclosed throughout; the registration update message is transmitted in step 302 of Figure 12 as indicated in [0140]; clearly, the power saving information (re-negotiated eDRX parameters) is included in the message); and
transmitting the first message toward the network function (disclosed throughout; the registration update message is transmitted in step 302 of Figure 12 as indicated in [0140]).
Regarding claim 18: Vogedes discloses a method performed by a network function, the method comprising:
receiving a first message including first power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs, wherein the first message was transmitted by a user equipment (UE) (disclosed throughout; see [0139], for example, which discloses that the UE “decides whether to re-negotiate its eDRX parameters” when “the traffic profiles or energy/power characteristics on the UE 201 changes”; this can include either a change in the type of traffic or a change in the charging or battery power levels; as indicated in [0140], when the UE determines to re-negotiate, the UE “sends a registration update request to the AMF 203 to re-negotiate its eDRX cycle”; further, this information is associated with a NR UE (non-RedCap) or RedCap UE as indicated in [0138] and [0141], which indicates that the UE indicates capabilities including whether or not the UE is a RedCap UE; the updated eDRX parameters are power saving information associated with NR UEs and/or NR RedCap UEs);
determining whether the UE can use the first power saving information for power saving (disclosed throughout; see [0141] and step 303 of Figure 12, for example, which discloses that the AMF “decides whether to accept or reject the UE request for using the new eDRX parameter(s)”); and
based on the determination, transmitting toward the UE a second message comprising second power saving information associated with NR UEs and/or NR (RedCap) UEs (disclosed throughout; see [0142] and step 304 of Figure 12, for example, which discloses that the “AMF 203 sends a registration update accept message with the new eDRX parameter to the UE 201”).
Regarding claim 28: Vogedes discloses a UE comprising:
processing circuitry (see at least the processor 118 of Figure 18F, for example); and
a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry, whereby the UE is configured to (see at least memories 130 and 132 of Figure 18F, for example):
determine whether to transmit toward a network function first power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap)UEs (disclosed throughout; see [0139], for example, which discloses that the UE “decides whether to re-negotiate its eDRX parameters” when “the traffic profiles or energy/power characteristics on the UE 201 changes”; this can include either a change in the type of traffic or a change in the charging or battery power levels; as indicated in [0140], when the UE determines to re-negotiate, the UE “sends a registration update request to the AMF 203 to re-negotiate its eDRX cycle”; further, this information is associated with a NR UE (non-RedCap) or RedCap UE as indicated in [0138] and [0141], which indicates that the UE indicates capabilities including whether or not the UE is a RedCap UE);
based on the determination, include the first power saving information in a first message (disclosed throughout; the registration update message is transmitted in step 302 of Figure 12 as indicated in [0140]; clearly, the power saving information (re-negotiated eDRX parameters) is included in the message); and
transmit the first message toward the network function (disclosed throughout; the registration update message is transmitted in step 302 of Figure 12 as indicated in [0140]).
Regarding claim 36: Vogedes discloses a network function comprising:
a receiver (see network adapter 97 of Figure 18G, for example) operable to receive a first message including first power saving information associated with new radio (NR) user equipments (UEs) and/or NR reduced capabilities (RedCap) UEs, wherein the first message was transmitted by a user equipment (UE) (disclosed throughout; see [0139], for example, which discloses that the UE “decides whether to re-negotiate its eDRX parameters” when “the traffic profiles or energy/power characteristics on the UE 201 changes”; this can include either a change in the type of traffic or a change in the charging or battery power levels; as indicated in [0140], when the UE determines to re-negotiate, the UE “sends a registration update request to the AMF 203 to re-negotiate its eDRX cycle”; further, this information is associated with a NR UE (non-RedCap) or RedCap UE as indicated in [0138] and [0141], which indicates that the UE indicates capabilities including whether or not the UE is a RedCap UE; the updated eDRX parameters are power saving information associated with NR UEs and/or NR RedCap UEs);
processing circuitry (see processor and co-processor 91 and 81 of Figure 18G, for example); and
a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry, whereby wherein the network function is configured to perform a method comprising (see at least the RAM 82 and ROM 93 of Figure 18G, for example):
determining whether the UE can use the first power saving information for power saving, saving (disclosed throughout; see [0141] and step 303 of Figure 12, for example, which discloses that the AMF “decides whether to accept or reject the UE request for using the new eDRX parameter(s)”); and
based on the determination, transmitting toward the UE a second message comprising second power saving information associated with NR UEs and/or NR (RedCap) UEs (disclosed throughout; see [0142] and step 304 of Figure 12, for example, which discloses that the “AMF 203 sends a registration update accept message with the new eDRX parameter to the UE 201”).
Regarding claim 12: Vogedes discloses the limitations wherein the method further comprises receiving a second message from the network function (disclosed throughout; see [0142] and step 304 of Figure 12, for example, which discloses that the “AMF 203 sends a registration update accept message with the new eDRX parameter to the UE 201”), the second message comprises second power saving information associated with NR UEs and/or NR RedCap UEs (disclosed throughout; see [0142] and step 304 of Figure 12, for example, which discloses that the accept message includes “the new eDRX parameter”).
Regarding claims 13 and 19: Vogedes discloses the limitations wherein the first power saving information comprises Requested extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameters for NR and/or Requested eDRX parameters for RedCap (disclosed throughout; as indicated in step 302 and [0139]-[0140], the eDRX parameters are those selected by the UE to reduce its power consumption and are sent in a request message; therefore, they are interpreted as requested eDRX parameters), and the second power saving information comprises Negotiated eDRX parameters for NR and/or Negotiated eDRX parameters for RedCap (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0141]-[0142], the new eDRX parameters included in the registration accept message are those that have been at least accepted by the AMF and are the result of the re-negotiation started by the UE with the sending of the request message; therefore, the new eDRX parameters are interpreted as negotiated eDRX parameters).
Regarding claim 16: Vogedes discloses the limitations wherein the first message is a Registration Request message for requesting the network function to register the UE (disclosed throughout; see step 302 of Figure 12 and [0140], which is a registration request message), and the second message is a Registration Accept message indicating that the network function has registered the UE (disclosed throughout; see step 304 of Figure 12 and [0142], which is a registration accept message).
Regarding claim 17: Vogedes discloses the limitations of determining a need to reduce power consumption of the UE, wherein whether to transmit toward the network function the first power saving information comprising Requested (eDRX) parameters for NR and/or Requested eDRX parameters for RedCap is determined based on the determination of the need to reduce the power consumption of the UE (disclosed throughout; see [0139], which discloses that the “UE 201 sends a registration update request to the AMF 203 to re negotiate its eDRX cycle to reduce its power consumption in step 302”).
Regarding claim 21: Vogedes discloses the limitations wherein the first message is a Registration Request message for requesting the network function to register the UE (disclosed throughout; see step 302 of Figure 12 and [0140], which is a registration request message), and the second message is a Registration Accept message indicating that the network function has registered the UE (disclosed throughout; see step 304 of Figure 12 and [0142], which is a registration accept message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0199902 to Vogedes et al in view of Tamura et al (US 2023/0120587).
Regarding claim 14: Vogedes discloses the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above. Vogedes further discloses the limitation of the UE attempting to receive a paging message triggered by the network function using the Negotiated eDRX parameters for NR and/or the Negotiated eDRX parameters for RedCap (disclosed throughout; see [0142], for example, which indicates that “The UE 201 uses the new eDRX cycle to monitor Paging Occasions”). Vogedes is silent regarding the limitations of claim 14 of wherein (i) the Requested eDRX parameters for NR and the Negotiated eDRX parameters for NR are different and/or (ii) the Requested eDRX parameters for RedCap and the Negotiated eDRX parameters for RedCap are different. However, Tamura discloses in claim 1 that a terminal may receive a “Registration Accept message including a second eDRX parameter”, which is “different from the first eDRX parameter”. The first eDRX is included in “a Registration Request message including a first eDRX (Extended Idle Mode DRX) parameter” sent by the terminal. To the extent that Vogedes does not explicitly disclose that the requested and negotiated parameters are different, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to include alternate/different parameters in the accept message when the requested parameters in the request message cannot be supported. The rationale for doing so would have been to efficiently negotiate the parameters. Sending back different parameters in the accept message is more efficient than sending a “reject” message and requiring the UE to send a new request message with different parameters.
Regarding claim 15: Vogedes discloses the limitations of parent claim 13 as indicated above. Vogedes further discloses the limitation of the UE attempting to receive a paging message triggered by the network function using any of the Negotiated eDRX parameters for NR and the Negotiated eDRX parameters for RedCap (disclosed throughout; see [0142], for example, which indicates that “The UE 201 uses the new eDRX cycle to monitor Paging Occasions”). Vogedes is silent regarding the limitations of claim 15 of wherein (i) the Requested eDRX parameters for NR and the Requested eDRX parameters for RedCap are the same and/or (ii) the Negotiated eDRX parameters for NR and the Negotiated eDRX parameters for RedCap are the same. However, Tamura discloses sending an accept message containing the same eDRX parameter included in a request message (see [0061], for example – “the UE 40 receives the TAU Accept message containing the same eDRX parameter as the eDRX parameter set to the TAU Request”). To the extent that Vogedes does not explicitly disclose the requested and negotiated parameters are the same, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to explicitly indicate that the eDRX parameter in the registration accept message can be the same as the requested eDRX parameter sent in the registration request message. The rationale for doing so would have been to confirm to the UE that the specific eDRX parameters requested via the registration request message have been accepted and to allow for an efficient method of changing the eDRX parameters in some situations (by including the eDRX parameters IE in the accept message). A further rationale is to make the registration request process more efficient by enabling the UE to skip sending a registration complete message when the eDRX parameters are the same as suggested by Tamura.
Regarding claim 20: Vogedes discloses the limitations of parent claim 19 as indicated above. Vogedes does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 20 of determining whether the UE can use the first power saving information for power saving comprises determining that the UE cannot use the first power saving information for power saving, and (i) the Requested eDRX parameters for NR and the Negotiated eDRX parameters for NR are different and/or (ii) the Requested eDRX parameters for RedCap and the Negotiated eDRX parameters for RedCap are different. However, Tamura discloses in claim 1 that a terminal may receive a “Registration Accept message including a second eDRX parameter”, which is “different from the first eDRX parameter”. The first eDRX is included in “a Registration Request message including a first eDRX (Extended Idle Mode DRX) parameter” sent by the terminal. To the extent that Vogedes does not explicitly disclose that the requested and negotiated parameters are different, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to include alternate/different parameters in the accept message when the requested parameters in the request message cannot be supported. The rationale for doing so would have been to efficiently negotiate the parameters. Sending back different parameters in the accept message is more efficient than sending a “reject” message and requiring the UE to send a new request message with different parameters.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sogabe et al (US 2024/0073859 discloses a method for configuring eDRX parameters for terminals in a 5G network.
Li (US 2024/0064641) discloses a method for configuring a power saving signal.
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 March 13, 2026