DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The RCE and amendment filed 11/18/2025 has been entered
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected.
Claims 22-23 are objected.
Claims 4, 14, and 21 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0105647) in view of Kim (US 2022/0116802).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a method of a communication entity in a wireless communication system comprising (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 334, in step 1004 a wireless device may evaluate the at least one of the relaxed measurement conditions):
deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode, wherein the relaxed measurement mode as compared with the normal- measurement mode, provides relaxation for the communication entity in performing the radio access related measurement for enabling power saving at the communication entity, wherein the deciding comprises verifying that a change condition for changing from a currently applied measurement mode to another measurement mode is fulfilled (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 331, in step 1003 a wireless device may perform measurement on a serving frequency based on the first measurement configuration, paragraphs 334-335, in step 1004 a wireless device may evaluate and determine whether relaxed measurement condition(s) are met, paragraph 337, In step 1005 a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement on the serving frequency and/or the at least one of neighbor frequencies based on the evaluation, paragraph 7, a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement for saving power, the measurement in step 1003 is a non-relaxed mode measurement for the current measurement mode since in step 1004 the evaluation on whether to change to relaxed mode measurement is based on a condition related to the measurements in step 1003),
preparing a measurement report including an information about the change of the measurement mode, said information specifying whether the normal measurement mode or the relaxed measurement mode is applied for or from a current measurement report or a next measurement report or reports (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, paragraph 352, the wireless device may transmit measurement report including the measurement results of each frequency and indication indicating whether each of the measurement results of the each frequency is generated by the relaxed measurement or not); and
issuing the measurement report for transmission to a control entity controlling and/or serving the communication entity (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, paragraph 352, the wireless device may transmit measurement report including the measurement results of each frequency and indication indicating whether each of the measurement results of the each frequency is generated by the relaxed measurement or not).
Lee does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement) comprising at least one of Layer-3 radio link monitoring or beam failure detection (in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode, wherein the relaxed measurement mode as compared with the normal- measurement mode, provides relaxation for the communication entity in performing the radio access related measurement for enabling power saving at the communication entity, wherein the deciding comprises verifying that a change condition for changing from a currently applied measurement mode to another measurement mode is fulfilled);
However Kim teaches the below limitation:
(deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement) comprising at least one of Layer-3 radio link monitoring or beam failure detection (in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode, wherein the relaxed measurement mode as compared with the normal- measurement mode, provides relaxation for the communication entity in performing the radio access related measurement for enabling power saving at the communication entity, wherein the deciding comprises verifying that a change condition for changing from a currently applied measurement mode to another measurement mode is fulfilled) (Kim, paragraph 179, upon condition for a beam failure detection the terminal may perform the operation for switching the normal measurement operation to the relaxed measurement operation);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee by a beam failure being a condition for trigger a change to relaxed measurement mode as taught by Kim. Because Lee and Kim teach relaxed measurement mode, and specifically Kim teaches a beam failure being a condition for trigger a change to relaxed measurement mode for the benefit of the analogous art of techniques of channel quality measurement for supporting mobility of a terminal (Kim, paragraph 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee and Kim further teach wherein said information comprises at least one of:
an indication of the applied measurement mode or modes, or at least one characteristic of the applied measurement mode or modes (Lee, paragraph 350, In step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim and Lee further teach wherein
the indication indicates that the normal measurement mode, the relaxed measurement mode or a mixture of the normal and relaxed measurement modes is applied for a respective measurement report (Lee, paragraph 352, the wireless device may transmit measurement report including the measurement results of each frequency and indication indicating whether each of the measurement results of the each frequency is generated by the relaxed measurement or not), and
the at least one characteristic comprises comprise one or more of a measurement or evaluation period in the normal measurement mode, a measurement or evaluation period in the relaxed measurement mode, a scaling or relaxation factor for extending the measurement or evaluation period in the relaxed measurement mode as compared with the normal measurement mode, and a relation between one or more measurement properties between the relaxed measurement mode and the normal measurement mode (Lee, paragraph 22, the network may receive the early measurement results with indication of the relaxed measurement and/or the time period that the relaxed measurement has been performed).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee and Kim further teach wherein the measurement report is issued based on the measurement mode being changed (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 331, in step 1003 a wireless device may perform measurement on a serving frequency based on the first measurement configuration, paragraphs 334-335, in step 1004 a wireless device evaluates and determines whether relaxed measurement condition(s) are met, paragraph 337, In step 1005 a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement on the serving frequency and/or the at least one of neighbor frequencies based on the evaluation, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, hence the measurement report is issued after the relaxed mode measurements are performed after the change in measurement mode).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
issuing the measurement report is awaited, and changing the measurement mode is effected upon issuance of the measurement report, or
changing the measurement mode is effected upon verification that the change condition is fulfilled, and issuing the report is triggered by change of the measurement mode (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 331, in step 1003 a wireless device may perform measurement on a serving frequency based on the first measurement configuration, paragraphs 334-335, in step 1004 a wireless device evaluates and determines whether relaxed measurement condition(s) are met, paragraph 337, In step 1005 a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement on the serving frequency and/or the at least one of neighbor frequencies based on the evaluation, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, hence the measurement report is issued after the relaxed mode measurements are performed after the change in measurement mode).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
the issued measurement report is based on application of the currently applied measurement mode before the change of the measurement mode (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 331, in step 1003 a wireless device may perform measurement on a serving frequency based on the first measurement configuration, paragraphs 334-335, in step 1004 a wireless device evaluates and determines whether relaxed measurement condition(s) are met, paragraph 337, In step 1005 a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement on the serving frequency and/or the at least one of neighbor frequencies based on the evaluation, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, hence the measurement report of the relaxed measurements is based on the normal measurement mode since the normal measurements were taken in step 1003, and these normal measurements were the measurements evaluated in order to decide whether to go into relaxed measurement mode), and
the issued measurement report includes an information specifying that the another measurement mode after the change of the measurement mode is applied for or from the next measurement report or reports (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 337, in step 1005, a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement based on the evaluation, paragraph 352, the wireless device may transmit measurement report including the measurement results of each frequency and indication indicating whether each of the measurement results of the each frequency is generated by the relaxed measurement or not).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
the relaxed measurement mode provides for relaxation for the communication entity in performing the radio access related measurement, comprising power saving, as compared with the normal measurement mode (Lee, paragraph 7, a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement for saving power), and
the radio access related measurement concerns or comprises measurement of at least one of radio resource management or reference signal received power (Lee, paragraph 189, for cell measurements, the network can configure RSRP, RSRQ or SINR).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee and Kim further teach wherein at least one of
preparing the measurement report comprises including the information in the measurement report which is an existing measurement report or comprises generating the measurement report and including the information in the generated measurement report (Lee, paragraph 350, In step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set), and
the measurement report is transmitted to the control entity by way of radio resource signaling (Lee, Fig 2, paragraph 80, processors 102 and 202 may implement one or more layers such as radio resource control (RRC) layer), and
the measurement report is a measurement report relating to a current measurement reporting period or event (Lee, paragraph 22, the network may receive the early measurement results with indication of the relaxed measurement and/or the time period that the relaxed measurement has been performed).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
the communication entity is a communication element or function (Lee, paragraph 350, In step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, paragraph 61, FIG. 1, the communication system 1 includes wireless devices 100a to 100f, base stations (BSs) 200, and a network 300), or
the control entity is a control element or function (Lee, paragraph 61, FIG. 1, the communication system 1 includes wireless devices 100a to 100f, base stations (BSs) 200, and a network 300), and
the wireless communication system is based on a 3GPP standard (Lee, paragraph 32, FIG. 9 shows a data flow example in the 3GPP NR system to which implementations of the present disclosure is applied).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee teaches an apparatus of a communication entity in a wireless communication system, comprising (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 334, in step 1004 a wireless device may evaluate the at least one of the relaxed measurement conditions):
at least one processor (Lee, Fig 2, processor 102 of first device 100); and
at least one memory storing instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to perform (Lee, Fig 2, memory 104 and processor 102 of first device 100)
deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode, wherein the relaxed measurement mode as compared with the normal- measurement mode, provides relaxation for the communication entity in performing the radio access related measurement for enabling power saving at the communication entity (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 331, in step 1003 a wireless device may perform measurement on a serving frequency based on the first measurement configuration, paragraphs 334-335, in step 1004 a wireless device may evaluate and determine whether relaxed measurement condition(s) are met, paragraph 337, In step 1005 a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement on the serving frequency and/or the at least one of neighbor frequencies based on the evaluation, paragraph 7, a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement for saving power, the measurement in step 1003 is a non-relaxed mode measurement for the current measurement mode since in step 1004 the evaluation on whether to change to relaxed mode measurement is based on a condition related to the measurements in step 1003),
preparing a measurement report including an information about the change of the measurement mode, said information specifying whether the normal measurement mode and/or the relaxed measurement mode is applied for or from a current measurement report or a next measurement report or reports (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, paragraph 352, the wireless device may transmit measurement report including the measurement results of each frequency and indication indicating whether each of the measurement results of the each frequency is generated by the relaxed measurement or not); and
issuing the measurement report for transmission to a control entity controlling and serving the communication entity (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, paragraph 352, the wireless device may transmit measurement report including the measurement results of each frequency and indication indicating whether each of the measurement results of the each frequency is generated by the relaxed measurement or not).
Lee does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
(deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement) comprising at least one of Layer-3 radio link monitoring or beam failure detection (in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode, wherein the relaxed measurement mode as compared with the normal- measurement mode, provides relaxation for the communication entity in performing the radio access related measurement for enabling power saving at the communication entity);
However Kim teaches the below limitation:
(deciding on a change of a measurement mode of a radio access related measurement) comprising at least one of Layer-3 radio link monitoring or beam failure detection (in the wireless communication system between a normal measurement mode and a relaxed measurement mode, wherein the relaxed measurement mode as compared with the normal- measurement mode, provides relaxation for the communication entity in performing the radio access related measurement for enabling power saving at the communication entity) (Kim, paragraph 179, upon condition for a beam failure detection the terminal may perform the operation for switching the normal measurement operation to the relaxed measurement operation);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee by a beam failure being a condition for trigger a change to relaxed measurement mode as taught by Kim. Because Lee and Kim teach relaxed measurement mode, and specifically Kim teaches a beam failure being a condition for trigger a change to relaxed measurement mode for the benefit of the analogous art of techniques of channel quality measurement for supporting mobility of a terminal (Kim, paragraph 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee and Kim further teach wherein said information comprises at least one of:
an indication of the applied measurement mode or modes, or at least one characteristic of the applied measurement mode or modes (Lee, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim and Lee further teach
wherein the indication indicates that the normal measurement mode, the relaxed measurement mode or a mixture of the normal and relaxed measurement modes is applied for a respective measurement report (Lee, paragraph 352, the wireless device may transmit measurement report including the measurement results of each frequency and indication indicating whether each of the measurement results of the each frequency is generated by the relaxed measurement or not), and
the at least one characteristic comprises one or more of a measurement or evaluation period in the normal measurement mode, a measurement or evaluation period in the relaxed measurement mode, a scaling or relaxation factor for extending the measurement or evaluation period in the relaxed measurement mode as compared with the normal measurement mode, and a relation between one or more measurement properties between the relaxed measurement mode and the normal measurement mode (Lee, paragraph 22, the network may receive the early measurement results with indication of the relaxed measurement and/or the time period that the relaxed measurement has been performed).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee and Kim further teach wherein the measurement report is issued based on the measurement mode being changed (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 331, in step 1003 a wireless device may perform measurement on a serving frequency based on the first measurement configuration, paragraphs 334-335, in step 1004 a wireless device evaluates and determines whether relaxed measurement condition(s) are met, paragraph 337, In step 1005 a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement on the serving frequency and/or the at least one of neighbor frequencies based on the evaluation, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, hence the measurement report is issued after the relaxed mode measurements are performed after the change in measurement mode).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
issuing the measurement report is awaited, and changing the measurement mode is effected upon issuance of the measurement report, or
changing the measurement mode is effected upon verification that the change condition is fulfilled, and issuing the measurement report is triggered by change of the measurement mode (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 331, in step 1003 a wireless device may perform measurement on a serving frequency based on the first measurement configuration, paragraphs 334-335, in step 1004 a wireless device evaluates and determines whether relaxed measurement condition(s) are met, paragraph 337, In step 1005 a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement on the serving frequency and/or the at least one of neighbor frequencies based on the evaluation, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, hence the measurement report is issued after the relaxed mode measurements are performed after the change in measurement mode).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
the issued measurement report is based on application of the currently applied measurement mode before the change of the measurement mode (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 331, in step 1003 a wireless device may perform measurement on a serving frequency based on the first measurement configuration, paragraphs 334-335, in step 1004 a wireless device evaluates and determines whether relaxed measurement condition(s) are met, paragraph 337, In step 1005 a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement on the serving frequency and/or the at least one of neighbor frequencies based on the evaluation, paragraph 350, in step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, hence the measurement report of the relaxed measurements is based on the normal measurement mode since the normal measurements were taken in step 1003, and these normal measurements were the measurements evaluated in order to decide whether to go into relaxed measurement mode), and
the issued measurement report includes an information specifying that the another measurement mode after the change of the measurement mode is applied for or from the next measurement report or reports (Lee, Fig 10, paragraph 337, in step 1005, a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement based on the evaluation, paragraph 352, the wireless device may transmit measurement report including the measurement results of each frequency and indication indicating whether each of the measurement results of the each frequency is generated by the relaxed measurement or not).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
the relaxed measurement mode provides for relaxation for the communication entity in performing the radio access related measurement, such as power saving, as compared with the normal measurement mode (Lee, paragraph 7, a wireless device may perform relaxed measurement for saving power) and
the radio access related measurement concerns or comprises measurement of at least one of radio resource management or reference signal received power (Lee, paragraph 189, for cell measurements, the network can configure RSRP, RSRQ or SINR).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
preparing the measurement report comprises including the information in the measurement report which is an existing measurement report or comprises generating the measurement report and including the information in the generated measurement report (Lee, paragraph 350, In step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set), and
the measurement report is transmitted to the control entity by way of radio resource signaling (Lee, Fig 2, paragraph 80, processors 102 and 202 may implement one or more layers such as radio resource control (RRC) layer), and
the measurement report is a measurement report relating to a current measurement reporting period or event (Lee, paragraph 22, the network may receive the early measurement results with indication of the relaxed measurement and/or the time period that the relaxed measurement has been performed).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee and Kim further teach wherein
at least one of the communication entity is a communication element or function (Lee, paragraph 350, In step 1006, a wireless device may transmit to the network a message including 1) measurement results on each frequency of the frequency set, and 2) information on the relaxed measurement on the each frequency of the frequency set, paragraph 61, FIG. 1, the communication system 1 includes wireless devices 100a to 100f, base stations (BSs) 200, and a network 300), or
the control entity is a control element or function (Lee, paragraph 61, FIG. 1, the communication system 1 includes wireless devices 100a to 100f, base stations (BSs) 200, and a network 300), and
the wireless communication system is based on a 3GPP (third generation partnership project) standard (Lee, paragraph 32, FIG. 9 shows a data flow example in the 3GPP NR system to which implementations of the present disclosure is applied).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are respectfully moot as new grounds of rejection are used. Please see updated rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objected the claim(s):
In interpreting the claim(s), in light of the specification and Applicant’s arguments, the examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art(s) of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reason(s) for objecting to the claim(s) to be allowed:
The prior art does not teach a measurement report indicating the measurement mode of the next measurement report, which also requires sending a current measurement report upon deciding upon a measurement mode change and indicating the measurement mode of the next report. Lee and Kim teach a UE deciding whether to perform relaxed mode measurements based on an evaluation of conditions from a previous normal measurement mode, one such condition being a beam failure detection. Lee and Kim also teach generating and transmitting a measurement report, where the report indicates which measurements are relaxed mode and which measurements are normal mode, along with other characteristics of the measurements. Please see Lee (Fig 10, paragraphs 331, 334-335, 337, 350, and 352, amongst others) and Kim (Fig 8, paragraphs 164, 169, 179, and 231, amongst others). Neither Kim nor Lee teach a measurement report indicating a next measurement mode for the next measurement report. Martin (US 2017/0311195) teaches in paragraph 106 that upon receiving the measurement request, the UE transitions from idle to connected to transmit the report, but this is not indicating a next measurement mode for the next measurement report, and the modes here are idle and connected as opposed to relaxed and normal. Park (US 2010/0216474) teaches in Table 4 a measurement control message that indicates a purpose of the measurement report (setup, modify, delete) and the measurement type, but it does not explicitly teach issuing a report upon a measurement mode change, where the report lists the results of the current (before mode change) measurements and also indicates the measurement mode of the next measurement report.
Conclusion
/T.N.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412