DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 4/2/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “triple assembly”, “first drive assembly”, and “second drive assembly” in claim 1, “power output end” in claim 3, “cylinder” in claim 4, and “hinge joint”, “power output end”, and “hinge point”, in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “73” in figure 1.
The drawings are objected to because figure 1 the illustration of the “second support plate” is incomplete; i.e. the top of the plate is missing.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 6 set forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 needs an “and” after “exists;”.
Claims 3 and 8 need an “and” after “rail;”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the first driving assembly” and “the second driving assembly” in claims 1 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “triple assembly (2) comprises a welding head (21)”. It is unclear as to what a triple assembly is. Also, it is unclear if there are two more components for this assembly and what they are since the specification provides no other detail other than the triple assembly comprises a welding head. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as a welding horn/head or a wedge-reed system.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “one end”, “the other end”, “the power output end”, “its hinge point”, and “the end”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Su (CN 102700134 A).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses:
An ultrasonic welding machine [ultrasonic spot welding machine; 0011 and figure 1], comprising
a machine frame (1) [frame (1)],
a triple assembly (2) [horn (4)],
a first driving assembly [cylinder (10)],
a welding seat (3) [jig (3)], and
a second driving assembly [cylinder (14)],
wherein the triple assembly (2) comprises a welding head (21) [tip of the horn], and the triple assembly (2) is movably set on the machine frame (1) so that the triple assembly (2) can move along a Z direction [0011-0012 and figure 1];
the first driving assembly is drivingly connected to the triple assembly (2), and the second driving assembly is drivingly connected to the welding seat (3) [0011-0012 and figure 1];
the ultrasonic welding machine is characterized in that [note that the following limitations are functional language],
the first driving assembly is configured to drive the triple assembly (2) to move to a preset position and a first working position;
the second driving assembly is configured to drive the welding seat (3) to move to a second working position to support the workpiece to be welded;
when the first driving assembly drives the triple assembly (2) to move to the preset position, and the second driving assembly drives the welding seat (3) to move to the second working position, a certain distance between the welding head and the workpiece to be welded still exists; [and]
when the first driving assembly drives the triple assembly (2) to move to the first working position, the welding head (21) of the triple assembly (2) abuts the workpiece to be welded.
Concerning any claimed results, materials, and/or functions:
Since the prior art apparatus, i.e. the apparatus based on the prior art reference above, is structurally identical to the claimed apparatus, it is the examiner’s position that the prior art apparatus is capable of achieving any claimed function with any claimed material to achieve any claimed result; such as moving to preset/working positions, abutting the workpiece, etc. This reasoning applies to any claim below where functional language, material worked upon, and/or a result is claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Su discloses:
wherein the first driving assembly is a multi-position cylinder (4) [cylinder (10) has at least a stopping position and a starting position and thus is multi-positional].
Regarding claim 3, Su discloses:
wherein the ultrasonic welding machine further comprises:
a first sliding rail [left guide (9)] disposed on the machine frame (1) and extending along the Z direction [see figure 1];
a first slider [portion of upper base (5) wrapped around guide (9)] slideably disposed on the first sliding rail;
a first support plate [plate of upper base(5)], set on the first slider,
wherein the triple assembly (2) is connected to the first support plate [see figure 1], and a power output end [end of piston (11)] of the first driving assembly is drivingly connected to the first support plate.
Regarding claim 4, Su discloses:
wherein the ultrasonic welding machine further comprises a base (6) [base (8)] on which the machine frame (1) is supported;
the second driving assembly is a cylinder [cylinder (14)], and the cylinder is movably set on the base (6) [see figure 1].
Regarding claim 5, Su discloses:
wherein the ultrasonic welding machine further comprises:
a transmission assembly (7) [rotating mechanism (7)] through which the welding seat (3) is drivingly connected to the second driving assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Su discloses:
wherein the ultrasonic welding machine further comprises:
a second sliding rail [right guide (9)] disposed on the machine frame (1) and extending along the Z-direction [see figure 1];
a second slider [portion of lower base (6) wrapped around guide (9)] slideably disposed on the second sliding rail;
a second support plate [plate of lower base (6)] disposed on the second slider,
wherein the welding seat (3) is connected to the second support plate [see figure 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (CN 102700134 A) in view of Sonobond Ultrasonics “What Makes Sonobond’s Ultrasonic Welding System Outperform Competitors’ Systems When Welding Tin-Coated and Oxidized Wires and Terminals?”. The following applies should the applicant prove that Su does not teach a triple assembly.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Su teaches:
An ultrasonic welding machine [ultrasonic spot welding machine; 0011 and figure 1], comprising
a machine frame (1) [frame (1)],
a first driving assembly [cylinder (10)],
a welding seat (3) [jig (3)], and
a second driving assembly [cylinder (14)],
wherein a welding head (21) [tip of the horn], and is movably set on the machine frame (1) so that the welding head (2) can move along a Z direction [0011-0012 and figure 1];
the first driving assembly is drivingly connected to the triple assembly (2), and the second driving assembly is drivingly connected to the welding seat (3) [0011-0012 and figure 1];
the ultrasonic welding machine is characterized in that [note that the following limitations are functional language],
the first driving assembly is configured to drive the triple assembly (2) to move to a preset position and a first working position;
the second driving assembly is configured to drive the welding seat (3) to move to a second working position to support the workpiece to be welded;
when the first driving assembly drives the triple assembly (2) to move to the preset position, and the second driving assembly drives the welding seat (3) to move to the second working position, a certain distance between the welding head and the workpiece to be welded still exists; [and]
when the first driving assembly drives the welding head (21) to move to the first working position, the welding head (21) abuts the workpiece to be welded.
Su does not teach:
a triple assembly (2);
wherein the triple assembly (2) comprises a welding head (21), and the triple assembly (2) is movably set on the machine frame (1) so that the triple assembly (2) can move along a Z direction; and
wherein the welding head (21) is a wedge-reed welding head.
Sonobond teaches the advantage of a wedge-reed system is that it uses a vertical, vibrating reed, driven by a wedge-shaped coupler and transducer assembly that’s perpendicular to the reed. With the line of static clamping force directly above the parts to be welded, high clamp force can be achieved without bending stress or stalling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Sonobond wedge-reed system into Su for at least the taught reason. Since applicant’s figure 1 appears to show that the triple assembly is the wedge-reed system then the prior art apparatus meets the triple assembly limitation.
Concerning any claimed results, materials, and/or functions:
Since the prior art apparatus, i.e. the apparatus based on the prior art reference above, is structurally identical to the claimed apparatus, it is the examiner’s position that the prior art apparatus is capable of achieving any claimed function with any claimed material to achieve any claimed result; such as moving to preset/working positions, abutting the workpiece, etc. This reasoning applies to any claim below where functional language, material worked upon, and/or a result is claimed.
Regarding claims 2-5 and 8, refer to the rejections of these claims above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (CN 102700134 A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Sonobond Ultrasonics “What Makes Sonobond’s Ultrasonic Welding System Outperform Competitors’ Systems When Welding Tin-Coated and Oxidized Wires and Terminals?”.
Regarding claim 9, Su does not teach:
wherein the welding head (21) is a wedge-reed welding head.
Sonobond teaches the advantage of a wedge-reed system is that it uses a vertical, vibrating reed, driven by a wedge-shaped coupler and transducer assembly that’s perpendicular to the reed. With the line of static clamping force directly above the parts to be welded, high clamp force can be achieved without bending stress or stalling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Sonobond wedge-reed system into Su for at least the taught reason.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (CN 102700134 A) or Su (CN 102700134 A) in view of Sonobond Ultrasonics “What Makes Sonobond’s Ultrasonic Welding System Outperform Competitors’ Systems When Welding Tin-Coated and Oxidized Wires and Terminals?” as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (CN 112676692 A).
Regarding claim 6, Su does not teach:
wherein the transmission assembly (7) comprises a first connecting rod (71) and a second connecting rod (72),
one end of the second connecting rod (72) is pivotally connected to the base (6),
the other end of the second connecting rod (72) is pivotally connected to the first connecting rod (71), and
the power output end of the second driving assembly is drivingly connected to a hinge joint of the first connecting rod (71) and the second connecting rod (72), so as to allow the second connecting rod (72) to rotate around its hinge point with the base (6);
the end of the first connecting rod (71) which is not pivotally connected to the second connecting rod (72) is pivotally connected to the welding seat (3).
Zhou teaches an ultrasonic welding machine comprising supporting component (2), which travels vertically on guide rail (62), and driving component (3), which drives the supporting component via connecting rod structure (31) and driving part (32); wherein first and second connecting rods (311, 312) are pivotally connected to bottom plate (8) and the supporting component, respectively, and are connected to each other at a hinge, and wherein connecting part (323) is attached to the hinge and driven by cylinder (321) to move the connecting rod structure into a dead point position during welding in order to prevent the driving part from consuming the welding energy; abstract and figures 1 and 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the driving component into Su in order to prevent the driving part from consuming the welding energy or because it is a known lifting mechanism.
Regarding claim 7, Su does not teach:
wherein when the first connecting rod (71) and the second connecting rod (72) are aligned in a straight line without overlapping,
a connecting rod structure formed by the first connecting rod (71) and the second connecting rod (72) is in a dead point position, at this moment, the welding seat reaches the second working position.
However, this is addressed by the incorporation of Zhou in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; see PTO 892.
/CARLOS J GAMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735