DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a homogenization module … configured to homogenize a composition of the decontamination agent leaving the catalysis module in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-25, 27, and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are rejected for the following reasons.
Claim 20 recites the limitations "the catalysis module" and “the homogenization module” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It appears claim 20 is intended to depend upon claim 17.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the homogenization module" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 21 is intended to depend upon claim 20.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "a second sensor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 22 is intended to depend upon claim 21.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the catalysis module" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitations "the recirculation circuit" and “the homogenization module” in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "said at least one sensor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 24 is intended to depend upon claim 21.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "said at least one sensor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the transversal wall" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
14. Claim 27 recites the limitation "the transversal wall" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 16, 22, 23, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naito (US 2020/0360551).
Regarding claim 15, the reference Naito discloses a machine (1) for decontaminating surfaces and/or containers (22), the machine comprising:
a processing chamber (20) configured to contain a plurality of containers to be decontaminated, the processing chamber (20) being hermetically sealable during execution of a decontamination process (see para. [065]; Fig. 1);
an inlet line configured to feed to the processing chamber a decontamination agent for the execution of the decontamination process (see para. [0070]; Fig. 1);
an outlet line (60A) configured to evacuate the decontamination agent from the processing chamber (20) at an end of the decontamination process (see para. [0076]; Fig. 1);
a catalyzer device (62) coupled to the outlet line and configured to receive the decontamination agent and configured to promote a decomposition of at least one chemical component of said decontamination agent (see para. [0076]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, the reference Naito discloses the machine, wherein the inlet line (30A) is configured to feed a decontamination agent comprising hydrogen peroxide (see para. [0070]; Fig. 1) and the catalyzer device (62) is configured to decompose the hydrogen peroxide into water and oxygen (see para. [0076]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, the reference Naito discloses that the machine may further comprise a sensor adapted to measure a concentration of at least one chemical component in the decontamination agent at the catalysis module (see para. [0097]).
Regarding claim 23, the reference Naito discloses that the machine may further comprise a sensor adapted to measure a concentration of at least one chemical component in the decontamination agent at the catalysis module, and that the sensor can be positioned inside the processing chamber and (see para. [0097]).
Regarding claim 28, the reference Naito discloses a catalyzer device (62) coupled to the outlet line (60A) of the machine (1) for decontaminating surfaces and/or containers (see para. [0076]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 29, the reference Naito discloses the machine, wherein the containers comprise containers for pharmaceutical use (see paras. [0009]; [0066]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19, 26, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 17-19, 26, and 30 the claims would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: a homogenization module located downstream of the catalysis module relative to said feed direction of the decontamination agent and configured to homogenize a composition of the decontamination agent leaving the catalysis module, as required in claim 17.
Claims 20, 21, 24, 25, and 27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774