DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 7-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/553,238 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims are essentially the same invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “floor cleaning apparatus” in Claims 1-11, “suction unit” in Claim 1, “inlet channeling unit” in Claims 1, 10, and 11, and “outlet channeling unit” in Claims 1, 9, 10, and 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second expansion chamber". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims since a second expansion chamber has not been previously claimed.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the third expansion chamber". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims since a third expansion chamber has not been previously claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. WO 2015/032151 (hereafter Lin et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Lin et al. anticipates:
1. (Currently Amended) A floor cleaning apparatus (vacuum cleaner) comprising:
a cleaning assembly (dust collecting device 100);
a suction unit (intake device 200) provided with a motor (210) and an impeller (inherent part of intake device to generate air flow) coupled with the motor;
an inlet channeling unit (air inlet 250), operative at an inlet side of the suction unit, wherein the inlet channeling unit is in fluid communication with at least one portion of the cleaning assembly;
an outlet channeling unit (third motor cover 240), connecting an outlet side of the suction unit (Figure 2) to at least one exhaust aperture (air outlet 260) of the floor cleaning apparatus;
wherein the outlet channeling unit comprises:
a first expansion chamber (first air passage 271) facing the outlet side of the impeller and having an outlet port (second gas outlet 231) in fluid communication with the exhaust aperture (shown in Figure 2),
at least one intercepting wall (first motor cover 220) comprising a plurality of through holes (perforated holes forming first air outlet 2211, Figure 2), the intercepting wall operating inside the first expansion chamber and being positioned to intercept air flow moving from the impeller outlet side to the outlet port of the first expansion chamber (shown in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin et al. anticipates:
2. (Currently Amended) The floor cleaning apparatus (vacuum cleaner) according to claim 1, wherein the first expansion chamber (first air passage 271) extends about a periphery of the impeller (inherent part of intake device to generate air flow)(shown in Figure 2) defining an annular flow volume entirely surrounding the impeller (shown in Figure 2) and wherein the intercepting wall (first motor cover 220) has an annular shape and is inserted in the annular flow volume of the first expansion chamber (shown in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin et al. anticipates:
3. (Currently Amended) The floor cleaning apparatus (vacuum cleaner) according to claim 1, wherein the first expansion chamber (first air passage 271) radially extends between the outlet side of the impeller (inherent part of intake device to generate air flow) and an outer peripheral wall (second motor cover 230) surrounding the impeller (shown in Figure 2) and is positioned at a radial distance from the outlet side of the impeller, wherein the at least one intercepting wall is positioned radially between the outlet side of the impeller and the outer peripheral wall of the first expansion chamber (shown in Figure 2);
wherein the first expansion chamber and/or the intercepting wall are concentrically positioned relative to the impeller and extend all around the impeller periphery (shown in Figure 2;
and wherein the annular flow volume of the first expansion chamber has a constant radial width (shown in Figure 2 at locations of first air outlet 2211 holes).
Regarding Claim 6, Lin et al. anticipates:
6. (Currently Amended) The floor cleaning apparatus (vacuum cleaner) according to claim 1, wherein the through holes (perforated holes forming first air outlet 2211, Figure 2) are distributed, optionally homogeneously distributed, on the intercepting wall (first motor cover 220) and positioned all around the impeller periphery (shown in Figure 2); optionally wherein one or more series of through holes are present on the intercepting wall, with each series of through holes comprising through holes at a same angular distance from one another and positioned all around the impeller periphery.
Regarding Claim 11, Lin et al. anticipates:
11. (Currently Amended) The floor cleaning apparatus (vacuum cleaner) according to claim 1, wherein no alveolar material is applied to walls delimiting the first expansion chamber first air passage 271 or to walls delimiting the second expansion chamber (not selected) or to walls delimiting the third expansion chamber (not selected); optionally (not selected) wherein the entire outlet channeling unit (third motor cover 240) comprises no alveolar material is applied contacting an air flow crossing the outlet channeling unit and/or the entire inlet channeling unit (air inlet 250) comprises no alveolar material contacting an air flow crossing the inlet channeling unit (shown in Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. WO 2015/032151 (hereafter Lin et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Lin et al. teaches:
4. (Currently Amended) The floor cleaning apparatus (vacuum cleaner) according claim 1, wherein the through holes (perforated holes forming first air outlet 2211, Figure 2) on the intercepting wall (first motor cover 220) have axial symmetry, optionally cylindrical conformation (shown in Figure 2);
wherein each one of the plurality of through holes has an area of fluid passage, measured perpendicular to the respective axis of symmetry (centerline shown in Figure 2), of between 3 mm2 and 180 mm2 (see discussion below);
wherein the through holes have respective axes of symmetry (centerline shown in Figure 2) parallel to each other or converging towards a common axis, optionally converging towards an impeller axis of symmetry (shown in Figure 2).
Lin et al. teaches a first motor cover 220 with holes allowing fluid passage between chambers. Lin et al. does not provide dimensions for each of the holes. Therefore, Lin et al. does not disclose an area of fluid passage for each hole. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the size, spacing, and number of holes with the motivation to achieve a desired pressure drop/noise suppression resulting in holes with a specific area of fluid passage between 3 mm2 and 180 mm2 since that range covers hole diameters between 2 mm and 15 mm, which based on the drawing scale appears to be the case, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 5, Lin et al. teaches:
5. (Currently Amended) The floor cleaning apparatus (vacuum cleaner) according to claim 1, wherein each one of the through holes (perforated holes forming first air outlet 2211, Figure 2) has a cross section, taken perpendicular to the respective axes of symmetry (centerline shown in Figure 2), which is circular and which has a diameter of between 2 mm and 15 mm (see discussion below).
Lin et al. teaches a first motor cover 220 with holes allowing fluid passage between chambers. Lin et al. does not provide dimensions for each of the holes. Therefore, Lin et al. does not disclose an area of fluid passage for each hole. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the size, spacing, and number of holes with the motivation to achieve a desired pressure drop/noise suppression resulting in holes with a diameter between 2 mm and 15 mm since that range covers hole diameters which based on the drawing scale appears to be the case, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but it would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of vacuum cleaners with noise suppression.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723