Response to Amendment
2. Applicant' s amendment filed on 01/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 78, 86 and 97 are amended. Claims 78-97 are still pending in this application with claims 78, 86 and 97 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 78-80, 83-88, 91-95 and 97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US Pub. No: 2024/0032072 A1) in view of Shrivastava (US Pub. No: 2024/0080707 A1).
Regarding claim 78, ZHANG et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.7), comprising: receiving, from a network element, a configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource, wherein the configuration for monitoring is received via a multicast broadcast service system information block (see Fig.7 and para [0128] wherein a terminal receiving a broadcast service from network device through a resource configuration, is mentioned, also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0134] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BWP, is mentioned and also see para [0129]); and
monitoring the at least one broadcast service on the communication resource based on the configuration (see para [0129] wherein the network device transmits, to the terminal device, the specific signaling for the terminal device determining a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) for the broadcast service, is mentioned and also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, is mentioned).
ZHANG et al. is silent in teaching the above method comprising wherein the communication resource comprises a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part.
However, Shrivastava teaches a method (see Abstract and Fig.1) comprising wherein the communication resource comprises a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part (see para [0047] wherein the multicast service being accessed by the UE through the second access mode over one of an initial Bandwidth Part (BWP), the initial BWP along with a dedicated BWP, a default BWP and a specific service BWP or a Common Frequency Resource (CFR), is mentioned and also in an embodiment, the initial BWP including an allocation for a multicast service BWP or the CFR for the UE 102 receiving the multicast service through one of the first access mode and the second access mode, is mentioned and also see para [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of ZHANG et al. to have the communication resource comprising a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part, disclosed by Shrivastava in order to provide an effective mechanism of a UE for efficiently receiving, at the UE, a first message comprising a first configuration from a network, wherein the first configuration enables effective reception of the service at the UE in an access mode amongst a plurality of access modes in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 86, ZHANG et al. teach an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.7/Fig.13, terminal device/communication device/apparatus), comprising: at least one processor (see Fig.13, processor and para [0221]); and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see Fig.13, memory), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to (see para [0224]): receive, from a network element, a configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource, wherein the configuration for monitoring is received via a multicast broadcast service system information block (see Fig.7 and para [0128] wherein a terminal receiving a broadcast service from network device through a resource configuration, is mentioned, also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0134] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BWP, is mentioned and also see para [0129]); and monitor the at least one broadcast service on the communication resource based on the configuration (see para [0129] wherein the network device transmits, to the terminal device, the specific signaling for the terminal device determining a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) for the broadcast service, is mentioned and also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, is mentioned).
ZHANG et al. is silent in teaching the above apparatus comprising wherein the communication resource comprises a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part.
However, Shrivastava teaches an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.1) comprising wherein the communication resource comprises a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part (see para [0047] wherein the multicast service being accessed by the UE through the second access mode over one of an initial Bandwidth Part (BWP), the initial BWP along with a dedicated BWP, a default BWP and a specific service BWP or a Common Frequency Resource (CFR), is mentioned and also in an embodiment, the initial BWP including an allocation for a multicast service BWP or the CFR for the UE 102 receiving the multicast service through one of the first access mode and the second access mode, is mentioned and also see para [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of ZHANG et al. to have the communication resource comprising a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part, disclosed by Shrivastava in order to provide an effective mechanism of a UE for efficiently receiving, at the UE, a first message comprising a first configuration from a network, wherein the first configuration enables effective reception of the service at the UE in an access mode amongst a plurality of access modes in wireless communication system.
Regarding claims 79 and 87, ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86 respectively.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86, wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource comprises at least one of a control resource set configuration and a common frequency resource configuration (see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
Regarding claims 80/88, ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 79/87 respectively.
Shrivastava further teaches the method/apparatus according to claims 79/87, wherein monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource comprises monitoring two broadcast services and wherein each broadcast service is monitored on a different control resource set or common frequency resource (see para [0065] wherein a connected mode UE such as the UE 102 in a first access mode 102 being configured to avail/monitor more of a broadcast service and the low QoS broadcast service over the initial BWP (that includes monitoring two broadcast services and wherein each broadcast service is monitored on common frequency resource) along with a unicast service, is mentioned ) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 78 and 86).
Regarding claim 83 and 91, ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86 respectively.
Shrivastava further teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86, further comprising/wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to: receiving/receive a configuration for monitoring a second at least one broadcast service, wherein the second at least one broadcast services is monitored on a control resource set #0 or on an initial bandwidth part (see para [0047] wherein a connected mode UE such as the UE 102 in the first access mode being configured to avail one or more of a broadcast service and the multicast service over the initial BWP along with a unicast service when an active/dedicated BWP of the UE 102 is switched to the initial BWP, is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 78 and 86).
Regarding claims 84 and 92, ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86, respectively.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/96, wherein the at least one broadcast service is monitored during a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state (see para [0033] wherein the reception of the MBMS service is applicable to the UE in an RRC_CONNECTED or RRC_IDLE state, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 85 and 93, ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86, respectively.
Shrivastava further teaches the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86, wherein the monitoring of the at least one broadcast service on the communication resource is based on a capability of a user equipment/the apparatus (see para [0089] wherein Interest Indication for the second access mode being supported for the UE receiving MBS service in the connected mode and the UE 102 indicating in the interest indication message the MBS BWP based on the UE 102 capability information, is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 78 and 86).
Regarding claim 94, ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together teach the apparatus according to claim 86.
ZHANG et al. further teach the apparatus according to claim 86, wherein a control resource set comprises a control resource set #0, a configured control resource set, or a configured control resource set dedicated to a common frequency resource (see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned).
Regarding claim 95, ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together teach the apparatus according to claim 86.
ZHANG et al. further teach the apparatus according to claim 86, wherein monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource comprises monitoring one broadcast service and wherein the one broadcast service is monitored on a control resource set and a common frequency resource (see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
Regarding claim 97, ZHANG et al. teach an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.7/Fig.13, network device/communication device/apparatus), comprising: at least one processor (see Fig.13, processor and para [0221]); and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see Fig.13, memory), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to (see para [0224]): configure a user equipment to monitor at least one broadcast service on a communication resource, wherein a configuration for monitoring is sent via a multicast broadcast service system information block (see Fig.7 and para [0128] wherein a terminal receiving a broadcast service from network device through a resource configuration, is mentioned, also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0134] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BWP, is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
ZHANG et al. is silent in teaching the above apparatus comprising wherein the communication resource comprises a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part.
However, Shrivastava teaches an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.1) comprising wherein the communication resource comprises a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part (see para [0047] wherein the multicast service being accessed by the UE through the second access mode over one of an initial Bandwidth Part (BWP), the initial BWP along with a dedicated BWP, a default BWP and a specific service BWP or a Common Frequency Resource (CFR), is mentioned and also in an embodiment, the initial BWP including an allocation for a multicast service BWP or the CFR for the UE 102 receiving the multicast service through one of the first access mode and the second access mode, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of ZHANG et al. to have the communication resource comprising a multicast broadcast service bandwidth part that comprises an initial bandwidth part, disclosed by Shrivastava in order to provide an effective mechanism of a UE for efficiently receiving, at the UE, a first message comprising a first configuration from a network, wherein the first configuration enables effective reception of the service at the UE in an access mode amongst a plurality of access modes in wireless communication system.
5. Claim 96 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US Pub. No: 2024/0032072 A1) in view of Shrivastava (US Pub. No: 2024/0080707 A1) and further in view of CHAI (US Pub. No: 2024/0129785 A1).
Regarding claim 96, ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together teach the apparatus according to claim 86.
ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava together yet are silent in teaching the apparatus according to claim 86, wherein configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on the communication resource comprises at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion and wherein the at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion is for a control resource set #0 or the initial bandwidth part.
However, CHAI teaches an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.29), wherein configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on the communication resource comprises at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion and wherein the at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion is for a control resource set #0 or the initial bandwidth part (see para [0122] wherein the multicast service being configured on the initial BWP or a BWP for UE that has an association relationship with the initial BWP, and the association relationship between the initial BWP and the BWP that transmits the multicast service, such as offset relationship between Corset and Searchspace being indicated in the system message, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of ZHANG et al. and Shrivastava to have the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on the communication resource comprising at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion and wherein the at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion is for a control resource set #0 or the initial bandwidth part, disclosed by CHAI in order to provide an effective mechanism of a UE for efficiently supporting simultaneous transmission of unicast and multicast/broadcast services to the UE in wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 81-82 and 89-90 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed on 01/22/2026 w.r.t. amended independent claims 78, 86 and 97 are moot under the new ground(s) of rejection made in view of Shrivastava (US Pub. No: 2024/0080707 A1).
8. The rejection of all other claims is already mentioned above under Claim Rejections.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WANG (US Pub. No: 2022/0329984 A1 ) disclose mechanisms relating to a method and apparatus for resource configuration, a terminal device and a network device in wireless communication system.
LJUNG et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0078681 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a method and apparatus for bandwidth part flexibility for unlicensed access in wireless communication system.
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
11. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 5/19/2026