Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 78-84, 86-90, 92-95, 97 and 98 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US Pub. No: 2024/0032072 A1) in view of Nokia et al. (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e, R1-2100512, “ Basic Functions for Broadcast/Multicast for RRC_Idle /RRC_Inactive UEs, dated Jan 25th-Feb 5th, 2021).
Regarding claim 78, ZHANG et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.7), comprising: receiving, from a network element, a configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource (see Fig.7 and para [0128] wherein a terminal receiving a broadcast service from network device through a resource configuration, is mentioned, also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0133] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BWP, is mentioned and also see para [0130]), wherein the communication resource comprises an initial bandwidth part as a subset of the communication resource (see para [0133] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BW, is mentioned and also see para [0131]), and
monitoring the at least one broadcast service on the communication resource based on the configuration (see para [0129] wherein the network device transmits, to the terminal device, the specific signaling for the terminal device determining a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) for the broadcast service, is mentioned and also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, is mentioned).
ZHANG et al. is silent in teaching the above method comprising wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, the common control resource set comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part.
However, Nokia et al. teach a method (see page 1, Introduction) comprising wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, the common control resource set comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part (see page 2, Fig.1 and under section 2.1, 2nd para wherein the initial BWP/CORESET#0 being the default common frequency resource (CFR) for broadcast/group-common PDCCH/PDSCH, is mentioned and also see 4th para wherein for broadcast services, the CFR being configured either full-overlapping or non-overlapping with initial BWP, as shown in Fig.1, is mentioned and also see page 7, Fig.6 and under CORESET and Search Space Configuration of Wider CFR section, 2nd para wherein to two options to configure the CORESET of wider CFR, with either to configure a single CORESET for the whole CFR frequency range, or to configure more than one CORESETs within the wider CFR frequency range, with one CORESET corresponding to the overlapped region with initial BWP/CORESET#0, and other CORESETs for the non-overlapped region with initial BWP, as shown in Fig.6, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “ wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, the common control resource set comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part” and also see page 7, Proposal 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of ZHANG et al. to have the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprising a common control resource set, the common control resource set comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part, disclosed by Nokia et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently supporting 5G/NR multicast/broadcast services for RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE UEs and also providing efficient full beam sweeping for broadcast services for RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE UEs in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 86, ZHANG et al. teach an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.7/Fig.13, terminal device/communication device/apparatus), comprising: at least one processor (see Fig.13, processor and para [0221]); and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see Fig.13, memory), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to (see para [0224]): receive, from a network element, a configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource (see Fig.7 and para [0128] wherein a terminal receiving a broadcast service from network device through a resource configuration, is mentioned, also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0133] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BWP, is mentioned and also see para [0130]); and monitor the at least one broadcast service on the communication resource based on the configuration (see para [0129] wherein the network device transmits, to the terminal device, the specific signaling for the terminal device determining a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) for the broadcast service, is mentioned and also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, is mentioned), wherein the communication resource comprises an initial bandwidth part as a subset of the communication resource (see para [0133] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BW, is mentioned and also see para [0131]).
ZHANG et al. is silent in teaching the above apparatus comprising wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, the common control resource set comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part.
However, Nokia et al. teach a system (see page 1, Introduction) comprising wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, the common control resource set comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part (see page 2, Fig.1 and under section 2.1, 2nd para wherein the initial BWP/CORESET#0 being the default common frequency resource (CFR) for broadcast/group-common PDCCH/PDSCH, is mentioned and also see 4th para wherein for broadcast services, the CFR being configured either full-overlapping or non-overlapping with initial BWP, as shown in Fig.1, is mentioned and also see page 7, Fig.6 and under CORESET and Search Space Configuration of Wider CFR section, 2nd para wherein to two options to configure the CORESET of wider CFR, with either to configure a single CORESET for the whole CFR frequency range, or to configure more than one CORESETs within the wider CFR frequency range, with one CORESET corresponding to the overlapped region with initial BWP/CORESET#0, and other CORESETs for the non-overlapped region with initial BWP, as shown in Fig.6, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “ wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, the common control resource set comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part” and also see page 7, Proposal 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of ZHANG et al. to have the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprising a common control resource set, the common control resource set comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part, disclosed by Nokia et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently supporting 5G/NR multicast/broadcast services for RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE UEs and also providing efficient full beam sweeping for broadcast services for RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE UEs in wireless communication system.
Regarding claims 79 and 87, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86 respectively.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86, wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource comprises at least one of a control resource set configuration and a common frequency resource configuration (see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
Regarding claims 80/88, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 79/87 respectively.
Nokia et al. further teach the method/apparatus according to claims 79/87, wherein monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource comprises monitoring two broadcast services and wherein each broadcast service is monitored on a different control resource set or common frequency resource (see page 4, under section 2.1, last para wherein for UE capability that supports CFR configuration, the CFRs being configured by gNB based on MBS broadcast service types (that includes monitoring two broadcast services) applied, is mentioned and also see page 5, Fig.4 and page 5, 1st para wherein more than one CFRs that overlapped with initial BWP (that includes each broadcast service is monitored on a different common frequency resource) being configured, is mentioned and also see page 5, proposal-5) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 78 and 86).
Regarding claims 81/89, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 79/87 respectively.
Nokia et al. further teach the method/apparatus according to claims 79/87, further comprising/ wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to: switching/switch between monitoring the at least one broadcast service on the initial bandwidth part and the common frequency resource, wherein the initial bandwidth part is monitored with a first monitoring cycle and the common frequency resource is monitored with a second monitoring cycle, or switching/switch between monitoring the at least one broadcast service on the common frequency resource and the initial bandwidth part, wherein the common frequency resource is monitored with a first monitoring cycle and the initial bandwidth part is monitored with a second monitoring cycle (see page 4, Fig.3 and page 4, under section 2.1, last para wherein the switching between the configured initial BWP and CFR depending on the UE capability, is mentioned and also see page 3, Fig.2 wherein the initial bandwidth part is monitored with a first monitoring cycle/idle-mode long DRX cycle and the common frequency resource is monitored with a second monitoring cycle)/short MBS monitoring cycle, is mentioned and page 3, 3rd para) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 78 and 86).
Regarding claims 82 and 90, Nokia et al. further teach the method/apparatus according to claims 81/89, wherein the first monitoring cycle is longer than the second monitoring cycle (see page 3, Fig.2 wherein the initial bandwidth part is monitored with a first monitoring cycle/idle-mode long DRX cycle and the common frequency resource is monitored with a second monitoring cycle)/short MBS monitoring cycle, is mentioned and page 3, 3rd para).
Regarding claim 83, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the method according to claim 78.
Nokia et al. further teach the method according to claim 78, further comprising receiving a configuration for monitoring a second at least one broadcast service, wherein the second at least one broadcast services is monitored on a control resource set #0 or on an initial bandwidth part (see page 6, Fig.5 for CORESET configuration of narrower CFR for 2nd broadcast service and page 6, under section i.e. CORESET and Search Space Configuration of Narrower CFR, 1st para and also see page 7, proposal -8) and monitoring/monitor the second at least one broadcast service based on the configuration (see page 6, Fig.5 for CORESET configuration of narrower CFR for 2nd broadcast service and page 6, under section i.e. CORESET and Search Space Configuration of Narrower CFR, 1st para and also see page 7, proposal -8) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 78).
Regarding claims 84 and 92, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/86, respectively.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method/apparatus according to claims 78/96, wherein at least one broadcast service is monitored during a radio resource control idle state or a radio resource control inactive state (see para [0033] wherein the reception of the MBMS service is applicable to the UE in an RRC_CONNECTED or RRC_IDLE state, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 93, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the apparatus according to claim 86.
Nokia et al. further teach the apparatus according to claim 86, wherein the at least one broadcast service is monitored on the communication resource based on a capability of the apparatus (see page 4, last para wherein the UE indicating to gNB about its capability to support CFR configuration of MBS BWP, is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 86).
Regarding claim 94, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the apparatus according to claim 86.
ZHANG et al. further teach the apparatus according to claim 86, wherein a control resource set comprises a control resource set #0, a configured control resource set, or a configured control resource set dedicated to a common frequency resource (see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned).
Regarding claim 95, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the apparatus according to claim 86.
ZHANG et al. further teach the apparatus according to claim 86, wherein monitoring at least one broadcast service on a communication resource comprises monitoring one broadcast service and wherein the one broadcast service is monitored on a control resource set and a common frequency resource (see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
Regarding claim 97, ZHANG et al. teach an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.7/Fig.13, network device/communication device/apparatus), comprising: at least one processor (see Fig.13, processor and para [0221]); and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see Fig.13, memory), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to (see para [0224]): configure a user equipment to monitor at least one broadcast service on a communication resource (see Fig.7 and para [0128] wherein a terminal receiving a broadcast service from network device through a resource configuration, is mentioned, also see para [0132] wherein the specific signaling being used to configure a BWP dedicated to the broadcast service, and the frequency domain range of the BWP includes a frequency domain range indicated by a Control Resource Set (CORESET) associated with a Type #0 Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) search space (i.e., a frequency domain range indicated by CORESET #0), is mentioned and also see para [0134] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BWP, is mentioned and also see para [0129]), wherein the communication resource comprises an initial bandwidth part as a subset of the communication resource (see para [0134] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BW, is mentioned and also see para [0131]).
ZHANG et al. is silent in teaching the above apparatus comprising wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, wherein the common control resource set is additional to and comprises a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part.
However, Nokia et al. teach a system (see page 1, Introduction) comprising wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, wherein the common control resource set is additional to and comprises a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part (see page 2, Fig.1 and under section 2.1, 2nd para wherein the initial BWP/CORESET#0 being the default common frequency resource (CFR) for broadcast/group-common PDCCH/PDSCH, is mentioned and also see 4th para wherein for broadcast services, the CFR being configured either full-overlapping or non-overlapping with initial BWP, as shown in Fig.1, is mentioned and also see page 7, Fig.6 and under CORESET and Search Space Configuration of Wider CFR section, 2nd para wherein to two options to configure the CORESET of wider CFR, with either to configure a single CORESET for the whole CFR frequency range, or to configure more than one CORESETs within the wider CFR frequency range, with one CORESET corresponding to the overlapped region with initial BWP/CORESET#0, and other CORESETs for the non-overlapped region with initial BWP, as shown in Fig.6, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “ wherein the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprises a common control resource set, the common control resource set is additional to and comprising a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part” and also see page 7, Proposal 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of ZHANG et al. to have the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service in the communication resource comprising a common control resource set, wherein the common control resource set is additional to and comprises a wider bandwidth than a CORESET#0 of the initial bandwidth part, disclosed by Nokia et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently supporting 5G/NR multicast/broadcast services for RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE UEs and also providing efficient full beam sweeping for broadcast services for RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE UEs in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 98, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the apparatus of claim 97.
ZHANG et al. further teach the apparatus of claim 97, wherein: the common control resource set is associated with one or more multicast broadcast service services and a group-common radio network temporary identifier is configured to identify a particular multicast broadcast service associated with the common control resource set (see para [0134] wherein the SIB1 specific to the current cell being configured with the initial downlink BWP, receiving the broadcast service in a frequency domain range indicated by the initial downlink BW, is mentioned and also see Fig.3 and para [0039] wherein the SC-MTCH 1 PDCCH to SC-MTCH M PDCCH being respectively scrambled by Group RNTI (G-RNTI 1) to G-RNTI M, is mentioned and also see para [0112]).
5. Claim 96 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US Pub. No: 2024/0032072 A1) in view of Nokia et al. (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e, R1-2100512, “ Basic Functions for Broadcast/Multicast for RRC_Idle /RRC_Inactive UEs, dated Jan 25th-Feb 5th, 2021) and further in view of CHAI (US Pub. No: 2024/0129785 A1).
Regarding claim 96, ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together teach the apparatus according to claim 86.
ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. together yet are silent in teaching the apparatus according to claim 86, wherein configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on the communication resource comprises at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion and wherein the at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion is for a control resource set #0 or the initial bandwidth part.
However, CHAI teaches an apparatus (see Abstract and Fig.29), wherein configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on the communication resource comprises at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion and wherein the at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion is for a control resource set #0 or the initial bandwidth part (see para [0122] wherein the multicast service being configured on the initial BWP or a BWP for UE that has an association relationship with the initial BWP, and the association relationship between the initial BWP and the BWP that transmits the multicast service, such as offset relationship between Corset and Searchspace being indicated in the system message, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of ZHANG et al. and Nokia et al. to have the configuration for monitoring at least one broadcast service on the communication resource comprising at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion and wherein the at least one of a search-space and a monitoring occasion is for a control resource set #0 or the initial bandwidth part, disclosed by CHAI in order to provide an effective mechanism of a UE for efficiently supporting simultaneous transmission of unicast and multicast/broadcast services to the UE in wireless communication system.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed on 09/22/2026 w.r.t. amended independent claims 78, 86 and 97 are moot under the new ground(s) of rejection made in view of Nokia et al. (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e, R1-2100512, “ Basic Functions for Broadcast/Multicast for RRC_Idle /RRC_Inactive UEs, dated Jan 25th-Feb 5th, 2021) as presented in the current office action.
7. The rejection of all other claims is already mentioned above under Claim Rejections.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WANG (US Pub. No: 2022/0329984 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a method and apparatus for resource configuration, a terminal device and a network device in wireless communication system.
LJUNG et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0078681 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a method and apparatus for bandwidth part flexibility for unlicensed access in wireless communication system.
WU et al. (For Pub. No: WO 2022/026637 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to managing radio resources for multicast and broadcast services (MBS) in wireless communication system.
9. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 9/27/2026