DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreevastav et al. (hereinafter Shreevastav)(US 2022/0221548) in view of Yue et al. (hereinafter Yue)(US 2024/0373276) and Dong et al. (hereinafter Dong)(US 2023/0189198).
Regarding claim 41, Shreevastav teaches a first device, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory with the at least one processor storing instructions that, when executed cause the first device to: determine that a third device is to transmit a positioning related message in a non- connected state; and transmit assistance information to a second device serving the third device (Fig. 18, step 6-9; P[0127]; P[0128], measurement reporting configuration is signaled to the UE to configure the idle and RRC inactive mode measurement configuration).
Shreevastav did not teach specifically the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message. However, Yue teaches in an analogous art the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message(P[0084], RRC inactive; configuration; small data transmission(SDT) in non-connected state; periodic timer, SDT). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message in order to have improved efficiency.
Shreevastav in view of Yue did not teach specifically wherein the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device; wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device. However, Dong teaches in an analogous art wherein the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device; wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device(P[0205], LMF sends the NRPPA message to the anchored base station and then the anchored base station requesting the location information of the UE). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device; wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device in order to have reduced overhead.
Regarding claim 42, Shreevastav in view of Yue and Dong teaches the first device to determine that the third device is to transmit the positioning related message in the non-connected state based, at least partially, on a determination that the third device is to enter the non-connected state (Dong: P[0028], in response to entering the RRC disconnected state the UE in the RRC disconnected state is triggered to perform positioning measurement).
Regarding claim 43, Shreevastav teaches the first device of claim 41, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: determine that the third device is to enter the non-connected state based on at least one of: an activity state of the third device; or an indication received from an access and mobility management function node(Fig. 5; P[0128] ], LPP signaling to the UE to configure the RRC inactive mode measurement configuration;).
Regarding claim 44, Shreevastav teaches the first device of Claim 43, wherein the activity state of the third device is indicated in a message received from one of the access and mobility management function node, the second device and the third device(P[0127], AMF performs subscription validity and provides the request for subscription information to LMF).
Regarding claim 45, Shreevastav teaches the first device of claim 41, wherein the positioning related message is to be transmitted via a small data transmission, and the positioning related message comprises a positioning measurement report(Shreevastav: P[0136], positioning determination; UE sends measurement report; Yue: abstract, transmitting small data at the non-connected state).
Regarding claim 46, Shreevastav in view of Yue teaches all the particulars of the claim except, instructions when executed with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: transmit, via a NR Positioning Protocol A protocol, the assistance information to a fourth device providing a neighbor cell of the third device(Figs. 5B, 6 and 7).
Claim(s) 47-51, 54-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (hereinafter Edge)(US 2020/0053686) in view of Yue et al. (hereinafter Yue)(US 2024/0373276) and Dong et al. (hereinafter Dong)(US 2023/0189198).
Regarding claim 47, Edge teaches a second device(Fig. 3), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device to: receive assistance information from a first device, the assistance information comprising a data size for a positioning related message to be transmitted by a third device in an non-connected state(step 1 in Fig. 3; also P[0151], small data; P[0079], UE in idle state(nonconnected state), positioning message); determine a configuration for the positioning related message based on the assistance information(step 2 in Fig. 3; P[0079], UE in idle state(nonconnected state), positioning message); and transmit the configuration to the third device(step 3 in Fig. 3; P[0080], forward the positioning message to UE).
Edge did not teach specifically the assistance information comprising a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message. However, Yue teaches in an analogous art the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message(P[0084], RRC inactive; configuration; small data transmission(SDT) in non-connected state; periodic timer, SDT). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message in order to have improved efficiency.
Edge in view of Yue did not teach specifically, wherein the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device. However, Dong teaches in an analogous art wherein the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device (P[0205], LMF sends the NRPPA message to the anchored base station and then the anchored base station requesting the location information of the UE). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device second device in order to have reduced overhead.
Regarding claim 48, Edge in view of Yue teaches the second device of claim 47, wherein the instructions, when executerd with the at least one processor, cause the second device to determine the configuration for the positioning related message by performing at least one of: determining, based on the data size, at least one of the following: a resource allocated for a first message associated with a small data transmission, a modulation and coding scheme for the first message, or a data volume threshold for the third device to determine whether the small data transmission is to be used; or determining, based on the transmission periodicity, a small data transmission occasion for the third device to transmit the positioning related message in the nonconnected state(Yue: item 202 in Fig. 2; abstract).
Regarding claim 49, Edge in view of Yue teaches the second device of claim 48, wherein the first message comprises: a message A comprising a random access preamble in 2-step random access procedure for the small data transmission, a message 3 in 4-step random access procedure for the small data transmission, or a message comprising an uplink configured grant for the small data transmission(Yue: P[0002], Random access procedure; small data; uplink channel for configured grant ; 4-step RACH procedure).
Regarding claim 50, Edge in view of Yue and Dong teaches, the second device to: transmit, via an Xn interface, the configuration to a fourth device providing a neighbor cell of the third device(P[0201], Xn interface)
Regarding claim 51, Edge teaches the second device of claim 47, instructions when executed with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: receive, from the third device, the positioning related message via a small data transmission; and transmit the positioning related message to the first device(step 6 and step 7 in Fig. 3; P[0083-0084]).
Regarding claim 54, Edge teaches a third device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that when executed, with the at least one processor, cause the third device to: receive, from a second device, a configuration for a positioning related message to be transmitted with the third device in a non-connected state(step 3 in Fig. 3; AMF forwards positioning message to the UE; P[0079], UE is in idle state) ,
the configuration comprising a configuration determined at the second device based on assistance information received from a first device, the assistance information comprising a data size for the positioning related message(P[0079], AMF may identify the LCS correlation identifier received at stage 1; UE; also P[0151], small data; P[0079], UE in idle state(nonconnected state), positioning message); and
transmit, in the non-connected state and to the second device, the positioning related message based on the configuration(item 6 in Fig. 3; UE returns location information to the AMF; P[0079], UE is in idle state).
Edge did not teach specifically the assistance information comprising a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message. However, Yue teaches in an analogous art the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message(P[0084], RRC inactive; configuration; small data transmission(SDT) in non-connected state; periodic timer, SDT). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message in order to have improved efficiency.
Edge in view of Yue did not teach specifically, wherein the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device. However, Dong teaches in an analogous art wherein the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device (P[0205], LMF sends the NRPPA message to the anchored base station and then the anchored base station requesting the location information of the UE). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device second device in order to have reduced overhead.
Regarding claim 55, Edge in view of Yue and Dong teaches the third device of claim 54, wherein transmitting the position related message comprises instructions when executed with the at least one processor, further cause the third device: obtain, from the configuration, a data volume threshold associated with a small data transmission; based at least partially on a determination that a data volume of the positioning related message is below the data volume threshold, determine that the positioning related message is to be transmitted via the small data transmission; and transmit the positioning related message based on the configuration indicating at least one of: a resource allocated for a first message associated with the small date transmission, a modulation and coding scheme for the first message, or a small data transmission occasion comprising one of a random access procedure occasion, or an uplink configured grant occasion(Yue: item 202 in Fig. 2; abstract; Yue: P[0002], Random access procedure; small data; uplink channel for configured grant ; 4-step RACH procedure).
Regarding claim 56, Edge teaches the third device of claim 54, wherein the instructions, when executed, with the at least one processor, further cause the third device to: transmit, to the second device, an indication indicating that the third device is about to transmit the positioning related message in the non-connected state; and transmit, to the first device, the positioning related message(step 6 and step 7 in Fig. 3; P[0083-0084]; P[0079], UE in idle state(nonconnected state), positioning message).
Regarding claim 57, Edge teaches a fourth device (item 112 in Fig. 4) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that when executed with the at least one processor, cause the fourth device to: receive assistance information from a first device, the assistance information comprising a data size for a positioning related message to be transmitted by a third device in an non-connected state; and reserve a resource based on the assistance information(stage 1 and 3 in Fig. 4; also P[0086, 0087], UE is in IDLE state; AMF initiates network triggered service request procedure to establish signaling connection with UE; also P[0151], small data; P[0079],).
Edge did not teach specifically the assistance information comprising a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message. However, Yue teaches in an analogous art the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message(P[0084], RRC inactive; configuration; small data transmission(SDT) in non-connected state; periodic timer, SDT). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the assistance information comprising at least one of data size and a transmission periodicity for the positioning related message in order to have improved efficiency.
Edge in view of Yue did not teach specifically, wherein the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device. However, Dong teaches in an analogous art wherein the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device (P[0205], LMF sends the NRPPA message to the anchored base station and then the anchored base station requesting the location information of the UE). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the first device comprises a location management function node, wherein the second device comprises a radio access network node device, wherein the third device comprises a terminal device second device in order to have reduced overhead.
Regarding claim 58, Edge in view of Yue teaches the fourth device of claim 57, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, further cause the fourth device to: receive, from a second device, a configuration for the positioning related message, the configuration comprising a configuration determined at the second device based on the assistance information and the positioning related message comprising a positioning related message transmitted via a small data transmission(Edge: Fig. 4, stages 4-6 also P[0151], small data; Yue: P[0084], RRC inactive; configuration; small data transmission(SDT) in non-connected state; periodic timer, SDT ).
Regarding claim 59, Edge teaches the fourth device of claim 57, wherein the second device serves the third device, instructions when executed cause the fourth device to reserve resources by: attempting to receive the positioning related message from the third device on the reserved resources(P[0089, base station obtains location information for the UE requested in stage 3).
Regarding claim 60, Edge teaches the fourth device of claim 57, the second device comprises a radio access network node(Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 52-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (hereinafter Edge)(US 2020/0053686) in view of Yue et al. (hereinafter Yue)(US 2024/0373276), Dong et al. (hereinafter Dong)(US 2023/0189198) and Sun et al. (hereinafter Sun)(US 2022/0342028).
Regarding claim 52, Edge in view of Yue and Dong teaches all the particulars of the claim except, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: activate the configuration; and transmit, to the third device, an indication of the activation of the configuration; and transmit, to the first device, an indication indicating that the third device is to enter the non- connected state. However, Sun teaches in an analogous art with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: activate the configuration; and transmit, to the third device, an indication of the activation of the configuration; and transmit, to the first device, an indication indicating that the third device is to enter the non- connected state (P[0146], UE receives trigger indication used to trigger the UE to report; P[0158], when determining that UE is in the inactive state AMF may send to LMF indication information used to indicate that UE is inactive state). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: activate the configuration; and transmit, to the third device, an indication of the activation of the configuration; and transmit, to the first device, an indication indicating that the third device is to enter the non- connected state in order to have efficient data collection.
Regarding claim 53, Edge in view of Yue, Dong and Sun teaches the second device, with the at least one processor, cause the second device to activate the configuration by: based at least partially on receiving, from the third device, an indication indicating that the third device is to transmit the positioning related message in the non-connected state, activating the allocated resource; based at least partially on receiving, from a network device, a message indicating that a set of resources for performing a small data transmission are activated and the set of resources comprise the allocated resource, activating the allocated resource; or based at least partially on receiving an activation indication from the first device, activating the allocated resource(Fig. 5; also P[0145-0169]; UE in idle state may report the measurement result based on the received paging message by using resource in the idle state).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647