Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a cleaning unit (50) in line 3 of independent claim 1, according to the specification at paragraph [00163], the cleaning unit (50) includes a support framework (63); at least one cleaner roller (110); and a first and second connector (111, 112); and
a suspension device (139) in line of independent claim 1, according to the specification at paragraph [0118], the suspension device include an elastic suspension device having left and right suspension device (139’) and (139’’), for example a spring suspension or a pneumatic suspension.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2013/0091653) to Pollack.
Regarding independent claim 1, Pollack discloses a chassis (11), a cleaning unit (20) mounted to the chassis (11) with at least one degree of freedom relative to the chassis (11) allowing the cleaning unit (20) to be lifted and lowered relative to the chassis (11), at least one suspension device (29) operatively active on the cleaning unit (20) and configured to transmit to the cleaning unit (20) an upwardly directed force (See FIGS. 1-2 and paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Pollack discloses at least one mechanism (22) linking a forward end (33) of the chassis (11) to a cleaning unit support framework (24); and wherein the at least one suspension device (29) is interposed between the cleaning unit (20) and the chassis (11).
Regarding claim 14, Pollack discloses that the suspension device (29) is configured for transmitting to the cleaning unit (20) an upwardly directed force not greater than the cleaning unit weight (capable of carrying the cleaning unit (50) with a force commensurate with cleaning unit (50).
Claims 1-3, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2017/0245723) to Baertsch et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Baertsch et al. discloses a chassis (40), a cleaning unit (60) mounted to the chassis (40) with at least one degree of freedom relative to the chassis (60) allowing the cleaning unit (60) to be lifted and lowered relative to the chassis (40), at least one suspension device (70) operatively active on the cleaning unit (60) and configured to transmit to the cleaning unit (60) an upwardly directed force (See FIGS. 1-2 and paragraphs [0050]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Baertsch et al. discloses at least one mechanism (90) linking a forward end (top end) of the chassis (40) to a cleaning unit support framework (80); and wherein the at least one suspension device (70) is interposed between the cleaning unit (60) and the chassis (40).
Regarding claim 3, Baertsch et al. discloses that the mechanism (90) includes a first lever (See right lever in FIG. 3) having a first end (bottom pivot point of right lever in FIG. 3) coupled with the cleaning unit support framework (80) and an opposite second end (top point of right lever in FIG. 3) cinematically connected to the chassis (40), and a second lever (See left lever in FIG. 3) having a first end (bottom pivot point of left lever in FIG. 3) coupled with the cleaning unit support framework (80) and an opposite second end (top point of left lever in FIG.) cinematically connected to the chassis (40) (See paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Baertsch et al. discloses that the at least one suspension device (70) is interposed between the cleaning unit (60) and the mechanism (90) linking the forward end of the chassis (40) to the cleaning unit support framework (80) (See FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Baertsch et al. discloses that the suspension device (70) includes an elastic suspension device selected between from a spring suspension or a pneumatic suspension (See paragraph [0051]).
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 4-7 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723